FORUM / RUGBY /  Hi all

Hi all

Started by canrugby14 REPLIES231 VIEWS· 08 Mar 2012, 02:00
CA
canrugbyClub Pro640 posts
08 Mar 2012, 23:03
08 Mar 2012, 23:03#1

Hi all. Have been Lurking these boards for the last few months or so and decided to join.

From Vancouver Canada, and played Rugby for around 10 year or so. Married an SA,  so hopefully you will adopt me as a fellow SA. :) Some of her family back home is big time into Rugby, and with phones these days I can have some pretty good chats about it with them. Will be nice to chat with you guys now as well. :)

About a year ago decided to purchase the channel that carries all the Rugby games over here. It was a great decision. Watched the Currie cup last year and took to the Stormers. So I have somewhat become a Stormers fan. Hopefully that's okay.

Anyway, will be nice to get to know you all, and learn much more about SA rugby. Hopefully one day my Country could come close to competing with yours in this sport.

Arthur JohnPro1,748 posts
08 Mar 2012, 23:35
08 Mar 2012, 23:35#2

Expat living in the lower mainland....sorry to read that you have taken to the Stormers.

We are all SHARKS supporters as well as the BOKS.

Keep watching Setanta well worth the $15émonth.

CA
09 Mar 2012, 00:00
09 Mar 2012, 00:00#3

It's not setanta anymore. It's Sportsnet world. Still pretty good and well worth it though like you said.

The Sharks are a solid side, but enjoyed the style of play from the Stormers so far.

As for the Boks, I will always support them. Great country, and a great team. Great women to. ;)

If the two countries do meet, obviously I will cheer for Canada, but will know the outcome. So It's more like a 1A and 1B thing when it comes to Rugby Canada and SA Rugby. I cheer for both.

09 Mar 2012, 00:06
09 Mar 2012, 00:06#4

Welcome and enjoy the ride

US
UsernamePro1,098 posts
09 Mar 2012, 00:11
09 Mar 2012, 00:11#5

Welcome CanRugby! Believe it or not, there was a time when Canada were about where Italy are now. Hope you enjoy your stay ;)

09 Mar 2012, 00:15
09 Mar 2012, 00:15#6

Greetings from Chicago.....nobody supports the Sharks here, only the Stormers!

CA
09 Mar 2012, 00:24
09 Mar 2012, 00:24#7

Welcome CanRugby! Believe it or not, there was a time when Canada were about where Italy are now. Hope you enjoy your stay ;)

Thanks!

Actually, I believe we were onced ranked in the top ten in the early 90's. As of right now I believe Italy is ranked 12th, with Canada at 13th. ANyway,  It was a good time to be a fan of rugby in my country at that time.  I really believe we can get there again with the group of guys we have now. We are starting to get an indentity again.

09 Mar 2012, 01:56
09 Mar 2012, 01:56#8

Welcome aboard,canrugby, you're a man of excellent taste, a SAFFA wife, Stormers and the Boks....brilliant!!.....have you tried Biltong and Boerewors?

CA
09 Mar 2012, 02:18
09 Mar 2012, 02:18#9

Welcome aboard,canrugby, you're a man of excellent taste, a SAFFA wife, Stormers and the Boks....brilliant!!.....have you tried Biltong and Boerewors?

Have I?? I like to think I've mastered cooking Boerewors. :) Can't get enough of it. I have eatin Biltong, and really like the Chili bites. We have a big SA store out here that me and my In laws go to every month and stock up on SA food. Every party they have is a feast. Also don't mind, how do you spell it, pape? It's like mashed patatoes with a tomato sauce on it. Pretty good.

09 Mar 2012, 02:52
09 Mar 2012, 02:52#10

There's an art to braaing Boerewors...I  confess to being an expert. I'm not sure about about the mash with Tom sauce though....even to me that's a new one. The buggers might have invented it after I left the country LOL

On a more serious note, the idea is for the site to become an international rugby hub locked in union if you don't mind the pun. It's extremely difficult for a variety of reasons and although there are several kiwis on here it's been difficult to get Ozzie, Scottish, Irish and Welsh to ruck with us. Getting saffa's on board is relatively easy and even though the board has grown at a phenomenal rate we'll just keep trying, so please, if you know of anyone, ask them along.

Cheers and happy rucking.

09 Mar 2012, 10:35
09 Mar 2012, 10:35#11

Warm welcome to you Canrugby and also to you Arthur John. It is really great to have so many new guys joining us.

Enjoy the rucking that goes on here!  Me - I am a Stormers man with a soft spot for the Cheethas.

09 Mar 2012, 15:19
09 Mar 2012, 15:19#12

Methinks canrugby is referring to pap. My one daughter in law also thought that it was mashed potatoes when she first saw.

There is not really a lot of secrets to braaiing (cooking on an open fire, for canrugby's sake) boerewors. The idea is to have it cooked without letting the sauses escape by damaging the skin or casing of the sausages either by pricking it with a fork or by having your fire to hot causing the casing to crack open, and letting the sauses escape. I do not normally cut or divide the boerewors into smaller pieces, but having it in a roll on the grid. Then to test of it is done, I regularly bend over on of the ends, and the moment that it "breaks", I take it off. Then the meat inside of the casing is neither too raw, nor too overcooked (causing it to be dry and without any of the sauses left).

09 Mar 2012, 15:45
09 Mar 2012, 15:45#13

windpomp I always prick my wors but do have it on the grid as a roll as well. That lets a lot of fat etc escape -essential to do in my view.  Also use the break  test and it works well esepcially when the light is not goo dfor any reason.

Not had a braai at home for a while due to family, apart from hound dog Beeno, going vegetarian.

US
UsernamePro1,098 posts
09 Mar 2012, 15:47
09 Mar 2012, 15:47#14

Everything one needs to know about the braai: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vq2SOmwzjUU

:)

09 Mar 2012, 20:01
09 Mar 2012, 20:01#15

So Beeno likes his boerewors dry and with no juicyness at all then? OK. Your choice, your right. LOL