I've already finished my popcorn!
What’s holding up the game?
AE and JJ in midfield today
There was a storm, Moz
Thanks….JJ back to 13 then. He looked better at 12.
I was wondering why there's a highlight reel playing.
I'll be back in like 20....gotta charge my phone
Two strong sides, should be fun.
I'll be back in like 20....gotta charge my phone
Ai jirre Plummie.
Juju with a nice turnover.
Jordan kicks the penalty dead. The spirit of Calamity George is alive and well.
Nothing kick from Kriel in that backline move, Sharks not aware to the offload and knocks it. They have a penalty though.
JJ vs Moodie is interesting…pity no Wilco vs Ox yet.
Another poor kick by Jordan off the free kick, way too deep.
Brilliant by Hozen
Esterhuizen shows Jordan how to kick it pinpoint.
Terrific clearance from Papier.
Looks like it's going to be a kickathon.
Pollard shanks the penalty
Moodie!!!
Always the cleanest man on the field
7-0
Moodie in off his chip, nice work from Vorster seeing the space on the inside.
Moodie plays it cool and scores
Correction
5-0
How did Polly miss that!?
Sharks determined to take the path of most resistance. Wish Jaden would shut the fuck up and play. Now he throws a pass to no one. Correction, he did find Juju, Juju wasn't looking at the ball.
Bulls need a big scrum here
Julius spills the ball…Hozen has a few words
Ja, Jayden is reaching Galant territory for me, and that takes some doing
Rudolph on. Shit's about to get real.
I can't understand why, in those situations, the Sharks don't give the ball to AE and let him hit the line
JJ loses it again
Moodie puts Julius away
Juju drops it in the double tackle from the Bulls centers.
Mega boring game so far
SA teams backplay is pedestrian to be nice about it.
Has AE won the game for the guppies yet?
Just asking.
Even the commentator starting with affirmations - "it will open up, it will open up".
Arendse makes good ground after shrugging off Edwill.
Seb welcomes Jaco Williams to the real world, leaves him for dead. Try.
Excellent hands from the Bulls all around.
Pilly pinpoints Seb in at the corner.
The Sharks looking very passive
AE fails to stop Sebastian. Where was he what is going on with AE!!!
Clever try there…nice by Sebastian. Who needs Libbok
Jayden Hendrikse looks badly hurt
...rolled onto a stretcher, oxygen out, the works
The Sharks looking very passive
Ja Bulls are playing the little rugby being played out there.
It wasn’t AE …he tried to block the kick. See an optician.
Your trolling is about on the level of the Stormers today, Beeno.
What actually happened to Jaden? Can't see any significant knock to the head in that tackle. Hope he's okay.
Not a Jayden fan but hope he's okay
Edwill with a nice grubber into the corner.
Haha Edwil hitting the right side of the corner flag with that kick
Edwil vs Arendse …contests all over the park.
Not a Jayden fan but hope he's okay
We hate the playing, not the player.
Papier has proper pace.
The Sharks are going to take a beating today.
LOL, Vorster straight through past the ruck, gives to Papier who leaves everyone for dead.
Pakster AE can do anything.
Time for the captain to step up!
The scoreboard flattered the Lions Pakster..
You could say the Stormers lost the game rather than the Lions winning it.
Another great score by Bulls.
Papier has good pace.
Stoke right through the middle for the second time today and he hands it of to the paper tiger who has just as much gas as Louw and scores.
This game could run away from the Sharks very quickly
Some gas there by Papier. Stupid commentator he had an angle on Edwill. I
Papier a darn side better than Reinach who has fallen off the bus.
Sharks need to start playing some rugby. They look right back at the Plumtree phase.
Nice tackle on Juju by Seb. Juju not making much impact against higher profile players.
Excellent kill tackle by the Hozen
Baboon-ou, earlier on today you were slagging off Cobus Reinach when he wasn't even playing.
I'm a big fan of Grant Williams but I don't complain when Reinach starts ahead of him. He is a very under-appreciated Springbok.
Brilliant kick by the Hozen….can you see HasBeen
gosh that phase went on forever
Bulls scrum in a great attacking position
Ai ou Mapimpi
Mapimps drops the kick. Looked backward but called, Bulls scrum.
Vorster and Moodie have been very good.
Former, Moodie remains the premier 13 in SA.
Calm, effective and hits like a beast these days
Is this the scrum Ox asserts himself?
Beeno, haha the Lions completely outplayed the Stormers.
Bulls making this look easy. Papier scores his second.
De Klerk shows a bit of magic
And Seb makes one from nothing.
Another one I'm glad is in the alignment camp.
Seb with the chippie over the top and Papier again gets the finish. Too much x-factor in the Bulls backline, they're not setting the world alight but a few players just keep doing some excellent things.
Commentators mentioning Kennedy Tsimba. He was a mate of mine back in the day.
Sharks defense coach needs a proper talking to.
Loved Kennedy, best smile in the game.
Jaco Williams off and he doesn't look injured. I'm not a Penxe fan but he's an improvement. I know Aphelele Fassi is off form but the Sharks need him back and firing.
Williams injured and off after a poor half
I was mates with him for a while before I even knew he played rugby, Pakie
Oh my fuck the Plumtree Sharks are back again. The Ball Tickler gets a warning for dirty language from the ref.
Kennedy Tsimba was a talented player. Never given the opportunities to fulfil his potential.
Sharks are back to to the Plumtree Sharks . . . and that's not good!
22-0 HT. Sharks look hopeless. Bulls not even needing Rudolph.
If Fassi is in from then there isn't a team that didn't need him, Rooi.
Question is whether he'll ever get that form back.
What’s up with Ox ….he doesn’t seem to be really driving in the scrums
Wessels apparently foul mouthed as well as a ball ticker. I always said he is a hooker.
The Sharks just look generally disinterested.
Something not right there
Just checking Stormers / Lions highlights. How slow is Zas? Davids sprinting away from him with ease. Looks like a flanker going back in cover for the Henko try too.
The Lions have got the offload game going.
228m Bulls to 68m Sharks
3.5x more meters made is a pretty drastic delta. Especially when the Sharks suppsed to have such a fire backline
"The Lions have got the offload game going."
Agreed and good for them.
Offloading abilty is what rugby is evolving into and we're some way behind NZ and Aus when it comes to offloading.
When we do offload it's often sudden and unexpected. The ANZAC teams are much more controlled. I suspect it's a Rugby League thing which is why we're so far behind.
Luckily our forward pack and some talented backs have been masking this deficiency for some time but we need to catch a wake-up.
Lighting up my inside braai.
... got some BRM ribs.
Pollard cleaning up nicely with that little dart from inside his 22
Vorster with another great chase tackle on Jordan.
ButtPlug, BRM ribs are good but very overpriced. I know the area you live. Go to your nearest Berliner butchery and buy some of their boneless ribs. Incredibly, they are cheaper than the normal ribs with bones, around R130 per kg. You'll thank me.
Andre might have looked for the pass there and then backed up Mapimpi, only one Bulls defender outside.
Bulls offloading with skill.
Jordan needs to play more like Pollard does and be far more direct in how he runs. It's how he can differentiate himself from all the smaller 10s in SA.
Pollard plays such a simple game but you need a 10 like that and if Jordan can offer that then it'll help him in terms of Bok selection.
Sharks playing as individuals. Bulls playing off each other, looking for the pass, looking for support.
At last, the Sharks score. Great offload by Vincent Tshituka.
Better from Jordan, then the offload from Vinnie to Edwill and in. There you go, just fucking play boys.
Kriel seems to have come alive at 15, good things every time he touches the ball….nicely worked offload by Vincent to Edwill after Esterhozen commits the defense.
First time Andre takes it to the line and the Sharks score. Mindfuckingboggling that they have him and they don't use him in that role.
Seb makes Mapimps look like an old man.
Weak tackle on the edge there to let the Sharks in at the corner.
Edwil is slippery cat
...and a bunch of frantic play from the kickoff with Ox kicking the clearance kick with his left haha
Moffie, you make a pertinent observation. Ox has never performed for the Sharks at the same level he performs for the Springboks. Not even close.
I also scratch my head and wonder.
Solid tackle Polly on Andre.
Jirre even Carr looks lively, what's going on.
Now Moodie gets isolated and jackled by Koch
The unforced errors by the Sharks
Sharks scrum with a bit of a rumble.
Sharks get another dominant scrum and then Phepsi stands there holding on to advantage ball like an idiot instead of getting it moving. Sharks fluff the lineout.
Sharks need to win this scrum...
They win a penalty.
They should take 3 here and keep the points coming in...
instead they've gone to the corner...
and the mess up the lineout
Whatever JP or AE said to the Sharks at half-time is working. They look a much better side in this second half.
Wilco on, Ox off. No contest boys, sorry.
Andre taking it to the line and breaking the first tackle again gets the Sharks momentum and they're on the line. Fucking hell how difficult is it to realize that's the play when you have the man.
Juju again drops it. He's been terrible. Pretty shit option though, three Bulls across in defense.
Much better Sharks. Jenkins just short. I don't know this scrummie Broad but he's had two really good opportunities to go himself. Bulls defend well and the Sharks blow it.
Bad cross kick, JJ had to make a committed carry there.
Sharp work by Edwill pulling two and releasing Penxe. Sharks with an opportunity left and Phepsi drops it. Too many basic errors.
The Sharks just can't stop dropping the ball.
Nice internet but they just can't execute.
Why is JJ up there for MOTM!?
LOL, Juju yet again on the MOTM sheet despite having an absolute nightmare.
Masere blows a clear try-scoring opportunity. Don't think this will be the train-smash I predicted but Bulls still deserved leaders.
They just put up the candidates for MotM and I'm suprised JJ is the sole Sharks nominee rather than Vincent Tshituka.
Esterhuizen is straight-up monster
Here is an example of the BS favoritism in our rugby…Julius a MOM candidate
Andre puts Elrigh on his ass.
Yes! Jacobs scores. Sharks still have a sniff here. Character required.
Sharks over. Again Andre with the momentum, twice.
Sharks muscle over after AE wins them some momentum with a big carry a few phases earlier
Sharks back in the game.
22-12
Game on here
Paying attention, Beeno? Lekker match in Durban this, bru.
I thought this might be a 40 point pasting but with 16 minutes to go, it's a 10 point game.
Come on Sharks!!!
Bulls with a scrum from the kickoff and a chance to waste a bit of time and maybe get a few points back
Nope, Kriel ends the Sharks hopes. Well done Bulls.
Ox gone, scrum gone, Polly with the offload to Vorster for a well deserved try.
Easy score for the Bulls.
Handre going direct, little chicken wing to Voster and an easy try in the end
Pollard showing he is still handy with the ball…makes the try with a deft offload
Juju with the error going in on the inside man and leaving Vorster open. Good work by Pollard though to stay up long enough to create the doubt.
Shows the value of contesting kickoffs
SAorry, not Kriel, Vorster. I sound like Baboon-ou.
Nee fok Plummie, Juju is my MOTM bru. Text book stuff.
Paul de Wet says I'll have a piece of this action, thanks.
Dewey snipes from the ruck and adds to the Sharks troubles
...looks like the thrashing is on after all
altitude
That 40 coming up, Rooi.
Paul de Wet scores. Didn't even know he'd joined the Bulls and wondering why anyone would want him but he scored the try that ended the contest.
Bulls so comfortable now they've put Oupa Willie on.
JP must be baffled….the moment he gets the job the ghost of Plumtree appears.
LOL, Andre runs it, the Sharks score.
And AGAIN... Esterhuizen provided the momentum for another Sharks try
Pass was waaay forward
Jenkins gets a deserved try but it's too little too late . . . and will be correctly chalked off for a forward pass.
That final pass forward though, pity.
Try cancelled...forward pass
Rooitwit dream on. If only....
Forward pass Lol LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL!
Honestly, I would shut run Andre at the opposition all day long
Go Bulls!!!!
And they are asking for multiple angles to figure it out….dead head stuff
AE has barged into a few players but nothing of consequence Plumpster.
The Bulls exits are so slick. No nonsense, no crazy stuff, just clean and clear. Beeno, your Stormers need to pay attention
Moodie hammers JJ
Juju drilled by Vorster. Sharks way too telegraphed.
"That 40 coming up, Rooi."
I should have said margin rather than score. The Sharks second half performance didn't deserve a heavy defeat.
I know I'm clutching at straws here.
Very short straws at that.
Frot guppies comprehensively outplayed.
It was Moodie that made that hit, Pakie
Man that spot tackle by Moodie on Julius was emphatic….total domination. I think today settles the Bok 13 question
It's between Nortje and Papier for MotM in my never humble opinion.
It was Moodie that made that hit, Pakie
Cool, my bad.
How does JJ get MOTm nom but AR doesn't?
Im sure some bloody lady producer has a crush on JJ
Papier leading the public vote by a lot. I thought the Bulls centers were brilliant as well, so too Seb.
Both good contenders…but that last pass settles it for me….Moodie is my pick.
And they combine to score, Vorster has another.
Looks like Kakkerman is coming good. Maybe letting the White assistants go was a good call.
Agreed Moz.
Moodie has a non-existent error count. So solid. And still only 23.
It'll take some effort to get the Bok jersey form him
Great try Bulls!.
Guppies crushed.
Every side needs an AE. Bwhahahahahahahahshahsha
Yes it's a blowout.
Vorster has had a godd game.
41-12
poor guppies had a brief sniff of the game but the Bulls just way too good for them
Well done Bulls.
Sharks have a lot of soul-searching to do.
Horrenzo Julio's was horrendous despite the fan plays of runs.
JP as coach got clapped today,
Moodie is a very impressive young man.
Nortje probably in poll position for the Bok skipper job
Bulls centers outplayed the hapless sharks combo.
Food for thought for Plumpster.
Ackerman has always been a good coach. He did very well with little talent when coaching the Lions.
Ambrose thanking our Heaven Father. Well said Sir.
Papier gets it….well done today!
Nice games today, in the end.
have a good evening gents,
And good afternoon, Moz
Totsiens
AE laments SOFT moments.
Plumpster are the gups a SOFT side then?
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
They must be softies, Beeno
Have a good one, chaps. Even you, Beeno :)
Just teasing Plumpster. It was one of those days when despite fighting hard the Sharks let it slip. That said the Bulls did have tbe edge.
I am very happy for Johan Ackerman a great rugby man.
Haha I don't have a dog in any of these races, Beeno.
Though, I want Akker to do well and since Swys' son has joined him things have started to look up.
There is something rotten at the Sharks. Don't know what it is but something don't smell right.
And Dobbo down there at the Stormers still seems happy to play the Gelant way, which is annoying because then a team like the Lions can beat you by simply doing the basics.
nbnm
Well done, Bulls. What a score. Not the Sharks’ day today.
I can’t believe Ox couldn’t really take advantage in the scrum against Morne Smith, especially with Wilco only coming on as a replacement in the second half.
Esterhuizen, as always, gave everything, and his power is scary. Jason Jenkins also had a good game.
Did you guys see how Andre bumped Elrigh Louw off ? Ambrose Papier, Seb de Klerk, David Kriel, Harold Voster, Nizaam Carr, Elrigh Louw, Canan Moodie, Marcel Coetzee, and Wilco all had good games.
Canan Moodie’s patience to score that try shows how he has matured. He has to start most of the Bok tests at 13, with AE at 12.
The Sharks wins over what now turns out to be a pretty hopeless Stormers side papered over many cracks - and when we're honest about it, they didn't play particularly good rugby in those games. It was grindy stuff.
There are no combinations in this team. That's why the Bulls centers stood out. Vorster played about the perfect game at 12, I can't remember him making one mistake or taking one bad option. The way he identified space on the inside and ran into it for Moodie's first try set the tone for the rest of his game.
I see little difference between yesterday's Sharks and the Plumtree Sharks. It's like every player is playing his own game, their defense is a shambles and their basic error rate way too high. And as Plummie observed, there's no fire in their bellies outside of maybe Esterhuizen.
One struggles to understand why they appear so hapless.
The Bools have just as many Boks.
Perhaps it could be that when you have that many Boks you simply need an authoritarian coach who doesn't give a damn about your reputation. Jake was that kind of guy and so is Akker.
Plumtree was likely a soft touch and JP, being relatively young, might not be the hard nose they need either.
Things are defos looking up for the Leeus though. Crappies is playing some
great rugby and the two Horns' stock just keeps rising. How many weeks do we have to wait to see Quan make a bad call!? The boy has a rugby brain par excellence.
Plumpster I am not sure AE is the answer at 12. Vorster outplayed him.
Does a backline with AE at 12 really work. People think because AE is hard to bring down he is great but what does it all lead too. Perhaps somebody should be on hand to take the off load when AE makes his half breaks.
Lets see what Rassie does
Canaan Moodie was also good. Very quick thinker.
See what Rassie comes up with.
Ackermann has his best backline players on the field and it worked pretty well.
BUT some good news for the Sharks. Eben is back. Now that will make a real difference. He should be raring to go after a good rest. He and Jason Jenkins are a formidable lock combo and this cold set the sharks pack alight.
Is it too late?
Somebody needs to fire up OX as for some time he has not performed as well as one would think he can play. Coasting.
People think because AE is hard to bring down he is great but what does it all lead too.
If you pay attention to what happened on the field and what we said after every Esterhuizen carry over the gainline...4 carries lead to two tries during the same sequence of phases, almost three but for that final forward pass, and another that ended right on the Bulls line. As we kept saying in the thread, every time Esterhuizen took it through the first tackler the Sharks got unstoppable momentum. If you can't see "what it all leads to", you're not paying attention beyond the tackle.
Indeed Beeno, check the highlights and you will see it's AE that consistently provided jsut about the only momentum that lead to anything for the Sharks.
15,295 posts
Coming soon to a theatre near you.