FORUM / RUGBY /  Eben Etzebeth's Best Handbag Moments of the Lions 2021 Series

Eben Etzebeth's Best Handbag Moments of the Lions 2021 Series

Started by sharkbok14 REPLIES1,410 VIEWS· 11 Aug 2021, 15:51
sharkbokCaptain23,233 posts
11 Aug 2021, 15:51
11 Aug 2021, 15:51#1

11 Aug 2021, 16:12
11 Aug 2021, 16:12#2

He prevented a certain try after Kolbe dropped the high ball and Henshaw passed to Duhan VDM , then Leroux as the last line of defence made a tackle attempt that Duhan evaded. Then Etz ebeth made an exceptional cover tackle.

Many will say an international winger should be able to step a lock. 

AU
AugenöffnerPro6,974 posts
11 Aug 2021, 16:31
11 Aug 2021, 16:31#3

Eben ia very versatile. He should be the focal point, unless RG is playing. His production when taking more of the load is exceptional. 

11 Aug 2021, 16:46
11 Aug 2021, 16:46#4

"Eben ia very versatile. He should be the focal point, unless RG is playing. His production when taking more of the load is exceptional. 

Horse sh!t... Eben has been doing the job for close to 10 years...RG is a fantastic player, but he needs to perform consistently for a couple of seasons to be named in the same company as Eben...and tbis BS that Mostert is suddenly the Second Coming irritates the heck out of me too.

11 Aug 2021, 17:48
11 Aug 2021, 17:48#5
"Look how tough I are, I kan smile for you, that are how tough I are!"
Good player but an embarrassing arsehole as well.
11 Aug 2021, 17:57
11 Aug 2021, 17:57#6

"Good player but an embarrassing arsehole as well."

Look who's talking about arseholes!...He's doing his job...much less of a penalty machine than the great Bakkies was...if you don't understand that, you don't understand rugby....

And you can shove your "Dom Dutchman " slur right up your fucking arse...fuckoff back to Wales, then you won't  have to deal with Afrikaans people trying to accommodate you in their second language....Bigot!

AU
AugenöffnerPro6,974 posts
11 Aug 2021, 18:38
11 Aug 2021, 18:38#7

RG is better than Eben in every way. Far more imposing figure, the first real Bakkies II, but with skills. José likes fatties, donkeys and big dopey passive smiles to denote heart and passion the Saffer way. So, RG doesn't fit inside the José model. 

As for Eben's production? Several years ago he was guaranteed front-foot ball. Under Meyer, we saw a more productive player. We just aren't extracting the best of what we have in any of our players. 

11 Aug 2021, 19:38
11 Aug 2021, 19:38#8

"RG is better than Eben in every way."

LOL...except for the decade long track record...hou op kak praat.

11 Aug 2021, 20:24
11 Aug 2021, 20:24#9

Handbags, scrum resets and long-winded TMO reviews are the most boring parts of rugby. If you want to bliksem someone, bliksem them. This pushing and shoving and promising is playground stuff.

11 Aug 2021, 20:32
11 Aug 2021, 20:32#10

Snyman is a great talent, but Eben remains the banker at number 4…who made the crucial steal of the Lose Jones ball?

I would play Eben and Snyman with Mostert on the flank.

11 Aug 2021, 20:35
11 Aug 2021, 20:35#11

"I would play Eben and Snyman with Mostert on the flank." 

When PSDT is injured. 

11 Aug 2021, 20:41
11 Aug 2021, 20:41#12

Ah….pretty much all the time then?

11 Aug 2021, 21:12
11 Aug 2021, 21:12#13
Yes, Snyman can play at 5 or 4. He is athletic enough for 5 and strong enough for 4. He can also vary his game based on the situation, like an all-rounder number 8 such as Vermeulen . 
11 Aug 2021, 21:23
11 Aug 2021, 21:23#14

I was an early admirer of Snyman….the only thing I worry a bit about is his head. That fire pit incident says something about judgement. 

11 Aug 2021, 21:28
11 Aug 2021, 21:28#15

Yes, it must have been his fault given he was the most burnt. He showed up before the B&I Lions looking like Freddie Kruger before skin grafts.