Where’s Dave when we need him?
Dud Toit would be my third number 5
Who's the first 2?
Sure Dave will have few bolters in his pick. Here is my list
Jumping Jack Flash, Snyman/Lomp. Lomp only if Snyman is compromised.
Serfontein?? Is JJ next?
KC
There is a limitation on some selections of a world cup squad of 31 players because of injury possibilities.
There should always be -
3 hookers in the team
6 props in the squad
3 Scrumhalves
The above leaves only 8 forward and 11 backline position filling the squad to full strength
Backline :-
Full Backs - Le Roux
Wings - Kolbe,
Centers - De Allende, Willemse and Am
Flyhalfs - Pollard, Goosen and Libbok
Scrumhalfs - De Klerk, Williams and Jantjies
That leaves 3 positions to be filled in the backline.
I am still working on the issue and will complete the squad later on
KC
There is a limitation on some selections of a world cup squad of 31 players because of injury possibilities.
There should always be -
3 hookers in the team
6 props in the squad
3 Scrumhalves
The above leaves only 8 forward and 11 backline position filling the squad to full strength
Full Backs - Le Roux
Wings - Kolbe,
KC
There should always be -
3 hookers in the team
6 props in the squad
3 Scrumhalves
Full Backs - Le Roux
Wings - Kolbe,
Mike, Goosen hasn't shown any form at all and not even playing at the moment. I see Morne pitching up these days and I'm not sure if he is done for.
This is not my World Cup squad but the 45 players I would use for the final 5 test matches before the World Cup.
Here are our games for 2023, none of them are easy games. I'm surprised we didn't arrange a game against Fiji, Japan or even Namibia just to clear out the cob webs. We go straight into World Cup mode against very tough teams. Not sure where the players self belief will be come World Cup
Saturday, 8 July – Springboks v Australia (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria)
Saturday, 15 July – Springboks v New Zealand (venue TBC)
Saturday, 29 July – Springboks v Argentina (Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg)
RWC warm-up fixtures:
Saturday, 5 August – Springboks v Argentina (venue TBC)
Saturday, 19 August – Springboks v Wales (Principality Stadium, Cardiff)
Friday, 25 August – SA v New Zealand (Twickenham, London)
RWC pool fixtures:
Sunday, 10 September – Springboks v Scotland (Stade Velodrome, Marseille)
Sunday, 17 September – Springboks v Romania (Stade de Bordeaux, Bordeaux)
Saturday, 23 September – Springboks v Ireland (Stade de France, Paris)
Sunday, 1 October – Springboks v Tonga (Stade Velodrome, Marseille)
Weekend of 14/15 October – Quarterfinals
Weekend of 21/22 October – Semifinals
Saturday, 28 October – Final
Kingcorn
Reading your above jeremiads remind me totally of similar comments made in 2019 before the WC. The Springboks were in disarray and a very poor team - yet in the end they won the WC.
By the way Morne was other than goalkicking a shit flyhalf and he still is one. I gain the impression that some Springbok squad players have been put on ice for a while when they get fitness and strength training only. That may be the case with Goosen as well,
In 2019 I also had doubts based on 2018 performances by the team as a whole - but after their RC performances I was convinced that they would win the WC. Now back to 2023 I saw objectively the performances in 2022 and became convinced that they would win the 2023 WC. If they lost by wide margins in 2022 tests I would be doubtful
about them - but their losses with weakened teams because of some injuries were not really that depressing.
Kingcorn
Reading your above jeremiads remind me totally of similar comments made in 2019 before the WC. The Springboks were in disarray and a very poor team - yet in the end they won the WC.
By the way Morne was other than goalkicking a shit flyhalf and he still is one. I gain the impression that some Springbok squad players have been put on ice for a while when they get fitness and strength training only. That may be the case with Goosen as well,
In 2019 I also had doubts based on 2018 performances by the team as a whole - but after their RC performances I was convinced that they would win the WC. Now back to 2023 I saw objectively the performances in 2022 and became convinced that they would win the 2023 WC. If they lost by wide margins in 2022 tests I would be doubtful
about them - but their losses with weakened teams because of some injuries were not really that depressing.
"Jumping Jack Flash, Snyman/Lomp. Lomp only if Snyman is compromised."
That's based on 4 years ago form...RG must prove his fitness before he can be a serious contender.
RG has talent. Lood has no talent and is very unathletic.
Yes, it's a pity Eben never had a standout partner like Bakkies had in Victor. Imagine a fit RG with 75 tests under the belt, teaming up with Eben and the rest of the Bok pack...Mostert is more than just solid, but not a generational great...same for Lood.
l'Grande Merde has no brain and has no idea at all about rugby.
I actually think Eben is athletic enough to have been a great 5___with a block like Willemse they would have been formidable.
He's athletic enough to play center , but I think he likes playing where he does.
Dud Toit would be my third number 5
Pompous Piles cowardly avoids the question in the header which asks for 'your squad.'
Instead he once more rubbishes the selections of others without committing to one of his own.
Same old.
Says Comrade September. No team from you, but you immediately focus on me….keep it up, maybe you’ll learn something. Hahaha…it took two posts on the Trumpet, this time you made a fool of yourself in one!
have another
All I've learned from you
is that all your calls are in hindsight.For all your "rugby or cricket knowledge" you've never ever picked a team....never ever spruiked a player....rubbished plenty though.....sits back and waits until others have before starting the slagg.......never ever picked a WC winner or a winning team in any contest but without fail you've been a star after the event.
Stick with the subject matter or STFU.
Now select your team.
Getting to the profanities Comrade…a sure sign you aren’t winning. But you’re used to that.
Nyaaah Nyaaaah...revert to the header, select your team you moron.
You can't can you?.... never have, never will but that doesn't stop you from crapping on the selections of others.
A great little act that's made you look like a genius to some....not to all, thankfully some here see right through your sleaze.
Twenty some odd years of hindsight and to date not a single team, spruiking a player or prediction of a game
.You are the master of the perfect science.....it's called hindsight.
What a pile of dribble. The greatest imbeciles I see here are the band of stooges who dodge the rugby discussions I put forward. Quick to snipe, but they cannot provide anything other than cut-and-paste from others to support themselves. The original ideas and insights never come from the likes of Mrs Searle and his little collection of wagging tales. No ability to analyze the game at even a basic level.
Saw some vintage Blommetjies yesterday. Outstanding player of the match.
You first Comrade, Quislings in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones. Still I can see why you’re reluctant. Remember when you were convinced Ruhan Nel was the answer at 13 and when you couldn’t understand why we weren’t picking Marcel Coetzee.
And your WC prelim squad is....????
Yep...thought
so.
We are still waiting Comrade for one thought that’s not a cut and paste.
At some point we‘ll have to stop wasting airtime on RG.
Everyone knows he could be a wonderful Bok. On the other hand, he’s probably got a few years worth of rust to work off, we don’t really know if he’ll be 100% after his knee op and he’s also relatively injury prone.
Snyman might go down as one of those rare players where everything else was the problem and not his actual rugby.
We’d all love to see him fit and he’s unanimously got everyone here’s vote and best wishes.
…but we have to be realistic too.
RG is the most complete lock I have ever seen. It really is such a pity. I'm hoping his career follows the Butch James arc. Butch was the most naturally talented Bok 10 I've seen, but also blighted by injuries. Jake said he was always his preferred 10, but it took years to get him back on the field. Also blighted by injuries. What a loss to the game when these things happen. One thing is for certain, we really don't need Lood. I liked what I saw from van Rensburg most. I have absolutely no idea why Erasmus didn't promote him further. He literally bullied everything he encountered. I haven't seen such a powerful ruck clean since Bakkies. We are currently quite a soft Bok side, but we have the players to be a true power pack, with a feared and oppressive backline without compromising skill. In fact, these selections would increase our currently meager skill level.
I have been on a flight with the Bulls squad. Those boys are monsters in the flesh up close
My WC squad would be:
15. Willie / Gelant
14/11. Mapimpi / Nkosi / Kolbe / Arendse
13/12. Am / de Allende / JVR / Esterhuizen / Willemse
10. Pollard / Libbok
9. Faf / Hendrikse
1/3. Ox / Kitshoff / Malherbe / Thomas du Toit / Wilco Louw
2. Marx / Mbonambi / Dweba
4/5. Etzebeth / RG Snyman / Lood / Jason Jenkins
6/7/8. Kolisi / Kwagga / PSDT / JL du Preez / Roos/ Dan du Preez / Wiese
Good Wilco is there…..and Grobbelaar must also be there by the Hookers….did you meet some of the Bulls players or at least get a pic with some of the Big Fellas?
Dave I knew if I waited long enough you’d produce the goods. I’d go for Dave’s squad.
I once got in an elevator occupied by a bunch of huge guys, we went down a few floors and more huge guys entered. It felt a bit weird, as if
you were on a different planet. Turned out the Chicago Bears were having a conference.
Those American Football dudes are also huge :) I would also bring Ruben van Heerden in there in place of Lood lead Feet : )
Quite a few years ago the
Damm very big guy….wonder if he is all natural or some Hulk juice in the mix? He is a Offensive tackler/line ….can you imagine him and Eben together as the Back row? It will send chills down anyones back : )
These guys look big on telly but when you share a plane with them up close they are big guys.
Even a little guy like Arendse looked pretty square in the flesh. Bismark is tall, Elrigh Louw is a monster and very sociable, Nortje the lock was a bit maar, Ruan Vermaak the other lock is a unit and the props were all big big boys. v Staaden looks as hard as nails. Moodie is very tall as is Kriel the fullback. Spoke to a few of them, nice guys - Moodie told me they were playing against Belfast which is a bit concerning
No photos I’m not into that shit
Nice :) I think most of these guys are pretty down to Earth.
Welcome back Saffex, hope you enjoyed SA
Hahaha Moodie, no wonder the bulls are doing so poorly, the guys don't have much brain cells if he says Belfast, probably meant to say playing in Belfast.
Who are you 15 fringe players you would want to see in the lead up to the World Cup?
Or would you prefer just to play the World Cup squad now?
Tell us about your trip Dave
Huge necks on these fellas….what’s the best neck exercise?
Moz it was unbelievable being home again after all this time. I fell in love with home not that I ever fell out of love with it but out of sight out of love springs to mind.
It’s the people - Saffa’s are literally the nicest people on the planet - black, green or pink. So friendly and smiling.
Being amongst my own again was heart warming. It’s that commonality that just can’t be replicated.
I’ve come away wanting to buy a place in SA with a view to chasing the sun once I hit 60. Half the year there half here.
The school reunion was amazing, reconnecting with all the lads, spent some time in Grahamstown with friends and family, took in a game reserve Amakhala for 2 nights, not too far from Grahamstown. Spent a night in Port Alfred with a friend, 3 nights in Kenton on Sea with my sister and mom. Hired a car and drove to Cape Town, stopping over in Knysna for the night taking in Storms River mouth and the Wilderness, spent 4 nights in Cape Town which included Fishoek and Sea Point, did table mountain, Waterfront, Brass Bell with a whole lot of school mates who did not make the reunion and then spent a day in Franschoek with a mate taking in the wind farms. Spent two nights with a mate in Jhb just chilling watching rugby and braaing
I’m going home again next March
I absolutely loved it
King my 15 fringe would be:
15. Fassi
14. Tambwe
13. Similane
12. Rickus Pretorious
11. Zas
10. Sacha
9. Nohamba
1. Gerhard Steenkamp
2. Grobelaar
3. Sadie
4. Ruan Vermaak
5. Ruben v Heerden
6. Buthelezi
7. Vincent Tsituka
8. Elrigh Louw
16. JJ Wessels
17. Mchunu
18. Klopper
19. Moerat
20. Emmanuel Tsituka
21. Williams
22. Chamberlain
23. Henco v Wyk
@Mpower: The farm boys in the USA are big. A world apart from the crazy and deranged city folk. They have no shortage of men who could take the very biggest and strongest of Boks on.
Klopper, what a name
Ja Saffex, that is what I felt as well but couldn’t put my finger on it. Familiarity is a big thing. I went back 3 times in year. I went last year Feb, but we were coming out of Covid and a lot of sidewalk squatters, but the court in the cape have no ruled that they can be removed.
My recent trip was the best with my kids. Only a week, but will be taking them back again next depending on finances given that the UK is free falling into the abyss.
But I loved catching up with old mates, hanging out with them at Big Bay in Blouberg, watching our kids play together while we chatted away
Ja Saffex, that is what I felt as well but couldn’t put my finger on it. Familiarity is a big thing. I went back 3 times in year. I went last year Feb, but we were coming out of Covid and a lot of sidewalk squatters, but the court in the cape have no ruled that they can be removed.
My recent trip was the best with my kids. Only a week, but will be taking them back again next depending on finances given that the UK is free falling into the abyss.
But I loved catching up with old mates, hanging out with them at Big Bay in Blouberg, watching our kids play together while we chatted away
It is mostly nice when you have been away from SA for long time and then come back to visit….it’s that excitement almost like a tourist, that’s never been here before…..but then comes that rude awakening after a year of being here I would say, then you see the constant shit that,s going on here….and then the in love stage goes right out the window : )
I am quite sure that these big boys can do there thing….but have they met Malcolm Marx, Eben etc. Then they will realise that Rugby is not that easy….you can’t just shoulder charge no no you have to rap your arms around those Thundering tree stumps coming your way @ a alarming pace…but massive they are.
American Football is far more physical than rugby. The Boks of today are not as physical as they were in Smit's era.
Yes it is….these big Cowboys run @ each other like Bisons fighting for mating rights : ) right into each other’s heads and Neck’s…..they also tackle each other in the air with someone mostly landing on there neck….no wonder they where helmets and body armour….and sadly, there is a strong connection between Brain Damage and American Football .
Concussion doesn't have to come from a big hit, as studies show. Seemingly innocuous encounters can be just as damaging.
I had a boyfriend who played American Football. Strangely enough, he was South African .
Do you think the bloke can remember his own name nowadays? : ) ha ha….Did you watch him play sometimes? The only other South African I know of that had a stint playing NFL, was Naas Botha….only as kicker as far as I can remember.
: )
He only played locally in England. By the time I knew him, he had the most fantastic scar on his head from when an opposition player smashed him in the forehead with his helmet. My boyfriend was sitting on the touch line without his helmet on so he was knocked clean out and yes, he suffered a nasty concussion !!
Never knew there was AF in England….wonder how popular it is? Ja those helmets are hard and can sure stuff you up .
Yeah it was very popular in the 1990’s. AFL seems pretty popular here now.
Yeah the crash hat is a lethal weapon !
Oh what utter crap American football is about as physical as ballet
Bunch of fatties and one or two athletes
There is fuck all that is physical about American football or their players
Current Bok side is more physical than it’s ever been
The current Bok side is bullied everywhere outside of the line out and maul. We have about three genuinely powerful players now. Smit's teams and the Straeuli Boks would murder this current team, the latter quite literally! The NFL is loaded with great athletes. Saffex, you tend to be very opinionated about things you don't know anything about and that usual leads you to a bit of foot stamping and embarrassment. Just smile and carry on chewing your biltong. There's a good chap.
Doos your take on anything is a load of utter horse shit
We keep telling you you are the most ignorant rugby follower on the planet and you keep posting
I don’t understand why
The current Bok side has physically dominated every side they have played against for the past 4 years
Smit’s was physical but not as physical as the current side - it’s simple progression
Stop being so fucking stupid Doos - fuck me it does not get worse than telling us a bunch of fatty American footballers are physical
The only thing they are physical at is shoving burgers down their throats
The current Bok side has been road kill in contact. I can't recall last the Boks were sub 80% on defence for a season. It's the only Bok side I have seen that has been bullied throughout a season on the gainline.
What's this "we" business? Your schizophrenia showing itself in numbers?
You are fucking clueless Doos
"I don’t understand why"
There is nothing wrong with Deus….just to much ammunition from his side for you guys to handle…..everyone has got there own opinion and it should be respected…even if not always correct, rather correct him in a respectful way instead of insulting him Personally : ) : )
Has this Mpower person ever contributed anything to this board other than to sing the praises of Doos XL . . . the same loser who has posted under at least 20 different handles? (N
o exaggeration).
Well at least this Mpower person sticks to his name and never do I proclaim that the sun shines out my ass like you Rosie : )
Dairy Bells turning up just in time to throw a bit of mud. And it asks if Power has ever made a contribution to the board. Funny stuff. I don't need to attack personalities therefore I don't care who you are or what account you post from
. I deal with the topic at hand and that's always been far more than you can ever handle!
Wow Mpower you must be a little delusional if you think Doos has any ammunition or anything positive to contribute on the rugby front
The guy is literally the most ignorant rugby follower I have ever come across
One of those irritating twats in life that has a contrary view to everything
No one can be that rugby stupid - seriously. He is either a wind up merchant or profoundly rugby ignorant
Take your pick
Saffex, you have been pretty easily taken apart. Why? Because you make too many arrogant assumptions. You're a balding Karen
who needs to take some diazapham.
Taken apart???? Fuck me by who exactly?
The guy Doos XL is literally the most ignorant rugby and cricket follower I have ever come across.
Fixed!
Yep and there is nothing worse than a self proclaimed victor
kingcorn
Senior player
2034 posts
With only 5 test matches remaining and coming to the business end of the season. It is time to play selector and decide who the 45 players you want in your squad. Knowing that there will be 12 players that won't be sipping French wine and nibbling on fromach.
Not sure if there would be any time for bolters or uncapped boks. So I am asking for 3 players in each position.
Some may opt for utility players, but right now we need the top 3 in each position