FORUM / RUGBY /  Boks squad against Ireland

Boks squad against Ireland

Started by ABasquefan20 REPLIES243 VIEWS· 05 Nov 2014, 13:54
AB
ABasquefanPro2,549 posts
05 Nov 2014, 13:54
05 Nov 2014, 13:54#1
Boks retain All Black slayers

05th November 2014 11:32

Share:

Ready to charge: Springboks

South Africa have stuck with the same starting XV that defeated New Zealand at Ellis Park in October, making one change on the bench.

The only change to the match-day squad is at replacement prop, where the injured Marcel van der Merwe is replaced by Coenie Oosthuizen.

"Although Julian Redelinghuys was also considered, he's still new in the team and not familiar with our patterns of play and especially the line-out calls, while Coenie knows the way we play well," said Meyer.

"Coenie is also in great shape and we know what he can do, especially if he has to make an impact off the bench. It's good to have him back."

Meyer was very happy with the continuity in selection from the last Test.

"It's only the fifth time in what will be the 34th Test since I was appointed as Springbok coach that we've been able to select an unchanged starting line-up," said Meyer.

"In this day and age, not making changes to teams is pretty much unheard of, but this is a great position we're in. However, we need to make it count against a very tough Irish side on Saturday.

"Although we won our last Test, the challenge this week is to make another step up. It's imperative that we improve in all facets of our play."

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Tebo Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 JP Pietersen.

Date: Saturday, November 8
Kickoff: 17:30 local (GMT, 19:30 SAST)
Venue: Aviva Stadium, Dublin
Referee: Romain Poite (France)
Assistant Referees: Mathieu Raynal (France), Alexandre Ruiz (France)
TMO: Jim Yuille (Scotland)

AB
ABasquefanPro2,549 posts
05 Nov 2014, 13:59
05 Nov 2014, 13:59#2
  seems that Meyer is not very change-friendly.
Still J. du Plessis, Matfield, Botha and co in the team
05 Nov 2014, 14:04
05 Nov 2014, 14:04#3
 ABF
You have correcctly identified the weak elements in the team.   I would also add H endricks and Pietersen to that category.   Bearibng in mind the wy the AB's struggled last year against ireland - this is not going to be an easy game for the Springboks.   However, they may get through after O'Driscol's retirement.   
05 Nov 2014, 14:12
05 Nov 2014, 14:12#4
 Mohoje in ahead of Burger. Incredible!
Matfiled still there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What happens if Jannie gets injured early? Is Coenie really up to it? 
Anyhow I hope that by the end of this tour Meyer boots out the weak links! 

05 Nov 2014, 14:13
05 Nov 2014, 14:13#5

It could have been worse.

There's no Gurthro.

Very sad to see no Julian and no Kriel. They've been hard done by.

Would have much preferred Willemse in for old man Bakkies and Schalk at 7 in place of Quota Oupa.

Still ... this should be good enough to spank the Irish.

Can't wait .

Go Bokke!!

05 Nov 2014, 14:19
05 Nov 2014, 14:19#6
 Hendricks problem is defence. He is 90 kg (26 years o ld) and so should be able to hold his own. I am sure they have been working hard on this. Attack is excellent. I haver no problem with JP covering wing and 13. (JP is only 28 so hardly over the hill)
The fact is that O'Driscoll has ben over the hill for some years now so its probably a help to Ireland he is gone - a mcaaaaaw like situation.
05 Nov 2014, 14:22
05 Nov 2014, 14:22#7

JP should have been replaced by De Allende.
05 Nov 2014, 14:30
05 Nov 2014, 14:30#8
 Yes Allende could have. Meyer keeps going for experience. Allende and others will play against Italy. We shall see
05 Nov 2014, 15:50
05 Nov 2014, 15:50#10
I'm sure plenty will complain about this team but look on the bright side, by selecting the exact same XV, Meyer is obviously intending sticking with the same game plan. I'm more worried about the game plan than the personnel so I'm happy with this selection.

Go Bokke!
05 Nov 2014, 16:19
05 Nov 2014, 16:19#11
 biltongbek

November 05, 2014, 15:44:09

Here is an [removed]ysis of the Springbok attack by Murray Kinsella

http://www.thescore.ie/south-africa-[removed]ysis-attack-1763298-Nov2014/

Makes for interesting reading

Even more so when you follow the links and read the related articles as well .
BI
biltongbekClub Pro749 posts
05 Nov 2014, 16:47
05 Nov 2014, 16:47#12
 Ceradyne, it's all about intell igence and adaptability, isn't it?
05 Nov 2014, 16:56
05 Nov 2014, 16:56#13
Eggzagely, BB. I think that There are way more positives in the current Bok set up than so-called weaknesses that all the agony aunts are ranting and raving about. While reading those articles and watching the clips and images, my mind went back to all the b!tching about the useless back-line coach and the stupid idea of a forward coach as an attacking coach. 
BI
biltongbekClub Pro749 posts
05 Nov 2014, 17:11
05 Nov 2014, 17:11#14

Yes, thee are a lot of positives and to an extent I am tired of the negativity, but the problem is I am so "gatvol" of us being second best that my obsession with us being number one won't allow me to take a break on the perceived problem areas.

I have been of the opinion since 2012 that if we wanted to move on from the old school  Springbok mentality (Matfield, John Smit, Fourie du Preez, Jake white mentality etc) we must get rid of the players of that era and start from scratch.

I believe there is a new generation player in South Africa that can evolve our game with adding intelligent play to our existing strengths and we need a coach to see that.

I understand about valuing experience, but I also understand the limitations of experience as old dogs don't like to learn new tricks.

I also understand that whoever coach the Boks will always be criticised as we are demanding, it is important to remember though that there is good criticism and bad criticism in the sense of things we can criticise like the odd selection, or odd decision making or the odd execution error which is where we should be (good criticism) rather than where most of us question the selection of half the squad (bad criticism)

BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
05 Nov 2014, 19:54
05 Nov 2014, 19:54#15

I take it that Bakkies is on the bench to help Coenie in the scrum when its time for both to go on as subs. The paw-paw will strike the fan if their is an early injury. Oh well, lets hope not.

I know nothing about the Irish squad except that their strength apparently lies with their pack of forwards.

Go Bokke.

05 Nov 2014, 23:17
05 Nov 2014, 23:17#16
 The side sells us short with Hendricks, Jean, Jannie, Matfield and Oupa starting and with Schalk and Bakkies on t he bench
06 Nov 2014, 00:37
06 Nov 2014, 00:37#17
 No predictions from the usual suspects? How about it, Dawie? How about a clear prediction from your side? How about you, ou Maaikie?
3ku1Pro2,580 posts
06 Nov 2014, 01:40
06 Nov 2014, 01:40#18
 Lol Beeno not sure how you can justify Mccaw is over the hill. Statistically he is the best 7 in the world this year, and has turned back the clock. The stats make you look foolish. No argument can change the stats. So clearly you have an anti biast, for what ever reason. 
OI
oimateyPro1,870 posts
06 Nov 2014, 05:58
06 Nov 2014, 05:58#19
Not sure why anyone would expect wholesale changes to a side that just beat the best team in the world. Meyer knows continuing to build psychological momentum and a winning culture is paramount with the WC right around the corner. Need to get off to a good start on the tour against a team that has had our number in recent years. No time for experimentation or handing out new caps to rookie Boks. 
All this talk of the newly "expansive" Boks from so many --- one wonders if they watched last years Spring tests and RC where it was clear the emphasis was shifting or listened to all of Meyer's talk last year about the backline? Bok game plan has been evolving for some time now and it is not a surprise in the least that it coincides with the availability of Pollard, someone Meyer has known about and been personally involved in the development of for a long time. 
Our team is in good hands and the future has never looked brighter !
06 Nov 2014, 08:09
06 Nov 2014, 08:09#20
Very good point oimatey! I agree with Rooi here, at least this team is a sign that Meyer plans to stick with the attacking game plan. Although, the conditions up North will call for some modification to that plan. 
As far as the team itself is concerned, Bakkies, Matfield, JANNIE, and some of the others mentioned are a bit of a disgrace, but man for man, we should still have Ireland's number. 
I predict a hard fought 8 point win for the Boks.
06 Nov 2014, 09:22
06 Nov 2014, 09:22#21

I'm with Redneck regarding game plan vs personnel.

I'm not in favour of a hand full of Meyer's selections. Coenie, Bakkies and Oupa don't do it for me ... a few others are also borderline ... however I have come to accept that I'll never be completely happy with Meyer's team.

On the positive side we have a running scrummie in HouGat with a high work rate and a strong defensive game. He needs to copy and paste what he did against the All Blacks ... keep possession of the ball and run it at the Irish. 

If they do that we'll see a slaughter. Even with all the useless Meyer picks.

Boks by at least 15.

If Meyer selected properly it would be the Bokke by 30 but as usual his head's up his backside.