FORUM / RUGBY /  Boks defence picking up Irish pointers; Rugby 365

Boks defence picking up Irish pointers; Rugby 365

Started by Just_win17 REPLIES267 VIEWS· 12 Nov 2014, 23:35
12 Nov 2014, 23:35
12 Nov 2014, 23:35#1
Springbok defensive coach John McFarland has picked up a number of weaknesses that the Irish exploited and he will be looking to patch them up for England at Twickenham on Saturday. The Springboks may have only conceded two tries and only faced one true line break against the Irish but it was clear that there were aspects of the game that put the visitors under huge defensive pressure.  The Springboks were overwhelmed at the breakdown on many occasions and Irelands own rush defence disrupted the Bok backline, but most of all it was the tactical kicking of Johnny Sexton that showed up the South Africans. "Their rush defence was enacted quite well," McFarland said. "The reason they were able to use the rush is that they were quiet disruptive at the breakdown "They had numbers on their feet at the breakdown so they were able to do it [rush forward in defence]. "There certainly are things that we can take from what they did defensively over here in those conditions." McFarland has said it is important to take the lessons learnt against Ireland forward when they face England, who came very close to toppling the All Blacks. "They kicked, they made sure our ball was slow and they pushed the laws to the limit," the coach added. "We must take some of those lessons and implement them into our defence. "The real thing we need to improve was our positional play when dealing with kicks. "Sexton exposed us a few times in the back field. We need to be more disciplined in certain situations, the kickers here, from Farrell to Sexton all kick at 100 percent so you have to be right on the money in terms of your discipline." McFarland admits that the Springboks can definitely do better but did have some small praise for one or two players. "I think Schalk Burger had a real impact when he came on and I thought Jan Serfontein was pretty solid as well as Handre [Pollard] who was up against a very experienced No.10," he concluded.
12 Nov 2014, 23:36
12 Nov 2014, 23:36#2
 John McFarland si mply does not get it, it was the "greasy ball" that was the problem
BI
biltongbekClub Pro749 posts
13 Nov 2014, 00:09
13 Nov 2014, 00:09#3
What I don't get is that the Coaching staff need a constant reminder that teams from the NH or teams playing the NH style continually does that.
Hell, Scotland did it last year in Nelspruit, then Argentina did it in Mendoza, then Wales did it in Nelspruit this year, then Argentina did it in Salta, now Ireland did it.
Somewhere someone in the bok camp must have been realising by now that the tactics are used to nullify our quick ball. How many times more must this happen where opposition forwards throw everything into our rucks, they will flirt with thr offside line, and because we do not put sufficent numbers to the ruck, even when they are offside they look onside because of the sheer numbers.
It frustrates me to bloody pieces. I wish I could get into that change room just once to wake these okes the F...k up. 
13 Nov 2014, 00:23
13 Nov 2014, 00:23#4
 It sounds so obvious & when you watch the game you could see it as clear as day. I agree BB, how many times do they have to see it before they prepare for it?
BI
13 Nov 2014, 00:28
13 Nov 2014, 00:28#5
I don't know mate, I am at a loss as to why it keeps happening, surely it can't be that they underestimate these teams?
Although that is the most logical conclusion. 
13 Nov 2014, 00:53
13 Nov 2014, 00:53#6
Jeez BB you dont take all these press statements seriously do you? We are worse at the breakdown because we have lost the power of Alberts and Flip Flop. And because Marcel is the most ineffective fetcher in any of the top international teams. Does that help?
sharkbokCaptain23,293 posts
13 Nov 2014, 01:01
13 Nov 2014, 01:01#7
Each year it is clear that Southern Hemisphere refs favour the attacking team, but Northern hemispheric refs favour the defending team.
Even a team like Scotland can challenge the Boks with a northern interpretation of the laws.  If it is a northern referee then it is simple, the backrow must contain more fetchers. It is no good having ball carriers standing away from the ruck when the opposition are commiting more  players onto the ball, than off the ball. 
I remember Jake White on his first tour as head bok coach in Europe that the underground was slippery and that players wore studs which were too small. Jake White was part of the Nick Mallett coaching team in Europe about 5 years before he himself became head coach.
ClaydogClub Pro691 posts
13 Nov 2014, 01:15
13 Nov 2014, 01:15#8
 I agree sharkbok. Watching the Wallabies game and the Bokke game straight after the differences in the policing of the ruck was obvious. The southern hemisphere refs are savage on the tackler and allowing quick ball and the northern refs seem happy to allow some slowing of the ball. Everyone knows this and its horses for courses in that the teams have to play to the interpretations. If you don't adapt we all know what can happen.
13 Nov 2014, 01:25
13 Nov 2014, 01:25#9
Claydog thankfully the Boks have Steve Walsh against England who allows a quick game which will favour the Boks
hakwaPro4,146 posts
13 Nov 2014, 09:25
13 Nov 2014, 09:25#10
 Giving old Stevie a mirror before the game to look at himself will also help Sharkbok
13 Nov 2014, 09:58
13 Nov 2014, 09:58#11

Meyer recognized that the modern game is played around the ruck and said that they would focus on that aspect of our game and make it a strength.

We saw this tactic bearing us fruit ... for awhile that is ... then it's as if we forget about it and get taken to task by the likes of Scotland and Argentina and now Ireland as a reminder.

We'll fix this against England and then probably forget it again when we play Italy.

A poor coach coaching poorly.

Can't select ... can't coach ... what is he doing there?

BI
13 Nov 2014, 10:09
13 Nov 2014, 10:09#12

I am trying to figure out who is to blame for us going into these matches lacking intensity.

Mendoza 2012

Nelspruit 2013

Mendoza 2013

Nelspruit 2014

Salta 2014

Dublin 2014

Why? Who?  

13 Nov 2014, 10:45
13 Nov 2014, 10:45#13

The Golden Lions had a relatively good season this year and that with a bunch of nobodies.

We're a happy bunch of guys playing with passion and for each other.

Why you may ask ??

THE COACH.

He inspires them. He unites them as one. He guides them with a clear plan each match and pumps them full of self belief.

Meyer looks to be on the verge of a full blown panic attack and the boys are picking this up.

He doesn't know what to do anymore.

Indecision. Who to play and who not to has become a big issue with him.

He's already picked up that the fans at home regard him as a moron. His self confidence is matching that of HouGat's.  

The boys can see this and are starting to wonder whether they have what it takes.

Now that Victor Matfield thinks he's running the show we see the squad being divided. He's poisonous and Meyer's too damn weak to stop the rot. 

I can't help but hope we get thumped again on Saturday.

I am so tired of Meyer's incompetence and Matfield undermining Jean's leadership.

This boats going down rapidly.

13 Nov 2014, 13:37
13 Nov 2014, 13:37#14
Cleancut,
Lets see how well the Lions do in the Super XV against quality teams, rather than Curry Cup development teams whom are missing their best players. We shall see how much self belief they have then..... The Lions have very few boks which makes competing in the curry cup easier. It was John Mitchell who turned the Lions into a competitive Curry Cup team, not the steroid convicted zombie you have as your coach.
Meyer is the first and only SA coach to win the SuperX, and was also director at the Bulls when they went onto win another 2 years. He built a winning culture and profitable business that is able to recruit many of the best new talent in the country. The lions on the other hand have to make do with the rejects and misfits from the other unions, and once they start losing a few games in the SuperX they fall apart. 

13 Nov 2014, 14:25
13 Nov 2014, 14:25#15

You seem offended.

A Meyer fan are we?

It's easy to win with the likes of Matfield, Bakkies, Du Preez, Habana, an in form Morne and Spies not to mention Jaco van der Westhuizen and a whole host of others.

It wasn't his skill as a coach that brought the trophies home but rather the good fortune of having a strong team. Any one on the planet could have done that.

Your talent shows itself when all you have is dregs to work with.

A chump is a chump is a chump. There's no changing that. Eventually you will be shown up as such and that I'm afraid is exactly what's happened to this fool of a "coach" ...

He's moronic.

And yes ... I am looking very much forward to the Super Rugby next year.

We have already chalked up our best season to date and I have hopes of improvement next season ... and that with our "steroid convicted zombie" guiding us all the way.

13 Nov 2014, 14:59
13 Nov 2014, 14:59#16
Not offended at all, merely pointing out what a disaster the Lions are as a business and a rugby team. 
Louis Luyt handed over the most cash rich rugby business in South Africa. A few years later they were bankrupt due to incompetent management, coaching and player recruitment. 
No quality young player would want to play for the Lions as it has a culture of being losers. Take for example one of their fans called Clean Cut who is satisfied with the results of a 12th place finish. "We have already chalked up our best season to date and I have hopes of improvement next season ." You are happy with a 12th place finish...... With fans who are satisfied with being pathetic, no wonder the Lions are the basement dwellers.....
When Meyer became the Bok coach they were at the same level as the current Lions team. Meyer built a winning culture which made it possible to recruit the likes of Bryan Habana, and others. Even prior to this he was able to recruit quality players because they believed in him, before all of his success. This is why much of the cream of new rugby talent will continue to sign for the Bulls. They can better themselves, unlike Lions players who usually end of signing contracts to play in places like Italy. 
Dregg attracts Dregg and that is how it is in the Lions family.The Lions will continue to be an embarrassment at SuperXV level, where even the Queens with Puke Watson in charge had a better year in their first hit out, than the Lions have had most seasons

13 Nov 2014, 15:54
13 Nov 2014, 15:54#17
My, my ... you sound like one suffering from PMS.

All sulky and grumpy wanting to lash out. 

Sometimes I'll get home and find my wench sulking. Being the gentleman that I am I usually ask her if anythings the matter. The usual response is " no nothing" ... but by her tone and the look on her face I can clearly tell she's pi$$ed at me.

That's the same tone I'm getting from you, Shark Twat.

"Not offended at all, merely pointing out what a disaster the Lions are as a business and a rugby team."

I hope your not going to burst into tears now.

Yes I am delighted at where we ended this year and yes I will remain with the Lions till my grave ... even if they end up stone last. Always hopeful ... of course.

Yes we've made a mess of things.

This isn't news to me, Shark Twat.

Does n't change the fact that Meyer is useless. Always has been and I'm afraid ... always will be. You can try convince me otherwise with more fabricated nonsense but I wouldn't waste my time if I were you.

Feeling a little better now, Shark Twat!!

Oh and by the way, that avatar of yours confirm what an arse your coach really is. He was acting for the camera!!! Don't you know that?

13 Nov 2014, 16:03
13 Nov 2014, 16:03#18
The Sharks will look forward to wiping their arse with the Lions in the SuperXV again next year. 
Your "Wench" is probably going to murder you in your sleep one day. You better be sleeping with one eye open as she and your former best friend plan to enjoy the rest of their life spending your life insurance policy. 
Oh and they dont support the Loser Lions either..... Ha, Ha

Just kidding about your friend and wife.  Not about the Lions though!!