FORUM / RUGBY /  Coetzee is worse than I thought

Coetzee is worse than I thought

Started by Saffolk 42 REPLIES1,206 VIEWS· 14 Nov 2016, 14:27
14 Nov 2016, 14:27
14 Nov 2016, 14:27#1

Watching that game live from a vantage point above gave me and even clearer indication of just how devoid of the basics Coetzee is as a coach. The fact that he thought he could out muscle a side in this day and age is a joke in itself, so we ended up with two donkies at 6 and 7 and wondered why we got exposed?

Not to mention the fact that everytime we got the ball, we either targeted the opposition and ran straight into them with a view to setting up the next phase and creating space out wide…….that might work if your 9 is not as pedestrian at Paige is and actually gets to the breakdown quickly and provides a crisp service as the likes of Faf, Smith and Phipps do.

If it was not heading straight into traffic, our backs first instinct was to kick……Paige with his useless box kicks, Lambie, de Allende, Venter and Willie all had pathetic attempts at attacking via the boot, why oh why?

We are how many games into the Coetzee reign and he has learnt nothing……..under him class acts like Jantjies, Faf, Lambie, de Allende, Mapoe and the likes of reduced to robots……witness the Combrink entry to test level only to be left flat footed a few weeks later.

Coetzee supresses players natural instinct to play the modern way……Lions players who were expressive and dynamic are drawn into the crash bash way or kick for territory way for that’s how Coetzee plays it.

As for our defensive structures, they are non-existent……the ease with which the Poms created space and numbers out wide was embarrassing........it was basic stuff, expose the donkies who were our flanks, use the blind side wing as a decoy, simple loop arounds and space was created with ease.

On attack when we did run it, it was u13 stuff……pass the ball down the line with the wide receiver being bundled into touch with ease

I see Moz is banging on about the youngsters again…….what a load of utter shit…….no matter which player plays under Coetzee nothing will change…….suddenly Lood is crap, Beast is better than Kitshoff etc……bullshit

It has stuff all to do with the players and everything to do with the coach and his conservative direction…….look no further than what Eddie Jones has done with England…….he is using 95% of the players Lancaster used, but empowered them to be expressive and play the modern way. Suddenly these same players written off under Lancaster are looking like world beaters under Eddie

It’s that simple…….Coetzee simply has to be fired. Meyer was poor but Coetzee is 100 times worse.

I was embarrassed to be a Bok supporter of Saturday

The only player who stood tall was Goosen – I get the impression he came on and decided to play it his way as he had nothing to lose…….he added zip when it was too late

14 Nov 2016, 14:38
14 Nov 2016, 14:38#2
 Ignorant and delusional....and yes Meyer was better. I can't take the kak anymore.
14 Nov 2016, 14:49
14 Nov 2016, 14:49#3
Jantjies won't be an effective test player under any coach. As soon as the heat comes on he folds. Happens at provincial level, happens at test level. Witness his hapless performances in the SR final and the All Blacks test. The errors he makes (like dropping a kick off against the All Blacks which handed them the momentum right back after the Boks had just scored) have nothing to do with coaching and everything to do with a player not able to function under pressure.
14 Nov 2016, 14:54
14 Nov 2016, 14:54#4
Pakie you are speaking utter shit re Jantjies......but this is not about Jantjies......get with it  
14 Nov 2016, 15:22
14 Nov 2016, 15:22#5

November 14, 2016, 14:54:39

Pakie you are speaking utter [removed] re Jantjies......but this is not about Jantjies......get with it 

Unless Jantjies performs some unbelievable turn around in temperament and form , Pakie is spot on with his assessment, and I really rated Elton, but that quickly fell away.

sharkbokCaptain23,262 posts
14 Nov 2016, 15:40
14 Nov 2016, 15:40#6
Coetzee is a pub team coach. He is useless- by far the worst coach in world rugby.
On paper, he looks like a decent candidate- but the truth has been revealed that he has been a poor coach for the last 20 years. (We do have limited options at coaching - but surely better than Coetzee)
Eddie Jones taking over the backline coaching in the 2007 World Cup when Tootsie was backline coach says it all. Coetzee learnt nothing- instead, he stuck with his one-dimensional game plan.
The whole thing is a charade. Coetzee never chose most of his coaching team- which just goes to show how amateur SARU is (and the ANC).
Coetzee sold out his country when he took a job that he is not good enough to do.
Meyer did the honourable thing by resigning. He saw the ever increasing strategic transformation making it impossible to choose a decent coaching staff and combinations.
If Meyer or Jake White had delivered this year's performance, they both would have been fired.

14 Nov 2016, 17:01
14 Nov 2016, 17:01#7
 Adding to the Jantjies debate. Sure Jantjies didn't play well in most games he started in. But then, did Steyn, Lambie or Goosen do well at 10 under Coetzee? For my money Jantjies probably did the best given the circumstances. Which players have performed well? The only three candidates are Eben, Whitely and PSDT. And they were better than the rest but by no means as good as we know they are. Name a single player who has played better under AC than he did in SR or in previous years as a Bok. There literally is not one that I can think of. So, discussing Jantjies, Faf and co seems a bit silly when there is clearly a common denominator who is negatively affecting them all, right? Most international coaches would pick four Bok teams from within SA and beat the best AC has to offer. I agree Saffex. This issue is so much more about Coetzee than it is about any of the players. If not then how do Argentina beat us with a mere fraction of the talent pool that we have in SA? It's pretty obvious. But yeah, this Indaba has now given the clown a nice lengthy spell of leeway during which he can simply shift all blame directly onto SA rugby as a whole instead of shouldering it himself.
BokBFClub Pro421 posts
14 Nov 2016, 17:28
14 Nov 2016, 17:28#8
 I agree with the thinking on AC. The Boks have no hope… ever while we select our coach based

on colour. To be the best or even stay in the top 4 we need to select the best. When I say best I mean SARU.. Coach.. Players.

If we are realistic I believe that we all know that this is never going to happen. This is why I am so 

pessimistic, I no longer hold onto any vain hope.  

Re Jantjies I don’t think that he is cut from strong enough mental cloth to make any 

meaningful contribution for the boks. He has been given all the scope to express himself

for the Lions yet take him away from JNB and add a little pressure and he folds.

GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
14 Nov 2016, 19:37
14 Nov 2016, 19:37#9
 Saffex...."everytime we got the ball, we either targeted the opposition and ran straight into them with a view to setting up the next phase and creating space out wide…….that might work if your 9 is not as pedestrian at Paige is and actually gets to the breakdown quickly and provides a crisp service as the likes of Faf, Smith and Phipps do."

Excellent comment,just one but key weaknesess  to a coach who obviously is not up to standard...no clue and completely out of depth...just like the remainder of SA leaders whether political or sport or economical or whatever....totally losers and jokes even with good intentions. But we have heard it so many times it;s tedious.

We are obviously out of depth with the intelligent but lost in a maze of infantile stupidity...
we have the obvious tools but cannot select them... no I'm not about players but coach.

Backward countries that still try and keep alight from past glories that cannot get close to what they were before...although that's the very truth it will be condemned as "racialist"...a new blame game that the liberals slander anything that was good, strong, ethical, tough and made horse-sense.

We pander about our rugby selection but this is folly...nothing wrong with the okies that play but teach them where to go and more importantly BUILD them...with the right mentors...they must respect their coaches but the mentors must be worthy of holding respect from a bunch of young men...coaches must be very strong men, with confidence, not personal accolade seekers, unselfish but exceptional rugby strategists...a rare quality...EJ has these bar one...Ackerman has these but is not SA coach.

GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
14 Nov 2016, 20:01
14 Nov 2016, 20:01#10
 Young men in a TEAM game need direction...it's not golf, tennis, boxing although they do also need this....a team of 15 players (and in rugby it must 15 not 10 or 1 or 2 as some of you think ...

15 players who are good/mediocre with a brilliant coach will always beat a good/mediocre coach with a side that has 4-6 prima donnas and the rest good....even less prima donnas...like the Lions had none...in fact 4 years ago they couldn;t make the super series but they were the only SA side that took NZ on.

Really be honest and engage brain...we have the tools but cannot find the engineer to complete the job.
15 Nov 2016, 00:58
15 Nov 2016, 00:58#11
 The honourable thing to do is for Coetzee to resign, however,  there is little or no chance of that happening and that's largely due to the fact that he's  delusional....he still believes in himself as the one to take the Boks forward. Look, I think he's a nice enough person and he talks a good game but the proof of the pudding lies between the goal posts. In truth he's a sane version of PDV.
I'm not convinced the players understand or on the same page with regards to his gameplan. It's a simple gameplan, as a matter of fact  the opposition understands it and they also understand it better than our players! It's one JW employed with varying degrees of success.....kick for territorial advantage...a gameplan as old as Bok rugby.(don't ask me what happens thereafter)
So he can have as many Indabas as he wants and he can have the whole of the country advising him, from Dlamini the cattle herder to Clean Cut the tough talker ....the message from Coetzee to the players is lost in translation and that's not saying the message is worth translating.
We have no choice but to suffer the enforced nightmare for another three years, the Americans have to suffer Tr.ump for four years but given a choice I'd much rather suffer Tr.ump.
sharkbokCaptain23,262 posts
15 Nov 2016, 02:16
15 Nov 2016, 02:16#12
Coetzee built his name at the Stormers- but much of the platform and management was done by Rassie Erasmus- with Jaques Nienabaar the defence coach. 
Toetsie became the spokesperson after matches and soon he was made head coach - with Rassie moving to more behind the scenes role- but probably doing all or most of the work. Rassie later moved to the Boks.
The Stormers attack got worse each game- while the defence and personnel slowly getting worse. The Stormers player recruitment stopped except for a few juniors while players moved overseas.
As Denny says- Toetsie is saner version of PDV. The way he has changed players each game- (forgetting about injury-enforced ) proves he does not have a clue. 
The only solution is to have an international coach that is a top 10 coach in the world. Toetsie would not make the top 300.
15 Nov 2016, 03:51
15 Nov 2016, 03:51#13
 The following from news24:-
"Springbok coach Allister Coetzee says there is nothing wrong with the Springbok game plan.

At a press conference on Monday Coetzee also said things would not simply improve if he rung the changes ahead of the clash with Italy.

Despite the 37-21 loss to England, Coetzee was adamant there were positives to take from the game.

"We (the coaching staff) have analysed the game and are disappointed that the team couldn't maintain their performance in the first 30 minutes. England didn't look dangerous during that period," Coetzee said.

"But we made one mistake and the game changed. We had another soft moment and England scored their second try. It's debatable whether or not it should have been given, but an unforced error placed us in that position."

To illustrate that his team was making progress, Coetzee referred to the good positions the Boks found themselves in."We had six attacking lineouts in difficult weather conditions," he said. "During the Rugby Championship most of them were in our own half. It shows there is improvement in the execution of our plan."

Coetzee also praised the work rate of his loose trio, especially Willem Alberts who played in the unfamiliar position of openside flank.

"Willem played for 80 minutes against England and made 25 tackles. He was the player's Man of the Match. The loose trio's work rate was generally very good."

Eben Etzebeth has already been ruled out of the Italy Test with concussion, but Coetzee is not planning on making substantial changes to the team for Saturday's game.

"You can make wholesale changes and simply create a situation where the other players make the same mistakes. This isn't the first time I have endured difficult times. You have to handle it the right way."

I watched the game and came to an entirely different conclusion.   If there was in fact a game plan - I missed it completely.   When looking at what was done with ball possession I got the creeps,   About 60% of the time the ball went to the forwards - not the backline.   Paige also kicked possession away 

and Lambie played the classic Coetzee way of kicking to gain territory.
Goosen obviously ignored Coetzee's instructions and the result was the scoring of two tries.   
Coetzee is an absolute fool if he thinks he can bluff the rugby public.   They can see with their own eyes how seriously poor he is as a coach.      
15 Nov 2016, 06:38
15 Nov 2016, 06:38#14
 "Springbok coach Allister Coetzee says there is nothing wrong with the Springbok game plan.
He has a point, seriously now, there can't be anything wrong with a gameplan if there's no gameplan to start off with......I have to agree.

15 Nov 2016, 06:53
15 Nov 2016, 06:53#15
It's a press conference. He is obviously not going to say "oh no, we're f@cked, nothing is working, I don't know what I'm doing".  
Public comments, post-match interviews, press conferences - always a predictable mix of words. Highlight a few positives, bemoan a few bad moments, insist that the ship is on course. Same old, same old.
15 Nov 2016, 10:49
15 Nov 2016, 10:49#16
 Two players from SA'S best franchise fort two years running started the game. What I want to know is why Strauss is starting ahead of Marx? Really what has Strauss done this year to merit his continual selection as captain? Or do we retain him simply becauee we said we would. Must be nice knowing you'll be picked no matter what. Can we agree that Lambie has done now better than anybody else at 10? And oh my god why, when we have quota issues are we not picking the best players of color? We'll lose to Wales and might beat Italy. 40% win ratio when we have played Ireland, a poor Oz team, the Baabaas and Argentina who can't survive in SR. Coetzee talks about how bad the state of SA rugby is yet none of the above teams are in a better situation than us. Argentina can scrape together one SR team, Oz has had the worst two SR seasons I can remember and Ireland's clubs are probably on par with our CC teams. The Baabaas, lol, they'd been together for just about one week with their only strategy being...RUN THE BALL. How is SA rugby in a worse place? Is that all it takes to beat SA? Get 15 guys who've never played together, tell them to simply run at the Boks and you'll likely walk away with a win? It just amazes me how this bullshyte is being bought by the public. Coetzee and Strauss need to go as soon as possible.
15 Nov 2016, 11:20
15 Nov 2016, 11:20#17
 Opines the empty head dense denise - "We have no choice but to suffer the enforced nightmare for another three years, the Americans have to suffer Tr.ump for four years but given a choice I'd much rather suffer Tr.ump".

Listen dimwit Trum*p will prove to be one of the best US presidents ever.  What an ignorant brain washed gullible twit ou dense denise is. The moron probably thinks George Soros is a great blessing to mankind!!!!
Beeno being very polite !
15 Nov 2016, 11:24
15 Nov 2016, 11:24#18
Saffex I warned everyone years ago that Coetzee was a poor coach saying he had flopped as bok backline coach etc. But Alistair is simply part of a failed system with numerous flaws all geared to ensuring failure.
A loss to Italy would be a great result if it resulted in change but I fear nothing is going to address the root causes of the problem any time soon.

15 Nov 2016, 12:22
15 Nov 2016, 12:22#19
 Dearie me, Jihadi Beeno, the Clayton "Christian" and World Authority  still tru. mping the deplorable backtracking Redneck, Tru.mp......who's now having second thoughts about his campaign promises.
"Donald Trump reportedly underestimated the 'scope' of the presidency"
http://www.msn.com/en-au/news/world/donald-trump-reportedly-underestimated-the-scope-of-the-presidency/ar-AAki0GW?li=AAgfYrC&ocid=spartandhp

15 Nov 2016, 13:11
15 Nov 2016, 13:11#20
 "......Ireland's clubs are probably on par with our CC teams."

Really?  From the European Champions Cup logs:

Group 1:
Munster
Glasgow
Leicester
Racing

Group 2:
Connacht
Wasps
Toulouse
Zebre

Group3:
No Irish sides

Group 4:
Leinster
Castre
Montpellier
Northampton

Group 5:
Clermont
Bordeaux
Ulster
Exeter

Three of the four Irish sides are top in their groups.

QU
quacky96Club Pro196 posts
15 Nov 2016, 18:00
15 Nov 2016, 18:00#21
 Hey Beeno, I don't know if you're reading this, but like you I supported Trump all the way. The mainstream media portray him like a monster, a pig, a racist and a sexist, but everything he did was making a few jokes with his friends off camera. Hillary has a long history of vilence, corruption and she's constantly lying, so this election was not a shock, it was actually a no-brainer.

Here's a link that you might enjoy...it's called InfoWars, and their mission is to deliver news without all that BS or political correctness that we all know and hate!

http://www.infowars.com/
https://www.youtube.com/user/TheAlexJonesChannel/featured

Have fun!
(sorry to the rest guys, i know this is not rugby but I had to share)
15 Nov 2016, 22:30
15 Nov 2016, 22:30#22
Flavour of the day players worse than I thought.....so is it the chicken or the egg.
16 Nov 2016, 05:56
16 Nov 2016, 05:56#23
  Sure = some of them are as bad as you claim they are - but they are no worse than the  spooks from the past you constantly supported.   Fact is some are better and that is what you refuse to recognize. 
Stick to your over-thirties and the results this year would have been even worse - as bad as losing against Japan.
MA
MachiavelliClub Pro323 posts
16 Nov 2016, 07:39
16 Nov 2016, 07:39#24
 This one's for me old mate - Beeno!

16 Nov 2016, 13:35
16 Nov 2016, 13:35#25

Wow trust Moz to ignorantly have issue with the players when its clear to all that the issue is with the coach and his lack of direction.

The same flavours of the month lost by 2 points to NZ in a WC semi under the guidance of an incompetent coach - so now all of a sudden in your eyes its the same players who are now crap - at that time Lood emerged as the SA player of the year for he was outstanding that year.....but in your books he is crap - WOW

You cant argue against this short sightedness

I'll say it again.......Eddie Jones has turned the same lost causes under Lancaster into world beaters - you get the picture Moz?

16 Nov 2016, 14:46
16 Nov 2016, 14:46#26
 Dave
Don't expect miracles on the part of Mozart.   Remember he supported Coetzee when the issue of Rassie came to the fore - his excuse then was  Coetzee record at the Stormers that was so good according to him.   There was no difference between the game plan of the Springboks and the style used by the Stormers when coached by Coetzee.   
Mozart also favour a game plan where the backline is there for defense only - he sees no problem iro aimless and poor kicking - and he is in constant attack on Goosen and scoring of and assisting scoring is never mentioned in his constant attacks.
One cannot debate anything with a person with a 100% closed mind about sport irrespective  of which code is involved.     .
MA
16 Nov 2016, 15:44
16 Nov 2016, 15:44#27
 I'll say it again.......Eddie Jones has turned the same lost causes under Lancaster into world beaters - you get the picture Moz?

The proof of the pudding is in the eating.  There is a hell of an improvement in the England squad.  Maybe the Islanders had a helping hand in that as well.Just compare the scrummy and flyhalf to the best SA had to offer on the day. Ben Youngs is ten times faster and accurate and Ford is miles ahead of Bambie.
Making a decision to let a player play international level so soon after a mayor issue with the head smacks of Stupidity.
Some folk may need a script for some of these..

16 Nov 2016, 16:08
16 Nov 2016, 16:08#28
 Thanks Quacky but I am well acquainted with INFO WARS - Alex Jones really gets the globlaist/George Soros threat etc. Always interesting to hear his fearless programmes. Drudge is alo good as are Foxes Hannity and Lou Dobs. Breitbart is very good.Once you get into viewing You Tube videos there are a whole host on guys providing non globalist viewpoints. In fact these news sources are now now the reason a poll on the credibility of MSM showed only 6 % thought MSM news was trustworthy. Yoiu know clowns like ou dense denise!The New York Times had to admit they were unfair and pledged to renew their journalistic integrity - never going to happen and the main stream media in America is owned by 6 American companies.
I see one heck of a lot on George Soros coming out. Putin wants him arrested and Trump will likewise be after him. In Europe the globalists are collapsing and Merkel now saying boats must be turned back at sea. The people have had ENOUGH. I exclude dense d enise who is hardly a person! Hahahhahahahahahahaha
However anybody thinking the threat from these scumbag globalists is over better think again.I do however look forward to all the dirt regarding the Clintons and Hussein Obummer coming out. It is going to shock even hard cases. Satanism amnd pedophile revelations coming out and its looking like the biggest scandal ever heard will break in 2017 if Trum*p goes after these criminals which I do trust he will.
Mach Trum*p with his immense management skills would soon have Bok rugby back at number 1 - no question about it. 
16 Nov 2016, 22:32
16 Nov 2016, 22:32#29
Well our previous team was able to propel the awful coach PdV to a TN win and a victory over the Lions. Sure Jake would improve things but even he would struggle with losers like Lomp, Lambie, Allende, Stephanie and Combrink. The latest Polyanna view is it's all the coach. It would be nice if that was true, it would mean simply changing the coach fixes everything. But the supposedly magnificently coached Lions filled with flavour of the day types, after getting to the final because of a favorable schedule and home advantage, were dominated in the final. Kind of blows up the whole theory.
17 Nov 2016, 01:19
17 Nov 2016, 01:19#30
 That was 6 years before they misfired in 2015 and misfired badly against Japan.   That story we had so many times - living in the past is a sure sign of ancient dementia.  
So the Lions were dominated in the final - but what happened to Mozart's magical coach when his team was dominated in the semi-final in 2014 and in 2015 the Stormers were disgraced at home by the Brumbies under the coach recommended by Mozart for the Springbok position after the fall of his hero Meyer.
 So a disgrace in the final stages of Super Rugby was routine in the SA set-up - especially in the case of the duds  you supported all the time.    
17 Nov 2016, 11:18
17 Nov 2016, 11:18#31
 OK, Mike. I will try this one more time.

Forget about "the Japan test" or the Ellis Park 2013 test or this, that and the other test and start looking at the broader picture.

We won the 2007 RWC. Why? Because SA Rugby, as a whole, was in a very strong position. We had two SA sides in the 2007 Super Rugby final. We scored tries, we defended well. We had players who were used to winning games. Yes, the Boks, as a team, were not that good in the year leading up to the RWC but the players were in a strong position and they peaked at exactly the right time. The players, themselves were in a strong position and all they needed were a few tweaks to enable them to win the RWC.

Despite all the crap surrounding PDV we did remarkably well in the 2011 RWC. Of course history and the results alone does not tell the true story. Going by that alone, we bombed out in the QFs but we all know the story. And no, I am not one of those who blame it all on Bryce Lawrence. In my view, we did way better than expected in 2011. Remember that the general perception was that we would not make it out of the pool stages. Why did we do well? Easy. SA Rugby, as a whole, were in a much stronger position. We have won the 2009 and 2010 Super Rugby competition and we had a very strong core group who were used to winning. The fact that the coaching team was not top-notch did not have such a huge influence. The players carried us through.

Fast forward to 2015. My view, all along, was that we had no chance. Why? Because our rugby was in a crap state. We were nowhere in the Super Rugby competition. Our players were not used to winning at any level. How can we expect a side to win a RWC when the cupboard of players who could win it is bare?

Now we are sitting without players who can make it. We have a coaching team who is farked up. We do not really have better coaches. Our Super Rugby sides are crap. The idea that the presence of Franco Smith would turn it around was pie in the sky. Last year, after winning the CC, Johan Ackermann was the talk of the town. Nobody wanted to even consider the fact that he, Ackermann, won the CC with a well drilled and uninterrupted Super Rugby side. It was men against mice.

This year Franco Smith won the CC and suddenly he is the talk of the town. All the while, the CC is a useless nothing competition because of the level that it is played on. Compare that to the English Premiership, for example, where all of their players, including the international players, take part in all of the domestic competitions.

Our entire rugby set-up is sick to the core and now the clown at the top of the Ministry of Sport is asking for the public to give AC a chance? Kaaaaak man. A ccept that it is going to take ages and start fixing the sport from the bottom up. That, unfortunately, is also pie in the sky. It is never going to happen.

MA
17 Nov 2016, 12:00
17 Nov 2016, 12:00#32
 Cera-de Jager - My vriend jy is 100% reg!
Our entire rugby set-up is sick to the core and now the clown at the top of the Ministry of Sport is asking for the public to give AC a chance? Kaaaaak man. Accept that it is going to take ages and start fixing the sport from the bottom up. That, unfortunately, is also pie in the sky. It is never going to happen.

This is very true.  A fish rots from the head.  From Fukile to Alexander and that rat who abandoned ship - O'Reagan Horsesh!t - Jurie and the whole freeking lot are pap-snoek!
Read the post on Nemani Nadolo and see what passion is.  I am afraid that AC has adopted the same "blame-game" and alibi management style of his ANC masters.  Every game he has a million excuses and always prepared to throw a player or two under the bus.  The selection and building strategies are simply not working.  Every game there is a player out of position and the "on-form" player is sitting either on the bench or in the stands.  Coetzee was never a very successful coach at the Stormers, even though at some stage he had the cream of the crop of players.  Coetzee is simply out of his depth - a square plug in a round hole.
Until such time as we totally rid our rugby from chancers and politicians and employ as apposed to deploy decent management who know the game and have PASSION for it - SA rugby is totally screwed.
17 Nov 2016, 12:24
17 Nov 2016, 12:24#33

Moz stop speaking utter shit, the Lions beat a number of Kiwi Super sides in the rounds and thumped a Kiwi side in the semi.

If it’s not the coach at issue kindly explain why England have turned the corner under Eddie, who apart from Otoje is playing the same players Lancaster did

This should be interesting

17 Nov 2016, 13:27
17 Nov 2016, 13:27#34
 It is a very simplistic outlook to just ask the question why Jones has "England turned the corner under Eddie Jones.....".

It is a total different set of circumstances. The England side under Lancaster was not nearly as bad as the current SA side. England has a very strong domestic competition and their current domestic champions are also the current European champions. In addition, everybody has been writing them off because of their exit from the RWC. The truth is that they were in, probably, the toughest pool of the entire tournament. Go check.

Pool A:
Australia
 England
 Wales
 Fiji
 Uruguay

Pool B:

South Africa

Samoa
 Scotland
 Japan
 United States

Pool C:

New Zealand
 Argentina
 Tonga
 Georgia
 Namibia

Pool D:

France
 Ireland
 Italy
 Canada
 Romania

Pool A was the only pool were every two of arguably three, or even four sides could have gone through to the next stage. All the other pools had two sides who were probably going to go through with the rest only in with a very slight chance.

Do not get me wrong. I am by no means rubbishing Eddie Jones' part in the current England side. Not in the least. All I am doubting is whether he would have been able to do the same with an SA side at the moment. My guess is that there is no chance. Not even as slight one, and the same goes for any other coach put in charge of the Boks. Let alone Suutjiespoep Coetzee and his band of wannabe assistants.

17 Nov 2016, 13:43
17 Nov 2016, 13:43#35
 No ... lets rather not forget about the Japanese loss. Lets in fact keep it in the fore front of our minds, reminding us of what incompetence at coach level brings about.
I know it's slanderous to any Bull supporter but sweeping Meyer's failure as coach under the carpet won't ever erase that humiliation.
Meyer was credited for the Bulls super rugby success. Everyone thought he was the next best thing to sliced bread. Turns out he was just lucky to have a well drilled team of extraordinary players doing their thing. Class acts in Fourie Du Preez, Habana, Gurthro, Victor, Bakkies etc ... 
Much the same with PDivvy and the Boks that took the All Blacks apart and beat the British Lions ... all thanks to the work Jake put in. 
When it came to actually building a side up from nothing ... all the wheels fell off ... for both Meyer and Divvy. 
You can only ride on the coat tails of another for so long before it comes back and bites you in the a$$.
Meyer wanted to continue with the old and tired ... the proven heroes of yesteryear ... and failed. He had no idea how to build a team up from scratch. Not even with an abundance of talent banging his doors down. He blooded the wrong guys and ignored the obvious talent. He just would not see. Let's not even discuss his old fashioned game plan.    
Coetzee is the same. He keeps bringing players in that have tasted glory before. It seems he's too damn stupid to realise that they're a spent force. He too probably harps on about what they achieved a decade ago. Much like the elderly idiot on this board. As for building a team up ? ... well that's simply beyond this fool. 
We are where we are today because of incompetent coaches taking the reigns after Jake. Three to be precise. 
Talent has been ignored for the old. Talentless players have been blooded in their tens while those deserving have never even been considered. Many have left out shores and become citizens elsewhere. 
Favouritism played a big role in our decline. Jobs for friends. Positions for mates. Braai buddies taking up key positions and given authority over fellow team members, bringing in an attitude of insubordination.
Everything would have been different had we selected the right coach. Now he's taking the English to new found heights. From a lost cause to 10/10.
Anyone who can't see that probably believes in the "egg popping" counter ruck system so accurately displayed last weekend.

17 Nov 2016, 14:13
17 Nov 2016, 14:13#36
 "No ... lets rather not forget about the Japanese loss."

I was actually referring to Mike who like to pin his theories on single test matches and use them as reference points. Maybe I should have formulated my point differently.

The fact is that I am with you about the current state of affairs when it comes to the national side. I also find it difficult to support them. Only difference is that I still find it difficult to support against them, so to speak.

"Meyer was credited for the Bulls super rugby success. Everyone thought he was the next best thing to sliced bread. Turns out he was just lucky to have a well drilled team of extraordinary players doing their thing. Class acts in Fourie Du Preez, Habana, Gurthro, Victor, Bakkies etc ... "

No matter how much anybody disagrees with what he has done during his time as Bok coach, you just cannot deny Meyer's contribution to the Bulls during his time there. Yes, he did have class acts and a well drilled team, etc, etc but how did they become class acts and well drilled? Did it not take HM around five years to get them to that stage? Or did they get there by themselves?

"Meyer wanted to continue with the old and tired ... the proven heroes of yesteryear ... and failed. He had no idea how to build a team up from scratch. Not even with an abundance of talent banging his doors down. He blooded the wrong guys and ignored the obvious talent. He just would not see. Let's not even discuss his old fashioned game plan."

What abundance of talent? Name them. The ones who were in the same class as the 2007 and 2011 RWC squad at the same time in there careers. There is not a single Victor/Bakkies/John Smit/Juan Smith/Danie Rossouw/FDP/Butch James/JF/Frans Steyn/Habana/Os du Randt/Percy Montgommery/etc/etc. Not even Eben Etzebeth (currently) is in the mould of those players. Now please note that I am referring to those players in the 2007 to 2011 period. Not even Faf de Klerk at his best is in the same mould as an inform and younger FDP. We haven't had an outside centre in the same mould as Jaque Fourie in ages and I don't even think there is one on the horizon either. Now take this situation and add Suutjiespoep and his merry men, added with Fcuklie Mbaklula's support for the p@epol, and you have the perfect recipe for prolonged disaster.

17 Nov 2016, 14:26
17 Nov 2016, 14:26#37

Bullshit......Lancaster was another conservative coach who supressed the players much like Meyer and Coetzee did/ are doing.

Eddie has empowered the players to express themselves and directs them to play the modern way

England play an expansive brand of rugby now under Eddie, something they never did under Lancaster

Eddie is using exactly the same players Lancaster did - the very players labelled as no hopers under Lancaster are now seen as world beaters under Eddie

He has transformed the players purely by directing them correctly

The same applies to the Lions players who thrive in the Ackerman environment but die under Coetzee

A modern merit coach would be soaring with the talent SA has at its disposal......far more talent than England has for instance

17 Nov 2016, 14:33
17 Nov 2016, 14:33#38
 Are you suffering from ancient dementia as well - dofdoos?   There was no Jannie Engelbrecht, Carel Du Plessis and a host of other really great palyers available for current selection.
Forget about Matfield - he was good frustrating the backline and in line-outs - real locks recognize that he really was otherwise a poor lock.  Fat Fransie another of your heroes has been eating his career away in France and returned to SA in 2012 and was the w orst center in Super Rugby and you mention him.
Listen dofdoos - forget about what was the past and stop lamenting like Mozart about the greats of the past.   Start thinking about what is available and how to develop a real game plan to play in tests.    There is at present strings of BS selections by an idiot who should never have been appointed and there is zero of a game plan.     
17 Nov 2016, 14:52
17 Nov 2016, 14:52#39
 Ag jirre, daar spat die hele boodskap weer oor ou piesang trul se plat kop. Gaan was jou kar of gaan plant jou vygies of gaan slaap, of iets......... .
BokBFClub Pro421 posts
17 Nov 2016, 16:40
17 Nov 2016, 16:40#40
 Cera well articulated an structured posts, I get where you are coming from.Two things are really sad. The fact that this is a problem where the ANC and their gravy train buddies will not find and do not care to find a solution.     andTrying to make a reasonable points online will never work if you are dealing with the  closed mind.