Looks like a good day for it.
Lions starting brightly but get turned over in the middle of the field.
They won't win this but if Mahashe flattens the Pretender once I'll settle for that.
Lions can't blame the conditions today if they kick the skin off the ball.
James the man-bun Lowe just shoved Mahashe....die man soek a poesklap
Ja I saw that.
Leinster already finds space wide. Prenny being talked up as the best passer in the modern game.
Bloody Irish commentators
Lions splitting the Leinster front row but Leinster getting the feed again.
The F ref? Leinster all pop up in the scrum and get dominated but he calls a reset!?!?!?
Eish, Lions defense look patchy.
I find my dislike of Leinster is greater than my dislike of the most overrated team in the comp (certainly on this board) so let me just say it and get it over and done with . . . Come on Lions!
As I type that, Dan Sheehan is over for Leinster.
Sheehan over. Ominous signs.
Eish, Leinster score their first.
I thought Mahashe had stolen that
Howzit Rooi. Hard to call them overrated when they dominated most of the attacking stats in the competition. They are bad travellers though. And they lack depth.
I find my dislike of Leinster is greater than my dislike of the most overrated team in the comp (certainly on this board) so let me just say it and get it over and done with . . . Come on Lions!
Any team that has Lowe in it needs the team bus driven off a cliff. Pretender is just the cherry on the cake
Overrated bunch of posers if you ask me . . . but what the heck, hope they spring a surprise here.
Bullshit he jumped to catch the ball! Had already caught it and then jumped.
Yes, James Lowe makes it hard to like Leinster . . . but he's not the only one. Good defence Lions to save a try there.
Excellently held up. He really should scored there
That pass from Reek-ou was forward though
Keenan is in. Not sure I'm going to make it through this.
Egh, Lions have no idea how to deal with Leinster. Not sure what they were working on in training but they clearly didn't figure anything out.
Eish another try for Leinster
To be fair, I think Leinster's budget is about 30 to 50 times that of the Lions
And now Quan makes a mistake
Can these commentators get off the Pretenders dick for two minutes? Nauseating
Lowe looks like one of those guys that think people are always looking at him.
Now they're on Nienaber's case as well. Jacques should just come back to SA, fuck the Irish.
Look at how long that bloody ref took to give that scrum penalty.
Half of the Leinster pack weren't even bound anymore before he blew the whistle
Lions keep playing into contact and Landsberg drops it.
Ref looks out of his depth. That jumping call on Sheehan was pathetic in how wrong it was.
Nice...Lions getting some momentum
I wanna see Batho break Pretender in half
Lions locks may be their weakest link. They don't seem at the physical level required for this.
Why the F do you kick that away Smit!?
Be nice if the touch judge could actually see Leinster's entire backline being off side
Lowe the Lions best player at this point. That was another try.
Lions getting bamboozled way too easily by the Leinster set moves.
Jirre, Smith kicking it directly into touch twice in a row
Doris through Landsberg. Pap locks.
Another Leinster forward over Nothnagel as well.
Lions just about hanging in there.
Perhaps if they could cut out the unforced errors and frustrate Leinster a bit
No bite in the Lions defense. They're losing the contacts.
So far they can thank Lowe's handling and Keenan's option taking for not being 14 more behind.
McMullet penalised. He really is a donkey.
Prenny with one of the best kick throughs in the modern game.
If the Lions don't score next I'm going to give up.
Doris stops Batho dead.
Don't throw a fucking long pass, you just skip away any advantage by pinning the man against the touchline while the defense just shifts onto him.
Cronje the competitor gets the kick back.
Surely that's a card of some sort?
Lions give up too quickly. Penalty advantage and they kick it away over the top.
Yellow coming.
The ruck is a shit show. Leinster pretty much getting away with murder. No daylight, laying over the ruck and slowing the ball down...
Yellow card for Leinster
That could, according the letter of the law be upgraded to a red.
Pick a guy up and drop him in his head. Thats red, right?
Yes! Lions score. Henco.
Lions still don't know that they can't maul. Thought the penny would have dropped last week.
Henko over. Yes boys.
Lions score!!!
There we go boys!
Lekker Henko!
Very reckless, it might well get red.
Leinster made enough errors to keep the Lions in this. Fuck, that conversion needed to go over.
Smit missed the conversion.
He's really had a massive dip in form
Leinster score through Ryan. 21-5.
And Leinster take one back
Ryan over. Just too easy, a man down too.
Prenny surely the best goal kicker in the modern game.
Lions need to bully Leinster physically if they want to stay in this. Too passive in defense, giving ground in every tackle.
I'll watch some of the 2nd half.
Man this sucks :(
They really did lose the hard edge when they lost Ruan Venter. Francke is a good player but he's too nice a chap. Batho hasn't put in one big hit. Mahashe has been invisible. The two locks are terrible. I don't know if they can pull this out of the fire. Leinster will have to keep knocking on.
Think I mentioned on the previous Lions' match thread, Venter carried this pack on his back.
Huge difference when he's not there. Shows how bloody good he actually is
Why has no one been tasked with nailing Prenny? Charge him, pressure him, rattle him. He's just having complete freedom.
Yellow remains yellow? Am I watching the same game?
And now they fuck up the restart so Leinster might score right away.
lol Lions fluff the start big time
The best passer in the modern game tosses it to no one. Just because he had someone in his face for once.
Don't kick the ball to them ffs.
Smith again with a stupid kick to nowhere
Fucking smash Lowe. The dude is stationary, smash his ass into touch instead of waiting for him to offload. Lions too soft man.
Penny scores. I think I'm done here. Goodnight Plum and Pakie.
Doris through Batho tackling like a crippled girl. These boys don't want it.
And Leinster score again.
I'm out. Don't wanna watch them run in another 4 tires
Later Paks
Cheers Rooi, sleep well.
I can take them losing, but this is pathetic. No one out there looks interested. Cheers Plummie.
They look like a side that took the field accepting that they won't win.
Batho getting stopped by Prenny. I kid you not.
And now an intercept by Prenny. Yeah I'm out too. This might end up being 50+
What a pity the Lions couldn't revive their form from earlier in the season. Batho is still young, inexperienced, and has to properly find his feet at URC level.
Ruan Venter is sorely missed in the Lions pack. Today was a tough day for them, but they will be back. Henco van Wyk, though, is in impressive form, and hopefully Rassie gives him Springbok game time.
Problemos ... their talented players get snared by the guppies or a Euro club.
I see Van Rooyen wants to give the other two SA sides insights on how to deal with Leinster. It didn't seem like the Lions staff had any insight whatsoever to give themselves given how clueless they were against the Leinster attack. Those first two Leinster tries were like training ground exercises, so easy.
20,854 posts
Cumon Leeeus!