Great to see him given a run at 12 instead of wasted on the wing - but boy talk about a baptism of fire, coming up against the best attacking 12 in the game in the very impressive Menoncello
Acid test for Hooker
Agree. What a contest!
Can't wait. Go Bokke!
Dave
I like Hooker as a player - but I don't think he has last played at center for 18 months, I hope he does well on Saturday I essense I see Hooker capable playing in the 12 - 13 jerseys and on the wing.
I must admit that the backline bar Pollard will probably be the fastest backline in the world.
Hooker has played some games at 12 for the Shatks with JJ outside him and that was no
where near as long as 18 months ago
His primary position is 12, it’s where he played at school and for the Baby Boks
He has only played wing at the Sharks and Boks because of the incumbent Bok centres being selected
He is going to have to be at his best on Saturday given he is facing the very impressive Menoncello
Hope he does
12s rarely line up in the game itself, except maybe occasionally from set piece. The 12 tends to be sent in on the 10 channel. Against France for example I can't recall DDA running at Fickou once, but he did at Ntamack, and Fickou ran more at Sacha than at any other back. If I was Italy I'd definitely send Menoncello into Pollard rather than Hooker. Pollard remains a suspect tackler.
Pollard at some 96 kg has always defended his channel very well. Obviously with forwards running hard at you it's a difficult job for a flyhalf.
Pakster hallucinating once again. Take your meds oak.
Hooker has certainly been set a challenge and this is something Rassie likes to do as it reveals character and where a player is at. He also likes flexibility and planning for the future.
My guess is Hooker will rise to the challenge against a tricky opponent.
Doubtless any mistake made by Hooker will be used by the Mampara Union to prove Rassie has no clue. It's all totally predictable.
The problem for this Bok side is though mainly in the tight forwards but Rassie has cover on the bench. The lose trio is also not great but should be adequate. Time will tell.
As Mike says the Backs have pace to burn and even more so when Williams and Libok come on.
Pollard at some 96 kg has always defended his channel very well.
He probably misses more tackles on a regular basis than any other single back in the Bok setup.
Stats in the RWC final 2023:
H PollardFH 0 8 9 0
That is 8 tackles made, 9 tackles missed.
Beeno, you guys never look at numbers. You listen to a few pundits and random idiots on Youtube who reinforce your biases and think you know something.
Beenou
You'll probably find that you're entirely wrong and that almost everybody here supports Hooker for 12.
In fact, you'll find that I was probably the first person here to say that I'd like to see him graduate through 13 to 12 for the Boks.
In fact, I said this before he'd had his first start for the Boks.
For me, outside of having the perfect build, Hooker has the perfect mindset to become the incumbent 12. Nothing phases him. He already looks like a 50 cap Bok. In a couple of years, we'll be looking at a 30 cap Bok playing like he's got a 100 caps under the belt.
Pakie
"12s rarely line up in the game itself, except maybe occasionally from set piece. The 12 tends to be sent in on the 10 channel. Against France for example I can't recall DDA running at Fickou once, but he did at Ntamack, and Fickou ran more at Sacha than at any other back. If I was Italy I'd definitely send Menoncello into Pollard rather than Hooker. Pollard remains a suspect tackle"
I am wrong about you - above is indeed a lucid inteval in your case. In most cases the main attack of players aimed at the gap between the flyhalf and centers or straight at the flyhalf. In the last URC match between the Sharks and the Scarlets scrummie passed the ball to the wing and he ran straight through the gap between the asuu and Esterhuizen and scored the third try of Scarlets. Both mentine plyer did nthin to even mve to top the attack.
What I am driving at you have a real point in that cae. Pollard is not he best tackler around - but compared to Morne he is a superstar, As a tackler Morne was the worst flyhalf ever in the history of Springbok Rugby. when it came to tackling. I can remember a test in Perth in 2014 the Springboks lost a match which they were supposed to win. The point of atack used by all playes were Morne - they ran at him 8 times and he missed tackles 7 times.
The real loss in that game a not only deficient tackling he royally buggered up badly. In the said match Habana was yellow-carded and the ussies used his absence toa ttack the Springboks. However the Spring bks was awarded a penalty and if the ball were kicked out Habana would be back on the field. Dear Morne could not find touch and the ball ended up inside the field fo play and th e Aussies counter-attacked and Morne during the attack missed a tackle attempt and in the end the Ausies scored a converted try - winning the match. That ended Morne play in any starting games until Coetzee picked him at flyhalf agaisnt the AB's in the RC. Results the Springboks in the two matches played lost 57 0 and 57 - 15.- Mozart praising Morne for comverting five penalties.
, . , . .
Pollard is not he best tackler around - but compared to Morne he is a superstar, As a tackler Morne was the worst flyhalf ever in the history of Springbok Rugby.
Actually Morne's tackle success across his career is in the deep 80%, on par with that of Dan Carter. I did the full stat rundown years ago on this forum. Pollard won't come close to that. Morne had a few bad defensive tests towards the end of his career, but overall he a was a solid defender.
Plum
My only problem is that since Esterhuizen's return from England Hooker vortually never palyed at 12. I mentioned 18 months - hat was in May 2024. The URC 2024-26 restarted in September 2024 and in most matches in 2024 Esthuzien played at 12 and that happened throughout the remainder of the 2024-25 tournament. This year Hooker played in no matches at 12 as far as I can remember. .
That is the only problem with Hooker playing at 12, I hope lack of playing at 12 does not have a negative effect tomorrow
Plumster your comprehension levels are now failing you.. I am very much in favour of Hooker playing 12 thus my comment saying I believe he will rise to the challenge.
Elsewhere I have said how exciting this backline is.
Pakster you quote more dubious stats from one match to claim Pollard is a bad defender. That is nonsense. The guy is a good defender and for this reason was able to play test rugby 12 which a poor defender can't do.
I have a far more reliable source of information, a pair of eyes and a brain that functions.
Pakster you have once again been found out and schooled. Have a warm glass of milk, take your meds and enjoy your morning nap.
Hahahahahaha.
No, Beeno, your comprehension skills fail you.
You said that some here would be happy if Hooker made mistakes.
I'm telling you that nobody here wants that and most of us support him to hilt.
I have a far more reliable source of information, a pair of eyes and a brain that functions.
Did your eyes and functioning brain observe Jalibert beating Pollard twice in the quarter against France in 2023, the first break leading to a 40m+ gain downfield for France?
Yep, I'd send people into his channel all day, especially anyone with a semblance of an inside step.
Pakie
Although I mostly think you wrote rugby illiterate BS on site - I must admit that Pollard defense is suspect. I do not think he will reach the 2027 RWC squad. Due to age and injury factors Pollard - never a speed merchant - is now even slower than he was in 2019 and his few performancess in tests he played in and in this years only URC match he was substandard,
It’s going to be an acid test regardless of what channels are targeted. Menoncello is anything but one dimensional so he will mix it up and attack all channels
Dave
I know t hatn bym now the Springboks know eveything about Menoncello and has a sound system of containing him - whatever he comes up with. Erasmus has one element in coaching which made him the great coach h e si. He and Jones identify the strong and weak points of every eam they come up against and the players are trained to defend against strong points and utilize he weak points to best advntage in attacks, A total team effort to neutrlize him is place. .
Morne was birdshit in 2012 when Meyer cried because he had to replace him after his Duneden disaster, He was back in the tests in 2013 and lasted till the Perth test and he fucked up so badly as described by me in detail above hat as never played as starting flyhalf and in one of the Round Robin matches in the 2015 RWC he played for 20 minutes coming from the bench was the only match he layed in in 2015,
I can remember in 2013 the three weakest teams ever to play the Springboks Morne scored a try and the commentator made same really truermarks when hesaid you are seeing a really rare ocurence.
By the way in the 2012 Dunedin test mentioned above, 2 of Morne;s out of hand kicks was described by Marshall and his partner as B S - and that openly on the air. Morne was a good golkicker and fuck-all else. Poor defender - also in the Dunedin test Morne missed 7 of 8 kicks he kicked at goal,
A defense beauty was in the AB test in Johannesburg the AB's attacked inside the Springboks 22 de Villiers ent out of defensive line and B Barrett ran past him with ease the next defender was Morne - who was gentlemenly and being a meter from Barrett he tapped him on his back and wished him well on he way to scoring the try. What a star he was. JJ was blamed by Mozart fo the try being scored - in his normal style. De Villiers broke the defensive line had nothing to do with scoring of the try and Morne' gentle conduct had nothing to do with the defense.
Morne a good defender - fuck me - total BS. he was the worst flyhalf ever even in his Under 21 final in Argentina he fucked up totally and he got no better in defense ever - after 2012 he was the worst Springbok flyhalf ever in the history of Spingbok rugby - true shit - real shit
Well that did not work out as planned - poor Ethan found himself back on the wing thanks to that pathetic Mostert red
The commentators said Hooker was 6’4 and 110kg - which seems spot on
These weight listings are always so inaccurate as he is down as 100kg
My guess is in the Ireland test Hooker will play on the wing again, but an opportunity for him to play at center wil arise again in the Wales test on 28 November, but that would leave a real cvacancy on the wing and that is why I dealt with the issue of call-ups to ensure that the Springboks field a full 23 match squad in the relevant test, In my opinion Esterhuizen will play as a loosie for the full match. There is a loosie crisis as well.
Personally I would like to see Hooker playng at center in a whole match - the fact it happened in 13 minutes is not a real test a far as I am concerned,
No Hooker won’t play against Ireland as the wings will be Kolbe and Arendse unless Arendse does not come through his concussion protocol
So then probably it will be the Tractor again DDA?? Honestly they can rather play 12 AE and Moodie 13.
Or Play Kolbe at Fullback, Hooker on wing. Willemse 12, together with Moodie 13…
DDA and Kriel is Regression back to Dead End Rugby…But for Dr. Lucky it’s tried and tested…
Mpower
You obviously are entitled to your own opinion onn players,
As to Esterhuizen Erasmus prefer to play him as a loosie and I think it is really the case, He is physicall strong - but mentally and physically too slow to play at center, That was repeatedly showed in thsi year URC as well. The Sharks fowards was overwhelming the other teams - but they losst the matches because of underformnance f players at 10 and 12. A sterling example was when the Sharks lost the match against Ulster, while the Lions beat Ulster easily. without a hving the forward dominance the Sharks had,
In the case against the weakest team in the URC this year - Scarlets - the Sharks won - but Scarlets were competitive losing only by 12 points, In the match they scored their third ry - easy as pie - when the srummie passed he ball to a wing and he ran a straight line between the 10 and 12 scoring an easy try that kept them in the match. Both the 10 and 12 stood dead still and did nothing to stop the try. and Estehuizen was at 12. One does not ex[pect tht type of thing from a test level player,
I think Estehuizen has the making of a good loosie and not a good center.
I still think our opinion of the best coach in tes rugby at present and the best coach in h e h sitory of S pring bok rugby is really laughable. Under Erasmus S pring bok backline has scored more ties than under any other coach since 2000 playing comprehnsive 15 man rugby, In 2018 - Erasmus fort year as a coach - and 2012 - Meyers firt year of coaching - the Springboks scored more backline tries than the hole Springbok team scored in 2012 under Meyer. In the RWC in 2019 backline players scored 2 tries - the only tiome in RWC finals the Spring boks scored tries,
By playing 15 man rugby and not ten man ru gby the Sprngboks coaching dispaly cupboard is overfull and that remains the acid test between playing 15 and 10 man rugby.
. .
You think wrong Uncle…Erasmus is using him in a Hybrid role. That means he plays in BOTH positions.
But he is primarily a inside centre. No matter how Biased you are, or make up more reasons to support your narrative, it’s not based on facts.
Please go ahead and prove explicitly, where Erasmus has Quoted in his own words, that Esterhuisen will ONLY be used as a Loose Forward??
The floor is yours…
No Erasmus did not do that but his selections this year clearly showed that. Please refer to my additions to my riginal post on the Esterhuizen issue.as well. The reams announced to play in all tests bar one - was selecting Esterhuizen as a loosie and that is proof enough for me
In oth cases where he wa playing in the alst two tests he was selected as a relacement loosie and two red cards were the only reason to use him in boh positions. Fact is he in 23 tess at center only scored 2 ests - in four matches he was plaing basically as a loosie he sored 2 tries. For me that was the acid test.
In my opinion Estehuizen is not pacy and shrewd enough to be a top class 12.
Well, if that is your logic and Esterhuisen is not " Pacey" enough, what the hell should we say about DDA??
He is as slow as a donkey:)
"Shrewd; having or showing sharp powers of judgement; astute.“
Well, this is another debatable claim about Esterhuisen in comparison to DDA..
Have you actually watched any of DDA‘s games of late?? Literally, all he does is look for contact and forms rucks.
No more needs to be said, Esterhuisen wins that hands down:)
De Allende will pacewise beat Esterhuizen by 10 meters in a 50 meter race. He played his rugby in Japan where fast moving rugby is the rule and he is regarded as a fast pace player in that environment. Try and ge some vdeos on Japan matches and that will help you in that regard.
. .
Absolute nonsense, prove it…actual facts uncle, not made up in your head…
"So then probably it will be the Tractor again DDA?? Honestly they can rather play 12 AE and Moodie 13."
I see DDA's name on the team sheet and I'm immediately annoyed.
This hybrid kak is literally keeping DDA relevant.
You cannot tell me that Roos could not be just as a good a hybrid as AE.
Drop DDA, let AE play at 12 where he belongs and where he dominates every single time he plays, and bring Roos in as the hybrid.
Just a question...is there anybody here that thinks Roos could not defend the 12 channel better than DDA does...or make more ground in carries?
All I'm saying is, if Pollock can be considered to be a hybrid player, the so the hell can Roos. I'm with Xavi on this one, Roos' dad must be giant doos like no other for Roos to still be excluded from the Boks at the point haha.
Mind you, I'd rather see the roast chicken in my oven play at 12 for the Boks before DDA, so perhaps I'm a tad biased.
Roos has been fucked around enough - last thing we need is him being turned into a hybrid player
Select him at 8 where he belongs
The #8 going forward will be either Cam or Roos, hopefully with the other packing down elsewhere in the loose trio.
I like the idea of Roos at #8 and Cam at #6 but right now, I'll be happy enough if Rassie picks either one in any position. They'll both prove themselves when they get the chance.
I'm known for being someone who dislikes playing backs as forwards and vice versa, but if Rassie can use St E as a flanker, ButtPlug's idea of Roos at #12 isn't that outlandish. Not that I'm suggesting for one second that Roos becomes a centre but he certainly has the pace to be another hybrid option.
The reason I don't like to mix forwards and backs around is because of the innate difference between the two . . . forwards as we know being grafters who work really hard to win possession only to see it kicked away or knocked on by the mincing backline posers and the tireless forwards have to gird their loins and go win it all over again.
Basically I'm saying I'm not convinced Roos is suited to standing around with his fellow backs fiddling with his hair and discussing moisturising products and I'm not convinced a nail-filing back has the abilty to handle the workload of a proper self-respecting forward.
Plum
I agree with Dave year, Nobdy wuld ever advocate usage any player for hybrid usage - it can onl happen in unforseen circumstances.
You are obviously entitled to your opinion and that is not how rugby experts see in Esterhuixen and De Allende. I rather beleive experts and not people like you where prejudice rule supreme.
Whenever I see Esterhuizen as center I think about his perormances for the Sharks at center this year and I become annoyed, LOL
Agreed Rooi - moving forward I’d love to see Hanekom at 6 with Roos at 8
Imagine them combining with Williams, vd Bergh, Sacha, Libbok, Willemse, Hooker, Moodie, JJ, Arendse, Kolbe, Edwil and Fassi
Mouth watering stuff
With Elrigh Louw at 7 or Ben Jason Dixon.
As Long as Jasper Wiese is doing what he is doing, I can’t see Roos dislodging him.
Maybe rather play Roos at 6, and Cameron at 8? In order for Roos to get a shot, Erasmus needs to drastically warm up to the man…
He keeps on saying that Roos will still play many tests, but at the moment it’s just Empty words.
Louw at 7 - BJ Dixon has not done enough yet
Also like Vincent Tsituka at 7 and then we have Ruan Venter, Ludwig and Batho
I don’t think Rassie is done with Roos, but we definitely missed him on Saturday and he would have been perfect for this game. Just saw Rassie will leave players out for a campaign and then bring them back. Look what happened to Grobbies, he got left out early in the year with Marnus seeming to be the third choice but now Grobbies are back
ers ago called Alberts "Sloth" because hew as totally pace-deicient and he had the pace of a prop and players like Reid,ran cricles around him. Wiese in a way is being the same type of loosie, Strong ball carrier and then one big zero, However Wiese is better in ball p rotection and even caused turnovers in breakdwns - somethn g "Sloth" never did. Am fraid Wiee never as a link requred from loosies like Roos sdid - and that is became part of attacking play b the backline.
I respectedhighly Vermeulen who played the same game as Wiese - but was ten times better than Wiese in that type mof ctivitiy. In teh case of the Springboks Du Toit filled that linking role. That is why Du Toit was twice the Player of the Year and many times MOM which you and Mozart never admitted as being deserved,
SIES
- NewsFinn Russell: Springboks' Major Threat Unveiled0 REPLIES · 8 VIEWS
- NewsRassie's Half-Time Talk Sparks Boks Victory2 REPLIES · 21 VIEWS
- RugbyPublic apology - I am remorseful21 REPLIES · 264 VIEWS
- NewsLive Springboks vs England Nations Championship 202618 REPLIES · 137 VIEWS
- NewsTwenty years on: a new home for the same conversation9 REPLIES · 99 VIEWS
- RugbySo 'Corn1 REPLIES · 23 VIEWS