FORUM / RUGBY /  Boks move up to third in rankings

Boks move up to third in rankings

Started by sharkbok37 REPLIES679 VIEWS· 28 Aug 2017, 14:25
sharkbokCaptain23,258 posts
28 Aug 2017, 14:25
28 Aug 2017, 14:25#1
Rugby ChampionshipBoks move up to third in rankings2017-08-28 13:32 SHARE THIS   Cape Town - A fifth straight win for the Springboks has taken them above Ireland and into third in the official World Rugby rankings.
Following on from their 37-15 win over Argentina in Port Elizabeth last week, the South Africans completed the double over Los Pumas in the Rugby Championship when they recorded an impressive 41-23 victory in Salta on Saturday.
The Springboks’ highest score since they downed the USA 64-0 at Rugby World Cup 2015 was worth 1.15 points, taking them up one spot to a total of 85.66 - just under three tenths more than Ireland.
Los Pumas have only won one of their last eight fixtures and are currently languishing in 10th place in the rankings, on exactly 78 points.
The All Blacks are unchanged, on 95.21 points, at the top of the rankings after withstanding a fearsome challenge from a fired-up Australia.
Stung by the criticism that followed their 54-34 loss to the All Blacks in Sydney in round one, the Wallabies contributed fully to a classic duel in Dunedin and looked set to register their first win over their great rivals since 2015 when Kurtley Beale’s late try gave them a one-point lead.
But New Zealand responded straight from the restart, reclaiming possession before a patient build-up resulted in Beauden Barrett going over for the match-winning score with two minutes remaining.
With 11 points and four places between the sides at kick-off, Bledisloe Cup holders New Zealand did not pick up any reward from a rankings perspective and they remain 5.07 points clear of second-placed England.
Top 20 in latest World Rugby standings:
1. New Zealand 95.212. England 90.143. South Africa 85.664. Ireland 85.395. Australia 84.216. Scotland 82.477. Wales 81.738. France 79.639. Fiji 79.4810. Argentina 78.0011. Japan 73.7912. Georgia 73.4113. Tonga 71.7214. Italy 71.0015. Romania 70.2716. Samoa 69.6717. USA 65.8418. Uruguay 63.1519. Spain 63.1520. Russia 63.13
28 Aug 2017, 14:28
28 Aug 2017, 14:28#2
I am surprised wins to the lowly France, and now lowly Argentina has improved the Bok ranking so much. 
South Africa are playing a completely different style of rugby that is like the Lions. It is all about scoring more tries than the opposition. 
The back row could perhaps be rejigged to start with a power loosie like Dupreez. 
28 Aug 2017, 16:22
28 Aug 2017, 16:22#3
This may be the high point for the year.
28 Aug 2017, 16:59
28 Aug 2017, 16:59#4

Shows you the standard of world rugby.

BR
BrycyPro4,671 posts
28 Aug 2017, 20:29
28 Aug 2017, 20:29#5
...Fiji has also gone up in the world rankings and is almost tied with France...hardly surprising given the Xfactor they are giving to so many teams with their outside backs...not to mention their natural affinity for Sevens...
This year a Fijian team , the Drua is playing in the Aussie domestic competition so it will be interesting to see how they compete there...all the team is locally based including 10 who have already played for the Flying Fijians...this can only benefit Fijian rugby as a whole and look for them to climb further up the world rankings in the near future as a result ..

29 Aug 2017, 03:19
29 Aug 2017, 03:19#6
 I wouldn't take any notice of those rankings, sure it's right on paper but we all know the Boks need to beat the Wallabies first before they have the legit right to a #3 world ranking.
29 Aug 2017, 09:20
29 Aug 2017, 09:20#7
Considering the fact that Ireland's last game against a top tier country was against England, almost six months ago, and the fact that they only played Japan and the USA, since then, it is hardly surprising that SA have moved past them in the rankings. So I wouldn't read too much in us passing the Paddies in the rankings.
29 Aug 2017, 10:52
29 Aug 2017, 10:52#8
 The upcoming RC tests will be a guideline of what is to follow.   
29 Aug 2017, 14:26
29 Aug 2017, 14:26#9
Or maybe it is more accurate to say that the upcoming RC tests will confirm what we already know, i.e. that we are shyte.
29 Aug 2017, 14:40
29 Aug 2017, 14:40#10
 We have been shyte since the latter part of 2014- so what else is new?
29 Aug 2017, 14:44
29 Aug 2017, 14:44#11
Reminds me of this thread from a few months ago when the likes of giveithorns and Dumb Ass were predicting we'd slip even lower than 6th in the rankings.

giveithorns has since disappeared and I bet Dumb Ass gets all indignant and puts his normal kind of spin on this. Knowing Dumb Ass (as I unfortunately do) he'll probably end up claiming he's the one who predicted we'd improve and I'm the one who said we'd slip further.

29 Aug 2017, 15:03
29 Aug 2017, 15:03#12
We would struggle to beat Ireland....perhaps at home, but in Dublin....it's hard to see that happening.
29 Aug 2017, 15:07
29 Aug 2017, 15:07#13
Rooinek

August 29, 2017, 14:44:58

Reminds me of this thread from a few months ago when the likes of giveithorns and Dumb Ass were predicting we'd slip even lower than 6th in the rankings.

giveithorns has since disappeared and I bet Dumb Ass gets all indignant and puts his normal kind of spin on this. Knowing Dumb Ass (as I unfortunately do) he'll probably end up claiming he's the one who predicted we'd improve and I'm the one who said we'd slip further.

Typical Piss Mint...... manufactured lies from that thread

What I said was below, which has nothing to do with dropping lower than 6th.

Devil's Advocate

Posts: 2076 RE: Boks drop below Scotland in latest rankings
March 02, 2017, 14:45:19

I mentioned this happening last year

Seems the rot has started....

Eish..... 

I predicted last year, that we could drop down the rankings and possibly draw NZ in our world cup pool... if we continued to drop in our rankings.

I predicted this would probably happen before the world cup draw happened in May and that NZ would be in our pool because we were no longer seeded.

That...... is exactly what happened

Another Piss Mint  lie exposed

29 Aug 2017, 15:09
29 Aug 2017, 15:09#14
In 73 days we'll know if the Springboks are good enough to beat Ireland in Dublin. I reckon we'll take them.
29 Aug 2017, 15:10
29 Aug 2017, 15:10#15
How many lies is that....probably one a day if one bothered to keep a count.
29 Aug 2017, 15:12
29 Aug 2017, 15:12#16
Rooinek

Posts: 5841 Springboks draw the All Blacks in the ir RWC pool . . .
May 10, 2017, 10:39:44

The draw for the 2019 RWC is underway and the Springboks and All Blacks will be in the same group.

Here's how the seeded teams fared:

Group A
Ireland
Scotland
Japan

Group B
New Zealand
South Africa
Italy

Group C
England
France
Argentina

Group D
Australia
Wales
Georgia

The Irish and Ozzies must be grinning from ear to ear!

PS Two minnow teams to be added to each group. In some cases they still need to play off so can't update groups yet.

Maybe you need a reminder Piss Mint... you posted that above

Devil's Advocate

Posts: 2076 RE: Springboks draw the All Blacks in the ir RWC pool . . .
May 10, 2017, 12:04:02

Just as I predicted could possibly happen last year already

A total farce in one way, but then a great sporting opportunity in another way with the possibility of  playing the AB's in the final.

I again responded with this post above

Another Piss Mint manufactured lie exposed

29 Aug 2017, 15:13
29 Aug 2017, 15:13#17
Told you!

29 Aug 2017, 15:16
29 Aug 2017, 15:16#18

The proof is there for all to see

What a real shame that you have to drop to these incredibly low standards to try and prove me wrong, and still not achieve it.

Your lies know no bounds....

29 Aug 2017, 15:20
29 Aug 2017, 15:20#19
"I predicted last year, that we could drop down the rankings and possibly draw NZ in our world cup pool... if we continued to drop in our rankings."

I predict we'll beat Ireland . . . but only if we beat Ireland!
29 Aug 2017, 15:22
29 Aug 2017, 15:22#20
 It's so funny when the board's notorious Liar accuses someone else of being a Liar.
UrineRooi has no shame....none whatsoever.
29 Aug 2017, 15:23
29 Aug 2017, 15:23#21
Well here we have what Urinal said on his link: 'I bet you're wrong. Even with a clown like Allister Coetzee as coach and the ANC dictating how many players of colour have to be selected, we're still a great rugby nation and we will get back into the top 3. Not saying we'll get there this year but we won't drop any further. I'll bet you if you like." ..... A prediction we will eventually get back into the top 3....but not this year. And here we are back in the top 3! .. So a luke warm prediction we wont drop below 6 and a specific denial that we will be back in the top 3.....what are you crowing about Urinal?
29 Aug 2017, 15:26
29 Aug 2017, 15:26#22
And in that link DA said nothing about dropping below 6.....another Urinal stinking lie.....ill bred and ill raised.
29 Aug 2017, 15:29
29 Aug 2017, 15:29#23
Wow, Moffie and the Gimps are sounding even more indignant and outraged than usual. I wouldn' t have thought that was even possible!

29 Aug 2017, 15:33
29 Aug 2017, 15:33#24
 Mid life crisis?....dop and a few pilletjies?.. or perhaps ...cold turkey?? You wouldn't know for sure but to make an ass of yourself with another wild allegation you'd have to say it's one or the other...
29 Aug 2017, 15:42
29 Aug 2017, 15:42#25
Dumb Ass, if it's any consolation, your Master also thought the Boks were on a slippery slope to nowhere given his prediction earlier this year: "Coetzee will be gone before the YE tour."

So go on, be a big boy and wipe your eyes. You're not the only rugby noob who wrote the Springboks off this year.

Feel better?

29 Aug 2017, 15:51
29 Aug 2017, 15:51#26

Piss Mint

I just honestly feel for your friends, your immediate family and your colleagues

To have someone like you in their everyday lives........ it just can't be easy

My thoughts are with them  

29 Aug 2017, 16:00
29 Aug 2017, 16:00#27
It's one thing being a liar....but do you have to be so bad at it? .. LMAOFY!
29 Aug 2017, 16:02
29 Aug 2017, 16:02#28
 Friends???...who says he has any? I don't expect he has, not with a generally unpleasant persona......nope...there's none. I'm not sure whether it's because he suffers from short man's syndrome or whether he's just plain and simple an ass. hole?
AO
Admit OneClub Pro389 posts
29 Aug 2017, 16:04
29 Aug 2017, 16:04#29

29 Aug 2017, 16:07
29 Aug 2017, 16:07#30
Or this classic:

"The Rugby Championship will be won by NZ, Oz second, Bargies next.. Boks as wooden spooners."

The Pumas will need quite a few results to go their way to finish above the Bokke!
29 Aug 2017, 17:04
29 Aug 2017, 17:04#31
Let's fill out that quote: 'The Rugby Championship will be won by NZ, Oz second, Bargies next.. Boks as wooden spooners. England will set a new record for consecutive wins. The Lions will win one test in NZ Coetzee will be gone before the YE tour.' .. So England tied the record, the Lions won one test in NZ....the rest remains unproven. Very convenient leaving out the bits that don't work Urinal.....yet another bit of dishonesty. But as I recall you predicted the Boks would beat Oz....that also remains to be proven. .. And the truth will set them free....LMAOFY!
29 Aug 2017, 17:12
29 Aug 2017, 17:12#32
"Very convenient leaving out the bits that don't work Urinal.....yet another bit of dishonesty."
Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahahaha!
This from the deceitful old drunkard who decided to leave out the highlighted part of the same quote:
"The Lions myth is over. Virtually every Lion has been discredited on the Intenational Stage.....they will finish mid pack. The Sharks will finish higher, but not make the playoffs.

Sharks 5

Stormers 8

Lions 10

Cheetahs 13

Kings 18

The Rugby Championship will be won by NZ, Oz second, Bargies next.. Boks as wooden spooners.

England will set a new record for consecutive wins.

The Lions will win one test in NZ

Coetzee will be gone before the YE tour."
Let's see . . . 
1. Wrong, wrong, wrong, wrong and wrong again!
2. Almost certainly going to be wrong.
3. Wrong!
4. Somewhat right (no prediction of a drawn series).
5. Almost certainly going to be wrong.
There, chump, am I leaving out any bits this time?
Sssssssscccchhplottttt!!!
29 Aug 2017, 17:28
29 Aug 2017, 17:28#33
Oh I see now Super Rugby has something to do with international rankings? LMAOFY! Let's see: 1 wrong about Super Rugby 2 almost certainly right about the top 2 3 partially right about England tying if not breaking the record....right about my assessment that Ireland could save NZ's bacon 4 right about the Lions winning a test in NZ 5 practically right about Coetzee, who has already been de facto replaced by Venter and Smith. . Not bad for a set of casual predictions made early in January. .... Whereas your prediction that the Boks are going to whip Oz is looking very iffy.
29 Aug 2017, 21:19
29 Aug 2017, 21:19#34
Pffffffffhahahahaha!
The only thing this thread is now lacking is one or two Gimps telling Moffie what a visionary he is for making such prescient predictions!
29 Aug 2017, 21:30
29 Aug 2017, 21:30#35
The question is how many games the Boks will win in the last 4 games. If the Boks can win 2 games, that will be enough to finish second. 
I expect the Boks to beat Australia in SA. Possibly in Australia. 

I feel this team can still play 25% better if they click into gear. 
Defence on the wing, and the distribution in the midfield is still a problem. Pollard may get a run at 12 outside of Jantjies, to learn the expansive game plan being played.If Pollard combines with Jan Serfontein, they could think they are back at the Crash Bulls
Scrumhalf depth is an issue, but at least Cronje is back. 
I think the All Blacks could expose our defense out wide. 

30 Aug 2017, 01:36
30 Aug 2017, 01:36#36
I expect Australia to beat us in Oz....at home we tend to beat them, but that may be the game that decides second place.
30 Aug 2017, 03:08
30 Aug 2017, 03:08#37
 I expect the run of the schoolboy team to implode this weekend. Obviously I hope I'm wrong but to my eye the Boks still have no shape whereas the Wallabies seemed to have found theirs and that's after just two matches against the Kiwis. 
TH
TheTraditionalistPro4,003 posts
30 Aug 2017, 18:36
30 Aug 2017, 18:36#38
 The rankings give little information.
The SA team is weak, it is an obvious fact and despite knowing the point, people lull them into thinking that the the third position is a proof of quality.
The rankings resulted from a favourable schedule.

SA could not win against most NH teams.

Another way to avoid facing the incoming termination and avoid a merit based policy.