Bok team announced to face abs

Forum » Rugby » Bok team announced to face abs

Jul 11, 2023, 07:56

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Franco Mostert, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth (c), 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 21 Duane Vermeulen, 22 Grant Williams, 23 Manie Libbok

Jul 11, 2023, 08:01

Ridiculous that powder puff Mostert is ahead of PSDT - that won’t last long

Esterhuizen should have been on the bench

Jul 11, 2023, 08:04

Ja nee, very poor selections. What was the point of sending players ahead and no selecting them at all. 

Jean Luc should be starting instead of Mostert. 

Willemse at 10?!

Glad Am is on but why not Kriel. Not even in the match day team 

No Andre Esterhuizen. 

Why send all those players if they just going to hold tackle bags. 

Marx on the Bench!!!!!! 

Another quota selection given Bongi just played over the weekend. 

Jul 11, 2023, 08:26

There were some problem on Saturday in backline defense and gaps opened up which the AB's would have exploited.    The Aussies used that deficiencies to a limited extent - the AB's would have optimize it.    I think that is why the backline selection was improve upon in respect of the team selection on Saturday.

The one selection I am unhappy about is Willemse at flyhalf.   He is by far physically stronger than Libbok and as a result he would b a better defender  than Libbok - but the problem is he is totally unreliable as a goal kicker.   I would have preferred Willemse as outside center ahead of Am - 

The forward line-up is bar Mostert - a routine passenger bringing  virtually no physicality to the team -  whom to my mind is weakening the team.    

Jul 11, 2023, 08:30

Eish.... DA is back

Jul 11, 2023, 08:41

Some odd decisions there, particularly in the front row, but on the plus side, at least Kwagga is playing in the right jersey for once.

Unlike many I'm actually glad to see Damian Willemse getting a crack at flyhalf as I think he can be very effective there . . . and it will be interesting to see who takes the place kicks.

Come on Bokke!

Jul 11, 2023, 08:49

Franco Will do his thing like always….Esterhuizen should have started let alone be on the bench….Jean kleyn is better than lead and Jean Luc for Thor….give him a rest…will the boks be more expansive with there regulars or back to crash ball stampkar??

Jul 11, 2023, 08:50

Willemse is not a 10 and Libbok should start.

Jul 11, 2023, 09:34

I think the bok management believe that this is their strongest team. Not to mention now that Ox is crocked, that they needed to field Bongi to appease the politicians. Bongi throwing was terrible on Saturday and ran out of puff as usual. 

They made the same dumb choices last season. They left Marx on the bench when we know he has a full tank and can last the entire game. We don't even need to have Bongi come on at all. He could just ride the pine for the whole game. 

I'm not sure it is wise to start with Etzebeth given that he has been out for nearly 6 months now and probably not match fit at all. Could have started with RG and bring Etzebeth off the bench. 

Thor should not even be on this tour. Why bring Jean Luc back at all then. 

I'm worried about Kwagga not being able to front up. I think what we saw with Marco Van on Saturday definitely put him ahead of Kwagga and probably would have pushed Kolisi out had he not been black. 

This is going to be a tight game and you need players with a hard edge. Kwagga and Mostert don't have the mongrel that can get over the gain lain or hurt the opposite team. 

So much for getting a power pack. Would love to see Etzebeth and RG pairing up. 

The quota cupboard is looking a bit bare hence some players jumping ahead. 

If anything, they could have started with Libbok and Willemse at fullback. 

Not sure what to expect from Mpimpi, he is a terrible tackler. Only comes into the game near the 5 meter line and more of an opportunist. I don't see him carving up meters like Moodie or Arendse. 

Moodie can cover full back, wing and 13. I definitely want to see him have a crack at 13 at some point. Will be a good match up against IOni 

Jul 11, 2023, 10:19

Kwagga should be able to stand his man….Van Staden is impressive…strong stocky guy with impressive power Running, defence and poaching skills….I can see the argument with him there together with Wiese…Going to be a tough one sat….the team that want’s it most, will win.

Jul 11, 2023, 10:36

Another great quota team. Again.

Game is scheduled at 9.00. Should do it not to doze off. Going to be another stunning absence of a game.

Jul 11, 2023, 12:03

Trad go fuck your self you useless prick

Jul 11, 2023, 13:01

I’m pleased to seeWilliams on the bench. And honestly who should have been at flyhalf. Libbok was excellent last week, but poor in the Munster final. Exposing him in this game could have been a set back ….better he comes on later. Willemse is a tough nut.

The rest of the backline was always a given because of the 6/2 split on the bench… no room for Esterhozen and Dud. I would have picked Hozen but Dud signals the style we will adopt.

In the pack, agreed Eben shouldn’t be rushed back…..he is our most influential player. I’m please to see Mostert starting rather than a Deysel twin.  As for Dud Toit no doubt the coaches saw the obvious…he missed kickoffs and  lineouts by mistiming his jumps and generally did nothing except 3 pick and go runs, which the better coached ABs will be expecting.

This is Harrassmiss in mid season form….box, box, box….oops that’s F1.

Jul 11, 2023, 13:02

I am happy with the selections- except for not having Esterhuizen on the bench.

I was not sure why the Creatine Twin was sent overseas when he is not even in the top 5 options.
I am delighted to see Jessica Kriel is not included, is he the bag man?

I wonder if Willemse will shift to 12 when Libbock gets onto the pitch in the 2nd half. 

It is a 6-2 split, so it seems they want to play it tighter than vs Australia?

Jul 11, 2023, 14:41

Interesting that they have 2 locks and Vermeulen on the bench. 

Signals that it will be smash up with Dud, and that they will be using the line out drive. 

The will also be flying around the corner. That is a trademark Rassie play where he likes his big forwards to come around the corner and smash it up. We saw Oupa Thor do that on Saturday where they peal of the line out with a quick pass from a forward. 

But also noted that it didn't lead to any tries. We were camped in the Ozzie for ages with no real line break threats. 

If you look NZ, they played masterfully, going directly to Mac, then the inside pass to put a forward running onto a defenders week shoulder. 

They broke the line often and their timing was really impressive how the got through middle. 

Our moves seems very laboured. 

Other than the Van Staden, Bongi and Arendse combo. We did'nt offer much else

Jul 11, 2023, 19:35

Good old Mostert will show us yet again how physically inept he is.

PSDT was very good against Oz and will walk back into the starting 7 jersey come the WC

If Mostert fails to make an impression on Saturday his chances of making the match 23 in the WC is pretty much zero given the presence of Eben, Lood, RG, PSDT and the continued investment in Vermeulen

Bok bench will be RG or Lood, Kwagga and Vermeulen

Jul 11, 2023, 19:44

Basically Rassie's preferred team less Pollard...and the team's a bit pale for these days...

Jul 11, 2023, 19:58

Bongi is the only non-white person in the starting and bench front row, hence why Marx must be on the bench.

3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.

Subs: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Vincent Koch

Ox is injured, and Nyakani appears to have slipped out of contention:

Jul 11, 2023, 20:19

Nope Kolisi and PSDT will be in Rassie’s preferred team along with Pollard

RG could push Lood to the bench as well

Jul 11, 2023, 21:07

Well at least we are playing with 15 men vs 14 men and Kolisi. 

Jul 11, 2023, 21:22

Kolisi is a class player I really don’t get the anti at all

Best 6 we have by some distance - world class player

Jul 12, 2023, 08:42

Saffex, Kolisi is a fantastic attacking player and does put in those bing one on one hits, but I think we all remember what an impact Brussouw had for the boks. If your opensider can win you a few penalties, which is even worth more than a try in the greater context. 

The problem I have with Kolisi is that he hardly ever goes over the ball, tends to dodge incoming traffic and doesn't really slow the ball down. He is more of a ruck inspector and like to stand in the wide channels. 

I watched him in so many games, he never really is the first or 2nd person at the breakdown, he seems to shift away from the ruck in the defence and are normally 1 or 2 players away from the ruck. 

The rest of his play is fantastic, if he wants to, he can tackle and get stuck in. I only saw that in the last 12 months or so, but then he got injured. Being and opensider is gruelling and it takes it toll. 

Van Staden got released from Leicester because he picked up a couple of concussions and they simply didn't want to take the risk. 

So yes, I think we all missed Brussouw, what a player. Just a menace at the break down and super strong for a short guy. So we want to see that mongrel in Kolisi which he doesn't always show. 

He and Dyamani are very similar, very attack minded and normally I would say Kolisi best position is 7, but since way back when, your 7 is a more mobile lock with grit. Not these light weight locks we have in Mostert and Orrie. 

I would have love to see Jean Luc in the game along with Wiese. Would have really taken it to the ABs

Jul 12, 2023, 17:45

Need a good goal kicker against these ABs. Plenty of our previous points in the Championship came via penalties.