FORUM / RUGBY /  AB team announced today

AB team announced today

Started by Brycy43 REPLIES1,173 VIEWS· 27 Aug 2019, 21:15
BR
BrycyPro4,671 posts
27 Aug 2019, 21:15
27 Aug 2019, 21:15#1

...Some difficult calls for Hansen as we can't take everybody. 

And who will be the unlucky ones that miss out...?

Now Crotty is supposedly fit will Laumape be cut... 

Will Hansen choose Jordie Barret over Ben Smith...

Will the ABs go with three halfbacks or will Brad Weber miss out...

Will Reiko Iaone be replaced by Bridge or Reece

Who will prop... will Franks miss out

Liam Squire is tipped to pip Jacobson and Fifita in the loosies

There's some question marks over players who have been battling for form and fitness

so a cruel cut coming for some... although still the chance of a call up later should injuries eventuate

27 Aug 2019, 22:12
27 Aug 2019, 22:12#2
Hahahahaha.....deck chairs on the Titanic!
27 Aug 2019, 22:38
27 Aug 2019, 22:38#3

Brycy, do you know what time today they will announce the team?

BR
BrycyPro4,671 posts
27 Aug 2019, 23:14
27 Aug 2019, 23:14#4

... hey JW,  happening 12.00 lunchtime apparently

27 Aug 2019, 23:21
27 Aug 2019, 23:21#5

Thanks Brycy.

CR
CrusadersfanPro3,099 posts
27 Aug 2019, 23:34
27 Aug 2019, 23:34#6

And the Boks are the orchestra.

28 Aug 2019, 02:50
28 Aug 2019, 02:50#7

All Blacks 2019 RWC squad

Hookers

Dane Coles, Liam Coltman, Codie Taylor

Props

Nepo Laulala, Joe Moody, Atu Moli, Angus Ta'avao, Ofa Tuungafasi

Locks

Scott Barrett, Brodie Retallick, Patrick Tuipulotu, Samuel Whitelock

Loose forwards

Sam Cane, Luke Jacobson, Kieran Read, Ardie Savea, Matt Todd

Halfbacks

TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith, Brad Weber

First five-eighths

Beauden Barrett, Richie Mo'unga

Midfielders

Ryan Crotty, Jack Goodhue, Anton Lienert-Brown, Sonny Bill Williams

Outside backs

Jordie Barrett, George Bridge, Rieko Ioane, Sevu Reece, Ben Smith

Notable omissions: Owen Franks, Liam Squire, Ngani Laumape

28 Aug 2019, 02:52
28 Aug 2019, 02:52#8

Wow, so Squire didn't get selected after-all . Franks non-selection is a shock but maybe he didn't get his form back after the operation. Plus, Hansen wanted more mobility.

AU
AugenöffnerPro6,974 posts
28 Aug 2019, 02:54
28 Aug 2019, 02:54#9

Jordie, Crotty and Sonny...

28 Aug 2019, 02:56
28 Aug 2019, 02:56#10

Apparently Hansen plans to move Scot Barret t to blindside when we need a big pack, e.g. against Boks or England.

28 Aug 2019, 03:03
28 Aug 2019, 03:03#11
Apparently no Retallick until the qtr finals ................. that is if they get that far.
28 Aug 2019, 03:09
28 Aug 2019, 03:09#12
Goes to show what a valuable player Retallick is (best lock in the world).
moolaaPro2,380 posts
28 Aug 2019, 03:42
28 Aug 2019, 03:42#13
JW, good to see that up and coming Chief Luke Jacobsen has made the squad! Hard tackler plus great runner and distributor.
28 Aug 2019, 03:42
28 Aug 2019, 03:42#14

True dat JW, although he was once described here (I won't mention name) as being rather ornery.

28 Aug 2019, 04:35
28 Aug 2019, 04:35#15

Cloudy, howzit  ....... heard a scribe onna radio claim that SonnyBill never missed a tackle in any of his RWC games (to date) ....... hopefully I can jinx him & he will miss some vital ones next month.

Btw. have you got your RWC tv coverage sorted?

28 Aug 2019, 04:47
28 Aug 2019, 04:47#16
I'm a bit worried we might thrash this collection of geriatrics and the walking wounded and end up playing England in the semis. That would be concerning
28 Aug 2019, 05:08
28 Aug 2019, 05:08#17

So if we lose to ABs, beat Irish in qtrs, who do we play in semis before meeting ABs in final ?

28 Aug 2019, 05:14
28 Aug 2019, 05:14#18
Wales.....an easier opponent for us, against whom we should have a forward edge. Against the Poms I fear breakeven in the pack is a more realistic objective, and they have a much superior backline.
28 Aug 2019, 05:25
28 Aug 2019, 05:25#19

Thanks & I saamstem, let the Poms & ABs bliksem each other.

28 Aug 2019, 05:48
28 Aug 2019, 05:48#20

Looking at that squad I am afraid that Jordie Barrett, SBW, Scott Barrett and Read are the bad apples that could sink the AB ship.

As a SA supporter I am glad Laumape is not in the squad.  That to my mind is a mistake on the part of Hansen.

As to Retallick - he is good - but his injury record is reaching some reasons for worrying about him.  Did Hansen not mak e the same mistake as Meyer made in 2015 when he emptied out the hospital wards to get his squad selected? 

28 Aug 2019, 05:56
28 Aug 2019, 05:56#21
Not the mental wards though, or he might have scooped you up Muck. Cloudy....generally I believe in the seasoned player....some of your chaps might be a little over seasoned though...haha.
28 Aug 2019, 06:10
28 Aug 2019, 06:10#22
Very true....curry often saves some dodgy meat.
28 Aug 2019, 08:44
28 Aug 2019, 08:44#23
Ngani Laumape and Shannon Frizell are the two New Zealanders who can feel a bit hard done by in my opinion.
Laumape in particular would be one of the first names on my All Black starting XV let alone a member of the extended squad. He's so much better than the bog ordinary Anton Lienert-Brown it's just not funny. Sonny Bill is a great big ball of hype that never happened while Ryan Crotty is one of those understated less flashy centres (think Aaron Mauger, Dick Muir, Brad Barritt or Conrad Smith) whose management makes the backline function better, but he offers none of the explosiveness or thrust that Laumape brings.
I also think they're lacking a specialist blindside flank. I would have included either Shannon Frizell or Liam Squire at the expense of the hard-working but rather pedestrian Matt Todd or the relative rookie Luke Jacobsen. I marginally prefer Frizell but Squire is also a good ball-carrying flank and the inclusion of either would have balanced the squad a lot better.
Oh well . . . Go Bokke!
28 Aug 2019, 09:03
28 Aug 2019, 09:03#24
Cloudy, I think the main feature of the draw is that if England top their group as expected then the winner of the Springboks vs All Blacks actually has a tougher road to the final.
Personally I think it's a three horse race and it's out of  England, New Zealand and South Africa to win it.
Pool A: Ireland a probable to win the group and Scotland a possible. I give Japan a very small chance at causing an upset and knocking one of those two out. I don't see anyone from this pool progressing beyond the quarterfinals.
Pool B: A straight race between South Africa and New Zealand for 1st and 2nd place in the pool. Both teams to go on to the semis.
Pool C: England to win the pool and anyone's guess as to whether France or Argentina finish 2nd.
Pool D: Like pool B, a straight race between Australia and Wales for the top two places. To me it's a 50/50 as to who tops the pool. Winner of the pool should get to the semis while the loser won't.
My prediction is a Springboks vs All Blacks final. My head says the All Blacks should shade it but ask me closer to the time and I'll have the Springboks winning by 12!
Go Bokke!!!
28 Aug 2019, 09:03
28 Aug 2019, 09:03#25

Just one little change to my knockout predictions . . . again assuming England top Pool A then they'll play Wales or Australia in the quarterfinals. If that's Australia then I definitely make England the favourites to go on to the semis but if it's Wales then there could be an upset as Wales have a habit of turning England over when least expected.

28 Aug 2019, 09:23
28 Aug 2019, 09:23#26

My guess  is as follows:-

Pool  A

1   Ireland

2   Scotland

Pool B

1  South Africa

2  New Zealand

Pool C

1   England

2   France

Pool D

1   Wales

2   Australia

That being the case the Quarterfinals will be as follows:-

*    Ireland to play New Zealand

*    Scotland to play South Africa

Winner game 1  -  New Zealand

Winner game 2  -  South Africa

*    England to play Australia

*    Wales to play France

Winner game 3  -  England

Winner game 4  -  Wales     

That will mean that in the semi-finals the teams will be the following:-

1   England to play South Africa

2   Wales to play NZ.

That could end up as a New Zealand - South Africa final  

28 Aug 2019, 09:23
28 Aug 2019, 09:23#27

Duplicate

moolaaPro2,380 posts
28 Aug 2019, 09:57
28 Aug 2019, 09:57#28

Laumape is a powerful runner but obviously Hansen and Co don't think he's the complete package. He can go missing in games and his defence is questionable too. Can't afford to miss tackles in the midfield in crucial RWC games.

ALB and Crotty are sound as bells and can be relied upon not to do anything stupid to put the team under pressure. Lots of Saffas also criticised the "aging" ABs in 2015 but you can't beat experience can you Moz?

Watch this space boys.....the question being, can the Boks find a way through the AB defence in the first game?? Not easy.

28 Aug 2019, 10:22
28 Aug 2019, 10:22#29
moolaa, yes I believe Hansen has instructed Laumape to improve his all round game and work on his kicking skills. Personally if I had a Laumape in my team and he ever kicked the ball I'd give him a very stern reminder of why he's in my team . . . to bust tackles!
As long as Laumape is breaking the line on a regular basis in his normal fashion, I wouldn't change a single thing about the way he plays. There's no speculative chip kick or grubber that can compare to a good old fashion line bust.
As for his defence, I can't say I've ever noticed a weakness there. I don't think he's any less secure than ALB. The only advantage ALB has over Laumape is the fact that he can cover #13 as well but if I had to choose between the two for the #13 jersey alone then I'd still pick Laumape in a heartbeat.
BR
BrycyPro4,671 posts
28 Aug 2019, 10:29
28 Aug 2019, 10:29#30

...Short odds on Laumape getting called up given there will always be injuries...good to know we have quality players like him to call on in that advent - being a specialist 12 probably counted against his selection and Hansen opting for the familiarity Mo'unga has with the Crusader centres Crotty and Goodhue

.... can only guess that injuries have curtailed Frizzel's selection.... Squire has been a machine for Tasman of late and will be the next cab off the rank if there is need of another loosie....

and reassuring also to hear that Jordie is our backup 10 that hopefully we will never need..

28 Aug 2019, 11:10
28 Aug 2019, 11:10#31

Duplicate

28 Aug 2019, 11:10#32

Cloudy

With due respect - I think Jordie and Scot Barrett from  a rugby perspective is B-Le ague compared to their top class brother,  

28 Aug 2019, 11:10#33

Duplicate

28 Aug 2019, 11:10#34

Duplica te

28 Aug 2019, 11:10#35

Duplicate

28 Aug 2019, 11:27
28 Aug 2019, 11:27#36
Ou Maaik, is it really so difficult to just hit the submit button once and then be patient for a few seconds?
Is that simple task honestly beyond your capability?
28 Aug 2019, 11:44
28 Aug 2019, 11:44#37

I did hit the button once - but we constantly in the area have connect problems with the internet and that produces multiple entries I believe.  

28 Aug 2019, 13:11
28 Aug 2019, 13:11#38

Hi Cloudy, nice to see you on the board. Can't you  stream the games via internet? 

I live in VA, a few miles from DC. Lovin' life at the moment, hope all is well with you.

Interesting that Hansen has gone with solid mid-field (nothing flashy there) the wings have x-factor. I like the Mo'unga  and Barrett decision. Congrats to Jackobson but Squire power would have been great. Not mentally ready and he was honest enough to say so.

28 Aug 2019, 14:28
28 Aug 2019, 14:28#39

My word some intelligence in the cloudsters family!

The wee abs should make it out of the group stages. After that who knows what will happen. Seems the RWC is more open than in years.

The kiwis will doubtless be filling many refs bank accounts etc as per usual. Please take note all contestants!

Retardlick says he will only play if Eben doesn't, you know what a brute Eben is!!!!!!! The other wee abs nod in acknowledgements. Well said Retardlicks!!!

RL
Rugby LindaClub Pro114 posts
29 Aug 2019, 09:56
29 Aug 2019, 09:56#40

I'm a bit worried we might thrash this collection of geriatrics and the walking wounded and end up playing England in the semis. That would be concerning

I think you may have been wacking your small one a bit to often 

What a an idiot.........................................

Under estimate NZ at your own loss...........................

We will see won't we.

South Africans as per usual have totally mis red the reality.