Great try by the Bulls. Petersen made the telling break and offload, De Klerk brought the speed, Kriel was there in support to finish. Johannes misses the conversion. 5-0
Wiese onto the short pass and he's straight through with a nice step past the last tackle. 12-0
Hanekom almost gets Nortje away with the offload but probably just delayed it a fraction too long.
De Klerk in for the Bulls after a long period in the Dragons 22. Bulls looking slick and professional.
19-0
Dragons blow a try after superb backline move. Created numbers on the outside, couldn't get the ball there.
Scrums eat up so much game time. It was a struggle last night, it's a struggle in this game.
Hanekom wins a turnover penalty.
Bulls almost through as a Dragons player gets in the way of the last pass.
Xaba now with the turnover penalty. Bulls have a lineout 5.
Bulls score off the maul through Akker. 26-0 halftime, pretty much one way traffic.
Importantly, has anybody been injured and did Lydia make an appearance?
I'll be on for the 2nd half.
Think that's a no on both counts. I tend to tune out when someone goes down for injury so she might have been on though, there has been a stoppage or two.
Dragons start the half with a try and I missed it. 26-5
Williams scores a super try for the Dragons. Break off the ruck, chip over the top, wins the chase. 26-10
Dragons immediately concede a penalty off the kickoff as they pick up a ball lost forward, which is offside. Bulls lineout 5.
Wholesale subs for the Bulls.
Akker breaks off the back of the maul and storms over. 31-10
Johannes's kick causes problems, bounces right for Moodie but he can't hang on to it otherwise he was over.
Moodie for me has had less of an impact at 13 than he usually has on the wing.
Van der Linde breaks, feeds Petersen, steps inside and scores. 38-10
Injury Dragons. Look sharp, Plum.
There she iiiiiis, can barely see the injured player past those thighs.
Petersen in again off Johannes's wide pass. Deadly finisher. Impressive buildup from the Bulls.
43-10, Johannes not kicking well for posts.
Brilliant try Bulls. Three offloads in a row. Van der Linde again the catalyst with a great break from the ruck. 50-10
Bulls have hands down the most competent forward pack in SA. Their support, cleaning out, competing, ball retention is impressive.
Devon Williams through after another relentless forward onslaught by the Bulls.
Johannes misses a fairly easy conversion. 55-10
Eina, poor Dragons.
So many tries it's barely worth commenting.
Geez these Welsh sides are bad.
Conversely, the Bulls have looked better every time they've run out this season. I think Jake will be happy with his team peaking now.
Dragons get a consolation score. 55-15. Five minutes left but I'm off, will be back for the Sharks.
Strange that Moz hasn't been on any of the game threads.
...Dragons get another one
Last week all the chat was about the Bulls switching off. But with a lead like this it's almost impossible to stay switched on.
...eek, Dragons' try canceled because of a forward pass.
Moz may be golfing or something.
Dag manne. Just arrived back from a trip to NY….and watched the half time highlights. I agree with Pakie’s comment on Moodie, not as convincing at 13.
Good goal line stand…just couldn’t get a turnover
My feed is massively delayed.
"Dag manne. Just arrived back from a trip to NY"
Did you visit any galleries?
Moodie is hardly going to be convincing at 13 if Jake plays him there once in 10 games now is he?
Yes we spent the morning and lunch at the MOMA. Little weak on Post War…saw no great Twombly’s for example. The usual ugly Pollocks. But Starry Night is always a moment and the food is a work of art in itself.
A grandkid was graduating from Art school, so we saw lots of work from promising young artists.
The city was packed to the gills. And the trip itself was weird. Hit by lightning flying into NY. Leaving, the plane stopped for 40 minutes near the gate and while we were told it was a quick fix, they ultimately canceled the flight.
There were no good later options, so back to the hotel which put me back in the same room, and then I discovered the room number was also the flight number the next day. Probability of 1 in a thousand. Twilight zone stuff, not for the superstitious.
"Hit by lightning flying into NY."
What what? Your plane was struck? OMG!!!
"Yes we spent the morning and lunch at the MOMA. Little weak on Post War…saw no great Twombly’s for example. The usual ugly Pollocks. But Starry Night is always a moment and the food is a work of art in itself."
Regardless, I'm jealous!
It's weird how life works with these odd synchronicities. Nothing strange happens for years and then all the strange stuff happens in one day.
Another artist in the family Moz
Yes, it’s a cool thing Dave.
My second time experiencing a lightning strike Plum. It happened to me just after we arrived in the States….also on a Chicago/NY flight. Huge flash of light and a mighty crash. The pilot on that occasion was a southern boy and he laconically informed us we were just ‘discharging a little static electricity’
On this occasion a lady behind me shouted out ‘oh my god what was that’…..verbalizing what most passengers were thinking.
Some dangerous weather in the US this spring. We are having the coldest May in Chicago I can recall.
Very cool - my eldest studied music and has now just opened a French wine bar in London, Soho - which is super cool :)
I'd for sure need a change of shorts after something like that.
How on earth the plane doesn't just drop out of the sky after a gazillion volts passes through it is a mystery to me.
I was in a prop plane a couple of weeks back and went through pretty calm storm. Inside the plane it felt like we were flying through a tornado.
The plane just acts as a conductor….
’When lightning hits an aircraft, it arcs through the fuselage, from the wings and nose, and exits through the tail. All wires onboard are grounded or isolated away from the body, and the electric current passes through the conductive outer shell of the aircraft. The only thing you should hear is a boom and perhaps a light shake.’
In my experience the flash is the most obvious thing. Scary, but not as scary as flying in copters in Greece. I was doing a study for a Greek company in 1980. They had plants all over Greece and a copter to visit them.. roads are slow because of the mountains.
But the owner hired a pilot who had been a member of the Greek aerobatics team. He did one stunt ripping between warehouses 10ft off the ground.
But still not the scariest. That happened when the owners son who was learning to fly took the controls. One time the copter tilted to 45 degrees and dropped a few 100 ft. I haven’t been in a copter since those experiences….hot, noisy, bumpy, dangerous
Wine and ice cream Dave…nice. Sounds like your eldest is well set.
No ice cream - the chef does do a raspberry sorbet
Chef invested financially which is good as he then won’t do a runner - kitchen staff are renowned for taking flight
The chef is Italian - not French :)
Well my eldest brother was a chef and he never did a runner !! :)
Well I supply many many restaurants with ice cream and the owners bitch and moan constantly about the turnover of kitchen and front of house staff
So basically a flying Faraday cage, Moz. The current passes around the outer shell of the fuselage and wings...the wings...where the fuel is kept. Screw that!!! I'm not mentally equipped to gloss of that many variables. I swear, I'd never fly again.
Rental is Soho is insane, Dave.
They must be pretty busy to keep up.
One of the biggest junkies I ever met was a chef. The guy was a Trainspotting level waste of space. Kitchen staff are much like circus people.
Excuse me, Plum…….i was kitchen staff and a waitress for my brother in my youth. I’m nothing like a circus person…..I even have a phobia of clowns ;)
Plum rent a month is £9K and his spot only seats 50ish
Thankfully he negotiated not having to pay rent for his first 8 months - he is literally 2 weeks into the venture
Lease is for 10 years
Circus folk, "Carnies“….I can smell the cabbage:) ……Austin Powers
Yep, carnies :)
You have a phobia of clowns because you took too much LSD in your kitchen working days Becs.
...like all you cooks and waiters do.
I've seen yall, walking like Johnny Depp in Fear and Loathing as you bring my starter with them clammy hands and dilated pupils.
Good luck to him, Dave.
It works out to £6k a month. Soho is mega busy, So if they do decent food they should be able to make it.
What's the menu like?
Yep, we were all coked up in my kitchen. I was so far gone I twice went out with South Africans !!! ;)
Menu is up Moz’s street - posh nosh
Fried courgette, rouille, trout roe
Escargot, seaweed, pine nut cream
Lamb tartare, spring vegetables, goats cheese
Crab tart, bisque
Poached chicken, rice, brown butter
Bavette, egg yolk emulsion
Red mullet, bouillabaisse, tapenade
I'd go for the red mullet bouillabaisse...
Served with tapenade on toasted baguette slices.
I'm a sucker for Mediterranean cooking.
Few people prefer fish over red meat, I'm one of those heathens.
With fish there just so many choices and favours.
We had an extended stay in PE a few years back. Went out and did some deep sea fishing but we felt like commercial fisherman because between four of us we filled a wide floor standing freezer about halfway up with one morning's fishing. We caught lucies, yellowtail, mussel crackers. Bit unfair because our hosts knew the best spots and had what I can only assume was high grade fish finder.
Took turns for the next three weeks making fish on the braai, in the oven, in tinfoil among the coals, fried...haha we even made fish pasta.
I could eat like that indefinitely.
Musselcracker has to be one of my all-time favourite things to eat but it's on the red list so not sure how or why you were able to eat it.
Jirre but you okes eat fancy. I know only from tjoppies en boerewors en bobotie and maybe a stuffed chicken breast if I get really adventurous. Or a snoek on the kole.
I find it hilarious that you and I like so much of the same stuff, Rooi. Probably because I know it annoys the living shit out for you.
We actually caught two musselcrackers...one of them weighed 19kgs - my niece caught it. Not being a fisherman at all my cousin had to tell me to check up on the boat captain who soon after catching the musselcracker offered to clean some of the fish for us.
No idea about red lists Rooi. This was around 3 or so years ago.
My favourite fish pasta recipe...
Cut up some smoked salmon, fry it in olive oil, garlic and red Kikkoman soya sauce for about 3-4 minutes. HAS TO be Red Kikkoman
Chuck in some chopped tomatoes.
Once the tomatoes have simmered into a sauce, pour in enough single cream until the sauce is about the same shade of pink as the salmon was raw.
Let that simmer while you cook the pasta - MUST be spaghetti.
When the pasta is almost ready, chuck a bag of small leaf spinach into the pasta sauce. It'll reduce very quickly.
I’m the opposite I don’t like any seafood
Can’t beat a good steak or rack of ribs or spicy chicken wings
If I knew how to send images I’d send some of the dishes
Oysters are top of the food chain…the flavor and the risk.
In Mosambik you take them freshly of the rocks with a bit of Tabasco sauce, lemon juice and black pepper….
Really nice:)
Eish, Moz...the texture though haha. I need to work up some liquid courage first.
Lol Dave doesn't like seafood. How about seafood curry, Dave? Still a no?
...yes, we wanna see pictures of the dishes, Dave. Or just send us their website, now that you got us all hungry.
I think oystes are very overrated. The Eben Etzebeth of the sea. Not saying I don't like an oyster but I don't get all the fuss.
Before you advise me, I've had Knysna oysters plain, with tabasco, with lemon, with tequila, with pepper and with stroh rum . . . so I have tried them in many different ways.
Now perlemoen . . . there's something to eat out of a shell. The Pieter-Steph du Toit of the sea!
I cook a lot. I'm a foodie. I even watch cooking shows on TV like Australian Master Chef.
My wife always complains that I only discovered my love for cooking after the kids left home but I'm making up for it. I cook every meal, mostly for one or two but sometimes for 16 or more.
I grow nearly all my own herbs. I visit markets at least twice a week for interesting or different ingredients and I'm adventurous. I get great ideas from Chat GPT.
I use anything from a wok, an oven, a pressure cooker, traditional pots and pans, slow cooker, potjie and, of course, a braai.
I cook Indian, Cajun, Greek, Italian, French, Chinese, Mexican and pretty much any cuisine you can think of. I've tried making my own sushi and while it tasted good, the presentation was poor . . . but I will try again.
I don't really do baking or desserts but I do make a restaurant quality baklava.
Any other foodies out there?
Australian masterchef is great sooooo much better than the British one
I have a good mate who makes a living selling oysters at Greenwich market in London
He makes a killing
I tried one a few years ago with tobacco, lemon and an onion garnish - fucking awful things
I’ll send photos - how do you post images on here - videos are easy but not images
Images are pasted next door to the video icon, the one that looks like a cable.
I’ve tried that
Oysters are horrid !!
Saffex, the site that you use to make the image url can mess it up and give you extra parts of the address that screws with Ruckers system.
Try this...
1) Create the url on the site you normally use.
2) Copy the url address
3) Paste the url address into chat GPT
4) Also paste the below prompt into chat GPT
"Create a standard url from the one posted here. It is for a forum"
5) Copy the url it creates for you
6) Go to Ruckers, type sone text in a thread where you want past the image.
7) Hit enter to go to a new line
8) Click the O-O button next to the video button above the post box
9) Paste the ChatGPT create url into the pop up box
10) Submit
11) Don't take IT advice from Denise.
Plum I need you to explain line one :)
Create the url on the site you normally use. - I don’t use a site I just want to copy a photo or image from either on line or in my library
Text
-------
The image editor is hard to use. It used to just be right click and copy and image, then paste.
Now that box must be used to insert the image address link - not the image itself.
Sometimes you have to put text above and below the image....
------
I’m doing this on my phone
Its easy enough to copy the image
How do open image in new tab
Jirre, Dave...you caveman
Same way you do with those [desperate singles in my area] stuff of yours, Dave.
VisKop,
Why not make a definitive guide for posting pictures on Ruckers?
I know we'll regret it once Mike starts posting pics of "Cliques Masjin" but it's only fair that everybody knows how to post pics.
Saffex, you can't put up any old photo on your phone, it needs to be a photo that's in the public domain, ie, on the internet.
If you want to post a photo from your phone you need to upload to to a site like imgur or imgBB and then you can link it to here.
...he doesn't know how to open a new tab.
I'm guessing all of this is Greek coded in hieroglyphics and wrapped in quantum encryption to Dawie.
He needs a step by step guide, explaining every step.
Oh, FFS, I'll make a guide in a new thread.
Let me get some coffee.
I made a full guide for posting images on Ruckers.
It is in two parts, the first one is a guide on how to post images that are already on websites, and the second part is a guide on how to post your own images on Ruckers. Each guide is in a separate post.
Click the link below to go to the guide.
https://www.ruckersforum.com/forum/other/posting-images-on-ruckers--guide/51080/
Fuck me why can’t it be as simple as posting a video
Fuck sake Admin make it simple man!!!
It is actually very simple, Dave. Like you don't need to sign up to any of the sites etc.
Just follow my two guides...do one post of a website image and one post of a pic on your phone and you'll see...it's supper easy...takes seconds.
The guides are just long because I tried to account for all variables.
Will give it a go Plum - thanks
11,635 posts
No score after 3 minutes.