Great post Chip and I agree with most of that
I would have liked to have seen less of the fringe 33 plus year olds and more youngsters in their places especially at centre and lock
Great post Chip and I agree with most of that
I would have liked to have seen less of the fringe 33 plus year olds and more youngsters in their places especially at centre and lock
Dave, the thing is, Rassie trying to keep a balance.
Results, politics, nurturing and future proofing all in one.
And i reckon he got the mix right.
Had he opted for more youth, we may not have have the mettle when the chips were down.
He's done really well in an unenviable role.
Ja that is true and for me the vast majority of the 52 players he has used this year are spot on - there are only a handful he should have moved on from as there are better youngsters he could have blooded
We have a wonderful core of experience in Kolbe, Arendse, Kriel, Am, de Allende, Esterhuizen, Willemse, Pollard, Faf, Kitshoff, Ox, Marx, Bongi, Malherbe, Eben, RG, Lood, PSDT, Kolisi, Kwagga and Wiese
The rest of the players selected around this core should be with an eye on the future
...DDA of course being atrocious again yesterday.
Knocking balls on, crab rubbing, failing to much/anything.
Notice when Pollard came on, how he kept getting over the advantage line and setting up momentum plays for the Boks.
My girlfriend, who isn't a rugby noob but certainly doesn't follow it as avidly as I do said the following...
"Pollard doesn't run right at the defence. He steps into the gap and draws two defenders. DDA just puts his head down and runs at the man in front of him."
And that's so damn true.
It's then claimed that DDA plays like that because that's what the coaches want him to do. Really? Then why don't AE or Pollard play like that when they come on?
I hope DDA was given this soft game because the plan is to drop him next year. There can be no backline progress when there is a black hole at 12. The sooner Willemse gets in there the better.
Also, Rassie had blooded too many players in too many nothing games and too little comes of many of the players.
What is the point? Yes, a swimming pool needs have a deep end. But is there any benefit to having it be infinitely deep? The Boks should have a known best-in-position squad. And then have guys lined up in case of injury/retirement.
At this point it's a travelling circus that is all "creative" while flexing on lesser opposition...but in any and that means something there are very few changes.
Who is our replacement 12? What about 13? We finally blooded a new 2 yesterday...against a nothing Wales. Van Staaden was brought it and didn't perform as expected....yet he has been retained at the expense of other guys that could have been given a chance against somebody better than Wales. Do we really need every 9 from every franchise at the Boks? Locks...it's Eben, RG and Mostert...and who else has been given a meaningful chance?
...then AE, WHY IS HE THERE? He gets a shot against Scotland but isn't trusted against England and then Pollard is on the bench against a nothing Wales. Again, what's the point? If AE has been there this long, and you still never give him a big game, while there are numerous young 12s that could be tried?
Oh, and yay...Hannekom, probably the most exciting loosie to come through of late, is given the last 40 in a nothing match. Again, what is the point?
The problem for me, is exactly like the Welsh game we lost a couple of years ago. What do we learn from those games? You chuck a bunch of random people together, and call it an opportunity. But it's a team full of randoms. So what are you gonna learn? Who is the best at navigating random events?
To my mind, you learn a lot more by actually selecting your best side most of the time, and then subbing players into the mix at a reasonable pace. Then can actually measure if there are up to scratch. Measurement is done relative to something. But when the team is totally random...against what are you measuring the players you are giving "opportunities" to?
There is such a thing as too much tinkering and there is certainly such a thing as having a squad that is far too big.
Great post Chippo.
Bullshit DA was good and that try set up against England was best moment of the tour
DA is a class act
Plum, your De Allende derangement syndrome needs treatment...I'll prescribe a few chilled Stellas and a few lamtjoppies oppie braai...moet n Rooikranz vuur wees bru...proe soos seevakansie.
And the fact that you guys fail to see he is only a tractor, also needs treatment …. Begin Sommer nou daai olofberg Drink :)
The only noteworthy thing he did the whole tour, is that break….the pass was a hatchet job above Kolbe,s head.
Only because Cheslin is such a super athlete, he managed to Still catch that ball and go and score…
Dr. Allendig is bog ordinary and needs replacement 5 years ago already….most of the time like plum says, he runs straight for contact.
Chippo
Senior player
2587 posts
Ok so most of you dont take me seriously. Maybe it's my own doing.
But here is my take on what Rassie has done.
Let me first say, coaches are judged by results. What Ras has been blessed with is depth.
BUT, he has created that depth.
Traditionally, after wining a world cup, coaches hold on to their tried and tested. It's good for 2 or 3 years until the experienced blokes move on in life. It happens time and time again... which leaves the incumbent coach with a mountain to climb as he attempts to rebuild for the next 2 years until the next RWC.
What Rassie has really done well, is he has stuck to a plan.
Besides his man management, his biggest asset is his ability to envision what he wants... and execute it.
He has learnt how teams go in cycles... they peak and trough because personnel change.
BUT, he hasnt let that happen.
He has immediate contingency plans and future plans and they often marry up.
His immediate contingency is to always have a backup player in each position who is experienced enough to step in when needed.
His future plan is to ensure that the wheels keeps turning.
Game plans aside (thats another whole essay on its own)...
Rassie has created a breeding ground at the highest level where experience and youth combine to ensure that there is / or shouldn't ever be a gap in any position.
Saffex is always riddling us with his befokked lists... but look how his latest version of Springbok depth is so much larger than any of his previous lists.
Lastly, he isnt shy to ask for help.
He has an incredible set of deputies (Wanky Stick aside). Brown has seamlessly stepped. Even our previous coach (forgot the okes name now)... Rassie wasnt afraid to work below him for 4 years. That is a sign of strength, maturity and groot balle.
I hope at the same time of this golden era, he is "coaching the coaches" so that one day when he steps aside, the wheels will keep turning.
I am so in love with the man (in a 100% rugby sense). I love him for what he has done for our team and our country.
He is a unique individual that we should treasure forever.