The lad is on fire with the Lions at the moment, breaking the line at will and those touches of his are second to none.
He was never at home with the Stormers for some unknown reason, but am sure the loss of his dad played a part
The lad is on fire with the Lions at the moment, breaking the line at will and those touches of his are second to none.
He was never at home with the Stormers for some unknown reason, but am sure the loss of his dad played a part
Currie cup is showing live now on the rugby channe in NZ so that is great. I stayed up last night as I was to excited to sleep after the Bok performance and managed to catch the first half of Lions Griquas.
I wouldn't read too much into that. Griquas are suffering a few injuries and it was one of those games in which Jantjies thrives. Not much defence, just all out attack and both teams having a crack. Jantjies was not the only oke making line breaks. They all were.
I am glad for Jantjies though. This is his maximum level and no higher. Currie cup is where he belongs. Anything else is just too big a step up for him. Super rugby is too intensive for him and of course, international is a much different and higher level of intensity on top of that so he is like a fish out of water there. He does not have BMT and you need that above Currie Cup level. When Super rugby roles around, he should be enjoying his rugby at Vodacom cup level and not suffering and ridiculed at a level too high for him.. You only need to look at the teams he plays in placing at the end of the tournament to realise they dont have a good flyhalf directing them around the park or controlling the game!
I would concur- Jantjies it good at a lower level when he has more time and space.
i agree with saffex, i reckon the death of his father really worked a number on janties.
i also dont think that coetzees tactics of defnece at all cost at the stormers was a good fit for one of SA best attacking flyhalves.
he does have to prove himself still at super rugby level, but u never know 2014 could be his year.
Daddy, Jantjies is South Africa's Quade Cooper. Show pony - flashy player when the opposition is kak. You forever going on about size and weight, daais 'n kortgat kalaed met 'n attitude en a snoek bek.
Jantjies must be the worst tackler in the SuperXV
Yep Jantjies is the real deal.
www.youtube.com/watch
Hey Lucid. Any chance that you could get us a similar clip from 2013, and not one that is more than two years old?
Lucid, no one is saying the man cant do anything right. Its just unfortunate that type of skill does not produce the result more often. Lets be honest as well, it was a simple back of the hand pop pass that either sticks or doesn't. At that level, every flyhalf should possess enough skill to do that. All he did was flick the ball back half a metre to a player running on. Not that difficult.
When Jantjies is doing that more often at Currie Cup level and making a much higher percentage of his tackles, then maybe he could be a serious contender for a Super rugby franchise that actually has a chance of competing for the playoffs but until then, Currie Cup and Vodacom cup is his limit.
And not a word for Holenbach who actually ran a perfect line and controlled the pass to score. It takes two to tango.
@Ceradyne Sure here www.youtube.com/watch It isn't a short clip but at the 1:10 minute he shows his creative vision with a inside pass and draws in 2 defenders for the support runner to score the try, it is similar to the other link i posted but is 2013. Regardless of whether or not the other link is 3 years old it still shows what he is capabile of doing and that he is a class flyhalf in attack.
@Boklogic blah blah blah do me a favour, do not respond to my posts.
@Lucid, yeah because all we need is a class flyhalf (that can execute a pop pass) on ATTACK..Dont worry about his defence and the rest. You need guys like me to respond to your posts because you are clearly clueless.
If you dont want your post responded to, its simple..Either write sense or piss off from the board. We need a flyhalf that can tackle. Do me a favour Lucid, pull up some posts of Honiball in action. I want to see what he can do! Fucken idiot!
As usual ... Dumbass Dave blows everything out of proportion.
Listen up, moron ... your title is incorrect ... there is no valid "another" due when referring to Jantjies ... ok?? It's his first decent game in more than two seasons ... which doesn't mean he's now ready for test rugby and world glory.
Get a grip!!!
Also, bear in mind who the opposition were ... I think a Bok call up is a little premature … just a smidge … !!!!
Keep it real, Stupid!!!
He seems to be picking up a little confidence and I hope he gets better. We need all our swinging dicks to contribute ... him included.
I hope he shows further improvement against the Cheetahs this weekend. He has a long way to go.
Rather well actually, half breed!!
How's your prop coming on with his quota selection?
Ah good one ClownCunt, would that be the Boshoff who cant even find a starting spot at 10 for the Lions......the one playing out of position at 15, because Jantjies is twice the player.
Good call ClownCunt.......one certainty is that Boshoff will NEVER make a single Bok sqaud EVER........Jantjies on the otherhand has a few test caps and will win a good few more, especially if he continues with his current form.
But keep up the good work ClownCunt..........Boshoff for Bok flyhalf.................bwhaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa