Lions V Munster URC 2026

Forum » Rugby » Lions V Munster URC 2026

May 16, 2026, 20:47

Please run the ball today, Lions...

May 16, 2026, 20:50

Lions all over Munster early

May 16, 2026, 20:53

Lions pressure the Munster line and the entire Munster line is offside over numerous phases but nobody notices ...

Munster clear 70m, steal the lineout and go on to score

May 16, 2026, 20:53

Shit, I just thought the Lions scored but now I see Munster is in red.

May 16, 2026, 20:54

Howzit Plummie, my visuals are on and off but I'll try to keep up.

May 16, 2026, 20:56

Crappies kicks a shoving boxie for no reason...please, not again!!!

Lions busy with the kicking kak already.

Howzit, Paks

May 16, 2026, 20:57

There seems to be lots of space for Munster out back. Not a good look.

May 16, 2026, 20:57

Crappies is really kicking badly. 20m o that clearance

May 16, 2026, 20:58

Krappies doesn't seem to be good at this kicking thing.

May 16, 2026, 20:59

Landsberg doing well to hold that up...looked like a certain try

May 16, 2026, 20:59

Why do teams not use the flyhalf for clearing anymore? That kak clearance has the Lions under huge pressure now. Just managing to hold up Munster over the line.

May 16, 2026, 21:00

Quan with the intercept. Of course my stream hiccups every time something good happens but I caught the replay. 7-7

May 16, 2026, 21:01

Quan you bliksim!!!

Masterful interception and he's in under the posts.

That was a bit like Kolbe in Wellington

7-7

May 16, 2026, 21:01

That was a beautiful read. The value of a smart player.

May 16, 2026, 21:02

My vok, Crappies...stop kicking this badly. Jirre man!!!!

May 16, 2026, 21:04

Lions need to kick better if they're going to kick.

May 16, 2026, 21:05

See your Temu 12 miss the tackle there

May 16, 2026, 21:06

Lions need to kick better if they're going to kick.

A lot better...

May 16, 2026, 21:07

Hey it's your man crush reffing Plummie, how exciting for you.

See your Temu 12 miss the tackle there

He tries man, he tries.

Old Piardi is growing on me, Paks

He's becoming more decisive

May 16, 2026, 21:08

Lions flirting with the offside line too.

May 16, 2026, 21:09

Dumb penalty. Roll out ffs.

May 16, 2026, 21:10

10-7 Munnies

May 16, 2026, 21:11

Munster take 3 because despite a lot of bluster they were not going anywhere.

They seem to be making more mistakes and gaining less and less ground

10-3 Munster

May 16, 2026, 21:11

Fok Krappies stop kicking jirre.

May 16, 2026, 21:12

He's just pissing me right the fuck off now.

May 16, 2026, 21:12

Jirre...CRAPPIES.....STOP KICKING GOOD FUCKING GOOD BALL AWAY YOU ABSOLUTE DOOS

May 16, 2026, 21:13

Lions turned over. Mpeku too slow to clean there.

Just got home. Anyone know why Jack Crowley is watching from the stands and not playing?

Seriously, what is he doing?

It's not the right time to kick and then the execution is dog shit too.

May 16, 2026, 21:14

Munster doos knocking the pass down. Eat a yellow bitch.

Howzit Rooi. No idea.

Deliberate knock on and Munster are down to 14 men.

Munster cop a yellow.

No idea Rooi.

Anyway, looks like this season has settled it, there's no more question that he starts at 10 for Ireland.

May 16, 2026, 21:15

Lions lineout creaking again.

Lions lineout looks dodgy.

Hehe, I find it amusing how worked up I get during Lions games.

May 16, 2026, 21:16

One thing is for sure, Rassie won't be happy with what he has been seeing from Crappie

May 16, 2026, 21:18

If Krappies doesn't kick it away, Smith will.

May 16, 2026, 21:19

And now Smith chips possession away and lets Munster off the hook.

I'm not sure why they are deciding to kick in these positions.

May 16, 2026, 21:19

Krappies looks much better when he plays ball. Another kak kick by Smith this time FFS. Get some patience and build instead of just booting it after 3 phases you idiots.

May 16, 2026, 21:20

Temu 12 breaks the line...another yellow coming

May 16, 2026, 21:20

Ref checking something here . . . looks like another deliberate knock on. Another yellow coming for Munster.

May 16, 2026, 21:21

Another yellow coming for Munster?

That's a try if he doesn't knock it

That's blatant, don't even deliberate about it.

If the Lions don't cash in here they deserve to lose.

May 16, 2026, 21:22

Cynical bullshit from Munster, twice when the Lions had an overlap.

May 16, 2026, 21:23

Commentator "Kriel does the damage in the middles, doesn't he? Running really hard."

Haha your maargat impressing the Irish, Paks

Let's maul it when they're two backs down. Brilliant.

Lions fluff it and now it's handbags.

May 16, 2026, 21:24

Haha your maargat impressing the Irish, Paks

He's Prendergast on steak en eiers, pappie.

Craig Casey has what we used to call a "moer-my-gesig" in my army days.

The Munster 9 looks like a proper little shit. Haha love it!

The Lions IQ has dropped to room temperature the last two games.

May 16, 2026, 21:25

Ja the mullet adds to the fun.

May 16, 2026, 21:26

He's Prendergast on steak en eiers, pappie.

Pretender is the the new Owen FagGril

May 16, 2026, 21:26

Now Mpeku kicks it away.

May 16, 2026, 21:27

Finally the Lions keep the ball in hand and Mpeku jogs in for an easy try.

May 16, 2026, 21:27

Yes, they finally manage to exploit the numbers OUT WIDE.

May 16, 2026, 21:28

Suck on that you cynical Irish twats. Let's hope they get another before the yellows run out.

May 16, 2026, 21:28

Lekker Leeus...

Did you see that take, and jink as he landed, by Francke

Oh Captain! My Captain.

May 16, 2026, 21:30

Indeed, commentator. Why would the Lions kick it away.

May 16, 2026, 21:31

Now 13 men are hammering the Lions. Because let's just kick the ball to them.

May 16, 2026, 21:31

Commentators rightly asking why Crappie kicked that away.

Keep the ball when you are two men up

May 16, 2026, 21:32

The 13 men are applying all the pressure and there could be a yellow for the Lions after the advantage. No . . . but they'll need to improve their defending. Too many first time tackles being missed.

Munster back to 14.

May 16, 2026, 21:33

And Munster score. Just keep kicking it boys, it's working really well.

May 16, 2026, 21:33

Casey scores. Of all people.

What was Kriel doing waving at the ref instead of tackling?

May 16, 2026, 21:35

Munster score and take a lead into the half.

Really stupid to give them ball when you are two men up.

That's braindead rugby

That's the half and Munster lead 17-14.

Very disappointing by the Lions considering Munster were down to 13 men for so long.

17-14 Munster HT. Not sure the Lions have got this. Their defense look flaky, which means they'll need to put more points on the board, but they kick away too much possession and give the opposition too much opportunity to stretch their flaky defense.

May 16, 2026, 21:36

Again, why can an idiot like me see that but the boys earning the big bucks can't?

May 16, 2026, 21:37

I honestly wonder if it's all Crappies or if he's playing under instruction.

...those kicks have blown scoring opportunities and resulted in points against the Lions

May 16, 2026, 21:39

If you have the Bok defense, you can kick the ball back to the opposition and then tackle the hell out of them until they make a mistake. If you have the Bok set piece, you can do that.

If you're the Lions, a team stuffed with journeymen, a kak lineout and dodgy defense, you keep the stupid ball and play the game that got you this far.

May 16, 2026, 21:39

It's another game where you realise how vital Venter is. When he was on his ban the Lions really struggled, as soon as he came back they started winning.

Now he's injured and they were poor last week and again shaky this week.

The point being, that level of influence by Venter will be massively valuable to the Boks. Particularly when combined with the likes of Jasper, Hanekom, Marx...

May 16, 2026, 21:41

Yes, they do seem to be missing Ru-anne.

May 16, 2026, 21:42

FYI...Venter wont play again this season. He'll likely miss the start of the URC season too.

Fucking sucks

May 16, 2026, 21:44

It looked like he knew that while leaving the field last Saturday. Seemed a broken man.

May 16, 2026, 21:47

Look on the bright side, Lions fans, at least we have the Sharks.

May 16, 2026, 21:47

lol Crappies got subbed but Pead starts the half with the worst kick of the game :/

May 16, 2026, 21:49

Clever from Mahashe to steal that

May 16, 2026, 21:51

What was wrong with that turnover?

May 16, 2026, 21:51

Muster kicking the ball away now.

Lions are gonna win this.

May 16, 2026, 21:52

"What was wrong with that turnover?"

hands on the ground, not sure

May 16, 2026, 21:53

Lions are terrible under kicks. Quan may have saved that initially, let's see.

Muster look to have score but there's a lot to check there

Great tackle by Quan but was it enough? I thought the Munster player grounded it on his own hand.

The Lions are very suspect taking the high balls.

May 16, 2026, 21:54

Munster knock.

May 16, 2026, 21:55

No try, there was an earlier knock-on.

Lucky escape for the Leeutjies.

May 16, 2026, 21:55

Try cancelled and I swear the conversation between the TMO and the ref sounds like two chefs chatting

May 16, 2026, 21:56

And it also Looks like Quan held that up in the end too...because he's a robot!

May 16, 2026, 21:57

Nice scrum Lions. Should get them attacking field position.

May 16, 2026, 21:58

Lekker, Lions demolish Munster's scrum

Batho makes some big eyes

Munster keeps the kick in. Aonther Lions mistake. Batho with the chip and chase. Dotted down. They will now have the lineout after all?

Smith misses touch after Casey does brilliantly to keep it in. He's an annoying little gobshite but he's played well today.

May 16, 2026, 21:59

Great work from the reffing team.

May 16, 2026, 21:59

No, he didn't do so brilliantly after all. Apparently he jumped from outside. That's a new one for me.

May 16, 2026, 22:00

Piccardi is growing on me too, Plummie.

May 16, 2026, 22:00

Haha nobody knew that law

May 16, 2026, 22:01

Lions with another failed maul. And now they cross and get penalized. Average stuff.

May 16, 2026, 22:01

Ag no man, Lions pinged for obstruction. What a waste.

May 16, 2026, 22:02

They don't have a maul, stop doing a feckin' maul. Jeesus it's like dealing with children.

FFS Landsberg crosses and the chance is missed

The momentum is all Lions though

Now watch them score a maul try later, haha.

May 16, 2026, 22:03

Now a lame high tackle. Momentum swings right back to Munster.

May 16, 2026, 22:03

Ah, it was Mahashe, not Landsberg

May 16, 2026, 22:05

So much for the Lions momentum and Munster score a convertible one

May 16, 2026, 22:06

Casey almost through . . . and now Munster do score.

Lions need to hit back quickly here.

24-14 to Munster.

The problem the Lions have is that they're such a thin team. When somebody gets injured, the next guy in line is nowhere near the quality of the first pick

I'd be surprised if the Lions come back from this.

May 16, 2026, 22:09

The way to beat the Lions is to just kick high balls. They don't have a clue.

Lions are hopeless under the high ball. Easy territory for Munster, box kick, gather, boot it out in the 22 next phase.

Lovely play by the Munster 9

May 16, 2026, 22:10

Mahashe finally gathers a kick and JC sets off downfield. Magic backhand from Batho, that's more like it. Penalty in front.

May 16, 2026, 22:10

JC Pretorius has been good. Lions get a penalty. They're going for posts. Bit weird when you're 10 points down.

May 16, 2026, 22:11

Batho with the pass of the season!!!

That was nice

May 16, 2026, 22:11

Posts? After you just worked hard to get in an attacking position? Not sure I agree. 24-17

May 16, 2026, 22:12

7 points in it

24-17 Munster

May 16, 2026, 22:13

Lions manage to win anotyher kick, amazing. And now they boot it away again. Christ alive.

May 16, 2026, 22:13

The Lions watch another high ball bounce.

May 16, 2026, 22:14

Quran should have kicked that away

Lame breakdown work by the Lions. Man I just wanted to say they look like they got some fire in their bellies as they broke out of the 22 there, then the kak kick, then asleep at the breakdown. Saved by a poor kick by Munster.

Munster hooker accusing one of the Lions of spitting in his face.

Spitting in the face???

What?

May 16, 2026, 22:15

This will be red if if they spot it.

May 16, 2026, 22:15

If this caught on camera and a card ensues, I'm switching off

May 16, 2026, 22:17

Noting clear...

Doesn't look like they have anything. Touch judge says it was at 60:18 on the clock. How would he know that?

Why does the scoreboard on screen show 24-14?

May 16, 2026, 22:18

Raining.

May 16, 2026, 22:18

It's raining now. Maybe it was rain in his face?

Casey really needs a slap.

May 16, 2026, 22:19

Scoreboard fixed now.

May 16, 2026, 22:20

Very good clearance from Qoma who is on for Smith.

May 16, 2026, 22:20

lol and Munster make a big mistake from the restart...but the lions give it back from the lineout

May 16, 2026, 22:21

No, Smith is still on. Not sure who's off.

May 16, 2026, 22:22

Davids drops the kick, more free possession for Munster.

Kak boxie Casey, Munster gets it anyway. Lions get a penalty though.

Another aerial ball taken comfortably by Munster but the Lions do get a penalty.

May 16, 2026, 22:23

Henko makes a crucial steal...the Lions can't win anything out of the air. Geez...

May 16, 2026, 22:24

The Lions need to just play rugby now and kick nothing

May 16, 2026, 22:24

Another shit boxie, too deep.

May 16, 2026, 22:25

Pead kicks it away

So damn stupid

This is defos a directive

May 16, 2026, 22:26

The Lions is clearly in no way skilled enough with the boot to play a kicking game, nor in competing for it even if it does go where it should.

May 16, 2026, 22:26

Lions have a lineout in Munster's 22

May 16, 2026, 22:27

Lions have barely gone wider than the first pod all game. From one of the most skilled and exciting sides in the competition to just another kicky bashy outfit.

May 16, 2026, 22:27

Man I love how violent Mahashe is

May 16, 2026, 22:28

Henko is injured now

May 16, 2026, 22:29

Lions 5m lineout...collapsed, penalty

May 16, 2026, 22:30

Lions are over but held up. Another waste. They should spin it wide when they get half a chance.

May 16, 2026, 22:30

Stupid calls they go for a tap and get held up!!!Why not maul again...Munster were on a warning

May 16, 2026, 22:32

Lucky bounce for Munster. Pead makes a clean break and kicks ahead for Davids, but Munster get lucky with the bounce.

May 16, 2026, 22:32

Pead with a lovely break but nobody there to help him.

See, play the ball...a gap will come

May 16, 2026, 22:33

Now another aimless kick gifts possession back to Munster.

Quan kicking away attacking ball again. Fuck this man.

It's not even a kick that can be chased, just fucking booting it for the sake of it.

May 16, 2026, 22:34

And now Quan kicks it away...that probably the game.

He has just seen how ball in hand brought the break but he chooses a nothing kick with 5 minutes left on the clock....WHY!?!?!?!??

May 16, 2026, 22:35

Hard to watch. After some good handling they kick it again.

May 16, 2026, 22:35

And again they kick it away after getting momentum with some great offloading.

May 16, 2026, 22:36

And now Pead kicks it away...WHY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????????????

May 16, 2026, 22:36

Are they throwing this game? Cause this is the pinnacle of dumbassery.

May 16, 2026, 22:37

Three minutes left, kick it away again.

May 16, 2026, 22:38

And again...they kick it away!!!!

Im so confused

May 16, 2026, 22:38

Now Smith kicks it away. The Lions are a joke.

May 16, 2026, 22:39

Fuck Ivan for not backing his guys to play their game. Choker.

May 16, 2026, 22:40

In the last 10 minutes of this game, the Lions have been losing by 7 points and yet decided to kick the ball away about 9 times.

Somebody explain to me what I am missing?

What is it that I am not understanding?

May 16, 2026, 22:40

If I knew they were going to dish up this shit I would have spent my evening better.

May 16, 2026, 22:41

Thanks for the company boys

Munster kicks it out before the clock runs out but somehow the game is over.

Munster winding down the clock. Casey boots it out and it's game over.

Casey named MotM. As irritating as that is, I can't argue.

May 16, 2026, 22:42

Ja cheers Plummie and Rooi, thanks dudes. I'm so disappointed.

May 16, 2026, 22:42

Cheers guys, I'm going back to the golf.

May 16, 2026, 22:46

As I said during the week, if they're going to play this kicking game, they'll lose every game. An idiot like me can see it, an entire highly paid coaching staff can't.

May 17, 2026, 21:43

Munster were missing 8 of their starters including Beirne and Crowley and the forwards were particularly weakened. The game plan was to spread it as wide as possible as many times as possible too tire out the bigger forwards.

The weather was great for most of the game but the wind was all over the place. I haven't seen it as erratic in a long time. In the span of 1 minute I saw the flags not blowing, blowing sideways, half the flags blowing and the other half not and finally all blowing very strongly down the pitch, I think this was a big contributor to the missed catches.

I was pleasantly surprised that they kept kicking especially near the end but they were running out of steam and the forwards were blowing hard. Also Munster's defence was really strong and I don't think they would make the ground by keeping it in hand.

At our end there is some disgruntled Connacht fans that we did not take the penalty in the last minute as it would have put you down to eight and if Ulster wins next week you would have been out of the Champions cup next year.

Overall it was one of the most exciting URC matches I watched this year. While the crowd was small (big GAA matches at the same time), the atmosphere was cracking and were very focal behind the team.

Before the match I fully expected the Lions to give us a pasting as we were so weakened with the injuries especially losing three players that day. However, Munster deserved to win. You could feel it from the first minute. They were more hungry, they wanted it more and worked their socks off.

May 17, 2026, 21:48

At our end there is some disgruntled Connacht fans that we did not take the penalty in the last minute as it would have put you down to eight and if Ulster wins next week you would have been out of the Champions cup next year.

Yeah I one of them. Now I'm torn. I want Ulster to win the Challenge Cup but not at the expense of depriving Connacht of a Champions Cup spot.

Still think back to the Bulls game in the season, a match we really should of won. Had we done that we'd be sitting in 4th place.

Thinking about going to the Glasgow-Connacht match. See if I can get tickets and accommodation. If we can beat Glasgow and Munster beat the Bulls... might end up going to Limerick too.

May 17, 2026, 22:24

It was a weird season and a lot of weird results. Very frustrating but really exciting in the last three or four rounds. I really like the look of Connacht this year. Lancaster is a genius and since he left Leinster their game has gone backwards and the conveyer belt of young talent has really slowed down. I think next year you will be stronger again and will be close to the top.

Glasgow are the favourites and are playing cracking rugby but I think you can turn them over. The margins are very small. We hope you do and we can do a number on the Bulls. Positive vibes and I will see you in Thomond. Hopefully we turn up a little better than the last round.

May 17, 2026, 22:54

We spit in your face, Boorad.

No, jokes aside your Munster boys showed a lot of heart, especially when they were down 1 or 2 men in that 2nd quarter,

Well done Munster. Congrats.

May 17, 2026, 23:04

bb