FORUM / RUGBY /  A team of your favourite players . . .

A team of your favourite players . . .

Started by Rooinek45 REPLIES2,282 VIEWS· 12 Jun 2013, 13:42
12 Jun 2013, 13:42
12 Jun 2013, 13:42#1

Before the half-wits start soiling their panties and shrieking about who was better than who, this is a team of my personal favourite players. I don't expect anyone to agree with me and I'm not claiming any one of them is better than anyone else, I'm just putting together a team of my favourite all-time players and I'd be interested to see who other people put in their favourite teams.

Here's mine . . .

15 My son Michael (Andre Joubert and Christian Cullen were both close)

14 Ray Mordt

13 Danie Gerber

12 Pieter Muller

11 Tony Watson (I also considered Carel du Plessis and JJ Williams from the 1974 British Lions)

10 Henry Honiball

9 Craig Davidson (Gareth Edwards was very close)

8 Gary Teichmann

7 Andre Venter

6 Wayne Fyvie (special mention to Fergus Slattery, the Irish opensider on the 1974 British Lions tour)

5 Mark Andrews

4 Krynauw Otto (hugely underrated player)

3 Frans "Domkrag" Erasmus

2 Lukas van Biljon (bit of a one-season wonder admittedly)

1 Os du Randt

sharkbokCaptain23,298 posts
12 Jun 2013, 14:00
12 Jun 2013, 14:00#2

How did Rooinek junior make it into this team?

12 Jun 2013, 14:06
12 Jun 2013, 14:06#3

Duh-uuuhhhhh!

Maybe because he's one of my favourite rugby players?

Phew! I can't actually believe you needed me to explain that to you, Sharktwat. Man, there are some slow people on here!

12 Jun 2013, 14:19
12 Jun 2013, 14:19#4

My grandmother once bought me a mini rugby ball when I was 3 years old, should I include her as my favourite coach?

-

Surely the list should be about the best players who are you favourites, others wise this is going to end up some really ridiculous teams......

-

Yussie Oom Koos was my favourite player, I remember the time when he scored a try on the beach.

Auntie and Uncle were so happy that day, and then later we all had such a lekker braai

BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
12 Jun 2013, 14:21
12 Jun 2013, 14:21#5

15 Andre Joubert

14 Ray Mordt

13 Danie Gerber

12 Pieter Muller

11 Brian Habana

10 Henry Honiball

9 Joost vd Westhuizen (before his injury)

8 Gary Teichmann

7 Andre Venter

6 Ruben Kruger

5 Mark Andrews

4 Bakkies Botha

3 Frans "Domkrag" Erasmus

2 Bismarck du Plessis

1 Os du Randt

12 Jun 2013, 14:51
12 Jun 2013, 14:51#6

Difficult to actually pick a team of my all time favourites actually, but I suppose it would have to be the same player from 1-15 and covering all replacements and fulfilling the Coaching roles......

SAFFEX :) !!!!

I could select my real team if you want......and, unlike you guys, I won't just be picking players from my own country !!

12 Jun 2013, 15:01
12 Jun 2013, 15:01#7

Sharktwat, if your Oom Koos is one of your favourite players then go ahead and include him . . . just stop squeaking at me and telling me who I can or can't select in a made-up side on on a thread that I started. Okay?

Not sure why you're being so pathetically pedantic and obnoxious about this, Sharktwat. I did include Andre Joubert and Christian Cullen as fullback alternatives, knowing full well that some small-minded dullards like you would have something to say about me including my son . . . who happens to be my all time favourite rugby player to watch.

12 Jun 2013, 15:07
12 Jun 2013, 15:07#8

15 Jason Robinson 14 Ray Mordt 13 Danie Gerber 12 Tana Umaga 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu 10 Dan Carter 9 Joost Van Der Westhuizen 8 Zinzan Brooke 7 Andre Venter 6 Richie McCaw (openside flank) 5 Mark Andrews 4 Sebastien Chabal 3 Richard Bands 2 Kevin Mealamu 1 Os Du Randt    

12 Jun 2013, 15:14
12 Jun 2013, 15:14#9

Richard Bands was a legend! I'd forgotten about him.

I was also a big fan of Sitiveni Sivavtu . . . and I should add Rupeni Caucaunibuca as well.

Nice list, CC.

12 Jun 2013, 15:51
12 Jun 2013, 15:51#10

Bands was one I really enjoyed watching. Probably not the best out there but certainly a powerful man. Lazy as shit though. It shortened his career. Never will I forget that try where he ran over Spencer (I think) ... I punched a hole through my friends ceiling that day. He reminds me every so often of what I did to his ceiling that day. .

Caucaunibuca was something else. What an amazing talent he was. Forgot about him.

Let's face it, Red, there have been some amazing rugby players playing this awesome game. Putting a list of 15 players together somehow seems a little unfair to all those left off.

What was that dudes name that played 12 for the bulls a few years back? He went to the Griquas. I loved him. Freight trained everything in sight.

Shit ... just cant get his name ... no matter ... he too is a favourite of mine ... powerhouse second to few.. 

Must be getting old.

12 Jun 2013, 15:56
12 Jun 2013, 15:56#11
My son Michael......bwahahahaha. Perhaps your sister the actress could play on the wing. You just can't help yourself can you RooiAAS. But if anybody else puts a personal detail on here you would become the attack dog. Total hypocrisy.
12 Jun 2013, 15:58
12 Jun 2013, 15:58#12

Now, now Rooinek, lets not revert to calling each other childish names. 

My "favourite" team where I can put my favourite people in regardless if they are of any standard.

-

15. Jalapeno (Junior)

14. Granpa (Jussie he is fast)

13. Jaco Taute

12. Jorrie Muller

10. G. I. Jane

11. julius malema

9. Michael Jackson

8. Piere Spies

7. Koosie from under14 F team

6. Nelson Mandela

5. Tom Cruise

4. Mini Me from Austin Powers

3. Darren Scott

2. Pamela Anderson

1. Ouma

12 Jun 2013, 16:04
12 Jun 2013, 16:04#13

Dries Scholtz

BB
Bok -Bef$KClub Pro216 posts
12 Jun 2013, 16:04
12 Jun 2013, 16:04#14
Useless and stupid thread!
12 Jun 2013, 16:09
12 Jun 2013, 16:09#15
Self promoting thread. This stuff is usually reserved for the off season.
12 Jun 2013, 16:12
12 Jun 2013, 16:12#16
All I know is the following players would make my ultimate team. Cullen, Umaga, O'Driscol, Lomu, Habana, Carter, Joost, Zinzan, McCaw (Like him or not, cheat or not, he is effective), Matfield & Bakkies (But only because of their combination together, separately there were better 4's & 5's), Woods, Os, You're welcome to fill in the gaps.
12 Jun 2013, 16:34
12 Jun 2013, 16:34#17

Sad, bitter oldman!!!

Personally I find it rather refreshing from all the "I mentioned Le Roux before you did" ... "your the liar and here's the proof that I managed to dig out" ... blah, blah, blah, blah, blah !!!!!

Yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!!!!!!

Get a grip will ya!!!!

12 Jun 2013, 17:01
12 Jun 2013, 17:01#18
Far from bitter, just somebody who calls it like it is. This is a pathetic attempt at self promotion. But I'm glad you are refreshed, you needed it.
12 Jun 2013, 17:18
12 Jun 2013, 17:18#19

Why would I need refreshing, Mozart??

I'm a 50 year old man who runs 2.4km every second day in around 10 minutes. I pump iron 5 days a week. I take my three Great Danes into the bush every weekend and watch them have a ball out in the open.

Reckon I'm pretty much refreshed, Mozart. I have a life. How about you?

You sound stale!!

How is this an attempt at self promotion?

It's a little fun.

Remember that word, Mozart?

You should try it sometime. Do something fun for a change. Run down a beach with your bollocks swinging in the breeze. Shag some honey out in the open ... behind some sand dune ... outta sight ... wouldn't want you to scare the passersby shitless!!

Perhaps it will refresh you ... you seem to need it a lot more than I do.

12 Jun 2013, 17:35
12 Jun 2013, 17:35#20

Nice, but no thanks. I am entertained. As for this string which starts out by insulting other posters, and promoting the author.....pure RooiAAS.

12 Jun 2013, 17:45
12 Jun 2013, 17:45#21

love this thread, and rooy jr at fullback, classic, LMAo, :oD

my all time world XV,,,

1 oos du randt
2 sean fitzpatrick
3 carl hayman
4 john eales
5 martin johnson
6 micheal jones (ice man)
7 Richie McCaw (c)
8 zinzan brooke
9 joost van der westhuizen
10 daniel carter
11 jonah lomu
12 tana umaga
13 brian odriscoll
14 jason robinson
15 emile ntamac

mean team!!!

12 Jun 2013, 18:24
12 Jun 2013, 18:24#22

Sasuke, yours is a very strong side but I see you called it your all-time XV rather than your favourite players. Would John Eales and Martin Johnson be your favourites or the locks you consider the best?

I was a big fan of Fitzie. He'd definitely be on my short-list of favourite players even though he was generally hated in SA. I often found myself in a very small minority when I supported him.

EK
EkPro1,464 posts
12 Jun 2013, 18:26
12 Jun 2013, 18:26#23

Hmmmmmm next week i might feel different...Maybe think of someone else later. 

15. Serge Blanco

14. Rupeni Caucaunibuca

13. Danie Gerber (swap them around if you want)

12. Brian Lima (swap them around if you want)

11. Bryan Habana

10. Naas Botha

9. Joost Vd Westhuizen

8. Zinzan Brooke

7. Michael Jones

6. Laurent Cabannes

5. John Eales

4. Martin Johnson

3. Martin Castrogiovanni

2. Uli Schmitdt

1. Os du Randt

12 Jun 2013, 18:52
12 Jun 2013, 18:52#24

@rooy,

i never really thought too mcuh about fave team TBH, but in many posts elsewhere i made plenty of these all time teams, but eales would definately be in my fave team, i loved watching him play, except against the All Blacks where he left me with an  upsdide down smile plenty of times, lolz.

but favourite XV,,,
1 oos du randt (the reason the cheetahs is my fave saffa team)
2 mahorni schwalger (did more for smaoa rugby in the modern era after the last RWC then all samoan players put together)
3 carl hayman (All Blacks man mountain)
4 colin meads (pine tree, NZ legened, loved by all things kiwi)
5 victor matfield (smart rugby players always get the thumbs up from me, though i probably booed him every time he played anything kiwi, i loved to watch him work in games that i could just watch for enjoyment factors
6 micheal jones (my former favourite player of all time before king richie came along)
7 Richie McCaw ( the best there is, the best tehre was, the best there will ever be)
8 zinzane brooke (most skillful No8 ive ever seen play the game)
9 jimmy cowan (southland represent)
10 daniel carter (best flyhalf ever IMO)
11 jonah lomu, (most pwerful rball in hand runner ever)
12 rua tipoki, (best maoru player ive ever seen, his temeper was the one hurdle he could never overcome and hurt him with the All Blacks big time)
13 too vaega (most underrated center ever)
14 tana umaga, (my 3rd favourtie player of all time)
15 christain cullen (one of the most exciting fullbacks ever)

my team will prob change too though as i have probably forgotten one or two,,,,o_o

CA
canrugbyClub Pro640 posts
12 Jun 2013, 20:03
12 Jun 2013, 20:03#25

1 - Martin Castrogiovanni

2 - Bismarck du Plessis

3 - Beast

4 - Etzebeth

5 - Jamie Cudmore

6 - Siya Kolisi

7 - Richie Mccaw

8 - Jebb Sinclair

9 - Aaron Smith

10 - Nathan Hirayama ( His dad was my High School coach)

11 - Habana

12 - Phil Mackenzie

13 - Jonah Lomu

14 - DTH Van de Merwe

15 - Willie Le Roux

12 Jun 2013, 21:04
12 Jun 2013, 21:04#26

See now, these are the kind of names I was looking for when I started this thread . . . Richard Bands, Rua Tipoki, To'o Vaega, Jamie Cudmore, DTH van der Merwe . . . those are the names that only rugby lovers would come up with . . . not the run-of-the-mill superstars we read about all the time. Thanks guys!

Sasuke, are you old enough to have seen Colin Meads play? Not that you aren't allowed to have a favourite who played before your time . . . Hennie Muller is one of my all-time favourites and I think he played his last test match about a decade before I was born . . . but I had you pegged as someone in his late 20s or early 30s? Am I that far wrong?

12 Jun 2013, 21:41
12 Jun 2013, 21:41#27

Bluebok, I think you missed the distinction that I tried very hard to make between ""best" XV and "favourite" XV.

I was angling more towards lesser-known favourites like the ones I mentioned in the post above as well as some of my own . . . like Wayne Fyvie, Craig Davidson etc. I'm not saying they were the best, but they were among my personal all-time favourites.

Best XVs tend to get quite boring as everyone starts arguing about who was better than who and the whole players-from-different-eras debate gets played our again . . . but no-one can argue about who my favourites are, even if half-wits like SharkTwat and Baboon-ou are stupid enough to try.

So who are your personal favourite players, Bluebok . . . forgetting about how good they were?

CH
ChippoPro3,372 posts
12 Jun 2013, 23:09
12 Jun 2013, 23:09#28

Unbeatable front row:

• 1.       Os du Randt
  • 2.       Keith Wood
  • 3.       Heinke van der Merwe

Best lock combo of all time

• 4.       Bakkies Botha
  • 5.       Victor Matfield

Hardest working loosies ever… with a bit of Zinzans flair

• 6.       Schalk
  • 7.       Richie McCaw
  • 8.       Zinzan Brooke

Breaking bones and lines is just a part of their job...

• 9.       Justin Marshall
  • 10.   Henry Honiball

Backs with size, speed and flair to score from anywhere

• 11.   Bryan Habana
  • 12.   Frank Bunce
  • 13.   Danie Gerber
  • 14.   Jeff Wilson
  • 15.   Christian Cullen (best runner of all time)

Coached by none other that...

• Nick Mallett

13 Jun 2013, 00:40
13 Jun 2013, 00:40#29

Wow this is tough. I dont know the players pre isolation and my side has to be Bok filled. 15. Frans Steyn 14. Ray Mordt 13. Danie Gerber 12. Jean 11. JP 10. Hennie le Roux 9. Joost 1. Os 2. Bismark 3. Mujati 4. Bakkies 5. Etzebeth 6. Brussouw 7. Juan Smith 8. Bob Skinstad

13 Jun 2013, 05:17
13 Jun 2013, 05:17#30

How can their be a distinction between the best XV and favourite XV unless you prefer weaker players.

Players become your favourites because you see them as the best?

Surely lining up the spawn of Jalapeno with some of the legends of the game on a rugby board is offensive.

SP
SpooonyClub Pro718 posts
13 Jun 2013, 05:49
13 Jun 2013, 05:49#31

1. Rod Snow

2. Uli Smidt

3. Richard Loe

4. Bakkies Botha

5. Brad Thorn

6. Schalk Burger

7. Gert Smal

8. Jebb Sinclair

9. Joost vd Westhuizen

10. Butch James

11. Jonah Lomu

12. Brain Lima

13. Brain O Driscoll

14. Tuilagi

15. Scott Stewart 

Fist fight anyone?

JE
JeromeVClub Pro492 posts
13 Jun 2013, 08:26
13 Jun 2013, 08:26#32

1. Os du Randt
2. Keith Wood
3. Graham Price
4. Eben Etzebeth
5. John Eales
6. Schalk Burger
7. Richie McCaw
8. Zinzan Brooke
9. Gareth Edwards
10. Phil Bennett
11. Bryan Habana
12. Manu Tuilagi
13. Jaque Fourie
14. David Campese
15. Serge Blanco

13 Jun 2013, 10:47
13 Jun 2013, 10:47#33
Point taken Rooi, here goes; 1) Os 2) Woods 3) Bands 4) Andrews 5) Eals 6) Schalk 7) Juan Smith 8) Anton Leonard (Supremely underrated) 9) Fourie Du Preez 10) Wilkinson 11) Dean Hall (Loved watching him with ball in hand, not sure what happened to him) 12) Brian Lima (Brilliant call, completely forgot about him) 13) Ettiene Botha (Very unlucky not to get a Bok call up before his death) 14) Robinson (England) 15) Andre Joubert
PE
poi-ePro1,044 posts
13 Jun 2013, 11:08
13 Jun 2013, 11:08#34

1: Craig Dowd

2: Sean Fitzpatrick

3: Olo Brown

4: Brad Thorn

5: Martin Johnson

6: Reuben Kruger

7: Matua Parkinson

8: Wayne Ormond

9: Ruki Tipuna

10: Mike Delany

11: Rico Gear

12: Dan Carter

13: John Leslie

14: Lelia Masaga

15: Cully

13 Jun 2013, 11:30
13 Jun 2013, 11:30#35

Bluebok, I dont think I've ever seen a ball carrier run as upright as Anton Leonard and still be effective. I suspect Ettienne Botha would feature in the favourite teams of a lot of Bulls supporters. Dean Hall was commentating just the other day . . . I think it was the Lions vs Samoa game?

poi-e, I was about to ask you if Maria Parkinson was a member of the NZ womens team but I see you edited it. Bit surprised to see a NZer who likes James Small! I thought he was a decent enough player (even if his "tackling" style was basically jumping on the other guy's back) but he fell out of favour in SA after he beat up his girlfriend.

PE
poi-ePro1,044 posts
13 Jun 2013, 12:35
13 Jun 2013, 12:35#36

I was autocorrected all to buggery R'nek. I thought James Small was a bit of a dude to be honest, forgot he roughed up his missus...so forget James Small I'll put him at the bottom of the list and replace him with Rico Gear.

SP
SpooonyClub Pro718 posts
13 Jun 2013, 13:13
13 Jun 2013, 13:13#37

@poi-e

You must remember this is the same SA public who supports a guy who shot his girlfriend while she was taking a dump..... 

13 Jun 2013, 15:37
13 Jun 2013, 15:37#38
Spooony, does it hurt a lot when you think?? Not one person I know thinks Oscar is innocent. What a stupid generalization.
13 Jun 2013, 15:44
13 Jun 2013, 15:44#39

Have to agree with Bluebok. Whether I'm talking to family, friends or work colleagues, just about everyone I come into contact with thinks that Osacar shot Reeva deliberately and I don't know anyone who's "supporting" Oscar.

Anyone who says that the South African public in general is supporting Oscar must be living in a dungeon somewhere with no access to the news or public opinion.

SP
SpooonyClub Pro718 posts
13 Jun 2013, 16:19
13 Jun 2013, 16:19#40

@bluebok

No  did you think up that line during your last circle jerk?  South Africans are use to supporting murders. We even made some of them president.  And if the the general SA public did not think what Oscar did was wrong why did he get bail then? 

All SA I know having anything against Small is bloody Blue Bull supporters because he never played for them. So they will dish out all stupid validations for hating a guy while they admire a guy who makes sex tapes while his wife and kids are sitting at home