I didn't realise they play the anthems before these games.
I like the Roos/Dayimani partnership. Should be nice and mobile.
Gelant is at 15
Sacha on the bench...your man is starting Pakie.
Going that way I would have dropped Gelant and just played Sacha at 15.
Though, for Dobbo, that would mean admitting he doesn't know who is best where.
Adre Smith with the turnover. Man, how do these tall locks do it, supposed to be impossible.
Nice steal
Okay time for some rugby…morning gents
Dobbo loves Gelant, Plummie, wrote him a public love letter during the week.
Howzit my dudes.
Reinach held up
Hiya Moz
Jurie with all the awareness back for the save.
Pretty ground, reminds me of Newlands
Gelant makes about 0.5m with the clearance
Toolong rumbling towards the line. Look either short or held up.
Trouble for the Stormers early
Who's the gangster boss walking up and down the touchline?
Got pressure by the stompies but they give away a penalty
Another maul rumble, I thought they were over but somehow the Stompompies saves it.
Phew hectic defence from the Stormers
Toulon make the early pressure count and White is over to score.
Now well played but easy try for Toolong. Easily putting the numbers on the Stompies defense.
Too easy
Oh no
Toulon had so many men on the near side and the Stormers had all the time need to equalise the numbers but didn't
7-0
Bit of an Anton dab over the ruck there from Ben White.
Nice to see some rugby after last night's shambles. Looked like a high shot in there from the Stompies.
Hell there’s a spectator wearing a Chicago Cubs cap….he must like losing
Another calm save by Jurie.
Gelant fly kicks and misses
Breathless passage. Toolong would have wanted to come away with points there.
Toulon look very good. Such simple rugby. Few hard hits with the forwards and then to the backs.
Why we can't see to find that kind of balance is a mystery to me
Stompies have had so little possession andd then when they get it they kick it away.
I can't give this match my full attention. Vaibhav is batting.
Totally bs call his hand facing the Stormers
Check that ball from Jurie to Gelant, boys.
7-3
Probably the right move to go for 3 there
7-3
Juries is pretty solid
Poor kick by DW. He really is wasted on the wing.
Willemse just boots it away. Try to keep it alive ffs.
See how Roos has the acceleration and power to get over the advantage line when he runs at the gap instead of the man
Gormless by Willemse…he needs to go back to 15
Right option wrong execution...it happens ..howzit guys.
Yes I noticed that tooPlum
Stompies getting back into the fight a bit now
Adre Smith shows some good pace to score. This guy has impressed me every time I've seen him.
Toolong's high kick woes is giving the Stormers free possession. Smith through. He's made a mark over the past few weeks.
Lovely score!!!
Lol
Jurie outside the carrier waiting for the offload pulled all the defense the wrong way. Champ.
Bit of luck there..,,we’ll take it
P Divvy nicely into the gap to set that up
Best bit of rugby I've seen from the Stompies in a good while
Why the F is Gelant jogging there!!!!!!?????
I hate him
I really don't get that. It's clearly a dangerous situation and he's the 15 but he's jogging across to sweep!?
Trouble with Roos is, since he made that short run, I haven’t seen him again
Well I hope he was jogging because if that was sprinting then I think the entire Stormers back row are faster than he is
Indeed Moz.
Hopefully one day he gets fortune cookie that reads "Sometimes less is more"
Toulon are in again. Drean the scorer. Clever pass by Albornoz.
Slooow ball for Toolong on the goal line. And now they get the man over wide and sends a bullet to him. Try for Drean. 14-10. Well set up in the end, enough men in the middle to keep the Stompies from drifting.
Easy yet again. Jab jab jab uppercut !
14-10 to Toulon
Who is Schickerling on for?
I really hope Sacha comes on at 15 for the entire second half
These refs talking to every player. Tell them to shut up, you're only talking to the captain.
Adre is off.
Injured? HIA?
And Roos knocks but the Stomps have a penalty anyway
Jurie puts it dead center. 14-13
"Injured? HIA?"
Was holding his head, might be blood but couldn't see.
Nice penalty by Stormers.
Your man is on point today Pakie
Plum I believe that last Roos fumble was ‘more and less’
Injured? HIA?
Dunno, the Supersport web commentary just say "leaves the field".
Albornoz will be attending the Jurie School of Kicking after the game.
I think Andre Smith went off for blood.
And Galant is isolated. Toulon take 3 but miss...
14-13 Toulon
Mini Lomu with a good run, through Roos as well.
Was that a high shot at the ruck?
Was right in front of the ref
Yep, there checking it...
probably just a penalty, he was low and the hit looked to ride up a little
That's at least a yellow surely
Only a penalty?
Good call ref. Not much in that.
Elbow to the face
Letter of the law, card yes. Interpretation, glancing blow, no danger. I can live with that.
Stormers would love to get a penalty form this scrum and set up a lineout in Toulon's half before halftime
Agreed
A few nice offloads from the Stompies. Jurie with the perfect cross to Willemse, Dan Dup can';t get there.
Good cross kick from Matthee but good defence from Toulon. Half time.
Nice little cross kick there but they get bundled into touch
Great clearance White.
Another smart kick by White. Stormers defense getting into the Toolong attack well.
Gelant conceding the penalty.
Paul Div somehow comes away with it.
And Gelant penalised to start the half and put stormers under pressure
Nice steal by P Divvy
Great work by Willemse, Reinach holds on too long.
None of our 13s close down the opponent like Moodie and Kriel. It’s evident in all these skop passes that are working
FFS Reinach blows a try
Now Gelant kicks it out on the full.
Gelant out on the full.
And Gelant kicks it out on the full
Take the clown off!!!
Gelant blows the momentum
That ball should have gone wide faster, there was a chance for the Stormers with the Toolong defense hanging back.
And Roos knocks
Roos pretty much got a hospital from Gelant. Needless delay of the pass.
Looks like Sacha is coming on soon
Ma'a Nonu on the bench for Toolong. Hope he gets to come on.
Weak clearance from Reinach. Big old hit on Roos by Mini Lomu.
Roos obliterated
Come on Sacha.
Roos got floored there...by the 11 haha
Stormers line speed majorly disrupting the Toolong rhythm.
Roos actually did pretty well to hang on and present the ball.
How did Gelant not score there . . . .still there and Roos scores.
Lovely dab by Zulu, why did Gelant not go for the line instead of looking to offload. One stretch and he was over. They score anyway.
Another "obliteration" that was rather exaggerated :)
Sacha with instant impact...nice little dink and Roos scores
Stormers should have this sewn up if Toolong can't find an answer for their defensive line speed.
I like Mchunu but he does give away a lot of penalties.
Albornoz struggling to find the 5m line with those pendulum kicks.
The Stormers loosies are not getting to the breakdowns early enough
Stormers back under pressure and have to defend a lineout in their 22...mail rumbles...to the backs...big defence by the Stomps...penalty advantage...Toulon score
Nice try Toolong, Stormers scrambled well for a while but the gap opens eventually. Zas is so slow, man, easily beaten on the outside.
Toulon are in. 20-19 with the conversion to come.
Bad try to concede
Conversion slotted and Toulon lead by 1
21-20
Sacha smashes Albornoz, crowd don't like it but there was nothing wrong with that.
Albornoz definitely milking that.
Bloody commentators...totally happy with the elbow in the face earlier but apparently that was overboard by Sacha
Irish twats
Toolong can't control a high ball to save their lives.
Stompies scrum disintegrates but there was something illegal there . . . penalty Stompies.
Hmmmm Stompies get a let off at the scrum there
Big scrum penalty - puts the Stormers on the attack.
Toulon get lucky and then win a penalty of their own.
Dan Dup monstered and Toolong breaks out and now gets a penalty. You need an Esterhuizen for those runs, my dudes.
How is that not a high tackle?
Dumb penalty P Divvy.
These commentators are a bit annoying
Might have been a bit high, I didn't pay enough attention.
Momentum totally blown there right other Toulon line they loose the ball and then P Divvy dives over the ruck at the ball
Eish...that'll be a massive adrenaline dump for the Stompies
Nice hands to get it wide to Mini Lomu and no one was going to stop him there.
Can’t say I see Paul de Villiers making an impression at international level
They did so well to get the numbers wide there with the Stormers defense in their faces all the way. Great try. Simelane new man on maybe got himself a bit in no man's land in the line there.
Oh dear . . . Toulon go wide and score. The conversion is a formality and it's 28-20.
Those inside tacklers have to be on the man not back peddling
Same again for Toulon...Jab Jab Jab Uppercut
They keep sucking he Stormers in and then going wide and it works almost every time
Now Sacha just drops the ball.
And Sacha knocks it...
Mchuni is over . . . or is he? Looks like it touches the line to me.
Tough call that, ball looks to brush the line after the initial short placement.
12 minutes to go and the Stormers need 8 points...
Gelant the biggest liability yet again
Stormers win a scrum and can go into Toulon's half for a lineout...right on Toulon's 22
Linout...maul....they make ground...phases...advantage Stormers...
Nice ref takes the players word to check it. I like that...and it looks like a try
50/50
They're going to say they couldn't see it . . . no, they're saying separation. Back for a penalty.
I find this ref very acceptable….he may not be right every time, but he is clearly honest and objective
No try, still red zone for Stormers.
Nonu on.
Stompies have to score here if they want to win this.
Ma'a Nonu is on.
I thought that was a try
Another penalty and a yellow card for Toulon.
Nonu comes on …brilliant
Card for Toolong. Times like that perhaps better to concede the try and keep all your men on for the last push.
Held up. Good defence.
Held up by Toolong. Card might still be worth it.
Sacha steps well and then throws a hospital pass . . . it's still on here but Stompies need to score quickly.
LOL, Brex absolutely smashed whoever got the pass from Sacha.
AH Venter, shame man.
Willemse does well but it's called for obstruction. That may have been the last chance.
Gelant again holding on too long and the Stormers get in each other's way.
Not obstruction at least, it's a scrum . . . but ends up in a penalty anyway. That could be the game.
And now there's an obstruction because Gelant holds on too long again
Early shove by the Stormers.
Imagine taking Jurie off and leaving Gelant on.
Zulu easy as you please through the gap. Knew it was on the moment I saw he was one on one.
Game over really.
Too much wasting of good chances the Stompies
Yes! Khan scores. There's still a chance here.
Brilliant by Sacha
Lekker last two minutes!
Ooooooooooh shit the Stormers score through Sacha making a break
Toulon turn it over . . . 90 seconds still on the clock . . .
Now the Stormers have it. This really is last chance saloon . . . knock on and that's probably that.
Toolong don't have numbers and the Stormers knock it. How the fuck did they blow that!
Nonu might be in trouble here for head contact on Simelane. Stormers will get a penalty. Not over yet . . .
Can we look at that hit from Nonu again...a penalty surely?
Simelane should have gone wide not back inside. Nonu in trouble.
Has to be penalty and card.
Red for sure
I bet you they find a reason not give a penalty here
Nonu gets a yellow. Stompies have a penalty against 13 men. Still a chance.
Yellow card....
Pressure kick coming
Kick for touch Sacha!
Makes no difference….but that was a red
Right, this is now last chance saloon . . .
13 Man Toolong, you have to back the Stormers here.
This will be about 60m...they'll have to go for the lineout....make sure you pick it out Sacha
Lineout on the 22
Drop goal...????
Patience required . . . yes!!!
No? It's going down to the TMO. Was it grounded?
Stormers made hard work of that, they had big numbers wide of the ruck.
Hahaha what a finish...was he held up...
They won't give this
Yeah there's no clear evidence. There seems to be an offside call hanging.
Can't see anything . . . don't think this will be given.
No try. Toulon win.
Hard luck Stompies.
Hmmm I though that was a try
Anyway, the Stormers had every opportunity to wide there but didn't, against 13 men
No try. Stormers blew that, two men extra and you keep heading into the traffic.
Damn….13 men on the field, give it to Sacha 5 metres out
Let's hope the Bulls win
Back to the defender …hard to imagine how the defender can hold it up….but no images
Looked like it ended between his legs. Probably got down but yeah, no image.
Plummie klap 'n thread for the Bulls, I have to gooi 'n braaitjie quickly so might be a little late.
The last five minutes of he match reminded me of two incidents showing classical idiocy and those were -
In other words idiocy supreme by the coaching staff involved.
16,255 posts
Another kickathon?