Rassie Rasputin, the master deflector, Libbok, Kicks and tries

Forum » Rugby » Rassie Rasputin, the master deflector, Libbok, Kicks and tries

Oct 03, 2023, 09:09

Just read Rassies comments on Libbok and whether he is concerned about his kicking. I classic Rassie style. He states that Libbok is there for us to score tries. What has Willie and Willemse been doing, why did Pollard say he bought into the conservative game plan and that the way the boks play is beautiful. 

What really pissed me off is that Rassie is now blaming the fans. Saying, we the fans, has demanded that the boks play a more attacking brand of rugby. So he has brought Manie in to score tries. This really pissed me off. Now he is blaming the fans and he is only selecting the players because, we the fans, demanded it from him. Go figure that one out. 

The man is a walking contradiction. His whole game plan is based on putting pressure on the reff and ensuring that the boks get penalties. Specifically in the scrum and where they can get scoring opportunities. 

If you watch the documentary series, chasing the Sun, he kept saying, where can we make points on the field. This not the same Rassie. Maybe he doesn't care, maybe he is tired, who knows. But he has been given a lot grace and support by all. 

But down blame the fans if we lose to Ireland because you picked a kicker that can't score nor invested enough time to ensure that you have 90% kicker in your team. He's had 4 years to figure this one out. 

Don't forget that he stuck with Jantjies, wasted 7 test matches before Libbok even got a sniff of the bok jersey. Had he been included earlier, we could have dealt with this there and then. Not during the World Cup. 

Not to mention that we celebrating a coach with a 63% win record. He has never won more than 5 test in a row. 

He plays a really physical game, which is impossible to ask your players to play like that every weekend. Like we've seen. We blew New Zealand off the park last year, only to lose really badly the following weekend. The players couldn't string 2 consecutive performances together. Neither have I seen the same physical dominance we displayed against a very dangerous All Black side. 

A smart coach would only bring that type of game during must win games. 

I know some on here rates him, but he is moving the same direction of Jake White with his mouth. 

I hope it is just a bit of gamesmanship to confuse the coaches. Maybe it is a ruse, because after all the World Cup matters. Not the games in between. 

So let's see what happens, if we reach the quarterfinal, but it would be really funny if we don't make the quarters and all the arrogance wiped off his face. 

I do want us to reach the quarters, I do hope he is playing a game. I do hope we can destroy all the teams up to the final

Oct 03, 2023, 09:15

We never blew the All Blacks off anything last year. They let us off and Frans salvaged something from the situation, as he later did against Wales, and as he did twice in the World Cup final when Damian let us down again. We are not that physical, and benefit from the most vulnerable period in test rugby and all time bad SANZAR opponents. Although, even then, we look awful. Erasmus is a disaster. He got lucky in 2019, and should have had the honesty to see that he had a golden way out to preserve his legacy, be it a farce. He has done more damage to SARugby than anyone before him. It's quite remarkable. Through it all, he was given a free pass. Never before in the pro era has a Bok coach had such leeway and so little criticism. 

Oct 03, 2023, 13:46

When Jake left he gifted his successor a 28 year old team….Sauron will leave behind a 31 year old team, if he actually leaves.

Oct 03, 2023, 14:48

And. On this board, people reported they conisder experience wins WCs and were concerned players were not old enough;

Cant get both: ageing a team and rejuvenating it.

Oct 03, 2023, 18:34

Had Jake coached 2 RWC cycles, he would have left behind a 32yo team...you're starting to major in minors...Rassie is messing with your mind it seems...

Oct 03, 2023, 18:36

That's not likely to have been true. Jake continually developed the Boks. Erasmus has done nothing to develop the team. He is worse than Straeuli. 

Oct 03, 2023, 18:40

I love the way fools on here question Rassie’s thinking - fuck me wake the fuck up the guy took us from 7 to 1, won a RC, a WC and a Lions series and we are right up there in challenging for this WC

The guy knows what he is doing for fuck sake

The guys is the best coach we have had since readmission and winning this WC will prove that and shut you clowns up once and for all

Oct 03, 2023, 18:44

It is clear Rassie has made mistakes this year, but I still back him.

Rassie is better than anyone who would replace him. so firing him is just replacing him with someone who offers less.

Oct 03, 2023, 18:49

Well Shark we won’t be saying he made any mistakes if he wins us yet another WC

But I bet these fucking ignorant pricks on here will still take issue with him if he does win it for us

That’s how fucking stupid they are

Oct 04, 2023, 11:21

True, Rassie is one of our better coaches. Where he has excelled is in the boardroom. He has got the administrators on his side and he is hitting his quota targets. So maybe he agreed an acceptable level for win / loss Ratio. 

Again, my biggest bug bear is that Ireland is a on a winning streak of 16 in a row. We had two chances to topple them and we came within in a score on both occasions. What frustrates me is that he is experimenting in these games. A coach should want to win all test matches. 

Of all the coaches, he is better than some, but then Jake had his moaning mouth. Rubbed people up the wrong way and didn't have the administrators behind him. 

Meyer success was actually due to Frans Ludeke at the bulls who propelled his profile. 

Mallet was always a great coach, but was learning how professional rugby should work. 

Rassie has been involved as a player under Mallet, analyst under Jake and even helped Divvy. So he has been in the system for a long time and learned from some great coaches. 

As I said, maybe he is playing a game, but I want us to go on a world dominating winning streak

Oct 04, 2023, 12:03

In Rassie's defence, it's not all experimenting.

Some of it is surely down to protecting players from injury.

Perhaps that's what most of the musical chairs is about. And it's just a bonus that it gives everyone a runout.

Oct 04, 2023, 12:21

Jake, Meyer, Mallet were all far, far better coaches. Neither of the three had all time bad RC opponents. Erasmus is a substandard coach, but is a manipulator. That's his key trait. Nienaber has done the bulk of the coaching. 

Oct 04, 2023, 13:00

Dave there are some very ignorant and very thick posting here. Extremely biased bigots

Rassie was talking generally about wanting the Boks to play more attacking rugby and how he brought in attacking players like Libbok. He said the public want Boks to be more attacking. He never blamed the public from what I saw. 

I see Jean de Villiers says Esterhuizen is playing great rugby but Allende is just as good. Some oaks here have been bamboozled by their own hype. He picks Allende and Kriel as his center pair. But of course these armchair noobs know far more than a guy like Jean or indeed Rassie. What would Jean know about inside center play after all compared to those halfwits Mozzzz and Deus who have never given Allende his due. Bwahahahahaha these two have been caught out by their rampant bias which arises from humiliation at the hands of Rassie. Hahahahahaha.

Face facts the Rassie haters are hoping for a Bok exit from the world cup. Their nightmare is if the Boks win the Cup for a second time under Rassie. "the worst coach ever" Thst would mean the worst Bok ciack ever wins the Cip with a yean that has a glass jaw and a soft under belly.

Ou Doos will doubtless disappear and be back under a new name. Mozzzzz will spin like a top and double down on stupid!

The fact is this World Cup is wide open and we are one of the teams in with a shot. That I think is a fair assessment

Oct 04, 2023, 13:19

If Rassie is our best coach since readmission, why is it that after 4 years his win percentage is still not better than Meyer or White?? Is that what should in-still confidence in us? I always did like Rassie, until he showed his “ Windgat “nature and his apparent lack of coaching skills….Rassie loves Rassie.

Oct 04, 2023, 14:58

They do love their flim flam man. Harrassmiss is an oke who couldn’t pass matric maths. Nienaber admitted he met up with Harrassmiss because his grades weren’t good enough to be a physio! And  all these groupies think Harrassmiss has all these elaborate strategies. hahaha

He is following the HM play book exactly ….play expansively when it doesn’t matter. In WC matches batten the hatches and rely on forward power and kicking the laces off the ball.

The only difference is HM was facing a far stronger AB team

Oct 04, 2023, 16:09

"Harrassmiss is an oke who couldn’t pass matric maths."

You sure about that?

Oct 04, 2023, 16:29

Meyer's Boks were far more sophisticated. The only flaw was buckling to external pressure, and he had a lot of it. As we've seen with Erasputin, he gets bitchy when people don't say what he likes. Imagine if he'd faced what other Bok coaches had to deal with, he'd be Twakkie on steroids. Also, do include the results of 2011 in his stats, as he coached the Boks that year. 

Oct 04, 2023, 16:38

2015 RWC after the Japan loss was the most basic and boring Bok rugby ever played in history...our backline only defended... when we had the ball it was pas, pass ruck...or pas, pass kick, time after time after time!... sophisticated my arse!

Oct 04, 2023, 16:48

Erasmus has turned Esterhozen into a crash baller, whereas he is a brilliant offloader in top level club play. Case closed.

Oct 04, 2023, 16:57

Yes, apparently having a 6"4' 120kg monster that can break tackles and offload isn't a something you build a back line around.

I can't think of a side that wouldn't snap AE up in a heartbeat. I doubt very much that the sentiment towards DDA is comparable.

Oct 04, 2023, 16:59

Every test under Meyer was better than the Erasmus era. It's not even close. Pollard and Willie have never reached that output again. You are trying to fight with mittens Draht. 

Oct 04, 2023, 19:09

ja ja

vs losing to Japan!!!!

Oct 04, 2023, 19:16

Meyer kept the Boks #2 for three successive years, he went 29 tests where only New Zealand could defeat the Boks. He unearthed the core of the talent for the next decade, he was the most sophisticated tactician and game planner of all pro era Bok coaches. Two clean sweeps up north.

Erasmus has never faced a quality Wallaby side, or New Zealand side. In the easiest era to dominate, with no resistance or criticism, he has created the least capable Bok side in the professional era. 

You can harp on about Japan all you like, the fact stands. Meyer (as well as Jake, Mallett, and even Snor) is a better coach with the better Bok side. Nobody can defend a contrary position. Erasmus has done nothing to better the team. The Boks do not and have no ever played good rugby under Erasmus. 

Oct 04, 2023, 19:20

Draad don’t bother with this negative prick

Doos does not deserve a platform

The most negative and ignorant twat I have ever come across

Ignore him I say - I’m done with the useless cunt

Oct 04, 2023, 19:25

"South Africa produced the perfect conclusion to their World Cup preparations as they claimed their biggest-ever victory over New Zealand, winning 35-7 at a sold-out Twickenham in the final game before heading to France"

ja ja, Rassie and die Bokke is kak...gotcha Card!!!

Oct 04, 2023, 21:47

Ag old Fossie just threw the game. He learned from Harrassmiss who threw the NZ game in 2019. Brilliant by Fossie, man’s a genius,