FORUM / RUGBY /  Foosenn wants no 10 Jersey back

Foosenn wants no 10 Jersey back

Started by clevermike62 REPLIES1,231 VIEWS· 02 Feb 2014, 19:55
02 Feb 2014, 19:55
02 Feb 2014, 19:55#1

The following article is quoted for information:-

"Springbok fly-half Johan Goosen will get a chance to cement his place in the Cheetahs starting XV when they host the Pumas in a friendly in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

Goosen had some game time on the Cheetahs' tour of the Eastern Cape last week, taking part in the second half of the visitors' friendly against the Southern Kings.

The 21-year-old, who has only just returned from injury and receives a starting berth ahead of Elgar Watts, will be hoping to reclaim the number 10 jersey.

"There is some very good competition between Johan Goosen and Elgar Watts," Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske said.

"The latter has done very well in the warm-up game and is definitely in the running.

"Goosen did well when he came on against the Kings. His goal-kicking was on par and he got good distance with his clearing kicks."

The Cheetahs left it late against the Kings and struggled in the first half before pulling through in the second.

Drotske said his team lost plenty of possession due to unforced errors as well as handling errors, two elements the team would like to rectify against the Pumas.

"There were just way too many balls going to ground," he said.

"We need to keep the ball in hand. We are looking for our attacking play to be at least 70 to 80 percent better when we take on the Pumas."

The Pumas will be out to gain momentum for the coming Vodacom Cup competition and after gaining promotion to the Currie Cup Premier Division last year, they would be out to prove they belong in top-flight rugby.

Pumas coach Jimmy Stonehouse will give a number of new players a chance with many of his stalwarts injured.

The visitors have to make do without the likes of front-row forward Vincent Koch, wing Marcello Sampson and kicking sensation Justin van Staden while hooker Frankie Herne and loose forward Brian Shabangu are also among the injured.

"We had a very short pre-season due to the fact that we played promotion and relegation matches last year," Stonehouse said.

"This game will give us a good indication of the depth that is available for the coming Vodacom Cup competition."

The Pumas will look to seasoned full-back Coenie van Wyk to give the Cheetahs work on the defence. Van Wyk has been released by the Lions after being part of their Super Rugby squad.?

Goosen reportedly had a go od game and - UNLESS MEYER GOES DILLY AND KEEP ON PICKING THAT B-TEAM PLAYER FROM STADE FRANCAIS - he would have it back. 

AG
AgPleezDeddyClub Pro900 posts
02 Feb 2014, 19:58
02 Feb 2014, 19:58#2
With Goosen, Swiel and Lambie, hopefully we don't see Morne starting in the number 10 jersey again
02 Feb 2014, 21:45
02 Feb 2014, 21:45#3
Morne should never have won a single Bok cap.......he is not a test quality rugby player........he is a test quality kicker.......but no player should ever be selected on the strength of his kicking
Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
03 Feb 2014, 12:34
03 Feb 2014, 12:34#4
 Some lessons have to be learnt the hard way... if at all. Goosen has a lot to prove, that in the face of a severe wake-up call in 2012 where he did nothing. Lambie? Was debunked years ago. Swiel? Maybe, but that is far too early to tell (that intercept shows he is far too green) ; come back in two seasons time. Goosen may in a few years be ready to be Bok 10, but he has a lot of development ahead of him if that is to become a reality. As it is: Morné and Butch are head and shoulders the best Bok 10s of the last 24 years.
TT
The_TruthClub Pro471 posts
03 Feb 2014, 13:12
03 Feb 2014, 13:12#5
 Goosen fighting for a starting spot at no. 10 at the Cheetahs against Elgar Watts is going to be the new saviour for SA rugby?

But will he last for more than 2 matches?
03 Feb 2014, 14:45
03 Feb 2014, 14:45#6

Sun Tzu

There were at least five better flyhalfs since 1992 than the shit poor pivot Morne Steyn - he is on par with Braam, Koen, etc.   He is miles behind Honiball for instance - neither is Butch James - also a heck of a lot better than Morne.  Stranski was also better than Steyn.  

What makes me wonder - is the way you interpret rugby performances,   One of the best full backs in world rugby at present Halfpenny)  - through a pass that was intercepted on Saturday - it happens often enough - but you screamed and shouted about the Swiel pass.  Figure that one out.  O - I get it - Kirchner is better than Halfpenny in your book.

None of the Morne supporter clowns have answered a simple question and now it is over to you.    If Morne is such a star flyhalf - how come Stade Fracais prefers a youngster by in the name of Plisson as their first choice flyhalf?   If his club makes him the second choice flyhalf - why should he even be considered as Springbok flyhalf?        

TT
03 Feb 2014, 20:37
03 Feb 2014, 20:37#7
 No! Answer this question you dumb fuck.

Why if Plisson is the current French test flyhalf, was Morne started in three out of the last six Stade matches (while Plisson was available)... A 50/50 distribution of matches played is hardly "preferred"... You are a liar. Nothing more, nothing less.

So how can anyone answer your stupid, poorly thought out question, as it is based on a  fallacious premise????
03 Feb 2014, 21:48
03 Feb 2014, 21:48#8

The_Truth

February 03, 2014, 18:37:31  No! Answer this question you dumb fuck.

Why if Plisson is the current French test flyhalf, was Morne started in three out of the last six Stade matches (while Plisson was available)... A 50/50 distribution of matches played is hardly "preferred"... You are a liar. Nothing more, nothing less.

So how can anyone answer your stupid, poorly thought out question, as it is based on a  fallacious premise???? 
There is of course another issue that ou DowweMaaik has been avoiding like the plague. That is the little matter of him claiming that Bakkies Botha has fallen out of favour at Toulon and has been replaced by Ali Williams as their preferred lock.

03 Feb 2014, 22:03
03 Feb 2014, 22:03#9

This is about flyhalf play - since when is Bakkies a flyhalf?

03 Feb 2014, 22:03
03 Feb 2014, 22:03#10

03 Feb 2014, 22:07
03 Feb 2014, 22:07#11

Truthless

"Why if Plisson is the current French test flyhalf, was Morne started in three out of the last six Stade matches (while Plisson was available)"

Plisson was for two weeks before the test in training with the French National squad.   Sure - he could have been released by them and be available - but he was not.

Are you a prick - or just routinely stupid!!!!!!!  

03 Feb 2014, 22:59
03 Feb 2014, 22:59#12
 The Truth stomping his feet because he isn't getting noticed? Don't worry little man maybe if you scream loud enough people might listen.
Mike, don't bother replying to Sun. He clearly isn't going to realise Morne is the worst test flyhalf in the world and debating with him is useless because he just ignores the substance of your comments when you've proven him wrong then makes some fantasy out of nothing.
03 Feb 2014, 23:06
03 Feb 2014, 23:06#13

February 03, 2014, 20:03:15

Nee etterkop. I raised the Bakkies issue because you made the same stupid assumption in that case as well. BTW, have you noticed Bakkies in recent games for Toulon with Ali Williams on the bench. Oh Yes, you have not yet conceded that you called Plisson average at best, and now you suddenly find yourself on cloud nine over his performance.
03 Feb 2014, 23:14
03 Feb 2014, 23:14#14
"Are you a prick - or just routinely stupid!!!!!!!"

And there goes The_Truth_Fairy into orbit again . . .
OI
oimateyPro1,870 posts
04 Feb 2014, 00:36
04 Feb 2014, 00:36#15
 That's hilarious.

04 Feb 2014, 01:16
04 Feb 2014, 01:16#16
 Found this picture of ou Rooies and ou Maaikie:

04 Feb 2014, 04:41
04 Feb 2014, 04:41#17

Dof Doos  you get it all wrong all the time and here again you have it wrong.  The licking is by you on Morne, Bakkies, Mozart and whoever else share your comical ideas.   It is a habit with you.    

04 Feb 2014, 04:41
04 Feb 2014, 04:41#18

Dof Doos  you get it all wrong all the time and here again you have it wrong.  The licking is by you on Morne, Bakkies, Mozart and whoever else share your comical ideas.   It is a habit with you.    

04 Feb 2014, 07:12
04 Feb 2014, 07:12#19
You "found" that picture? Good grief man, where were you looking . . . or was it in your personal collection?
On another thread you said you found the Obelix comparison quite apt, so w hy are you suddenly getting so tearful, CeraDunce?
TT
04 Feb 2014, 07:56
04 Feb 2014, 07:56#20
 Awww shame... Poor little crying Rooinek posting a picture to try and create an impression that is in direct contrast to reality. In a discussion that did not even have anything to do with him.

So, I see you are so obsessed with me that you following me around on the board all tearful and dying to be noticed.

Okay then. I noticed you. Feel better now?
04 Feb 2014, 09:37
04 Feb 2014, 09:37#21
CeraDunce and the Truth_Fairy coming back for more . . .

04 Feb 2014, 12:07
04 Feb 2014, 12:07#22
 There, the Ceradayne I know from Kamp SS, a tough guy when he has support, I knew it'd be just a matter of time before the real Ceradayne showed up.
hakwaPro4,146 posts
04 Feb 2014, 12:28
04 Feb 2014, 12:28#23
 Asterix and Obelix catching on - love it .
04 Feb 2014, 13:06
04 Feb 2014, 13:06#24
The Obelix theme continues on from this comment I made on another thread:

"Reading this board lately has become a bit like reading an Asterix book . . . with Ou Maaik playing the part of Obelix while dolts  like The_Truth_Fairy, Moffie, Sun-Tzwat and CeraDunce play the roles of the hapless Roman legionaries as they take turns in getting thumped.

I'm not for one minute saying that I agree with some of Ou Maaik's outlandish rugby theories but you have to laugh at the way the Romans keep coming back for more and keep disappearing over the horizon.
Paf! There goes another one . . ."
04 Feb 2014, 14:55
04 Feb 2014, 14:55#25
 @Rooinek. Tearfull? You have to be joking. I find it hilarious how you jump from licking one ass after the other. As soon as one kick you in the teeth, you go after the next one.

@Mushroom Man. I have never needed the support of anybody to fight my battles. I have had many arguments with Moz, so I cannot see how I have to bank on his support like ou Maaikie is trying to suggest. Because we have had diffences in the past does not mean that I cannot agree with something that he has said. As for ou Maaikie, I have kicked him on the nuts so many times on this board, it isn't even funny. You can just go check the number of times that he disappears from threads with his tail between his legs. He has this peculiar way of exaggerating and BS'ing to try and support his arguments. One simple example is the case of Bakkies Botha and that is exactly the reason where he is trying to create the impression that I am sucking up to Bakkies. Truth is that it is not the case at all. All that I have done was to expose his lies about Bakkies. I am not even going to elaborate on that again, unless you want me to.
04 Feb 2014, 16:52
04 Feb 2014, 16:52#26

Is this about me or Goosen.   You are clueless when it comes top rugby and concentrate your rematks on this site at members with zero rugby contribution.   That is a fact of life - so don't get exited about how you are able to sport typing errors.  

And Bakkies Botha proved in his last two tests that he is NOT an international level player.   So is the Stade Francais bench player Morne Steyn - the latter never was and never should have been.

And you remain a Dof Doos - clueless as they come.     

04 Feb 2014, 19:39
04 Feb 2014, 19:39#27
 I love it when you start your tirades. I can imagine you getting all purple in the face. Bakkies proved nothing of the sort you blithering idiot. You are a lying bullshitting clown. You said that Bakkies was no longer the first choice lock for Toulon and that he was replaced by Ali Williams. That was what I was referring to you stupid arse-hole. When you were corrected and  you realised that you were wrong, you disappeared like a wet dream instead of being a man and admit that you were wrong. Every time that you said something about Bakkies and Toulon you got hit in the face with a few dozen eggs.
04 Feb 2014, 19:58
04 Feb 2014, 19:58#28
goosen has a ton of potential, but his body is more then just a little on the fragile side.
if he suffers any injuries in 2014, a promising player who never lived up to the hype will be what is written about him.

i have the complete asterixs collection back home in NZ, :o)
i use to love those banquets that asterixs village had after an adventure, always wanted a wild boar for dinner, :oP
06 Feb 2014, 13:59
06 Feb 2014, 13:59#29

Your long-winded boring response suggests I'm in debate or discussion with you....I'm not....and you are delusional if you think I am. I'm not sure why I'm bothering with a response so consider this a one-off.

However, now that I am, please note that I'm not interested in how many times you've bruised Clevermike's nuts, neither do I care about your claims that Clevermike disappears from the board after you've supposedly tripped him up on some motherless insignificant issue and finally neither do I care about the notches on your belt that you chalked having arguments with Mozart. It sounds boring and it is boring. Do yourself a favour and get a life.

There's many an interesting read in this forum as there is many an interesting poster, you I'm afraid to say don't fall into that category. For crying out loud all you ever do is dote on Clevermike's every post....Clevermike this....Clevermike that....nyaaaah..nyaaaaaah....nyaaaahh.......

I'm sick of it, I'm sure everyone else is too, you were so much better when you lavished praise on the now mortified Apartheid morally bankcrupt National Party and your days in the army supporting their immorality.

Now there, be a good chap and tell your Baas Barlee that I've been most nasty to you...off you go.

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
06 Feb 2014, 14:12
06 Feb 2014, 14:12#30
 @Sasuke: Goosen gets bounced with ease, he doesn't have that sense for draw-and-pass, he cannot sum up situations on his own and as alluded to, caves in mightily on defence. I suspect he is a robot at the Cheetahs; The backs coach the brain and Goosen just following orders. It makes perfect sense too, they've had success with nearly five different 10s over the past few years, it doesn't matter who slots in, the system is the winner. But Goosen is hailed as the reason why the system works, which is incorrect. The more I watch him, the more I see a 15. He has very good running and stepping ability, but as for a test 10? He has an enormous journey ahead of him. I hope he makes it, all the better for Bok rugby if he does, but the odds are stacked heavily against him. The final nail may be the over-hype, it gets these players believing the delusion is true and they never develop further.
06 Feb 2014, 17:27
06 Feb 2014, 17:27#31
@sun ting,

"Goosen gets bounced with ease, he doesn't have that sense for draw-and-pass, he cannot sum up situations on his own and as alluded to, caves in mightily on defence."
i dont really agree with that comment. IMO the first two seasons where he played at spXV level and higher, he was anything but that.

his Bok career to date isnt all that it was cracked up to be, but that test against the wallys in SA (cant remember where) where goosen started, he was freaking awesome, and its understandable why there was so much hype around him.
there was even plenty of chatter on abs.com a NZ rugby forum about the potential that goosen had.

i would be interested in any particular moments from any games where u came to this conclusion, would love to check it out in person, as most opinions here are very pro goosen.

"I suspect he is a robot at the Cheetahs; The backs coach the brain and Goosen just following orders. It makes perfect sense too, they've had success with nearly five different 10s over the past few years, it doesn't matter who slots in, the system is the winner."
disagree completely, and u only need to look at the highlanders/cheetahs match in 2012, where the cheetahs had a commanding lead, goosen got injured, cheetahs lost.

cheetahs are my fave saffa team, and they have IMO always looked better with goosen than anyone else.

"The more I watch him, the more I see a 15. He has very good running and stepping ability, but as for a test 10"
i refuse to disagree with this very very interesting comment, but i do want to.

beauden barret and tom taylor have more than convinced me that flyhalves can make good fullbacks.

while i dont see that in goosen, i didnt see it in either of barret or taylor either, so maybe my flyhalf to fullback convertor radar, is about as broken as brother mikeys excellent NZ forward radar.

"He has an enormous journey ahead of him. I hope he makes it, all the better for Bok rugby if he does, but the odds are stacked heavily against him."
that makes two of us, :o)

"The final nail may be the over-hype, it gets these players believing the delusion is true and they never develop further"
i dont buy that over hype BS  and the mental effects on players. being strong physically dosent mean jac if ur not strong mentally.

u either got it, or u dont, and IMIO goosens got it, but hopefully lady injury dosent add goosen to her list of super talnted players who just couldnt handle the physical jandal.
06 Feb 2014, 21:22
06 Feb 2014, 21:22#32
Sun's take on Goosen is the biggest load of shit I have read in years - its not worth the time of day
06 Feb 2014, 21:26
06 Feb 2014, 21:26#33
Sun Tzwat knows less about rugby than he does about music . . . as incredible as that seems!
06 Feb 2014, 22:22
06 Feb 2014, 22:22#34
Yep anyone who does not know who Jim is and who thinks players like Goosen, Conrad Smith, Bismark, JJ and Lambie are poor to average hardly merit much effort........I mean, you just cant argue against those kinds of takes.......complete waste of time.  
06 Feb 2014, 22:34
06 Feb 2014, 22:34#35
Lambie one try in 32 tests would be lucky to be called average. JJ is less than average....unless giving away 21 points is okay. Neither of these guys are going to be Bok greats. They may churn on in the mix for a while....but above average, no way. Goosen can't even be rated yet....but so far he reminds me most of Gaffie.
06 Feb 2014, 22:49
06 Feb 2014, 22:49#36
Ah what crap......JJ with 4 tries in 9 starts in his first year looks set for great things, he set the benchmark when he dominated Conrad Smith in that last test......Lambie is 10 times the useless player Morne is......at least the guy is a rugby player........Goosen will be our best Bok 10 since Honn ibal
06 Feb 2014, 23:24
06 Feb 2014, 23:24#37
Well Dave you have abysmally low standards. You still rate Olivier when he scored zero tries in 21 tests   at centre ....it's almost unbelievable any player could do that. The fact is once you write something positive about a player you lose all objectivity. As if admitting you were wrong reflects on your ability to pick players....the Dave Titanic will go down with Lambie, JJ and Goosen, while Dave plays a violin on the tilting deck.
06 Feb 2014, 23:34
06 Feb 2014, 23:34#38
What's sort of funny is all these Honiball fans are also Mallett fans. But for the crucial matches against England and Oz in the 99 RWC Mallett had Honiball on the bench.....but he hardly got off the bench. Nick preferred to play Jannie de Beer, a Morne clone. Hahahahaha.
06 Feb 2014, 23:47
06 Feb 2014, 23:47#39
 Wrong Moz you fail to grasp the facts about my calls...............you bang on about my rating Olivier when you know full well that he was not my first choice inside centre........Jean and Frans were........so I am not sure what you are trying to prove?

I know my calls were Jean and Frans, so why imply that Olivier was my man............he was a damn good back-up to these two and thats all he was.........but you are incapable of acknowledging that this was my call all along. I also know that Olivier never had a run of tests at 12, that many games were off the bench or out of position.

I know my rugby players and know that JJ is the best prospect at 13 I have seen in years simply because his pace and feet add a whole new dimension to attacking play at 13......something players like Fourie, Joubert etc could never offer. JJ is only into year one......the sky is the limit.

Goosen compared to Morne is almost insulting on a rugby level.......its a Ferrari vs Beatle.

You talk of low standards......Moz they do not get lower than finding favour with such ordinary players like Morne, de Jongh and Jacobs......I cannot begin to comprehend how a rugby follower can rate these players

07 Feb 2014, 00:02
07 Feb 2014, 00:02#40

Adi Jacobs in TN 08 

Made 33 of his 36 tackles for an average of 91,67%

Made 7.04 metres per carry and scored three tries.

I think you wll find that is massively superior to JJ.