FORUM / RUGBY /  Etzebeth and Bismarck

Etzebeth and Bismarck

Started by clevermike40 REPLIES1,235 VIEWS· 15 Sept 2013, 21:36
15 Sept 2013, 21:36
15 Sept 2013, 21:36#1
Some time last year there was a big show about how Ezebeth floored Bismarck when the latter attempted to tackle him - numerous video clips was available. My question is - what was the difference between how Etzebeth fended off the Bismarck tackle - and what Bismarck did yesterday to Messam. I fail to see the difference. Can somebody please tell me why a player cannot use his arm to fend off a tackler?
WG
What's going on?Club Pro237 posts
15 Sept 2013, 21:56
15 Sept 2013, 21:56#2

Thats an easy one Clevermike . Just get someone to elbow you in the throat and get back to us.

What penalty do you think they will hand out to Bismark i wonder ?

15 Sept 2013, 22:14
15 Sept 2013, 22:14#3

Two things:

• The Etzebeth/Bismarck incident was not nearly the same. Etzebeth had both his arms around the ball and Bismarck tackle him fairly low from right in front. He had his head to his (Bismarck's) left and hit Etzebeth's shoulder with his head. Check it out on this clip. (Look at 1:25) Etzebeth did not lead with his elbow or shoulder into the tackle) www.youtube.com/watch

• The law does not allow you to strike someone with the elbow.

10.4 DANGEROUS PLAY AND MISCONDUCT

(a) Punching or striking. A player must not strike an        opponent with the fist or arm, including the elbow, shoulder, head or knee(s).

Sanction: Penalty kick

15 Sept 2013, 22:56
15 Sept 2013, 22:56#4

The Oom has his facts wrong again? 

moolaaPro2,380 posts
15 Sept 2013, 23:45
15 Sept 2013, 23:45#5

You should know better Mike!

KA
KalaedFreddieClub Pro495 posts
16 Sept 2013, 00:23
16 Sept 2013, 00:23#6

Mike, when you suspect that people think you are dof it is better to keep quiet, because if you open your mouth you will remove all doubt.

When you make a comparison, compare apples with apples else you make life difficult for yourself.

Groete. 

PF
play fairNewbie3 posts
16 Sept 2013, 00:32
16 Sept 2013, 00:32#7

Sorry... but am I the only one who noticed the required sanction for such "misconduct" as quoted in Ceradyne's post?

"Sanction: Penalty kick" - remind me... what was the sanction during Saturdays game again?

moolaaPro2,380 posts
16 Sept 2013, 00:36
16 Sept 2013, 00:36#8

Yes Play Fair but he hit him in the throat! Had he hit him lower it would only have been a penalty. You obviously do not understand the difference between illegal and dangerous play!!

PF
play fairNewbie3 posts
16 Sept 2013, 00:40
16 Sept 2013, 00:40#9

You mean like taking players out in the air? Few instances of that by All Blacks players during the match?

sharkbokCaptain23,297 posts
16 Sept 2013, 00:43
16 Sept 2013, 00:43#10

It is legal to hand someone of with your hand, but illegal and dangerous to hand someone of with your elbow. 

Just like you cant kick someone or punch someone when they try to tackle you.

It looked like an accident but it is still a penalty because it is illegal, and also a yellow for being dangerous.

A referee may have considered if it was on purpose when deciding if to give a card, but a player can't complain either way as it was reckless play, or at the very least clumsy.

16 Sept 2013, 00:57
16 Sept 2013, 00:57#11

play fair

RE: Etzebeth and Bismarck
September 15, 2013, 22:32:14

Sorry... but am I the only one who noticed the required sanction for such "misconduct" as quoted in Ceradyne's post?

"Sanction: Penalty kick" - remind me... what was the sanction during Saturdays game again?

If you read the law book, you will find that everything is not always black or white, and it is like that for a reason. It is because rugby, as a game, is not always black or white, and unfortunately the ref has to have and sometimes use some discretion. I have mentioned elsewhere that the lawbook only mentions a yellow card on two pages in the lawbook. There is no single sanction in the lawbook that says something about yellow card or red card. The only sanctions are penalty, free kick and scrum. The only mention of cards is basically that there is such a thing as a red or a yellow card and that, in short, a yellow card means a caution and a suspension (sin bin) and a red card is used for a send-off. It also says that a player that is sent off (red card) cannot return to play (Law 10.6) . It also mentions that a second suspension culminates in a sent-off (red card) (Law 10.5). That is why there was a penalty.

The yellow card is at the discretion of the ref for the severity of the offence. If you look at it practically, it happens like this. The ref first issues the penalty, as a sanction prescribed in the law book, and then (based on the severity) chooses to issue a further sanction in the form of a warning and temporary suspencion by showing him a yellow card, or a send-off by showing him a red card.

16 Sept 2013, 05:14
16 Sept 2013, 05:14#12
Ceradyne This ape does not know the laws - or his interpretation is so weird - nobody can understand what he says and how he interprets it. Maybe he should be should be told that his efforts in interpretation is the pits - and as per normal the useless old fart supports him. He cottoned omto law 10.4 and made a complete hash of the argument. Punching or striking - where the hell did he got it from that Bismarck was punching or striking Messam. when he tried to fend off the tackle. Then he went on about the yellow card issue - where the law is clear. It reads as follows:- "(a) When a player has been cautioned and temporarily suspended in an International match the referee will show that player a yellow card." When was Bismarck cautioned. The first yellow was a farce and the second one equally so. Not remotely in line with any of the conditions the stupid ape is making up. As to the Etzebeth incident - are you just plain stupid - or blind as well? Etzebeth had the ball in his left hand - not in both hands you ignorant bum. What was he doing with his right hand?
KiwibroRookie19 posts
16 Sept 2013, 06:00
16 Sept 2013, 06:00#13

I thought Ceradyne's explanation was fine according to how I understand the rulebook. I thought the right call was made but I think I understand your confusion Mike.

Striking with an opponent with an elbow was what Bismarck was (quite rightly) penalised for. Etzebeth's pushes Bismarck off, if his elbow was extended before Bismarck then it would be the same.

My confusion with this law is when it comes to handoffs. Cory Jane has a fantastic fend, and I've seen him fend people in the face a few times. How is an openhanded fend to the face legal? Or maybe the question should be, when is a fend an open-handed strike?

16 Sept 2013, 07:04
16 Sept 2013, 07:04#14
Kiwibro My interpretation is that striking or punching a player is not the same as trying to fend of a tackle by a player. Bismarck was not punching or striking Messam. He had his arm up to try and fend of the tackler. Looking carefully at the incident when Messam went for the tackle he hit his forearm - not his elbow and Messam did a real Hollywiood act. The poinmt I was trying to make was a case last year inviolving Etzebeth and Bismarck - where Bismarck in fact ended up on his bum and play was stopped for a number of minutes. Ceradyne quoted the video reference - but made a complete hash of his interpretation or aas per normal was lying about it.. You can have a look at that video and you will see there is not much difference between the two incidents. In any event - if you want to see a real yellow card offence - just look at the line-out where Retallick was taking out Etzebeth in the line out whilst in the air. That happened after Poite warned him clearly against doing it. Poite never acted in accordance with IRB laws virtually throughout the match - so I can understand that he was just making a fool of himself in this case as well. We will see what happened at the Disciplanary enquiry on Wednesday - I think nothing will happen and that it is the last we will hear about this incident as well.
16 Sept 2013, 07:51
16 Sept 2013, 07:51#15
Once again the OOm's pants are on fire. Etzebeth runs foward and Bissie comes in at pace, to hit him much the same way he hit Carter. But then Etzebeth lowers his shoulder and clobbers Bissie with his lowered shoulder and upper arm. Eben's arm is folded into his chest, the elbow is pointing down......he only straightens the arm to push the stunned Bismarck out of his way. This was nothing like an elbow up in a tackler's face. - My advice to you Mike is to seriously think about your role on this Board. In the old days perhaps this kind of lie would have worked, but we all have access to youtube, it wont work now. So while you are entitled to your own opinions, you are not entitled to your own facts. Your dishonesty is becoming chronic and increasingly obvious to all. Clean up your act and we will give you a fresh start.
WF
wfunstonRookie89 posts
16 Sept 2013, 07:52
16 Sept 2013, 07:52#16

Mike, 

Although I (along with everyone else) think Poite had a complete shocker, I believe he handled this incident correctly. He went upstairs. The TMO defined it as a strike with the elbow to the neck hence was deemed dangerous. I'll admit it was soft, but not wrong. Therefore the red was in fact the correct call on this one. In context with the first yelllow, this ruined the game. But as an isolated case, the correct course of actoin was taken.

The first card. Though there was nothing wrong with the tackle itself, I did think Biz was offside making it a rather cynical tackle. Definitely not card worthy, just an offside penalty 

Can someone explain how Read was carded?? I watched the game several times and still can't see why the game was even stopped.This is the most baffling case

Nonu: Late hit. no problem with the yellow

Other cases to note:

Piutau did tackle Lambie in the air

Habana did take out Dagg off the ball. In fact, Habana was not even looking at the ball, he ran right past it and directly to Dagg

16 Sept 2013, 07:58
16 Sept 2013, 07:58#17
Funston the commentators corrected themselves on the Dagg/Habana incident....they said the players were equally to blame. But even that was not true. Habana ran deep and turned to look at the ball....he was, however in Dagg's path to the ball and Dagg ran into the back of Habana. If you watch any chase the players run flat out to get where the ball is likely to drop and then turn and look for it.
KiwibroRookie19 posts
16 Sept 2013, 07:59
16 Sept 2013, 07:59#18

Yeh fair enuf, I see what your are saying about Retallick. That was dangerous play no doubt. I was tempted to say it was reflexive but that is no excuse.

As for the Etzebeth /Bismarck vs the Bismarck/Messam clash, we will have to agree to disagree. My interpretation of striking is extending a stiff limb (LOL did I really say that?) before impact with another player. What I see in the Etzebeth /Bismarck video is Bis hitting Etzeebeth's forearm/elbow and Etzebeth pushing him off. Against Messam, Bismarck extends his elbow before contact with Messam, which again is probably reflexive but no excuse.

So both could have been yellow, both could have been warnings. NZ gets the rub of the green again.

16 Sept 2013, 11:56
16 Sept 2013, 11:56#19

there seems to be a unanimous agreement with bizzys first yellow, but not so the second.

IMO the second yellow was justified, he struck the throat and messam was instantly hurt, which is not surprising if anyones been hit there with enough force, they will know the feeling.

the only problem i have with the 2nd yellow card is the fact that the first yellow was complete BS, and the yellow + yellow = red was too much. it would have been justice of sorts if poite had just given the penalty, but them be the breaks.

@mikey,
when did the referee warn retllick about playing th man in the air??? i saw him warn retllick after he was penalised for grabbing lady elizabeth, but not before.

and do u really thik messam was doing a hollywood???
if u want to watch real hollywood performances, watch le roux and habana who have quite a reputation with this, especially le roux who IMO is the worst in the world, the drogba of world rugby.

u also say he hit him with his forearm, but that still constitutes an illegal hit by the definition.

and no mikey, even when the ruling on bizyy does come out, ti wont be the last we hear from it, this is SA site and the one thing saffas do better then rugby is play blame the ref on groundhog day.

the matter will finally be put to rest once the All Blacks beat the Boks at ellis park where hopefully nigel owens dosent play as much of a role as poite did.

and make no mistake, im as sure as one can be without knowing the future that the All Blacks will win in ellis park, cos poite performance has put the Boks woeful performance in a blind spot.

16 Sept 2013, 12:09
16 Sept 2013, 12:09#20

Ou Maaikie's problem is that he either does not understand the laws or he does not read them at all. Let me explain why I referred to the yellow card as a caution. It was because a yellow card, according to the law, is a caution. It is a caution that any further foul play will result in a sent off.

10.6 YELLOW AND RED CARDS

(a) When a player has been cautioned and temporarily suspended in an International match the referee will show that player a yellow card

16 Sept 2013, 12:10
16 Sept 2013, 12:10#21
Mozart Did you really watch the interest and when last did you have your eyes tested? You really are a bloody fool in writing things without seeing matches and incidents. The warped-minded Ceradyne said that Etzebeth had the ball in both hands. You - the fabricator of rubbish now said - no Bismarck came at speed and was hit by Etzebeth's shoulder and upper arm. You have said that despite the fact that Etzebeth used his right hand to fend off the tackle. As per normal this is an outright lie - but I have accepted that you and Ceradyne are both liars deserving no respect whatsoever.
16 Sept 2013, 12:32
16 Sept 2013, 12:32#22

As expected. Ou Maaikie does not even believe his own eyes. Please explain go me exactly how the Bismarck/Carter incident is identical to the Bismarck/Etzebeth one. You are making a complete fool of yourself again. But carry on. I enjoy my laugh a day. LOL. You have slipped up on almost every argument that you have offered on this thread and now you creep back to your normal "liar" argument without anything to support your argument.

Oh, and by the way. Just like on another thread...... show me a law that prescribe pulling down in a line-out as being a "red-card" offence.

16 Sept 2013, 13:10
16 Sept 2013, 13:10#23
Cerradyne No more ball in two hands - you lying twit? You are as ignorant as they come - a love a second.
16 Sept 2013, 13:15
16 Sept 2013, 13:15#24

Listen you fart. Let me suggest something. Why don't you start a new thead and include both the clips (the one from Saturday and Bismarck/Eben one). Then we aske everybody on here to give their opinion on whether the two incidents are identical. We can do the same with the Stade Francais issue. If you want to, I can bump it up to the top again, and then we can ask the rest of the poeple to judge on whose account of that clip is the most accurate. Deal. Come on. Lets see if you have the balls tio do that.

16 Sept 2013, 13:17
16 Sept 2013, 13:17#25
Sasue Before the line out throw in Poite did speak to the All Black forwards about the line out issue. Was not the first time there was a line out problem and he definitely issued a warning to the forwards not to transgress. Retallick did - and the end result was a penalty. Retallick is a serial transgressor in taking players out in the air though. Be it as it may Poite did speak to the AB forwards whilst they were standing in the line-out and immediately blew up Retallick with Etzebeth on the ground. Could have been a yellow card offence - but it was not. Taking a player out while he was in the air or removing a support player is a dangerous form of play and often yellow-carded. .
16 Sept 2013, 13:21
16 Sept 2013, 13:21#26
Creadyne You stupid clot - you got caught out lying again. Did you or did you not write the following:- "Etzebeth had both his arms around the ball and Bismarck tackle him fairly low from right in front."
16 Sept 2013, 13:51
16 Sept 2013, 13:51#27

Yes, jou drol. I did, and I will acknowledge that I got that part wrong. You are totally wrong in saying that the two incidents were even similar, let alone identical. Fact is that on Saturday, Bismarck stuck out hi elbow straight to the head/face of Messam. In the case with Etzebeth, Eben had both his arms in front of him, which at first glance looked to me like he was holding the ball with both hands. He did not stick out his arm/elbow/fore-arm into Bismarck in a dangerous manner. I would say that Bismarck got knocked down like that because of the way that his head snapped sideways during the impact. Like someone else has mentioned, Eben only pushed away at Bismarck after he made contact with him. Have a look at this series of pictures. You will noticed that his arm really went out after the impact, by which time Bismarck was probably out already, judged by the way that his knees started buckling under him and the way that he was already falling backwards. Now how about that suggestion of the poll.

PapamoaClub Pro683 posts
16 Sept 2013, 14:08
16 Sept 2013, 14:08#28
o.k, for a start. Mozart & Mike, you two crack me up. You should do your own show. I would pay money to watch that. And 2nd the fend is clearly different. It is not pointing at or near his face or throat, messam, accident or not as the law says in that case it is a penalty. Im sure Messam is fine and will be back ready for action.
16 Sept 2013, 14:28
16 Sept 2013, 14:28#29
Ceradyne How many times do you try to mislead the people on this Board by getting things wrong? You tried with the release of players by the Clubs - and then had to recant. Now this one again. Even the photos shown by you are not conclusive - but for one thing - Etzebeth did use his right hand in fending the Bismarck tackle off.
16 Sept 2013, 15:13
16 Sept 2013, 15:13#30

Ou Maaikie trying to avoid the issue again. Have you spotted the difference yet? Let me help you. Watch how Bismarck was watching him and watch how he picked up his elbow to go for his face. That in contrast to Eben's reaction when Bismarck was tackling him. Nee boet. Stop digging or else you are going to kak to  get out.

16 Sept 2013, 15:55
16 Sept 2013, 15:55#31
Exactly as I described it OOM....Etzebeth's elbow is pointing down....Bismarck makes contact with Etzebeth's shoulder and upper arm....Etzebeth only straightens his arm to push the limp Bismarck away. See the bright light of the truth and admit your error you pathetic old liar. In this case I want an apology....I'm totally sick of your constant dishonesty. Fess up you old goat.
16 Sept 2013, 17:07
16 Sept 2013, 17:07#32
Mozart Speaking of dishonesty - you take the prize all the time. You first of all took Cerradynes lie fully. . Look at photo 4 above - the one that sent Bismarck flying - where was Etzebeth right arm? Pointing downwards??? You really are bad you know - after selective usage of stats - outright lies about matches you have not even seen, and when you saw them the lies are even more potent. Deliberately false evaluation of player performances - and then saying you made a joke when caught out. The list is virtually endless No use debating issues with a prejudiced individual with no principles. I am always prepared to discuss issues objectively and accept it when I am wrong - but you apparently are not and turn to personal attacks when found out. There is still some hope at getting along - but both sides need to tune down personal attacks. You are apparently against that - since that is your normal escape route - that and bringing in diverting issues.
16 Sept 2013, 17:25
16 Sept 2013, 17:25#33
Okay I'll coordinate this with the nice pictures.....follow the bouncing ball: Picture 1...... Etzebeth braces as Bismarck comes rushing in to tackle. - Picture 2 ....Etzebeth lowers his shoulder to make contact with that part of his anatomy. - Picture 3..... Bismarck makes contact with Etzebeth's shoulder and upper arm. Etzebeth's elbow is pointing down and takes none of the hit. All the force of contact is in the shoulder region. He has actually tucked his arm in and away from contact so the shoulder can lead. - Picture 4....all blunt force contact is over and a limp Bismarck is draped on Eben. He pushes forward with his whole arm to dislodge Bismarck and clear his path.As Bismarck falls back Eben's arm rides up his chest but nowhere does he lead with his elbow. - That's all I have said about this incident and every word, every nuance is accurate. So if you want to make amends, just admit your error.
16 Sept 2013, 20:07
16 Sept 2013, 20:07#34
Mozart I accept your explanation - but am still not entirely convinced. In photo 2 the arm was coming up and in photo 4 it was definite that the forearm of Etzebeth was in Bismarck's neck area.. However, I asked a decent question and got in return the standard Ceradyne lies and the standard Mozart's personal attacks. Lets accept the situation as it is - at least the rest of the members discussed the matter with some decency.
16 Sept 2013, 21:08
16 Sept 2013, 21:08#35

You are beyond Mike...

"However, I asked a decent question and got in return the standard Ceradyne lies and the standard Mozart's personal attacks"

You've just called Moz dishonest in your comment before the last one and now you've been proven wrong you still have to attempt to have one over on him, hypocritical...

"Mozart

Speaking of dishonesty - you take the prize all the time. You first of all took Cerradynes lie fully. .

"

16 Sept 2013, 21:24
16 Sept 2013, 21:24#36

You really are a piece of work aren't you? You start fo by insinuating that there is nothing to choose between the two incidents. You have a video clip at your disposal and I have made the picture strips for you, yet you keep on attacking me and call me a liar and then you have the nerve of bitching about personal attacks.

The essence is that there was no danger in Etzebeth's actions and he did not strike Bismarck with his elbow and he did not strike him in the face. Bismarck put his head in such a way that there was no way that he was not going to avoid taking a knock. There was no malice on Etzebeth's side. In the incident on Saturday, there can be no other conclusion that there was intent on Bismarck's side, and this is what really disappointed me. He knew that he was already on one yellow card and he should have been extra careful. It is common sence. What is even more embarrassing is the you brought the Etzebeth incident into the discussion and your assumptions were plain bullhit. To top it all, you are probably pissed off with all the Kiwis on here making a mockery of the situation, as it is, and nobody can blame them for gloating about the situation.

Fact is that no matter what happened eralier in the game or what happened in whatever other game you want to bring into the discussion, those actions of Bismarck on Messam was dealt with correctly, and he can be lucky, IMO, that he got off the hook due to Poite's balls up. John Smit got cited and received a 6 or 8 match ban for doing exactly the same thing. In view of that, the red card and the subsequent resindment thereof could well have been a blessing in disguise. He could have ended being cited and receiving a lengthy ban. It is not a case of "suddenly not being allowed to 'fend off' a player". It was dangerous and illegal back in 2005 and still is today, eight years later. Think about it.

John Smit's ban:

www.theguardian.com/sport/2005/nov/28/rugbyunion.sport7

www.news24.com/xArchive/Sport/Rugby/John-Smit-gets-six-week-ban-20051129

KA
KalaedFreddieClub Pro495 posts
17 Sept 2013, 09:30
17 Sept 2013, 09:30#37

Mike, this is a better comparison, apples with apples - same people in the picture just the other way around.  And what happened?  Bismark got no oscar because he did not act well enough..

Oviously taught by the best in the business     https://twitter.com/NelioDeSa/status/379594267666448384/photo/1 

So what is the difference Mr Kiwi?

hakwaPro4,146 posts
17 Sept 2013, 11:03
17 Sept 2013, 11:03#38

19 hours ago  

17 Sept 2013, 21:08
17 Sept 2013, 21:08#39

@mikey,

"Before the line out throw in Poite did speak to the All Black forwards about the line out issue. Was not the first time there was a line out problem and he definitely issued a warning to the forwards not to transgress. Retallick did - and the end result was a penalty."
i ahve watched the game 4 times already and the first 8mins which leads to retallick getting penalised for the tackle in the air and i can assure u that u got it worng, not once does poite ever raise the issue with anybody, let alone the All blacks and retallick.
the only time poite evens mentions it is when retallick garbs lady elizabeth in the air, that is the only time.

i think u got ur wires crossed a bit and are maybe thinking of another incident, but if u watch it again and can show me when with the time the incident took place in the game, i will gladly take another look.

17 Sept 2013, 21:15
17 Sept 2013, 21:15#40

Forget it Sasuke. No matter what evidence you provide, you can be expected to be call a liar. Don't think that there is any chance of ou Maaikie providing any proof of his claim either.