Rugby and Curry

Forum » Rugby » Rugby and Curry

Jun 11, 2025, 09:56

Growing up, rugby and curry went hand in hand for me. In our household, curry was only a winter food and normally on Friday nights.

As we all know, Saturday mornings is a major sporting day for SA school kids. At u14 level you'd have to arrive very early in the morning because the young kids play first, and then it went up through the age groups until the 1st's game at 13:00.

I'd always ask for the left over curry to be packed for my lunch on Saturday. Somewhere before or after a game, or while spectating, I'd be digging into my cold curry.

Does anybody have a nice curry recipe?Yes I could get one on line, but what fun would that be?

I want an actual recipe, not "Make lamb currry".

Jun 11, 2025, 10:02

Who needs recipes when you have ChatGPT?

Seriously. I use ChatGPT for cooking more than anything else. You can give ChatGPT the ingredients you have and ask for a recipe for those or you can tell ChatGPT what you want and ask what ingredients you need. Try it.

Jun 11, 2025, 10:27

My favourite...

Grannies oubaas curry

Prep Time: 20 mins

Cook Time: 1.5 to 2 hours (or pressure cook in 45 mins)

Ingredients:

1. 500g mutton (bone-in or boneless), cut into pieces
  2. 2 tbsp oil (sunflower or canola)
  3. 2 large onions, finely chopped
  4. 2–3 cloves garlic, minced
  5. 1 tbsp grated ginger
  6. 3 medium potatoes, peeled and quartered
  7. 2 ripe tomatoes, chopped (or 1/2 cup canned tomatoes)
  8. 1 tbsp tomato paste (optional for richer flavor)
  9. 1–2 green chilies, slit (optional)
  10. 1 stick cinnamon
  11. 2 bay leaves
  12. 4 whole cloves
  13. 2–3 cardamom pods (optional)
  14. 1 tsp fennel seeds (optional, for Cape Malay touch)
  15. 1 tsp turmeric
  16. 1 tsp mild curry powder (Robertsons or mother-in-law mix)
  17. 1 tsp garam masala
  18. 1 tsp ground coriander
  19. 1 tsp paprika (for color)
  20. 1/2 tsp sugar (optional, balances acidity)
  21. Salt to taste
  22. 2–3 cups water
  23. Fresh coriander (dhania), chopped, for garnish

Instructions:

1. Brown the Onions & Spices:

1. Heat oil in a pot. Add cinnamon, bay leaves, cloves, cardamom, and fennel (if using).
  2. Add onions and sauté until golden brown. This gives the curry depth.
  3. Add garlic, ginger, and green chilies (if using), fry for 1–2 minutes.

2. Add Spices & Tomatoes:

1. Mix in turmeric, curry powder, ground coriander, paprika, and sugar.
  2. Stir in chopped tomatoes and tomato paste. Cook until tomatoes break down and mixture thickens (10–15 mins).

3. Add Mutton:

1. Add the mutton pieces. Sauté in the masala for 10–15 mins until well coated and slightly browned.
  2. Season with salt.

4. Add Water & Simmer:

1. Add enough water to just cover the meat. Bring to a boil.
  2. Lower heat, cover, and simmer for 60–90 minutes until mutton is tender. Stir occasionally.
  3. (Alternatively, pressure cook for 5–6 whistles)

5. Add Potatoes:

1. Add the quartered potatoes to the pot.
  2. Simmer uncovered until potatoes are soft and curry thickens (about 20 minutes). Add water if needed.

6. Final Touches:

1. Stir in garam masala and adjust salt/spice.
  2. Simmer for another 5–10 minutes.

7. Serve:

1. Garnish with chopped fresh coriander.
  2. Serve with basmati rice, roti, or samp & beans for a true South African meal.

Optional Additions:

1. Add a splash of apple cider vinegar or lemon juice at the end for a tangy note.
  2. For more Cape Malay sweetness, toss in a few raisins while simmering. But I hated the raisins.

Jun 11, 2025, 10:28

That makes it less fun, Rooi.

I wanted to try a recipe from someone here.

One that someone has used.

Also, I need to learn how to make the naan they do at Curry Up. Dunno if you've ever had their curry but the garlic naan they do is amazing.

Jun 11, 2025, 10:34

That looks nice, Chips. Very nice actually!!!

But did you GPT it or is that an actual recipe that you've used as stated?

Jun 11, 2025, 10:35

Ghazal do the best curries in Jo'burg.

Jun 11, 2025, 10:37

Cumon, Rooi, gooi a recipe there.

Jun 11, 2025, 11:17

Plum, we have a digital book of all ouma's recipes.

Sadly she passed many years ago. but her legend lives on.

Jun 11, 2025, 11:39

Honestly, I never follow a recipe when making a curry.

I put lamb (or mutton) into the slow cooker, add stock and chopped tomatoes, add onion, garlic, ginger and whatever veg I have available, add some chillies or something to give it the desired heat, then any combination of spices, masala or curry powder. I put it on low for about 7 or 8 hours, thicken it and serve on basmati rice with some chopped coriander.

When it comes to curries, I experiment a lot and I don't think I've ever made the same curry twice.

Jun 11, 2025, 11:48

That recipe is pretty damn close to mine Chip, so I know how good it is, I just use a bit more curry

I also don't do the sugar and water, in fact I haven't used water in any curry for over 10 years now, which in the begining I thought was unheard of.

I also don't think I have ever made the exact same curry twice because I usually use what I have around the house, but the main ingredients are pretty much what Chip has put here

One thing I tend to do is prick the chilli's and not slice it, to keep the pips out but the flavour in.

I also dry fry all my herbs and spices, along with Star Anise and then crush it in my mortar and pestle

Oh, and I also add a touch of Mrs Balls, just before done

Curry is my all time favourite meal, so I make it a lot, even in Summer, and mixing Lamb and Mutton or Lamb and beef or Mutton is also a great idea, done it many times to add a different taste

Jun 11, 2025, 20:30

Oh Plum, I thought you were going to be eulogising about Tom, or Ben, Curry here. Not actually talking about the horrid food version ;)

Jun 11, 2025, 20:43

Horrid food version??? - the only horrid are those fucking Curry twins - who will ever forget that pathetic cry baby Bongi incident

Can’t stand the cry baby since that incident - long may he get his arse kicked

Jun 11, 2025, 20:44

Yeah horrid food !!

Jun 11, 2025, 21:05

Well becs, if you've only had a curry in England then I can understand why you'd call it horrid, The curry I had in London was pretty awful. Tough and stringy cubes of beef (something Indians never eat as the cow is sacred) in a brown gravy with some chillis chucked in.

Probably the worst curry I've ever eaten. If it's the heat that turns you off, try a mild korma.

Jun 11, 2025, 21:18

Our late member Caredyne gave Dave a lamb curt recipe years ago...ask Saffex if he still have it...he tried it and was well impressed IIRC....RIP Vlagman.

Jun 11, 2025, 21:21

Draad that was a sosatie recipe - I still have it and it’s my go to - good old Vlag

Jun 11, 2025, 21:26

I love an Indian lamb bhuna or dansack

Think I prefer Thai to Indian though

We have amazing food traders at Greenwich market - Indian, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, Nepalese, West Indian, Turkish, Italian, French, Ethiopian, Cuban, Brazilian - so much choice - not forgetting the great English roast

Jun 11, 2025, 21:40

Yes, I've eaten very good street food in Greenwich.

Greek is probably my favourite cuisine . . . or maybe Cajun.

Jun 11, 2025, 21:49

Fck...then it was Owen Meany ont the SS board...

Jun 11, 2025, 21:50

Plum, go for the "Kook en Geniet:" recipe, it's Afrikana !

Jun 11, 2025, 22:55

I can’t even stand the smell of it, Rooinek.

My eldest brother, who was a Chef, makes a lovely curry, so I’m told by everyone. My other brother makes a lot of Thai Green Curry etc.

Jun 11, 2025, 23:29

You're losing me here becs. A good curry has the most beautiful aroma. Just the spices alone.

Not liking the smell of a good curry is like not liking the smell of freshly baked bread or the smell of boerewors and chops on the braai.

Jun 11, 2025, 23:32

Becs - Rooi has a point - no better smell than meat on a braai or a curry

Jun 11, 2025, 23:49

Ooh no. I don’t do spices nor do I like the smell of meat cooking !

Jun 11, 2025, 23:57

Ffs. curry's all about spices

Jun 11, 2025, 23:58

Becs, shame on you......................

Jun 12, 2025, 00:04

Becs is vegetarian poor girl :)

I wouid literally die of unfulfillment if I did not have meat at least once a day

Jun 12, 2025, 00:10

I’m vegan !!!! Ha ha ha !

Jun 12, 2025, 00:13

Fuck me that is 10 times worse

Jun 12, 2025, 00:22

You should know I’m Vegan, Saffolk !! You don’t remember anything !

Jun 12, 2025, 00:23

My memory is pathetic - I was close with vegetarian

Jun 12, 2025, 00:25

True….on both counts ;)

Jun 12, 2025, 09:28

Ffs. curry's all about spices

True and that's what makes it special although Malaysian a bit less so than Indian.

But I enjoy both.

Cook mine out of an old case bound SAFFA cook book which is held together by strips of sticky tape.

Anyone visiting Sydney wanting to enjoy authentic Indian should try Abhi's. Urban Tadka is another.

The samosas not so lekker hey, I believe it's southern Indian.

Jun 12, 2025, 10:48

Becs, are you a vegan for health reasons?

...or lifestyle choice?

Jun 12, 2025, 10:49

Chip, I'm gonna go with your recipe for the rugby on the weekend. I shall be doing my shopping on Saturday morning and will forward some pics of the outcome.

I must getting old. This recipe sharing stuff haha

Jun 12, 2025, 13:30

Plum…I’m Lactose intolerant and dairy allergic as well as being allergic to beef, amongst a plethora of foods.

But I would be Vegan regardless as I am very anti all animal abuse ( for want of a better word ).

However, I’m not one of those who try to turn everyone Vegan. It’s my choice and I believe it’s up to the individual to decide. And I’ve only ever been out with meat eaters !

Jun 12, 2025, 22:32

Most vegans look anemic and unhealthy - I’m never surprised when asked if I have any vegan ice cream options, which of course I do - but tucked away buried in the stock freezer.

I find with age I’m a little more intolerant of vegans and vegetarians as it’s beyond my comprehension how someone can choose not to eat meat

Im way beyond all that save the animals shit - man was made to eat meat, just like he was fruit and vegetables

Jun 12, 2025, 23:42

Well, thanks for that !

Now I know I look anaemic !!

Jun 13, 2025, 00:07

Yeah you vegans are a strange bunch

Jun 13, 2025, 00:14

I agree I’m strange……I must be, right ;)

I’m not anaemic though……..ask my Dr !!