27 Jun 2014, 02:30#2
Lions propsSchalk Van Der Merwe = 105kgsJulian Redelinghuys = 110kgsRuan Dreyer = 110kgs
Schalk and Julian are the first choice props for the Lions.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
MOMozartCaptain49,914 posts
27 Jun 2014, 02:45#3
Nonetheless, Owen Franks and Jannie du Plessis are 120kg types. That means Marcel is giving up 20lbs. It scarcely seems possible or sustainable. .
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
CLclevermikeCoach57,555 posts
27 Jun 2014, 06:20#4
Which Marcel are you talking about here? Certainly not Marcel van der Merwe. Wikipedia gives his weight as 121 kgs. SA Rugby in his profile gave it as 128 kgs. Where did you find the 112 kgs myth - is this again one of your misleading posts to create doubts/false impressions in the mind of people?
If there is a weight problem among the forwards - it is with Matfield. In his book he gave his playing weight as 106 kgs - making him a real stringbean. However his profile and weight given before matches indicates 110 kgs. That means he is lighter than all other locks between 10 and 20 kgs - depending on which weight you take as his real weight . Now that is a problem - if there is any.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
27 Jun 2014, 07:24#5
The reference is given in the string opening post old chop. Just click on it and watch the official Bulls information as they introduce the players. And then wipe the egg off your face.
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
27 Jun 2014, 07:38#6
Why should the Bulls website - rarely ever updated in any event - be correct and the official SA website be wrong? Wikipedia is linked to that site and is updated regularly in liaison with the official website. You should check info before spalssing it all over this site - it may save you embarrassment.
Caught out gain writing bullshit on this site again and now running for cover. Sorry - you are in the US and I cannot send you additional eggs from here - there certainly is not enough in the US to cover the BS you wrote here.
Why not respond to Matfield being way under acceptable weight for a lock and tr y and save some face?
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
27 Jun 2014, 16:48#9
Are you bloody dim. The official SA Rugby site gives his weight as 128 kgs. That is what he weighs - not some quote from a rugby writer who probably got his weight wrong in any event by typing 112 and not 121 as his weight. The latter is the weight given by Wikipedia.
I know you see 20% of what goes on on a rugby field - but if you cannot see that Van der Merwe cannot possibly weigh 112 kgs - I will have to accept that you really only see 10%.
So Mozart is right and the official SA rugby website is wrong. Bullshit baffles brains in this case.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
27 Jun 2014, 17:15#10
So the Bulls site is wrong and the numbers quoted on the screen are 16 kgs too light.....look at the video clip retard.
27 Jun 2014, 17:26#11
Bulls weight is before a lekker braai, Wikipedia is after that lekker braai, official SA Rugby site is an inflated number by the same government employee in charge of estimating the demands on the power grid
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
27 Jun 2014, 17:40#13
Sure Mozart
Shall we look again at the number of scrum penalties Jannie gives away per game and then discuss this fairy tale again. Jannie used to be very solid - but at 31 he is getting in a rugby sense "over the hill" - so think about that one for a while as well.
27 Jun 2014, 17:50#14
All Jannie needs is some proper management and rotation - a little Owen Franks treatment. He has played a lot of rugby in the past couple years - too much no matter what your age. Look at the struggles of our other young "tightheads" Malherbe and Oosthuizen to even stay match fit under a lesser load.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
27 Jun 2014, 17:52#15
Exactly...the man is a rock and a fabulous chara cter.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
SASaffolk Captain30,741 posts
27 Jun 2014, 17:55#16
Ah so the SA rugby site is wrong, but more to the point - one only needs to look at him to realise he is NOT 112kg - good one Moz
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
27 Jun 2014, 17:59#17
Mozart lives on cloud 9 in a dream world of his own. He enver givs up - this story about Marcel being 112 kgs will stick with him like glue. Two years from now - he would still be repeating it - whether it is tripe or not.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
27 Jun 2014, 18:13#19
At 6'2 " with an average frame for a prop he is hardly huge. My guess is he is about 115 kgs with a lot of the usual weight add on hype. Can he really scrum though....time will tell whether he is more effective than your last tighthead pick... Coenie.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
27 Jun 2014, 19:26#21
"No he is huge" hahaha...well I guess that clinches it.
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
27 Jun 2014, 21:02#22
Is kak praat 'n saak van geloof by jou?
27 Jun 2014, 23:13#23
You're argument says it all, pathetic and lowly.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
27 Jun 2014, 23:17#24
Speechless in English the Oom tries his luck in the taal. But it's not the language that's the issue....its the thought process.
28 Jun 2014, 03:10#26
What would be really helpful would is if he started the game, then the pre-match stats on each player in the line up would help massively in clearing the air!
I would ask him on Twitter but then there would be traces of my life left to you bunch of losers, and seeing how you lot treated Dave (When personal info was leaked) makes me think I'd rather keep myself to myself.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
28 Jun 2014, 03:52#27
Good idea Cheesy. So check the pre match stats in the clip I posted at the top of the string. It's not hard, just use your thumb and click on the link. Then apologize.
28 Jun 2014, 04:05#28
Mozfart, I'll take you're evidence on board when you take all the rest of the evidence on board.
28 Jun 2014, 04:14#29
Dan Coles = 115kgJuan Figallo = 112kgBeast = 116kgJoe Marler = 115kgThomas Domingo = 112kgs
All test quality props that excel, especially Juan Figallo who is one of the best props out there IMO.
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
28 Jun 2014, 05:25#30
So Matfield admits he weighs 107 kgs - that was the figure in his book as well. Yet in the pre-match team photos of players he is given as weighing 110 kgs. Those figures can be wrong insofar as weight issues are concerned.
Now lets look at the data:-
Marcel van der Merwe
SA Rugby Officiakl website : 128 kgsWikipedia : 121 kgsPre-match info : 112 kgs.
Victor Matfield
SA Rugby Official website : 110 kgsWikipedia : 112 kgsPre-match info : 110 kgs.
Matfioeld himself stated repeatedly he weighs 107 kgs - both in his books and in the twitter response as mentioned above.
Now lets look at the weights of the other Props and locks:-
Props
Jannie du Plessis = 121 kgsFrans Malherbe = 123 kgsCoeni Oosthuizzen = 127 kgsBeast = 115 kgsBen Franks = 120 kgsOwen Franks = 120 kgsJames Slipper = 117 kgs
Locks
Victor Matfield = 107 kgsLood de Jager = 123 kgsEben Etzebeth = 118 kgsP-S du Toit = 118 kgsBrodie Retallick = 121 kgsSam Whitelock = 114 kgsTomas Lavanini = 130 kgs
It is clear that the weight of props nowadays tends to be between 115 and 130 kgs. What it will be in future is questionable - the two SA Under 20 props in the recent WC series were both over 130 kgs
As to locks the more or less general situation is that the weight of locks are in the range between 114 and 124 kgs - with Lavanini way beyond that figure.
Even an 18 year old Scherlerling of the Under 20 WC weighs in at 108 kgs and is likely to be 118 kgs at 21. The future looks like players in general being between 115 and 125 kgs.
According to his own admission Matfield weighs in at 107 kgs. That is more or less what a loosie weighs nowadays and is far below the general physical characteristics of present lock forwards.
Can a light weight player still make the grade in an environment where physical strength is a seri ous consideration - I doubt it very, very much.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
28 Jun 2014, 07:27#31
Oh I think you have taken my evidence on board Cheesy. That's why you followed your little hissyfit with a post defending smaller props. How transparent can you be....moron.
28 Jun 2014, 14:27#32
Really, because my first post was the same. I just backed it up with more evidence that you don't know what you're talking about. Hell, you don't even watch the full 80 minutes of a rugby match so you are most definitely clueless. Geez , you're a weasel.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
29 Jun 2014, 01:26#33
Sure Cheezy...you never looked.....hahaha. But based on his scrumming today Marcel might be 85 kegs. Drilled by a dominated pack. Marcel's flop against the Lions is no fluke. Neither Coenie nor Marcel can scrum...period.