Rassie gone nuts with his game plan and squad depth

Forum » Rugby » Rassie gone nuts with his game plan and squad depth

Sep 22, 2024, 20:08

So, the world moaned about the box being boring and suffocating teams. Their game plan was too simple. But the boks were always one point away from losing. 

However, I wasn’t that long ago that AC tried to play the most expansive game ever and the boks was so expansive that the all blacks put 50 point beyond them. 

Then came Rassie and back the boks went. We had a simple game plan and could field two world class tight five that just bashed the hell out of players. Add a robotic midfield with a splash of X factor on the wings. 

This season our back three has has six combinations. Rassie has become more ambitious after each game, always changing and so did the match tactics. 

Yet, Rassie is throwing everything away and forgetting the core principles. It takes time for a team to settle and pull off this type play. 

The way Ireland play is no fluke. However, the stick with the same team. You can almost predict the team if Ireland had to play tomorrow. These guys play every minute they get, the can pull off complex plays because they’ve done it so many times. 

Argentina was the same. It is the same team that has played together all season and the took the boks apart last night. The could switch play and find the forwards stuck on the wing. 

When ever the boks tried it with their sixth combination it all fell apart. They made meters but end up losing the ball or getting turned because the rest of the team couldn’t keep up. 

This plan of Rassie is a fool’s errand. He need to start playing his best team now. Those youngsters have to take the jumper. I don’t care if Dud is 36 at the next World Cup. 

I recall a wonderful memory Joost shared when he got picked at 9 over the Great Robert Du Preez. His coach wrote him a letter to say that he has what it takes to win that jersey. 

That is how you build worriers. Youngsters that is willing to lay down the gauntlet. 

But with Rassie musical chairs and wanting to give every a go. It doesn’t matter if you played 1 min or 1000 minutes of test rugby. The best will rise to the challenge. 

Remember Habana first touch and burned the field to score a long range try even though the boks lost. 

Or Gaffie that was thrown into the deep end. He was the next best 10 in the country but he couldn’t do it. 

Rassie, if you want to play a complex game then keep your core small and allow the players to settle.

Sep 22, 2024, 20:49

Oh if only, if only Rassie had the wisdom of King Corny. 

How do we get this rugby loon, I mean genius, in contact with Rassie so he can put Rassie right. 

Any ideas?

Imagine King Corny discussing rugby with Rassie!

Bwaahhahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Sep 22, 2024, 22:30

Schooled 

Sep 22, 2024, 23:11

Imagine if Harrassmiss said he dislikes Trump. HasBeen’s brain would explode. There are only two suns in his universe and a handful of right rotating planets, circling those suns.

Sep 23, 2024, 00:01

I can't entirely agree, in the context of building a team for the next World Cup, now is the time to try out new players and combinations. The older players must be managed so that "some" can make the next World Cup.

The ones, who certainly will not make it- should be fazed out in the first and second year after a World Cup. It is pointless playing Reinach who will never make the next World Cup. The same goes for Mapimpi. 

The Boks would have won with a first-choice team, but that gain is insignificant in the big picture. The Boks have won the 4 nations and had a chance to test some new players.

Sasha has taken his chance, but other new players have not panned out very well. New players need to be tested, and the ones that do not cut it, need to be discarded for new players until the next batch for the next World Cup is ready- and which older players are still around by 2027

Sep 23, 2024, 05:59

But you need to invest in the right players. Moerat is a dead end and a quota without any doubt. Dixon looked lost for most of the game yesterday. He made one good little carry and offload that helped set up the Kriel try, but appeared to be ambling around not sure about his role for most of the game. Louw looks a far better investment. Agree about Reinach, Mapimpi, etc. Mapimpi is a good finisher but not fast off the mark and seems to struggle against quick players - remember Reece burning him in the 2019 pool game against NZ to set up their first try? He showed the same weakness again against the Argies. Completely the wrong player considering who the opposition was and what they're capable of.

Sep 23, 2024, 07:15

KC

I think that Erasmus took a big gamble in chancing  ten players in the game on Saturday from who played two weeks before against the AB's .   In that process he ended up with a captain providing no leadrship and the center and outside backs malfunctioning due partly to under-performance by the two flyhals used,

In what Ersmus did is undesandable - nameyly to use the Argeninian tests to test players and player combinations to give players  the opportunity to become invovled  on test level and he did not foresee what would happen - so in that he made a serious miscalculation.   He was apparently following with the harping of n the isue by  SA rugby discussion  panels and made too many changes all at once in team selection.

Introduction of new player should always be carefully planned and gradualy imlemented - not go the way Erasmus went in this case,

Sep 23, 2024, 09:42

Yes I can see it already we going to the WC 27 with a bunch of oldies.

Rassie and his selections makes no sense. I mean the only positive selections he has made is Elrigh, Ben J, Fassi and SFM.

The rest sucks ass big time. He must invest way more in proper young guns. Mapimpi, Koch, nykane, Moerat, V Staden, libbok Must all just Go and new guys must get selected.

Wiese is also not on par , his carries goes no where and he is a penalty machine. Let go of him bring in Hanekom. His younger brother that plays for the Bulls Cobus Wiese is a better bet.

The Captain Kollisi is also long in the tooth so is our centre’s of DA , Jessica and AM.

Out with the old in with the new!!

Sep 23, 2024, 12:41

On the flip side of the coin it's one way of finding out who to trim from the squad if that's Rassies thinking, clearly some are not test level on their latest performance. 

Making Moerat captain is plain dumb I'm not sure how he could. Thought I saw Etzebeth doing the talking. And I agree dumb muscle Weise is a penalty and yellow card machine but he's also a Rassie favorite.

Sep 23, 2024, 15:15

Other than having a good rugby name, Moer-at is not a test level player

Sep 25, 2024, 12:30

So we shouldn't change too many players but we must boot out quite a few.

Thank goodness Rassie is in charge a not dopes like poor Mozzietard and poor mampara power.

Rassie post THE RWC has brought in a number of new players that look like they could have a future. 

Steenksmp, Wessels, Nortje, Louw, Sasha and Fassi come to mind. 

Sep 25, 2024, 13:08

Starting 10 new players from the game before, introducing a complex game plan, brining in inexperience players and players that have know track record in first class games not to be up to standard. 

If you bring 4 player vs 10, the impact is less. You can start with 4 newbies and pull them off early in the game etc. Or you can go the old school route bring them on in the last 5 min and the work towards giving them a start. Worst case, if a player breaks down, the next in line will get a chance. 

Remember Jean De Villiers vs Meisiekind (Olivier) the centre debate. He had his chances but was never really a starter. 

Sep 25, 2024, 14:41

Meisiekind……brings a tear to my eye.

Sep 25, 2024, 15:15

Wynand Olivier retired from Rugby in 2019. In my opinion he was good enough to have started more for the Boks.

Sep 25, 2024, 15:46

But could he displace Jean De Villiers. He was for some reason really good against Nonu but rubbish against other centres. I know him and Jean partnered some times but in the end it was Frans Steyn who was the better 12. 

If you going to play someone like Fassi, then put Willie on the bench etc. 

I also feel that springbok games are being used to play players back into form. 

Am has been hopelessly out of form and he has also been played at 12 in games which backfired against the Aggies. Just ask plumbers to give him a few games at 12 for the Saarks to see how he gets on in that position. 

This obsession with utility players. 

I know Rassie likes to use the entire bench. It works for forwards

Sep 26, 2024, 18:25

Starting 10 new players from the game before, introducing a complex game plan, brining in inexperience players and players that have know track record in first class games not to be up to standard. 

Yep, as I've said on another post, it does not make sense. What you need is continuity with the idea of creating long term combinations. But there cannot be dumb selections for example like a Moerat as well as continuing with a no hoper like Van Staden.

Sep 26, 2024, 18:45

". I know him and Jean partnered some times but in the end it was Frans Steyn who was the better 12. "

Fransie's best games for the Bokke were @15.

Sep 27, 2024, 13:04

Van Staden is pretty useful. Hard man. 

Moerat so far doesn't appear to have the warrior spirit. Where is the fire?

Sep 27, 2024, 15:47

Van Staden was very useful to Ireland….he lost the ball when we had the match won and there were a few minutes left. Basically van Staden lost our number one rating with help from Harrassmiss the selector……and HasBeen rates him

Sep 27, 2024, 16:47

Van Staden helped Argentina along nicely too.

Sep 27, 2024, 17:01

Van Staden is net so k@k soos Eskom...

Sep 27, 2024, 18:02

Draad 

Have soine pity on the poor bugger,  Niemand kan so kak soos Eskom.

By the way we had no loadshedding since the election - why should that be the case,.

Sep 27, 2024, 19:53

"By the way we had no loadshedding since the election - why should that be the case,."

Since a few months before the election...more people and companies are going off grid..lessening the demand.