Boks vs Wales Live Chat

Forum » Rugby » Boks vs Wales Live Chat

Jun 22, 2024, 12:56

Early penalty Boks, Hendrikse misses. Wasn't a tough one either.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:03

Jessica Kriel continues to impress

Jun 22, 2024, 13:04

Easy peasy score for the Boks. Just putting it through the hands. Doesn't bode well for Wales. Hendrikse on target, 7-0.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:06

Faf boots good possession straight into touch.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:07

Not sure Mostert could have gotten out of there any faster but whatever. Penalty Wales, 7-3.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:09

Headon tackle by Mostert, didn't give an inch. Take note Ou Maaik.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:11

Mosterd should have driven over the line

Jun 22, 2024, 13:11

Scrum penalty Boks. Very kickable but going for touch. Throw goes over Steph's head in the lineout, Wales has it.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:13

Great break by Roos. Yellow for Wales as the Boks drive over the line. Might have checked for grounding, he looked over.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:14

Bok scrum dominating.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:16

Oh dear. Another yellow for Wales and penalty try Boks.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:16

Roos drops the ball in contact.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:19

Wales misses a sitter of a penalty.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:24

Hendrikse throws an intercept pass and Wales manages to blow the opportunity.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:26

Edwill easily getting the better of his opposite number.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:27

Not one mention of Aphele Fassi so far? Am I watching the same game as you guys?

Jun 22, 2024, 13:29

Wales struggling to put anything together.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:30

Good take in the air by Fassi :angel:

Jun 22, 2024, 13:31

And another.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:31

When last did we see a Springbok fullback taking every contested ball so cleanly without missing a single one? Not to mention Fassi threw the pass that effectively created the try.

What a first test in his favoured position!

Jun 22, 2024, 13:32

Fassi the Karate Kid

Jun 22, 2024, 13:32

Oh dear, I am the kiss of death! Fassi yellow carded.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:33

What a crock of shit. Sometimes you have to wonder what the officials are smoking.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:33

And Wales score.

Are we losing on handicap?

Jun 22, 2024, 13:36

Hendrikse has been a jittery critter

Jun 22, 2024, 13:36

Wales showing some grit here.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:37

Hendrikse straight into touch with the kickoff. Jittery outing so far.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:38

Boks need to wake up. We've shown little outside of strong scrumming against a very average side.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:39

Now a stupid penalty by Roos. 14-13.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:41

Hendrikse is kak, his only game probably for the Boks 

Jun 22, 2024, 13:41

And Hendrikse tackles himself and loses the ball. Well, tosses it into oblivion.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:42

Oh come on ref, are we not allowed to demolish their scrum?

Jun 22, 2024, 13:42

And this Ref is shit, how do you penalise a dominant scrum 

Jun 22, 2024, 13:43

Scrum penalty goes against the Boks.

Ref has actually been decent up until then.

Fassi back! Come on Bokke!

Jun 22, 2024, 13:44

Wales again their own worst enemy with inaccurate offloads.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:45

Hope Fassi remembers to just plunge to the ground next time he takes a kick because making an effort to keep your balance is apparently frowned upon.

Jun 22, 2024, 13:48

Great first quarter for the Boks, rubbish second quarter.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:03

Try Mapimpi! Both Bok tries have resulted from quick hands by Aphelele Fassi.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:07

Marx had 9 months to practice his throwing and hardly hit the target today 

Jun 22, 2024, 14:12

I missed the first ten of the second half. Hendrikse slots a good penalty. 24-13

Jun 22, 2024, 14:13

Another safe take by Fassi. Kinda stupid to keep kicking on him.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:19

Ugh, these TMO reviews.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:21

Roos almost gets the try but can't ground it.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:23

Ben-Jason Dixon makes his Bok debut. I really rate this guy!

Jun 22, 2024, 14:27

The Dead End comes on for Esterhuizen.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:30

And the DUD kicks it directly into touch with his first touch of the game.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:37

Noob alert!

DDA had no option but to kick, got tremendous distance and the ball nearly hit the chalk . . . but here's ButtPlug making an appearance only to have a pop at him.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:37

Dead End wins a ruck penalty.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:39

Nice kick Sacha! Hope this guy cements his place in the team. So talented!

Jun 22, 2024, 14:40

Whoa, super penalty goal by Sacha. That might have gone over even from the 10m line.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:41

Boks actually playing really well here without much reward.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:42

Bongi!

There's the reward we deserved!

Bokke!

Jun 22, 2024, 14:43

Sacha looking more assured than Hendrikse.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:44

34-13

Jun 22, 2024, 14:45

"Sacha looking more assured than Hendrikse."

Chalk and cheese.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:49

Wow!

Edwill van der Merwe take a bow. What a try!

Jun 22, 2024, 14:50

Super score by Edwill. Threading a needle.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:51

Always great to see a wing just back his pace and going for it.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:53

If this game is showing one thing it's the amount of depth we have. Fassi, Roos, van der Merwe, Mngomezulu, Williams, Dixon . . . so many inexperienced playersd showing they have the goods.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:56

Beautiful bit of rush defense from Kriel shutting down the Welsh move.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:57

Well done Bokke! 41-13 the final score.

Jun 22, 2024, 14:58

Sacha has been impressive. Doesn't look like there's even the smallest shadow of self doubt in his mind. He just goes for it.

Jun 22, 2024, 15:00

Edwill van der Merwe named man of the match. He was excellent but only one real moment of magic whereas Aphelele Fassi was brilliant throughout. Maybe the yellow card cost him?

Jun 22, 2024, 15:04

Edwill van der Merwe named man of the match. He was excellent but only one real moment of magic whereas Aphelele Fassi was brilliant throughout. Maybe the yellow card cost him?

The peasants love tries and long runs, unfortunately.

Jun 22, 2024, 15:06

Edwill was good throughout but other than his fantastic try, didn't have nearly the impact on the game that Fassi had. I think Fassi has claimed the #15 jersey with that performance. When Damian Willemse is fit play him at #12.

Jun 22, 2024, 15:10

Ja Fassi was very good.

Anyone spot Saffex in the crowd? I was looking for a guy occupying three seats but didn't see any.

Jun 22, 2024, 15:30

"Anyone spot Saffex in the crowd? I was looking for a guy occupying three seats but didn't see any."

At one stage he walked past the camera . . . I think it was the 10 minutes that Fassi was off.

Jun 22, 2024, 15:33

Yes, Fassi was exceptional in the air. He nullified the Welsh game plan which relies on their up-and-under Gatland ball.

Sacha should arguably have been ready for the last World Cup, but he is now. A very all-round player and should leapfrog the impressive Libok.

Jun 22, 2024, 15:33

Saffex was selling and eating boerewors rolls and vetkoek.

Only made it in to the stadium in the 75th minute.

Jun 22, 2024, 15:35

At one stage he walked past the camera . . . I think it was the 10 minutes that Fassi was off.

Cool. Probably coming back from another snack run.

Jun 22, 2024, 15:38

The failures in the match were  Esterhuizen and  Mostert,  They did buggr-=all of any value in th e match and Mostert was the only Springboks wh o gave awaym to penalties.   Esterhuizen just produced one big zero - while when D ev A llende came on the team always looked dangerous - with Etsrerhuizen there was no spar in the backline and  nothing came from Esterh uizen at all.   The ahd to cut h im out to show any real punch. 

Cannot think why these two players are still in the S pring bok squad.   

Incidentally I prefer Sash a ahead of Hendricks at flyhaf - h ave supported h im from his Under 20 appearance,   This guy can kick long  distance goal kicks - no doubts about that.   

The players that impressed me were Fassi - tremendous under kicks;   Van der Merwe, Kriel, Roos, Du Toit and  Etzebeth.   Add TO tthat replacements De Allende, Malherbe and Shasha.

We have a very good core team and when we add soe value from the Bulls it will making for a very good team.

Jun 22, 2024, 15:44

Jy wietie watte

Jun 22, 2024, 16:05

Is it possible that ou Maaik knows less about rugby than he knows about current affairs?

The failures in the match were  Esterhuizen and  Mostert

Of course, Mike. Long before the match everyone here already knew you were going to say this.

I don't say this often but . . . come on Bulls!

Jun 22, 2024, 19:36

Jinxer!!!!

Jun 22, 2024, 21:11

Yes I agree Fassi had a good game which I am sure has just retired Willie.

Plus the two #10's who played today have relegated Manie to provincial rugby finally.

The uncapped players who took to the field today really showed us just what depth we actually have to field a Springbok squad capable of repeating more RWC wins.

Must mention that what Malherbe did in standing down to allow Koch to run on for his 50th cap is beyond sportsmanship and it is total respect for your team and the signs of a great individual who is thinking beyond his own glory.

What a team player and individual he really is.

I salute you Malherbe not only are your a great sportsman and teamplayer but a gentlemen as well. 

Jun 23, 2024, 00:49

It took Saffex 10 minutes to walk past the camera….now that’s broad, the lad has been eating his own ice cream!

Jun 23, 2024, 10:08

There remains a lot of the game to enjoy from a Bok perspective but the Boks did suffer a flat spot allowing Wales to get within a point difference of the score. Think the Boks have a fair way to go and it's too early in the day to make a call although I enjoyed the win and I'm mindful that it's their first international after the WC and that they fielded some rookies and an unsettled side.

Jun 23, 2024, 10:11

Hey Denise, did your husband allow you to watch rugby?