FORUM / RUGBY /  How did the SA Players perform today

How did the SA Players perform today

Started by clevermike8 REPLIES256 VIEWS· 07 Jun 2014, 20:59
07 Jun 2014, 20:59
07 Jun 2014, 20:59#1

I think a person needs to eb realistic - this is not an itnernational team they played against - but basically a combination of players that at present is not in any test team.  

Le Roux

Brilliant in all facets of play - he is better than he was last year and a credit to the team.

Habana

Still the best wing in the world - no problem with his selection.

Pietersen

Nothing to show that he will succeed at 13 - missed a few tackles and did not perform any real plays of significance

Francois Steyn 

Did his normal of minimal value to the team.   The only time when the backline looked dangerous was when h e was not involved in any attacking move.   Was invisible 90% of the time.

Morne Steyn

It was clear why Stade Francais does not want him as their starting flyhalf.  His penalty line kicks represented a gain of 20 meters on average and he was hessitant and poor in execution of virtually everything.  Goosen was a huge improvement in teh 10 minutes he came on

Hendricks 

Had two runs in space - show speed - but nothing much to report

Pienaar

A reasonable game - but his kicking was not really objective-orientated

Vermeulen

Always a hard worker and together with Louw the best forward on the Park

Alberts

Did he in fact play?  O yes - he gave away one penalty and spilled another ball.   He tried a repeat of the Alberts Treeby tackle technique and it failed again.

Matfield 

The line outs thrown to him he took - but he called very few line outs to be thrown to him.  He was involved in one of the tries.  The main problem is the scrums were an unadulterated mess and for that the props, hooker and the locks must share the blame.  His support in that regard was non-existent.  We need a lock that can be strong in scrumming and Matfield failed in that regard.

Botha

He scored a try and must be credited for that.   For the rest is contribution was a mixed bag and nothing special.   We need a lock that can assist in scrumming and he did not do anything in the relevant regard.

Jannie du Plessis

Can he still scrum at all withoout goring backwards and giving away penalties.  Absolute failure in that regard

Bismarck

Tried very hard and was very useful.

Mtawarire

A quiet game with scrumming being a problem - nu support forthcoming from Bakkies meant a serious problem for him as well.

Replacement Players

Mvovo - outstanding

Goosen  - was a huge improvement on the floundering Morne

Du Preez - Quicker Service than provided by Pienaar

Burger -  Major improvement on Alberts

Gurthro -  Absolutely useless

Oosthuizen - Did his neck injury impact on his scrumming?  Maybe not - his supprting lock was Matfield - who gave no support in the ecrum at all.

The players that Meyer should retain are Le Roux, Habana. Mvovo. Pietersen (as a wing - he is no 13 and will never be one - Vermeulen, Louw, Bismarck and Mtawarire.

We need a center pair and the present one is totally inadequate.   Morne needs to go - he produced nothing at all.   Francois Steyn should be sent post-haste to Japan.

Willem Alberts 90% of the time did nothing.   We need a lock combination that can provide force in the Tight 5 and both Bakkies and Matfield provided zero scrumming support.   Jannie du Plessis - he should start his practice as a doctor soonest - a prop he is not anymore.

Gurthro should be given and eating contest against Fat Frarsie and Fat Alberts.  That is all those three are good for.

07 Jun 2014, 21:06
07 Jun 2014, 21:06#2
Well I guess with that report we lost the game as you predicted....but hold on....we won. Mike you are a disgraceful Bok fan...and a world class fool.

07 Jun 2014, 21:21
07 Jun 2014, 21:21#3
You remain a rugby illiterate.  We won the game because half the players contributed to a good performance.  The scrumming was a disgrace - the worst I have seen from any Springbok team ever.   Remember this is not a test side they played against - it is a collection of players from various countries - most of whom will never be more than club players.
I had hesitated about our chances - but players like Habana. Le Roux, Louw. Vermelen and Goosen (after he came on) made a huge difference and  showed they are of the best in the world in their positions.   We cannot go into test series with the present center combination and tight 5 - we will be slaughtered in scrums and have a dead backline.  The only time there really was good backline play was when the Steyn's were not involved at all.  .           
07 Jun 2014, 21:45
07 Jun 2014, 21:45#4
 ".....it is a collection of players from various countries - most of whom will never be more than club players."

15     FB     James O'Connor - 44 International caps
14     W     Drew Mitchell - 63 International caps
13     C     Rene Ranger - 6 International caps
12     C     Wynand Olivier - 37 International caps
11     W     Hosea Gear - 14 International caps
10     FH     Matt Giteau - 92 International caps
9     SH     Rory Kockott - 0 International caps
1     P     Sona Taumalolo - 13 International caps
2     H     Craig Burden - 0 International caps
3     P     Carl Hayman - 45 International caps
4     L     Juandre Kruger - 17 International caps
5     L     Alistair Hargreaves - 4 International caps
6     F     Mamuka Gorgodze - 57 International caps       
7     F     Steffon Armitage - 5 International caps
8     N8     Roger Wilson - 1 International caps
Replacements
16     R     Andrew Hore - 83 International caps
17     R     Schalk Ferreira - 0 International caps
18     R     Pat Cilliers - 6 International caps
19     R     Joe Tekori - 37 International caps
20     R     Alexandre Lapandry - 10 International caps
21     R     Jimmy Cowan - 51 International caps       
22     R     Francois Trinh-Duc - 49 International caps
23     R     Benson Stanley - 3 International caps
07 Jun 2014, 21:59
07 Jun 2014, 21:59#5
Most of the players with international caps in fact retired from playing international rugby years ago or not of international standard anymore.  That is why they play club rugby in France - where they are regarded as good enough on CLUB level.   However, Dof Doos - club rugby in England is better than Super 15 according to the dimmest fuck ever on this site.  
The Aussies slammed the French today -  brings things into perspective does it not?    
FO
ForeverArizonaClub Pro580 posts
08 Jun 2014, 00:27
08 Jun 2014, 00:27#6
 Mike...stop trying to sell us your swiss-cheese rugby theories that are full of holes.You bleat on and on and on and on about the same stuff.YOU ARE NOT IN CHARGE OF THE BOKS!!!!!Do you get it...What you say doesn't matter it what HM says that's the chip that counts.Anyway...carry on.
08 Jun 2014, 00:47
08 Jun 2014, 00:47#7

June 07, 2014, 19:59:07  Dof Doos
Most of the players with international caps in fact retired from playing international rugby years ago or not of international standard anymore.  That is why they play club rugby in France - where they are regarded as good enough on CLUB level.   However, Dof Doos - club rugby in England is better than Super 15 according to the dimmest fuck ever on this site.  
The Aussies slammed the French today -  brings things into perspective does it not?   

Hahahaha. So predictable. I knew that was coming. Just not sure when. Go look what you wrote, you clown. You said that they will never be more than club players. The are all already more than club players. All of them, bar Kockott, Burden and Ferreira. That is why you always look like a blithering idiot. You talk without thinking. Alan Solomon comes out with praise for Heyneke Meyer and you immediately jump in and say that he would of course be full of praise for HM because he is assisting him. Hahahaha. What a stupid fucking idiot you are.

You come out saying that Toulon has dropped Bakkies to the bench because you haven't seen him play. Then you say that it must have been because he was subbed and that you haven't watched the full games. Only the last parts of the games. That, again, was after you first said that you have studied all  the games. Instead of just accepting that you made a balls-up, you wait a few weeks and then again say that Bakkies has now been benched in favour of Ali Williams, only to be reminded that Bakkies and Ali were actually both on the field with Ali (a number 5 lock) in his normal position and Bakkies in his normal no 4 jersey.

Keep it up, you provide us with lots of fun and laughter. You sure make for some great entertainment. A laugh a minute.
08 Jun 2014, 01:22
08 Jun 2014, 01:22#8
Haha well a Barbarians team with many of the same players just beat a Pom second 15.... And that led all these fools to predict they would beat the Boks. Now they try to spin their humiliating flop. What angle will the OOm come up with next....who could say...but we do know it will be unintentionally funny.  
08 Jun 2014, 10:46
08 Jun 2014, 10:46#9
Don't you mean a Pom's 'D' team.