FORUM / RUGBY /  Germany vs the Bargies

Germany vs the Bargies

Started by Mozart27 REPLIES265 VIEWS· 10 Jul 2014, 03:15
10 Jul 2014, 03:15
10 Jul 2014, 03:15#1

Well we have one RC nation in the SWC final. A diminished Argentina missed the pace of Di Maria down the wing, allowing the big Dutch defenders to maintain shape. A shoot out is a cruel way to decide things, but on balance Argentina created the better chances in a tight game. Both Messi and Robben were well solved by the defences . Messi had a strangely off game, hardly showing any of his magic until he brilliantly started the move where   Higuain side netted a great chance. His set piece balls were also heavy footed and well off his usual standard.

Germany will be a tough nut, hopefully Di Maria can play, if only off the bench.

10 Jul 2014, 12:00
10 Jul 2014, 12:00#2
 The game was very equal and a penalty shoot-out seemed inevitable long before the end of the game. Germany will, without a doubt, be a tougher nut to crack than the Dutch. The Dutch had, in some ways, a similar experience than against CRC with a number of goals just going missing. I think the German defence is much better than the Dutch and in players like Muller they has strikers who are not that far behind Messi. 
10 Jul 2014, 12:06
10 Jul 2014, 12:06#3
 Wasn't Messi under an injury cloud?  
10 Jul 2014, 12:14
10 Jul 2014, 12:14#4

10 Jul 2014, 12:20
10 Jul 2014, 12:20#5
 windpomp I have not watched a single WC game. The sight of oaks going around in circles is a bore. 
Moz I just saw some comment re Messi being injured. So it might explain his having an off day.
10 Jul 2014, 12:30
10 Jul 2014, 12:30#6

Beeno1

July 10, 2014, 10:20:35  windpomp I have not watched a single WC game. The sight of oaks going around in circles is a bore. 
Moz I just saw some comment re Messi being injured. So it might explain his having an off day.
It would  not be boring if you know and understand the rules and, importantly, the dynamics of the game.
BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
10 Jul 2014, 12:38
10 Jul 2014, 12:38#7

Deutschland uber alles.

10 Jul 2014, 12:43
10 Jul 2014, 12:43#8
 windpomp look you can play, is it 90 minutes, with the objective of the game - goal scoring - not being achieved!!! The game is fundamentally flawed. Tedious stuff.
Given Germany beat Brazil 7-1  they will propably be favourites. Let's trust there is no Maradonna type hand of God deciding goal. The South Americans are desparate to take this.

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
10 Jul 2014, 14:51
10 Jul 2014, 14:51#9
Germany are the essence of a well-oiled machine; every piece meticulously doing it's job with total efficiency. They are selfless in the red zone, and it makes their goals look effortless. Argentina are a strong side, but Germany are the better team with some outstanding individuals. That slick passing and movement off the ball is devastating, from deep in their half to netting in the other end in a few clever strokes. If Germany turn up, it could be a hard day for Argentina - a side Germany thrashed in the last World Cup Messi and all. I'm not basing this on the demolition of Brazil either.

@Ceradyne: Football is mostly a boring game, especially in the leagues dominated by big money. It's always the way, where the money is, the atmosphere and spectacle isn't. That said, you get teams like the current German side that make it a joy to watch. It's not a dynamic sport like Rugby Union, more like Basketball in fact, so there lies Beeno's lack of interest I think.

10 Jul 2014, 15:26
10 Jul 2014, 15:26#10
 When is the final, I must make an effort to see it. Watched the last final with Spain and the Netherlands. Spain's fast and slick passing was impressive in terms of skill.  
10 Jul 2014, 15:34
10 Jul 2014, 15:34#11
 Sun-Tzu, I beg to differ about it being boring. I am not saying that there are no boring games ever but in general, I don't find it boring. I have seen lots of boring rugby games, TBH. There was one in particular between the Lions and (IIRC) the Chiefs. It was a hell of a high scoring game with both teams getting well above 60 points each. A lot of poeple found that a brilliant exciting game. It was a defensive nightmare and technically a load of BS, IMO. Bot teams just checked defence out the window and it became a joke.

Football is, IMO,  a lot like test cricket in many ways. Always a battle of tactical and technical skills.
10 Jul 2014, 15:35
10 Jul 2014, 15:35#12

My son is going for football trials with a local semi pro club this evening. He and his mates were having a kick around on the field after school and the manger of the club who's grandchild is at my sons school, came up to him and invited him for a trial.

My son just laughed at him asking if he was taking the piss - he informed the gent that he does not play football, the last time he did play was 6 years ago as a 10 year old - the gent informed him that he was the most impressive non playing footballer he had ever seen.

Its all very strange, he is going to give it a go with no expectations - if he makes it, they will pay him £125 a game.

Its funny how opportunities present themselves at times. My little man is a rugby and cricket player who loves football as a fan.....that's been him up to this point. Apart from him messing around with a football at home, I know nothing of his football skills. 

All I do know is that he is a handy left handed bat and a rugby player with the gift to create........but football????  

10 Jul 2014, 15:41
10 Jul 2014, 15:41#13
 Saffex]Good luck to your son - hopes he makes it.
10 Jul 2014, 15:43
10 Jul 2014, 15:43#14
To be honest I am not bothered either way - its a bit of a laugh really - he would love to make it for the pocket money and he loves any ball game really  
10 Jul 2014, 16:07
10 Jul 2014, 16:07#15
 Yep. If his son starts playing football the any time soon we will see the rise of Safesex, the esteemed football coach....
10 Jul 2014, 16:09
10 Jul 2014, 16:09#16
No chance Dutchie.......football bores me   
10 Jul 2014, 16:12
10 Jul 2014, 16:12#17
 Ahhh, so you also do not understand the game.
10 Jul 2014, 16:16
10 Jul 2014, 16:16#18
Obvious question.  Do you undertand any game?   I have  seen none of that on this site at all - that being the reason for the question.
10 Jul 2014, 16:52
10 Jul 2014, 16:52#19
 Congrats snapster your boy obviously has his mother's talent!

10 Jul 2014, 16:53
10 Jul 2014, 16:53#20

I also had the typical South African view that soccer is boring. Then during my first stay in London in 1970, I watched a bit of the World Cup on TV with Pele', Mueller and Jairzinho....and I had a quick conversion. It's not rugby, but it's a tactically fascinating game.

In the eighties back in London I went to many Tottenham games, saw Hoddle weave his magic...it was all very enjoyable. And I saw the Bargies win the WC in 86 in Mexico City. We were driven to the game by our local sub guys....it took 2.5 hours to get back to the hotel, through all the tiny streets of the supposed short cut....but it was immense. Only the Olympics or for us rugby folk, the RWC, would compare.

Again in the nineties we had several of the 94 WC games in Chicago, including the Germany vs Belgium RD of 16 game. The attendances were huge....but the notion of watching a continuous game was foreign to US audiences. They kept filing past to get beers during the action. 

For me rugby is the king of team games. It tests speed, strength and endurance...as well as vision. And it tests so many aspects of each of those. It's a marvellous thing we have. But for those willing to make the ef fort to understand the chess game that happened yesterday between Argentina and the admirable Dutch.....there are great rewards.

And just think how many young okes Dave could discover in soccer.

10 Jul 2014, 17:16
10 Jul 2014, 17:16#21
 Ou Maaikie, I am by no means saying that I am a massive expert on football and I am not saying that about rugby either but I think that I understand both of them well enough not to make a clown of myself. Now I know that you would disagree with the last part, but who gives a shit about your opinion? Not me in any case. Especially since 99% of your opinions are based on BS in any case. Hence the reason why yousneak away from arguments, so often.

BTW, you have again failed to respond to the German coaching issue.
10 Jul 2014, 21:15
10 Jul 2014, 21:15#22
 I did respond based on the comments of the experts - not your loony ideas.  
10 Jul 2014, 22:16
10 Jul 2014, 22:16#23
 Neeeee boet. It is not that easy. I asked you this:

Do you really think  that Pep Guardiola, Jurgen Klopp or any high  paid,  high profiles German manager is going to let Jachim  Low prescribe and dictate to them how the should coach. Let alone someone like Arsene Wenger who has three German WC squad members, i.e. Metzul Ozil, Per Mertesacker and Lukas Podolski, in his side. In adition,  he has another young future German star, Sergio Gnabry in his side as well. There is not a snowball's hope  in  hell, mate.

I don't want to know the unnamed "experts' " comments. I want your opinion.
10 Jul 2014, 22:36
10 Jul 2014, 22:36#24
WINDPOMP WE CAN HEARTILY CONCUR THAT YOU ARE NEITHER AN EXPERT ON FOOTBALL OR RUGBY.  WELL SAID WINDPOMP! 
10 Jul 2014, 23:28
10 Jul 2014, 23:28#25
 You have missed the keyword "massive" ou Beenbal. Look, we know that your writing skills are pretty kak but it seems your reading skills are not a lot better either.
Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
11 Jul 2014, 22:06
11 Jul 2014, 22:06#26
 Ceradyne, I was always very interested in warfare as a child. As such I enjoyed rugby union for it's very close resemblance to maneuver warfare. Deep tactical and strategical concepts are the only reason I watch any form of sport, and hence that being the only real topic I truly enjoy talking about when it comes to rugby. Football, which is extremely close to basketball in it's movement etc, is just not deep enough for my liking. When it comes down to it, chess, chinese chess, rugby union and american football are far richer than anything football can come up with. That's just my feelings on the game as it pertains to me. I did however enjoy football more in the 90s before it became a glorified soap opera. And when it comes down to tactics? It depends on which leagues you are talking about. Serie A is slower but more tactical, the Premiership is faster but more simplified, La Liga is very technical (a mix of the two). The most enjoyable leagues are not where the money is. Rugby has become ore boring in the South due to the powers that be wanting to force all nations to conform to one style via the rules. It has made rugby more uniform and less engrossing. Back in the day each nation had a very distinct flavour, or culture, of rugby that made it more interesting. Very soon my interest in rugby will disappear. As the suits whore out these fixtures and ruin the rugby calendar I become more bored, and the blatant match fixing isn't helping either - in fact that has severely tainted the game for me. These mostly the reason why my periods of posting can be so far apart. But that said, this World Cup has been very unusual in that it has created some interest and I look forward to Germany bringing back what is rightfully theirs
RE
redsmanPro1,710 posts
12 Jul 2014, 07:31
12 Jul 2014, 07:31#27
 Apparently 70000 argentinians in town for the final... could be big time rioting if things go or dont go there way...
Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
12 Jul 2014, 12:21
12 Jul 2014, 12:21#28
Redsman, I had the opportunity many years ago to see a Primera fixture, San Lorenzo. I was a tad nervous after seeing some of the riots on tv; bricks, flares and all out warfare! The game I attended was fine, but when it gets ugly it's brutal. Fingers crossed the "elite" fans don't start something that gets out of hand.