FORUM / RUGBY /  Gay Rugby is the most important thing in Australian Sport right now

Gay Rugby is the most important thing in Australian Sport right now

Started by hakwa34 REPLIES771 VIEWS· 20 Sept 2013, 07:30
hakwaPro4,146 posts
20 Sept 2013, 07:30
20 Sept 2013, 07:30#1

By Richard Rayner

The Australian Rugby Union recently announced their intention to create a policy to stamp out homophobia.

Like clockwork, there were some who began questioning the priorities of the Australian Rugby Union in pursuing such a policy while the Wallabies were…well…being challenged on the pitch. (challenged hahahahahahaha O'Connor was probably vertically challenged when Federal Police escorted him from the Airport)

It occurred to me that many people may simply regard rugby as a game played at peak competition, failing to recognise the value of the union that acts as a foundation for the game.

While rugby union is a game of strength, skill and speed, it remains a game of different body types and specific skill sets played across all levels ages and abilities. And sexuality.

Rugby union has always been a sport that has challenged stereotypes. With a history dating back to 1864 in Australia, it is fondly remembered by some as a sport for every body.

The Melbourne Chargers, Brisbane Hustlers and Sydney Convicts have been challenging amateur rugby union clubs for a number of years to stamp out homophobia on sporting fields, to create a game for everybody, with various levels of success.

They have long stood for inclusiveness and a fair go for all in sport but it has sometimes been a struggle to find broader support at the grassroots level for such a movement.

They exist because there is a need. But they shouldn’t have to.

In local competitions, homophobia in sport is still common and is often a barrier for young people playing sport.

But the issue is now starting to get the attention it needs with major codes around the world starting to adopt anti-homophobia policies.

It’s sad to think of the talent that may have been lost over the years because the right environment and support mechanisms didn’t exist. 

As Australian gay and inclusive rugby teams come together in Melbourne for the annual gay rugby fixture, the Purchas Cup, a discussion about how best to tackle homophobia in sport at all levels of the game is underway.

To complement the inclusion policy, regional rugby teams throughout New South Wales, Victoria and Queensland will soon have the opportunity to hold joint training sessions with gay rugby teams from Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne, with a particular focus on teams that may not be exposed to many gay and lesbian people.

Resources for coaches and sporting team management will help them deal with and reduce homophobia in their organisations and a ‘Sporting Heroes End Homophobia’ ambassador program will set the right tone from our sporting role models.

Those participating and speaking out against homophobia in rugby union already include John Eales, Nick Farr-Jones, David Pocock and Adam Ashley-Cooper.

The opportunity is there for Australia to lead the way in shaping an inclusive sporting culture that fosters growth at the grassroots level, provides options to maintain engagement with talent and builds a solid support base in a competitive market.

Much of the credit for this work must go to the Bingham Cup organisers who have created the momentum and environment for change.

But we have strong leadership in rugby union, both players and administrators, to create the change needed so players feel accepted, regardless of the level of play.

In the end, the only thing that should matter when you’re running onto the pitch with fourteen of your best mates is that you’ve got the right mix of strength, skill and speed to win.

After all, rugby union is a sport for everybody.

20 Sept 2013, 09:22
20 Sept 2013, 09:22#2

Well ... it seems to have grabbed your attention ... clearly you have an interest in this ... why else would you have bothered to start a thread on the subject ...

Are you limp wristed? Do you flap your hands all about when speaking?

Hmmmmm???

Are you a poef???

20 Sept 2013, 09:37
20 Sept 2013, 09:37#3

cleancut: your avitar picture looks a little "limp wristed" mate.

Sorry, couldn't resist pointing this out,,lol It was too ironic to pass up :)

20 Sept 2013, 12:01
20 Sept 2013, 12:01#4

Yeah ... Buzz said the same thing a few weeks back.

Personally I regard it as having attitude.

Oh  ... I'm sure your very sorry!!!

20 Sept 2013, 12:30
20 Sept 2013, 12:30#5

Funny how different words mean different things in different cultures, e.g. if I was to translate this into American English "sorry" would mean, "ah I got you you SOB". But in Kiwi /IEngland type cultures its sort of "sorry to say old chap...". But we all understand each other :)

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
20 Sept 2013, 12:38
20 Sept 2013, 12:38#6

More on topic but "Fag " used to mean different things to the yanks and  us former british colony types .I reckon the South Park meaning is best .

As for the gay rugger or CCs ducky looking avatar ,well not that there's anything wrong with that eh ?

20 Sept 2013, 12:45
20 Sept 2013, 12:45#7

Aaaah ... so you don't like my avatar, hey Wart ... is that perhaps why you decided to change it a smidge??

Yeah ... yeah ... I know ... your innocent!!!

Ever heard of sarcasm, Just Win? ... a different tone changes the meaning ... and since when does a kiwi use the word "old chap" ??

20 Sept 2013, 13:15
20 Sept 2013, 13:15#8

@cleancut,

come on old chap, kiwis have being using that for as long as theyve been saying "crikey, tie me kangaroo down sport", LMFAO, :oD

20 Sept 2013, 13:37
20 Sept 2013, 13:37#9

Ha, ha Cleancut. Maybe you can help clarify things on the meaning of sarcasm and related words:   Is your avatar a direct /“straight” statement of your being a member of the “limp wrist” crowd or is it an ironic statement (avatar shows a saint but really you are let us say euphemistically the opposite)?   This discussion is very meaningful and I am sure all posters find it highly relevant to rugby – perhaps I am being sarcastic? I look forward to your response and clarifications. lol   They say sacrasim is the lowest form of wit but I am not so sure (in American this would be hell no it aint).
NT
ntangaClub Pro336 posts
20 Sept 2013, 13:55
20 Sept 2013, 13:55#10
Attention Clean Cut Boet, someone with the name Spies is looking for ya, do you know them. Its topic number 18 @ the moment.
KA
KalaedFreddieClub Pro495 posts
20 Sept 2013, 14:30
20 Sept 2013, 14:30#11

Each oke on the earth should have the priviledge to choose his way of life.  I may not condone it and I may not like it but it is not my job to condemn the person.  Where I draw the line is when it is trying to convince me of this or that.  In my mind it is the same with religion, believe what ever the fuck you want, but do not come bash me with your version of the "truth" then you are invading my space.

Life itself is a choice, I chose to leave them be and they must do the same, other than that they can do what they want.  But that credo od=f where there is a hole there is a home, that one it is not for me, nê

As for Brother Clean, that avatar was a sign used by Roger |Moore many moons ago for a movie series called the saint and he was better than james bond.. hahahahaha

20 Sept 2013, 14:53
20 Sept 2013, 14:53#12

Simon Templar . Aka the saint. Who could forget him. ? Great series back in the day .

re life styles & differences, yeah I agree to each his own. We are just kidding around do no harm done.

how about giving your predictions on the Ellis park test ? Give them on the other thread & I will register them.

20 Sept 2013, 15:01
20 Sept 2013, 15:01#13

Double post, sorry

20 Sept 2013, 15:15
20 Sept 2013, 15:15#14

Are you suggesting I'm not a nice guy ... hmmm ... halo and all??

How is that possible ... ?? I am deeply loved and respected by all who know me.

No ... I most definitely do not putt from the rough ... nor do I approve of it either.

It is a filthy, perverted habit, practiced by those in serious need of therapy. Like your limp wristed mate, Homowa.

Clearly you don't see it that way at all, old chap!!

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
20 Sept 2013, 15:21
20 Sept 2013, 15:21#15

Good on you Freddie ,cant argue with that ! 

Didnt roger Moore play the 'Saint " ?pre James Bond in blackand white TV days ? { told my kids about B+W telly and they looked at me like I had just fallen outta the sky , the youngest one piped up and said she didnt know they had telly in the "Olden " days ! }

hakwaPro4,146 posts
20 Sept 2013, 15:22
20 Sept 2013, 15:22#16

you are gay CleanCut! 

20 Sept 2013, 17:36
20 Sept 2013, 17:36#17

Now now Hakwa ... no need to be nasty ... !!!

BU
BuzzClub Pro175 posts
20 Sept 2013, 18:33
20 Sept 2013, 18:33#18

CleanCut , I have learnt to respect your avatar, limp wrists do not reflect a limp mind. How is the training. I have been abroad and have some catching up to do. Too much wine and rich food. 

20 Sept 2013, 21:27
20 Sept 2013, 21:27#19

Cleancut : yeah you sound like a decent chap/bloke/fella. Lol & that's a straight statement from me (not sarcastic/ironic/euphemistic )

Cleancut: I hope your not the same poster who attacks the son of a poster on here. If so I take back what I say in the sentance above.

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
21 Sept 2013, 05:17
21 Sept 2013, 05:17#20

Just-win ,he constantly attacks saffexes boy ,he thopught it was joke worthy when the lad was injured .Not a good look .

21 Sept 2013, 14:35
21 Sept 2013, 14:35#21

Thanks for the  clarafication wardad.

i don't understand what goes thru someone's mind  when they decide to attack someone's child (saffix's or messam's or anyone else kid). But we don't have to understand. It's more of a "just FO you prick" response that is required.

IH
IhiClub Pro201 posts
21 Sept 2013, 14:52
21 Sept 2013, 14:52#22

this is not an australian issue but a global one its way worse in the states. i am not going to support a cause thats about accepting people with psychological abnormalities. if you accept homosexuality then you accept pedophilia. mark my words thats the next "barrier" to be broken down. just like old times in human history. great stuff *rolls eyes*

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
21 Sept 2013, 15:32
21 Sept 2013, 15:32#23

Its just that most of us couldnt be arsed worrying about what other folks do in the privacy of their own bedroom .

21 Sept 2013, 15:35
21 Sept 2013, 15:35#24

"if you accept homosexuality then you accept pedophilia."

That's a pretty extreme viewpoint if you ask me. If you believe the two can even be compared then I think you should probably seek professional help. Seriously.

IH
IhiClub Pro201 posts
21 Sept 2013, 15:39
21 Sept 2013, 15:39#25

what bothers me is how its rammed down your throat constantly. now its not a lifestyle choice but a fashion statement. they encourage people to being gay by glamorizing it and make it sexually alluring. it really is sick stuff. but like i say, there is no genetic aspect to it that was debunked in 2001-2003 when the human genome was mapped out. its a psychological abnormality just like pedophilia. if you accept one you have to accept the other and all other psychological propblems. this whole thing is based on bullshit. and these use homophobia to bully people to accept it. practically no  human being in existent has EVER had a phobia of homosexuality! Is everyone now a pedophobe? a hatter? the boot goes on the other foot too and and it shows how warpeds their argument is. it goes way beyond what people do in their own homes it extends into society, did you know that sexually perverse activity that was openly accepted shortly precluded the demise of EVERY civilization that accepted it? yeah ive been looking into this alot.

IH
IhiClub Pro201 posts
21 Sept 2013, 15:41
21 Sept 2013, 15:41#26

Rooinek its like this:

homosexuality: a sexual preference for the same sex
pedophilia: a sexual preference for underage persons

No different. in fact they are very much intertwined and pedophilia has very stronmg associations with homosexuality! particularly where men are concerned. you really dont know what you are talking about mate.

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
21 Sept 2013, 15:45
21 Sept 2013, 15:45#27

Sounds like you are worried about its supposed "allure " like I said couldnt be buggered  worrying about it Any one confident in their sexuality doesnt care either . 

Seems to me you have a bit of an obsession with the subject .

IH
IhiClub Pro201 posts
21 Sept 2013, 15:49
21 Sept 2013, 15:49#28

mate im not in the least bit concerned with my sexuality. i see a wider impaxct here and a deliberate push to manipulate people into being gay. that just isnt right at all. its created an explosion of homsexuality where it would not have been.

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
21 Sept 2013, 15:58
21 Sept 2013, 15:58#29

As I understand it you either are or you arent ,no amount of coercion is going to change that so not my problem .My missus who works a lot with young people tells me heterosexual paedophiles are more of a problem than openly gay people  , a lot of scummy paedos masquerade as normal people and are quick to attack the gay folks to deflect from themselves .

IH
IhiClub Pro201 posts
21 Sept 2013, 16:02
21 Sept 2013, 16:02#30

thats certainly true, hetero pewople can quite easily be pedos but theres more in the homosexuality thing. its a heavily sexual thing. I even saw on tv a program telling teens that if they are unsure about their sexuality then they are definitely gay. its got a much darker side to it then the media wants to portray then there are the health risks which are far more severe too. a little research goes a long way.

BU
BuzzClub Pro175 posts
21 Sept 2013, 16:10
21 Sept 2013, 16:10#31

Ihi

you need to be careful of using lines like this " what bothers me is how its rammed down your throat constantly " in context of this conversation. Ha ha

21 Sept 2013, 16:11
21 Sept 2013, 16:11#32

"Rooinek its like this:

homosexuality: a sexual preference for the same sex
pedophilia: a sexual preference for underage persons

No different"

You're having a laugh, right?

BU
BuzzClub Pro175 posts
21 Sept 2013, 16:17
21 Sept 2013, 16:17#33

The first is between consenting people, the second lacks the obvious. Dont compare the two.

IH
IhiClub Pro201 posts
21 Sept 2013, 16:25
21 Sept 2013, 16:25#34

Buzz they very well need to be compared. whether the one is consentual or not does not change the nature of either one. Both are psychological abnormalities with no genetic basis. So this just highlights how lopsided and malformed their whole argument is. why is one accepted over the other? If one is bad, then so too the other. Its like those confused people who say apartheid is bad but who openly endorse racism under the new era. they cannot see their own hypocrisy. add in the murky reality of homosexuality and it becomes more obvious that this idealistic marketting presented is a complete sham. but yeah, it wont be long before you lot are accepting pedophilia. the age of consent is being pushed lower and lower as people all over the world become more and more morally bankrupt. if you make a consescion in morals then you will always slip into worse things. the age of consent in many countries is as low as 13 and i see the eu quietly working to push that further. breaking down these barriers and all that. i for one wont be a part of any of this garbage. I know better then that and I can see homosexuality for what it is.

BU
BuzzClub Pro175 posts
21 Sept 2013, 16:33
21 Sept 2013, 16:33#35

You lot ? who do you think you are talking to?. I think i will end this conversation right now because you sound like a psychopath. In future if you choose to debate , you should watch yourself to start making assumptions about people and our beliefs.

"but yeah, it wont be long before you lot are accepting pedophilia" .

You sound like you have a religious conviction , prehaps if that be the case, you need to step forward and take on the instituation that has got away with both " Abominations " for so long. Once you have dealt with them, then feel free to come cast your judgement on me or tell me what i will be accepting of.

Go well.