FORUM / RUGBY /  Hey Cloudy this beats a mean boil!

Hey Cloudy this beats a mean boil!

Started by Beeno15 REPLIES248 VIEWS· 15 Nov 2013, 11:55
15 Nov 2013, 11:55
15 Nov 2013, 11:55#1

Ex Sport 24

Cape Town - Springbok lock Bakkies Botha has quipped that the boerewors he makes has lured so many South Africans to French club Toulon.

The 76-Test veteran has taken a little bit of South Africa with him to the south of France, where he makes his own boerewors.

He is back in the Bok set-up for the first time since the 2011 World Cup and is expected to be named in the starting team for Sunday's Test against Scotland in Edinburgh.

"When I first moved to Toulon, I think Joe van Niekerk was the only South African there, but we’ve since been joined by a lot of others,” Botha told the SA Rugby website.

Van Niekerk, Danie Rossouw, Bryan Habana, Michael Claassens and Juan Smith are the other South Africans plying their trade at Toulon.

“I don’t know if it’s my boerewors or the Euro that is luring the guys to Toulon, but it’s great to have them there. I get a lot of requests for boerewors from the guys, when they are keen for a braai, and I’m always happy to help.

“Even Matt Gitaeu from Australia phones from time to time to order some ‘boerie’ and then I just tell him to come by and pick up a packet.

“It’s always nice to have a lekker BBQ with the guys and especially to show the English and Aussie players how to do it properly," continued Botha.

The 34-year-old Botha said he is thoroughly enjoying being back in the Bok fold and is happy to play a mentoring role to young locks like Eben Etzebeth and Pieter-Steph du Toit.

South Africa's Test against Scotland at Murrayfield kicks off at 17:00 (SA time) on Sunday.

15 Nov 2013, 12:27
15 Nov 2013, 12:27#2

Hell yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhh!!!

A boring bland, tasteless boil could never compete.

Looks like ol Bakkies makes a mean boerewors.

Guess what I'll be braaing tonight??? A coupla boerewors rolls and a brew or two ... can't wait to get home!!

Now you tell me ... how could you ever have doubts about his Bok inclusion ... huh?? He's a must!!

Gooooooooooooo Bakkieessssssssssss!!!!

Oh and Beeno ... don't be naughty tonight!! You stick with your tossed salad and boiled baby carrots. Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahaaaa!!!

15 Nov 2013, 12:37
15 Nov 2013, 12:37#3
Man you are a mean oak CC!!!I howver am not as bad off as you think. I buoght some lekker malay pickled fish - superb flavour. But I am doing well on the diet. I cant help but wonder about all this. I think off Daniel refusing the rich food of the King and he and his companions thriving. Horses eat carrots and grass , oats etc and do very well.
BUT faced with Bakkies boerewors such contemplations fly out the window.Cloudy's mean boil story plays on my mind!

15 Nov 2013, 12:57
15 Nov 2013, 12:57#4

Yeah, I recall that passage. Word has it he looked awesome in comparison.

Farmers are injection their beef with steroids for additional weight at the abattoirs these days and we end up ingesting it.

We are systematically poisoning ourselves. Feeding our children garbage bought at fast food joints. It's no wonder we have an obesity epidemic in the country.

I too eat a lot of fruit and veges, Beeno my man. One has to watch what you put in your mouth these days or your liable to pick up health issues like diabetes, heart disease and even an assortment of cancer come from the wrong diet. As a 50 year old geezer I've taken careful note of this.

Enough of the lecture.

Look forward to my boerewors roll tonight.

15 Nov 2013, 14:58
15 Nov 2013, 14:58#5

Yeah ... all that's missing now is the chefs hat and apron.

Maybe he'll start his own cooking program on TV.

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
15 Nov 2013, 15:43
15 Nov 2013, 15:43#6
 Black pudding ,made by my old dad was pretty mean ! and the " Goodies" made it into a Yorkshire martial art called "Ecky Thoomp !"