Mar 21, 2026, 14:49

Here we go...

Venter starting at 4, immediately disrupting an Edinburgh lineout

Batho also starting today

Mar 21, 2026, 14:52

Lots of phases for the Scotties to start, but they knock

1st scrum - free kick to Scots

Mar 21, 2026, 14:53

Nice support by Venter to score. Good try. I do enjoy the Lions willingness to run it.

Mar 21, 2026, 14:55

I have visitors so will catch bits and pieces.

Beautiful try from the Lions. All the big players involved.

Horn with a smart step to get out of trouble in his 22, passes to Crappies who hits a little gap, recycled, ball goes wide and Franke breaks out eventually passing to Venter who runs it in.

Excellent score

Howzit Paks

Venter is impressive.

Mar 21, 2026, 14:56

Howzit, Rooi

Morning men.

F Horn is criminally udnerrated

Mar 21, 2026, 14:57

Hiya Moz

Mar 21, 2026, 14:57

9 minutes in and Q Horn is showing why Chippo likes him so much

Mar 21, 2026, 14:58

High tackle by Chris Smith ignored . . . Francke Horn clears.

Mar 21, 2026, 14:59

Kick went a 100 metres! I guess this is the highveld!

Mar 21, 2026, 15:00

Haha almost a perfectly weighted kick from F Horn there...just 1m too much on it.

Massive net gain though

Mar 21, 2026, 15:02

Interesting scrum battle between Boan and Asanathi today

1-0 to Boan thus far

Mar 21, 2026, 15:03

2-0 to Boan

Mar 21, 2026, 15:04

Make that 2-0 as Asanathi gives up a scrum penalty.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:07

Nice rush defence of the Lions. Edinburg not getting the time they want to build anything

Mar 21, 2026, 15:08

Scottie's feeling heat and bleeding penalties

Mar 21, 2026, 15:08

Francke Horn is over. Weak defence from Edinburgh.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:09

Bit of attitude from the visitors….lots of snarling

And Franck's scores...two tries and he's been involved in both

Yeah, I noticed it too Moz. They seem to be trying to get under the Leeu's skin

Mar 21, 2026, 15:10

Landsman also shows impressive pace for a lock to score. Edinburgh looking clueless.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:11

Lions in yet again.

These boys are on fire today

Damn, another one starting in their 22 and going the length of the field

Mar 21, 2026, 15:12

It's a point a minute.

Commentator pointing out that Cam Hanekom, Evan Roos and Francke Horn all played #8 for Paarl Boys.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:13

Venter bumping tacklers off after taking the kickoff and offloading to spark yet another break out

Mar 21, 2026, 15:15

Edinburgh in all sorts of shit here

Venter injuring opposition players when they try to tackle him hahah

Mar 21, 2026, 15:18

Surprised how crap Ediburgh are. I thought this might be close.

Lions are playing well though, credit to then but Edinburgh have been rubbish.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:18

Venter again taking contact and then offloading to open up a gap

The Boks need this guy

Mar 21, 2026, 15:19

28-0

...and Edinburgh kick the kick off directly out.

When it rains it pours

Mar 21, 2026, 15:21

Scrum number 3

Boan was going around the corner a little in the previous one...

Parity this time...

still 2-0

Mar 21, 2026, 15:24

Howzit okes. Looks like I'm mostly missing a good one.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:25

A good one if you're a Lions fan. Not so much for the neutral. It's very one-sided.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:25

Quan Horn finally makes a mistake ...he's human

Mar 21, 2026, 15:27

Great clearance by Krappies. We're spoilt for scrumhalves at the moment.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:29

Way too much pressure on the Scots...they just can't build anything. The amount of errors from them is unacceptable

Mar 21, 2026, 15:30

Lovely double tackle by Mills

Mar 21, 2026, 15:32

Yellow for Francke Horn. Cynical play. This could change things.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:33

Scotties making some plays at the end of the half but it's entirely unconvincing...

oh no, Francke eats a yellow

Mar 21, 2026, 15:33

Ja that was good by Mills. Franke gets yellow.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:34

Batho has been a bit quiet

Mar 21, 2026, 15:35

Mahashe has been good though.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:37

Great defence by the Lions and they score at the other end through Mills, who scored after winning the initial penalty.

35-0 at half-time.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:37

Man, the counter and try by the Lions. Mills finishes on the juggle.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:38

Lekker Mills!!!

Crucial steal and they counter from their 22 again and score...and 3 minutes eaten off the yellow too

Mar 21, 2026, 15:39

I'm starting to see why Chippo likes Mills. He's got some good composure

Mar 21, 2026, 15:44

See, the problem is, I watch this game, and the Lions are playing actual rugby, even if Edinburgh are terrible. It's brave, entertaining and succesful ...

...and after this it's the Sharks :/

Which I just know is gonna be another 80 minutes of eye bleeding horrible rugby

Mar 21, 2026, 15:55

Brisk start to the half from Edinburgh but it ends with another knock on

Mar 21, 2026, 15:58

Lions back to 15 men as Francke returns. Bit surprised to see Landsberg subbed as he's been good.

Mar 21, 2026, 15:58

Edinburgh totally failing to get any points from the yellow card...actually 7 points down over the period

Mar 21, 2026, 15:59

Ja I'm still pondering whether the Sharks will be worth watching.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:01

Finally Edinburgh get in for a score through Ashman at the back of the maul.

That'll give them some confidence...hopefully

Mar 21, 2026, 16:02

Edinburgh score through Ashman. Have to say that's deserved. Edinburgh much improved in this second half. Thompson's conversion hits the upright. 35-5.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:03

When have the Sharks been worth watching over the blast two seasons?

Mar 21, 2026, 16:04

Pead on with 30 minutes to go and no real pressure. Nice learnings to be had for him

Mar 21, 2026, 16:05

Pead over but looks like the ball was out . . . no try.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:05

Is that try even real!!!?????

Mar 21, 2026, 16:06

True. They've had a decent game or two just after JP took over before racing off the Plumtree cliff again.

Nice work by Quan Horn but why the kick?? Two men outside him, no defender in front, pass the damn ball and you score.

Dammit, it was out

Nice cross kick by Smith and Angelo Davids is in.

Davids off a pinpoint cross by Smith, Lions in anyway.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:08

Ja the kick was a mistake but the step that got him through the gap was sublime….it all ends well

Mar 21, 2026, 16:08

Cross kick from Smith to Davids and the Leeus are in again

42-5

Smith has 6 from 6 conversion attempts

Mar 21, 2026, 16:09

For me, Horn is defos the form 15 in SA at the moment.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:13

Horn is definitely breathing down Worry Gelant's neck :)

Mar 21, 2026, 16:15

Edinburgh with another chance to score from a maul now...

and they do score after breaking away from the maul...still a zillion points behind though

Mar 21, 2026, 16:16

Nicely weighted grubber from Mills with not much on outside.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:16

Nicely weighted grubber from Mills with not much on outside.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:17

Lions with a chance for a maul try of their own...they fluff it

Mar 21, 2026, 16:20

Davids in off the Mills grubber. How did the EDB player not cover that? Looked like some lazy ass cover defense. Well spotted by Mills though and perfectly placed and weighted kick.

Edinburgh finally settling in and make their exists and and standing up to the Lions

...as I say that, the Lions score again

LOL

Angelo Davids in again. Edinburgh are back to playing like they did in the first half.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:21

Smith deadly off the tee.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:21

Smith slots another conversion...7 from 7

Mar 21, 2026, 16:23

That clear out from Venter...the man is powerful af

Mar 21, 2026, 16:24

Currie in off a simple inside line.

Edinburgh score through Currie.

MotM might be a tough choice here. I'd go Mills but both the Horns and Chris Smith must have a shout.

Venter is a beast.

Curry in after 20 phases

Who missed that tackle...looks like Pead

Mar 21, 2026, 16:27

Pead with a lovely delayed pass to put his man into a gap!

Mar 21, 2026, 16:29

Pead looking a bit uncertain out there.

After all the hype around Henco, he's not doing good things consistently. He's not been good today...as Venter yet again makes ground from a standing start

The Lions offloading game is fire.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:30

Yeah Henco looks passive.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:30

Francke horn is everywhere and involved in everything.

Have to love a captain that leads from the front and sets the tone the way he does

Mar 21, 2026, 16:31

Big old fend from Renzo.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:32

lol Richard Kriel...he's a slower, weaker and dumber version of his brother.

Pead is in. Lions hit 50.

Pead snipes and scores.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:33

Mills misses the conversion.

Well done Lions.

Come on now Sharks!

Richard Kriel has actually come on well in my opinion. Didn't look like much the first time I saw him but he's had some good outings this season. Good win for the Lions.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:38

Lekker lekker Peadi!!!!

50 up for the Lions

This was a hammering for Edinburgh.

Smith misses the final conversion of the day.

No way Rassie doesn't give Venter a shot this year. Francke still miles ahead of Roos and Quan Horn almost flawless yet again

Final score

54 - 17

Lions up to 7th on the log

MOTM - Venter...well deserved...stick with Plum haha

Mar 21, 2026, 16:40

Rooi, I wanna watch the Sharks but eish

Mar 21, 2026, 16:41

Plum, just by the way it wasn't Smith who missed the last conversion. He was 7/7. Mills took the last kick that missed.

Mar 21, 2026, 16:43

Ah, my bad. I think I was busy typing when he took it

Mar 21, 2026, 17:28

I must say, Bronson has impressed me after a few average games earlier in the season.

he’s played 4 solid games on the trot now.

he looked scared when I watched him play live. Never put in smashing tackles and left high balls for others.

looks like he’s sorted his life out after the allegations of him punching a coloured one at a Cape Town party recently.

maybe he just needed a wakkerklap

Mar 21, 2026, 18:50

Yeah, I wasn't sure what you were on about with him but he is starting to look good. Was industrious today.

Did you see how good Quan was yet again

Mar 21, 2026, 19:06

Plum

I said in a previous post... when i went to watch Lions.

I have a huge appreciation for Quan Horn.

He sticks out...

Also, his off the ball work is amazing. He reminds me a lot of Willie like that. Always chatting to the outside backs, talking to the centers re positioning etc....

He's very small though. But thats hardly an excuse these days. Surely Ras must appreciate him!

Mar 22, 2026, 07:01

I said further up on the match thread, he's the form 15 in SA right now. When Fassi was he got a shot, so I'm expecting the same for Quan.

Mar 22, 2026, 07:04

I said further up on the match thread, he's the form 15 in SA right now. When Fassi was he got a shot, so I'm expecting the same for Quan.

His error count is almost non existent. Yesterday he grubbered one ahead when perhaps he could have passed and he fumbled a difficult catch.