May 26, 2025, 13:44

I tried to paste an Instagram link

May 26, 2025, 13:57

LOL

How are you still alive, Dave!?

May 26, 2025, 13:58

Clearly technically challenged :)

May 26, 2025, 14:01

Come on Dave, so far we've gotten a dead fish decaying in some dirty dish water from you. Where's the good stuff?

May 26, 2025, 14:05

Pakie do you eat your fish alive?

May 26, 2025, 14:09

Yes, with some fava beans and a nice chianti. Fvfvfvfvfvfvfv.

May 26, 2025, 14:09

https://www.instagram.com/reel/DJkBRbXMHYj/?igsh=MWhnZHJxYnVyemN1Yw==

May 26, 2025, 14:10

Best I can do is a link - if someone can manipulate it into the video be my guest

May 26, 2025, 14:11

https://www.facebook.com/share/r/16V3atG5oi/?mibextid=wwXIfr

facebook link

May 26, 2025, 14:13

Live link to Dave's video

May 26, 2025, 14:15

Mooi Pakie

May 26, 2025, 14:16

Dave, for heaven's sake, learn how to post pictures.

...then you can actually take screenshots of videos and send it when you comment on rugby stuff.

May 26, 2025, 14:19

The food looks good though.

I'm happy with my choice of the red snapper...

May 26, 2025, 14:30

That steak all day long - not had it yet though

Had the rice and chicken with a hint of lemon - really nice

The chicken liver pate cubes are amazing with freshly baked bread

May 26, 2025, 16:26

Very impressive Dave, you should be bloody proud

May 26, 2025, 16:49

Surely this post should not be under the rugby section.

Just asking before you start with your foul reply.

May 26, 2025, 18:05

It’s the flow over from a rugby string. Marginal, but I’m fine with it.

Great looking food Dave and great Silence of the Lambs reference Pakie

May 26, 2025, 18:38

Very proud DA, he has worked himself to a standstill literally to get it up and running

Proud of both my boys - the younger is Head of Rugby at a top 10 private rugby school in England aged 27

Both are achievers and I credit sticking them through private schools here as the government schools are largely a disgrace. Obviously parenting played a part but equally all those years and hours at school are as formative

May 26, 2025, 21:56

I wonder if red snapper is similar to red Roman?

May 26, 2025, 23:00

All I know is, I spent longer making a guide for Dave to post pictures on Ruckers than Dave spent actually trying to post pictures on Ruckers.

May 26, 2025, 23:07

M, Red Snapper is similar to Miss Lucy.

...I think so anyway.

Romans are usually olive in complexion. The pale ones are from Milan and only pretending to be Roman :)

May 26, 2025, 23:10

Come now Plum - you saw the fruits of your guide

Image posted - albeit a bit large :)

I just need to work out how to change the size

I’ve given it a try but it failed

May 26, 2025, 23:17

A Red Roman taste like crab to me and Misslucy tastes more like Rooi Steenbras, which is more of a very rich hake taste…

May 27, 2025, 00:07

All fish tastes kak

May 27, 2025, 08:56

Wrong , you obviously haven’t tried a freshly caught Yellow Tail for example on the Braai…..or Fresh Cob fried in olive oil with a very light batter…..

1,5 months ago I caught Yellow Fin Tuna of Cape Point and that was magnificent , either fried in a pan or on the grill….

Very healthy and so tasty:) I love Sea Food…. But a lekker steak is not Bad either, but not as healthy as fish…

Gemsbok or Kudu steak is very healthy Red meat and super tasty:)

May 27, 2025, 10:22

I’ve had plenty of fish in my time - used to enjoy a bit of cod and chips - with plenty of batter back in the day but never have it anymore - I just don’t like fish and less so the rest of the seafood chain

When I was a kid I remember my grandparents taking us out to a restaurant where I either had sole or monkey gland steak - I liked sole back then but have not really had it since. We used to also have kippers for breakfast back then

I can’t remember when last I had fish - will never order it when out and obviously never have it at home

I’m a beef, lamb, pork and chicken guy - never understood why the Poms don’t eat mutton

May 27, 2025, 10:33

The spur had a Monkey Gland Burger which I loved….they have discontinued it sadly…..

I wish I knew how to make Monkey Gland sauce….do you know by any chance Saffolk?

May 27, 2025, 11:40

The main components of monkey gland sauce are chutney and tomato sauce(ketchup) – which result in a sweet mixture. Then, the addition of onions, vinegar, garlic and Worcestershire sauce, gives it a savoury-sweet flavour.[2

Those ingredients remind me of the sauce a chef in the army used to marinate the braai meat in.

I asked him what the ingredients was a he literally mentioned the above with the addition of spices

May 27, 2025, 11:51

Thanks I am going to make it tonight:)

May 27, 2025, 14:40

All fish tastes kak

Nee man, not until you've had Atlantic Salmon or our Burramandi up north Sea Bass is the go. Also love Snoek but not the imported variety. For steak, love 1 year old Rump 1 inch thick braaied for a minute each side on high heat. Sauce is a definite no-no so as to taste the natural flavour in the meat.

May 27, 2025, 15:59

Nee it’s all kak especially tuna and salmon

May 27, 2025, 16:17

I would love to try barramundi, heard it’s delicious.

May 27, 2025, 16:39

"I’m a beef, lamb, pork and chicken guy - never understood why the Poms don’t eat mutton"

With you all the way on all of those, and I often make mutton curry. Nearly as good as goat.

Except I love my seafood as well.

My perfect meal is a seafood starter, a meat main and something alcoholic for dessert.

I cooked an octopus the other day. First time and inspired by Master Chef. It was restaurant quality. Pressure cooked it in stock, wine and garlic for a few minutes. Cool. Remove from liquid. Keep liquid on simmer until it reduces to a sticky thick sauce. Once it's nearly ready, braai cooked octopus on high heat to sear all over. Remove from heat, slice and then pour over the sticky sauce.

Edit: And a large pinch of Chinese Five Spice into the stock at the beginning. Also, a tiny bit of honey or chutney or chilli sauce to get that stickiness at the end.

May 27, 2025, 16:44

Sounds awesome Rooi if that had been a tomahawk steak :)

My good mate has a Steak restaurant called 16 Steakhouse - I asked him why 16? Apparently there are 16 varieties of steak cuts

He was the first restaurant I supplied ice cream to - helped that we were mates - we played cricket together, a real character

Nicky Boje is head of cricket at the school my son is at, Jamie the mate I’m on about always winds Nicky up, asking him to spill the beans on Hansie Cronje

May 27, 2025, 18:32

"My good mate has a Steak restaurant called 16 Steakhouse - I asked him why 16? Apparently there are 16 varieties of steak cuts".

Not sure how many of those I've tried but I always go back to good old fashioned sirloin. Rump 2nd.

May 27, 2025, 18:36

Brisket cooked over time is another very rewarding beef cut.

And nice thick shortrib cooked exactly as I desctibed the octopus above only a bit longer in the pressure cooker . . . 20-30.

And tongue! Who has peeled a tongue?

May 27, 2025, 18:41

My Nan used to peel tongue. Disgusting !

May 27, 2025, 18:44

Blasphemy, but I prefer air fryer steaks to almost any other way of preparing.

Not so much with excellent cuts, but I've sometimes put some pretty raggedy steaks in the air fryer and it has worked miracles.

May 27, 2025, 18:52

Fuck me Plum that is sacrilege - steak in an air fryer vs in a sizzling pan or on the coals - no man

My go to is Rib eye then sirloin

Tongue - nooooo

Not a fan of any organs - tripe, kidneys, liver etc big big no

Same applies to blood pudding - big no

May 27, 2025, 19:00

Beef or Sheep tripe…..lekker. Curry Version also not bad.

May 27, 2025, 19:22

Tripe is the one thing I don't do. Well, no, I also don't like smoked fish like haddock or kippers . . . or liquorish.

Brains, heart, tripe, buffalo, elephant, puff adder, crocodile and mopani worms are all things that I've tried once and wouldn't try again.I do like haggis though. And skilpadjies . . . and chicken gizzards.

When I was a young kid growing up in Plumstead in Cape Town, the tripe sellers used to carry it in basins on their head and my dad would buy his body weight in tripe and cook it for days. The smell of that tripe cooking still disturbs me to this day and I just can't get beyond that.

I'm an adventurous cooker and eater.

Never tasted a single thing out the sea I didn't like . . . except maybe hugely overpriced oysters.

Best linefish has to be sea bass . . . but snapper is right up there as is our South African kingklip.

May 28, 2025, 00:08

You’re a ‘cooker’….a pressure cooker or a rice cooker. My guess a glutinous ‘cooker’….do you weigh 120kgs ‘cooker’. The word is cook….you manage the food and clean the kitchen.

May 28, 2025, 00:13

I do clean my kitchen. I'm a very tidy cook who tidies-as-I-go. Always.

I'm also very punctual. If food has to be ready at a certain time I'm all over it.

Call me whatever names you like and make fun of one of my passions . . . you're just showing yourself up to be a complete twat of a human being . . . yet again.

May 28, 2025, 00:42

I remember my Dad enjoying his pan-fried sheep brains on toast.

Lambs fry (liver) & bacon, mash potato, onion & gravy's my lekker specialty .

May 28, 2025, 02:14

Let’s face it food forms a substantial part of our existence so being able to create a dish that puts a smile on people’s faces is pretty special

I like cooking, don’t nearly do enough of it. My son who opened the restaurant loves to cook and is pretty handy at it - he got that from his late grandmother (not my mother) who was the most remarkable cook I have ever come across. She was just a natural, never followed a recipe she just relied on taste, instinct and experience.

I recall her turning left over roast into the best meatballs I’ve ever tasted

Needless to say my sons restaurant is named after her - Marjorie’s - a lovely touch and a fitting tribute the a gifted amateur chef - we lost her less than a year ago

May 28, 2025, 02:38

Please don’t cry cooker….just a little joke.

May 28, 2025, 07:52

Joe Cooker ;)

May 28, 2025, 10:14

While in a restaurant hub in Barcelona I noticed strips of beef in a glass display window. Each one had a different age, driven by curiosity I asked a staff member what it was about and she explained that the idea is to pick the age you want and they would cook it for you. Not sure if anyone else has come across the experience and sampled the said meat, I might just add that it didn't look appetizing being very dark in colour. Oh the age range.......from memory it could have varied between 1 and 10 years.

May 28, 2025, 10:40

Like biltong ?

May 28, 2025, 11:06

What kind of biltong do you get in OZ blob?

Recipe for sweet potato pie? Or just the normal soet patat ?

May 28, 2025, 11:12

Like biltong ?

Yep.

May 28, 2025, 11:22

My three favorite winter dishes to die for......Irish and cabbage stew and Ox Tail soup. The soup must be cooked in a slow cooker and finished off in a blender. The meat remains tender and just holds the bone.

Lekker!

Still don't get the fuss about prawns and oysters although I don't mind Oyster Kilpatrick, they're a plenty and incredibly expensive....about $A40/k

A summer fav is a 30 minute Jamie Oliver chicken breast dish which everyone seems to enjoy.

May 28, 2025, 19:24

Nobody has mentioned chorizo...

Probably one of my favourites.

I like making a chorizo sauce to put over a steak and roast potatoes.

Anyway, this isn't doing my waistline much good.

I'll look like Dave soon because I keep coming here and getting hungry.

May 28, 2025, 19:29

I use chorizo often, slightly less often than bacon though.

I make a Spanish omelette with chorizo and red peppers.

And paella isn't paella without chorizo. You don't want to get me going on paella. My favourite dish to cook and eat.

May 28, 2025, 19:42

What's next? a knitting/crochet thread?....

;-)

Hold your horses, I enjoy cooking too...

May 28, 2025, 19:51

Chorizo is great - I’m a big fan

May 28, 2025, 22:28

What about polarising foods?

Licquorice is one.

I have 4 children, each one is married. In every single one of our 5 combined marriages, there's a lover and hater of licquorice.

Coriander is another. The people who hate coriander really hate it!

Incredibly, seafood seems to be a polarising food on this board.

May 28, 2025, 22:32

Yep. Seafood is something I could never eat even if I wasn’t Vegan !

May 28, 2025, 22:55

Can’t stomach liquorice, marmite, dark chocolate, Turkish delight, rhubarb, raw onion, raw celery and seafood of course