FORUM / RUGBY /  Anyone know...

Anyone know...

Started by Denny30 REPLIES811 VIEWS· 12 Nov 2014, 10:58
12 Nov 2014, 10:58
12 Nov 2014, 10:58#1

whether Marchant is staying on or if he's been sent home? I'd love to see the lad on the WACA belter....a wicket made to suit.

12 Nov 2014, 11:14
12 Nov 2014, 11:14#3
Jirre! I would have sent Parnell packing. Are they blind?  
12 Nov 2014, 13:07
12 Nov 2014, 13:07#4
I'd have Parnell ahead of McLaren anyday  
12 Nov 2014, 13:21
12 Nov 2014, 13:21#5
 Parnell is a real disaster in ODI's - he has more no-balls and wides than anyone care to remember.  He is to my mind the worst performer in the team.  At least McLaren is more of a problem for opposition batters than Parnell is.
Agree with Danny - he is a problem.      
12 Nov 2014, 13:21
12 Nov 2014, 13:21#6
 Duplication
12 Nov 2014, 13:24
12 Nov 2014, 13:24#7
Dave
That article is not correct anymore.  Duminy has come back to SA - he has a kneee injury and Marchant de Lange stayed on in Australia.    
Parnell is a real disaster in ODI's - he has more no-balls and wides than anyone care to remember.  He is to my mind the worst performer in the team.  At least McLaren is more of a problem for opposition batters than Parnell is.
Agree with Danny - he is a problem.      
12 Nov 2014, 13:27
12 Nov 2014, 13:27#8
Mc Laren is useless, I like Parnell 
12 Nov 2014, 13:43
12 Nov 2014, 13:43#9

Parnell was pathetic, in particular the T20 final, I couldn't believe it when Duminy gave him the ball in the penultimate over

He is not consistent enough to play at this level 

Marchant any day

12 Nov 2014, 14:22
12 Nov 2014, 14:22#10

de Lange should be in the squad, which he is now, by all accounts.

My call is Parnell over McLaren who is utterly useless. Both are in the squad, but McLaren should not be.

Nor should Peterson and Phangiso.......both are pathetic.

JP is a loss given his off spin option.......now one of the above will have to play

12 Nov 2014, 14:39
12 Nov 2014, 14:39#11

Peterson has not been too bad, although I am not a major fan of his, but I have to concede he has been the wicket taker quite often when a partnership has become a problem against us.

He is not a mug with the bat either, and whilst he may not get big scores all the time, he certainly helps the RR more often than not

12 Nov 2014, 14:51
12 Nov 2014, 14:51#12
I think Peterson got a chance because Duminy is injured.   He is either a wicket taker or goes for huge runs - so his chances of making the acttual team is fairly remote.   If I was the selecter the team for Friday will be -
*   Amla*   De Kock*   Rossouw*   Du Plessis*   De Villiers*   Miller*   Steyn
*   Philander*   Morkel*   De Lange*   Tahir
In the absence of Duminy - they simply will have to do with 6 batters and five bowlers.   Steyn and Philander can do some batting as well.   
If De Lange is not selected I think they would go with McLaren.   

12 Nov 2014, 15:19
12 Nov 2014, 15:19#13
 Wow. What happened to your "Amla is not an opener and should bat lower down"-theory?
Sharky54Club Pro247 posts
12 Nov 2014, 19:19
12 Nov 2014, 19:19#14
Marchant..what a name..one just knows his da d was 'Martin' or 'Marnus' and his mom was 'Chantelle' - what's the bet ?
12 Nov 2014, 20:17
12 Nov 2014, 20:17#15
 Af ter fleeing from the site for nearly a week - because his favourite geriatrics were so piss-poor - the dof doos is back.  
12 Nov 2014, 20:42
12 Nov 2014, 20:42#16
 lol Mike, don't be so hard on him, I'm sure you two will get along famously after a few beers!
12 Nov 2014, 21:46
12 Nov 2014, 21:46#17

November 12, 2014, 20:17:23  Af ter fleeing from the site for nearly a week - because his favourite geriatrics were so piss-poor - the dof doos is back.  
So, are you expecting me to report for duty every Monday to read your ramblings and bullsh!t? I have never been away. I just do not get as much joy from the Boks losing a game as you do.

12 Nov 2014, 22:38
12 Nov 2014, 22:38#18
Oom I'm hoping you don't report for duty, if only for one day...I'll write your posts for you, I know them all by now
13 Nov 2014, 03:30
13 Nov 2014, 03:30#19
 Haha Sharkie good one.
13 Nov 2014, 10:28
13 Nov 2014, 10:28#20
 Sharky54

November 12, 2014, 19:19:52 Marchant..what a name..one just knows his dad was 'Martin' or 'Marnus' and his mom was 'Chantelle' - what's the bet ?

You never heard of the name Marchant?

Marchant is a surname. Notable people with the surname include:

13 Nov 2014, 12:50
13 Nov 2014, 12:50#21
McLaren must be the worst allrounder to don Protea colours, compared to Klusener, McMillan etc he is average. Parnell strikes me as being up himself, watched Donald trying to give him advice, can't say he seemed interested. Perhaps he thinks because he bowls at 140km/h he's something special,  someone should tell him that these days it's probably entry level for a quick.
13 Nov 2014, 13:12
13 Nov 2014, 13:12#22

Parnell has never quite fulfilled his potential, but he is a far more talented cricketer than McLaren.

It is always handy to have a left arm seamer in the squad and he has good pace about him. More than handy enough with the bat as well. I like him, but he does need to become consistent........investment should bring that out in him.......he has age on his side.

There are some cricketers in the SA set up that defy comprehension in terms of selection.......none more so than Berhardien.........the guy is technically flawed as a bat and has a record to match, how he continues to be selected is beyond me.

Same applies to Ontong, Peterson, Phangiso, Petersen and McLaren.

The sooner we see Rabada involved at all levels the better. Rillee Rossouw is a great addition to the line-up as well.

13 Nov 2014, 13:18
13 Nov 2014, 13:18#23

Agree with just about everything you say but I'd take five with Rabada....he's

not ready yet I don't think.

Dave, Parnell does not hit the right areas, the kid is dumb, speed alone these days is just not enough.

13 Nov 2014, 15:07
13 Nov 2014, 15:07#24

Agreed Denny

Pace means absolutely nothing if you can't consistenly put it in the right areas, especially forcing the batsman into the shot at good pace

I agree with Dave though as well,  regarding the left hander in the side, as it presents a lot more variation, especially on the notorious Waca wicket which is exceptionally quick.

An interesting point to note:

Since December 2012, 4 of the 7 fastest test centuries were scored at that ground.

13 Nov 2014, 17:56
13 Nov 2014, 17:56#25

Yep Parnell struggles with consistency......he is not the finished article but reality is, that outside of Steyn, Morkel and Philander, we are not seeing any quality seamer coming through apart from Rabada.

de Lange was destined to be the next big thing but injury got in the way of that, but he looks fit and has age on his side, so hopefully we see him return to regular cricket for the Protea's.

My call is that we have established seamers in Steyn, Morkel and Philander.......sadly all getting on now........and of the youngsters......de Lange and Parnell look our best bets, with Rabada an obvious addition.

These 6 are our only true international standard seam bowlers, with Parnell probably being the weakest......but he provides variety with the left arm and is a handy bat.  

14 Nov 2014, 10:17
14 Nov 2014, 10:17#26

I'm very disappointed with QDK

Again no footwork, just pushing away from the body when Johnson was not forcing him into the shot. 

The ball was nowhere near him.

Not a wicket ball but QDK made it one, amateur stuff from an experienced player

He needs to focus and up his game, as he again now puts the pressure straight back on to du Plessis coming in at 6/1

Luckily in du Plessis, we have a great player

14 Nov 2014, 10:19
14 Nov 2014, 10:19#27

Eish

18/2, Amla back in the hut early for 8, Johnson again  

14 Nov 2014, 10:34
14 Nov 2014, 10:34#28

What the hell ... ???

Hey boys, Devil's actually contributing something here.

Ain't that a kick in the head??

Seems he's a cricket man.

14 Nov 2014, 10:46
14 Nov 2014, 10:46#29
Better than a kick in the nuts  
14 Nov 2014, 10:47
14 Nov 2014, 10:47#30

No doubt.
14 Nov 2014, 10:51
14 Nov 2014, 10:51#31

We can't keep relying on AB and Faf to get us out of trouble, 57/3 now

I don't see this first ODI going our way, but I will be very happy to be proven wrong