FORUM / RUGBY /  Bryan Habana robbed blindly by his dad

Bryan Habana robbed blindly by his dad

Started by kingcorn20 REPLIES865 VIEWS· 10 Dec 2025, 19:22
kingcornPro3,695 posts
10 Dec 2025, 19:22
10 Dec 2025, 19:22#1

Wow, not sure if you okes read or listened to the podcast but Bryan got robbed by his dad and all of his money was paid directly into his dad bank account. His dad was his agent and managed al of his sponsors etc.

Only found out when he moved to the Stormers that his dad stole all his money and denied it. Saying he doesn't have it.

Sounds like relationship is over. That said, some dad's can be real cunts, like my dad who I have not spoken to or heard of for more than 25 years now.

Just don't get these men. I would throw him in jail

10 Dec 2025, 20:34
10 Dec 2025, 20:34#2

Oh dear. That’s why it’s not wise to have family members as your agent !

10 Dec 2025, 21:27
10 Dec 2025, 21:27#3

I lost my dad in a car accident when when I was 18 months old - by all accounts an awesome man who I never had the joy of knowing.

Some have choices when it comes to mending broken family relationships, I never had that opportunity. I’d do anything to change that

10 Dec 2025, 21:48
10 Dec 2025, 21:48#4

My brother was a similar age to you, Saffolk, when he lost his Dad to cancer. He doesn’t really remember him but his sister and brother do. I think all three of them would agree with you.

11 Dec 2025, 12:14
11 Dec 2025, 12:14#5

A friend of mine lost R5 million when he friend and business colleague shafted him.

When it comes to money do not work on trust no matter who it is.

It's easy to become a bit casual about such things when dealing with friends and family.

kingcornPro3,695 posts
11 Dec 2025, 14:21
11 Dec 2025, 14:21#6

Here is the full interview.

Sounds like he hasn't spoken to his dad for 15 years.

He was reported to get a massive Gillette sponsorship deal. However his dad took the money and he still had to pay tax on 30 million rand when it was only 3 million rand.

11 Dec 2025, 16:38
11 Dec 2025, 16:38#7

Parents who think of betraying their children should read this:

Many animal mothers exhibit incredible bravery, dying to protect their young, with famous examples including

elephants forming defensive circles, fierce mothers like tigers, bears, and lions fighting predators to the death, tenacious mothers like orangutans protecting infants from danger, and even insects like mantises where mothers sacrifice themselves (sometimes cannibalized) to provide nutrients for their eggs, showcasing deep maternal instinct across the animal kingdom.

Here are some notable examples:

1. African Elephants: Known for their tight-knit herds, mothers and other females will surround calves, forming a protective barrier against threats like lions or poachers, often fighting ferociously, as seen in stories of mothers being killed by poachers in front of their young, according to the International Fund for Animal Welfare (IFAW)and One Earth (oneearth.org).
  2. Tigers & Lions: Mothers fiercely defend their cubs from rival males, other predators, or humans, often engaging in life-or-death struggles, which sadly results in their deaths sometimes, notes National Geographic (nationalgeographic.com) and WWF (worldwildlife.org).
  3. Orangutans: They are devoted mothers, fiercely protective of their infants, and will fight hard to keep them safe in the trees, as highlighted by the World Wildlife Fund (WWF).
  4. Bears (Grizzly/Polar): Mothers are notoriously ferocious when protecting cubs, attacking anything perceived as a threat, including humans, to ensure their offspring's survival, explains Alaska Department of Fish and Game (adfg.alaska.gov) and Polar Bears International (polarbearsinternational.org).
  5. Praying Mantises & Spiders (e.g., Wolf Spiders): Some insects and arachnids have extreme maternal sacrifices; the female praying mantis often allows the male (and sometimes herself, after egg-laying) to be eaten by the young to provide nutrition, while wolf spider mothers carry egg sacs and spiderlings on their backs until they're grown, per Smithsonian Magazine (smithsonianmag.com) and University of Kentucky (uky.edu).

These examples show that while the way they protect differs, the instinct to sacrifice for offspring is a powerful force in the animal kingdom, notes Animal Diversity Web (animaldiversity.org).

12 Dec 2025, 06:12
12 Dec 2025, 06:12#8

A buddy of mine who went through hell with addiction has today fully recovered and is massively successful.

We were talking on the phone the other day, and the conversation drifted to his dark days. I recalled that at the time, his dad would call him every day.

During the conversation he told me that not a day goes by that his dad doesn't call him. Through thick and thin, being dragged through the Underworld by Hades, his dad phoned him every day and continues to do so to this day.

Not a chance he would be have been able to climb out of the hole without such a loving father being there for him. How many people fail in life because they don't have that support and guidance? My guess is, a lot.

So, Dave, the fact you got where you are without a dad, is a testament to the fact that, despite being a massive doos, you're a born winner nonetheless.

12 Dec 2025, 09:04
12 Dec 2025, 09:04#9

The behaviour of Bryan Habana's father is so alien to me I can't actually get my head around it. I'm the opposite. I'll do anything for my kids and grandkids and their wellbeing is more important to me than my own. How he could rip off his own son is something I can't even begin to understand.

Nothing matters more than family.

12 Dec 2025, 09:37
12 Dec 2025, 09:37#10

Well said Rooitwit!

12 Dec 2025, 10:27
12 Dec 2025, 10:27#11

It's why I prefer the big picture more these days.

Most, if not ALL of us here, agree on the things that matter most.

We'd do well to remember that from time to time.

XA
XaviPro1,924 posts
12 Dec 2025, 11:26
12 Dec 2025, 11:26#12

Well said Plum x2 and Rooinek.

kingcornPro3,695 posts
12 Dec 2025, 11:31
12 Dec 2025, 11:31#13

It was like his dad was poor or they grew up in poverty. He went to a top school and his dad had a good middle class life. It would be different if he said I'm your agent here the fees that you get etc. And decide if you can make a living.

There are number of Rugby agents that are making bank on young, dumb and full of cum rugby players like Habana.

What is amazing is to see how dumb Habana is. He went to university and remembered nothing. Did he get into uni because of his skin and not his grades.

Even at 20 I was running my own business and cash flow, having to pay wages etc.

The only reason why he has work now is because of his name and it is his Afrikaaner buddies behind hin driving the tech and product.

What his dad is wrong but Habana also need to own some part. I mean 8 years his dad took liberties without him knowing about it.

12 Dec 2025, 16:28
12 Dec 2025, 16:28#14

The point I was trying to make about the animal world is that there is a natural instinct in all species for parents to protect their young. It’s the very essence of what has made survival possible. But human beings operate at a cognizant level, to a degree we understand why we are doing what we are doing. Which makes a human parent’s betrayal that much more cowardly.

And sometimes that takes unusual forms. Some of the bravest people you’ll see are ordinary people at South African airports saying goodbye to their children, not knowing if they will have the wherewithal to see them again, but still encouraging them to go for a better life. That takes love and courage….far more than being a nice Oupa at the family braai.

kingcornPro3,695 posts
12 Dec 2025, 16:50
12 Dec 2025, 16:50#15

You are spot on Mozart, but when you talk something that is young and something that is almost an adult. There is a difference.

I have a daughter that just turned 12, she never wants to talk to me and can be rude from time to time. I keep getting photos of when she was young pop on my iPad and then I look at her and see how much she has changed. She is now hitting puberty and half the time I want to strangle her, I guess that is why humans go through a teenage phase so that the parents can kick them out of the home and allow them to go through all of these hormones so that it breaks that parental bond.

So I think parents go through this phase having to endure their teenagers.

12 Dec 2025, 16:51
12 Dec 2025, 16:51#16

"And sometimes that takes unusual forms. Some of the bravest people you’ll see are ordinary people at South African airports saying goodbye to their children, not knowing if they will have the wherewithal to see them again, but still encouraging them to go for a better life. That takes love and courage….far more than being a nice Oupa at the family braai."

And that bravery is most often unnoticed.

12 Dec 2025, 18:32
12 Dec 2025, 18:32#17

Like the people leaving this country in droves because they see no chance of a normal safe future for them and their family...absolutely disgusting that this is allowed to happen in a supposed free country...more like a cuntry actually...sies!!@

13 Dec 2025, 02:54
13 Dec 2025, 02:54#18

The irony, I took off to escape white rule

you're desperate to escape black rule.

13 Dec 2025, 05:41
13 Dec 2025, 05:41#19

his topic I beleive came up in 2015 already when Habana was not playing tet level rugby and that was in the media then and let to a breakdown bewen Habana and his father, It is in fact abuse of the palyer by his father and caused a total breakdown of relationship between Habana and his father, What is amaing to me is that Habana has not laid criminal charges of fraud and theft by his father,

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
13 Dec 2025, 13:54
13 Dec 2025, 13:54#20

Interesting comment, Blobbie.

So you’re implying that white rule was inherently oppressive.

You leaving South Africa was some kind of ethical stand? Activism?

And Draad being “desperate to escape black rule” sounds very much like an accusation.

Your statement is framed in a way that says anyone unhappy now must be racist or nostalgic for apartheid.

Go ahead and show me one happy South African citizen, of any race, living under a government that is corrupt to the bone and openly oppressive.

Unless, of course, they’re in on the stealing.

Maybe your real reason for leaving had less to do with “white rule” and more to do with those attractive Aussie dollars :)

AJHPro3,183 posts
13 Dec 2025, 16:20
13 Dec 2025, 16:20#21

The old story.

A fool and his money will never ever be wealthy.

Feel for Bryan but he has nobody to blame but himself.

But I am sure that the ANC national pension plan will step in and secure his future!