FORUM / RUGBY /  Kiwis in the ultimate choke?

Kiwis in the ultimate choke?

Started by Mozart69 REPLIES1,236 VIEWS· 25 Sept 2013, 01:50
25 Sept 2013, 01:50
25 Sept 2013, 01:50#1

Last week with the Kiwis leading the Americas Cup, arguably the most prestigious race in the world , I congratulated you chaps on your certain win. Emirates Team NZ was up 8 races to 1, needing only one more win to take the cup. - I have just witnessed Oracle Team USA take today's race to tie the score at eight apiece. A race which Team NZ led by 150 metres at one point and led through the second gate. 

Are we witnessing the worst choke in the history of competitive sport? What's the good word back home....is it the team, the boat or something else other than choking. To make matters worse Oracle is skippered by an Aussie, with the very appropriate name Jimmy Spithill.....are you chaps really going to lose to a guy called Spithill after leading by seven races. The nation is in jeopardy!

hakwaPro4,146 posts
25 Sept 2013, 02:03
25 Sept 2013, 02:03#2

notice Mozzie that we haven't even blamed the ref once!

25 Sept 2013, 03:14
25 Sept 2013, 03:14#3
Are you implying the ref did you in?
25 Sept 2013, 03:48
25 Sept 2013, 03:48#4

It really is hard on the nation this side. Afterall, USA, win or lose, have had to do it harder. I mean, this contest would be over if not for the 2 race wins deducted from team USA already.

The biggest Kiwi doos is most definately Marc Ellis. He is never right. When NZL were 8-1 up, Marc said on his morning slot on MORE FM that the Kiwi's were bringing it home. There is no way they could lose and the cup was coming home. He was congratulating the team and going wild. His co-host tried to reign him in but he continued to bang on about how it was impossible for them to surrender a 7 race lead. Look, they might still win but what a tosser Marc is.

Another display of his ignorance. Just before the Dunedin test last year, myself and 11 others (Bok supporters) were waiting at the Auckland domestic terminal to board our flight to Dunedin. We see Marc Ellis and 2 old guys with him. We stop him and have a chat. Nice enough bloke. We ask what he thinks is going to happen bearing in mind no one gave the Boks a chance and we were not playing well. Marc reckons "Ah mate, it will be a 20 point win for the AB's!" We giggled a bit waiting for a serious answer and he said, "I hate to upset you boys but thats what its going to be and thats being cautious!"

Haha how wrong were you there again too Marc? He should just shut up and be more humble!

WG
What's going on?Club Pro237 posts
25 Sept 2013, 03:52
25 Sept 2013, 03:52#5

Nice try Mozart but we can't lose as we have Kiwis in both camps.
NZer Russel Coutts heading the Oracle campaign. Kiwi boat builders supplying both teams. So it's a win win for NZ whoever takes it out.

More work for the best of the best as we're recognised in the boat building industry.

San Francisco have already approached us to showcase the ABs there.The Yanks can't get enough of the Kiwis.

It would have been a real no contest if one team had dominated and won every race a bit like the AllBlacks do but good to see their finally making a race out of it.

25 Sept 2013, 03:59
25 Sept 2013, 03:59#6

Well that's great Schweinsteiger, I was just afraid you chaps were hurting. As for this penchant for Kiwis, it's not observable in Chicago.....are you sure anybody gives a damn?

WG
What's going on?Club Pro237 posts
25 Sept 2013, 04:19
25 Sept 2013, 04:19#7

Mozar,t might be something to do with it being a landlocked ghost town where you're living mate. Was wondering why you looked so pale.

25 Sept 2013, 04:30
25 Sept 2013, 04:30#8

Come now, I look out on beautiful Lake Michigan one of the wonders of the world. ....a fresh water sea.

25 Sept 2013, 05:07
25 Sept 2013, 05:07#9

You raise a good point Cloudy....the 24 year choke was biblical . The four fat years and the 24 lean years comes to mind. But take heart it ain't over till the fat lady sings....NZ should have won today.

25 Sept 2013, 06:29
25 Sept 2013, 06:29#10

Comparing Marshall and Ellis is like comparing apples to oranges. One was a great rugby player and a very good commentator and rugby analyst. Most fair kiwi around and probably the least self-infatuated one. The other was a half baked player that is a self important knob and thinks kiwi's are better just because they are Kiwi's. He is always wrong though.

Come now Cloudy..Thats a little bit naive to think you guys choked in every world cup in those 24 years. I mean, lets look at it. 87' was a no contest as the best team in the world was not involved and we all know its impossible to win in NZL. 95' you lost to the better team, 1999 you were outplayed by an inspired Aussie team, 2003, England were the best team in the world in terms of structures and players. It was their time. 2007 was much like England in 2003 except it was the Boks turn and lets face it, we all saw what England did to you guys in the Northern Hemisphere this year and we put 36 points on them at that world cup and held them scoreless. You would not have beaten England in 2007. You couldn't beat the French..Argies could..Twice!! ha ha.. You just were not good enough. 2011 is hardly worth a mention as it was just a laughable as this last AB v Bok test match. SA removed from the tournament by a Kiwi. Got the world talking. Jobs were lost. Guys were condemned but STILL no admission from a kiwi to any wrong doing or blatant skull duggery. France not awarded any penalties despite being the best team on the park in the final by a country mile...Ha ha we were all doomed the minute NZL "welcomed" the world for that "competition!"

You guys have not choked..You just have not been good enough and the refs didnt feel they owed you any special treatment as they did in 2011 to date! 

25 Sept 2013, 08:30
25 Sept 2013, 08:30#11

Where's the cup for that Cloudy?? Who cares about the IRB ranking when the teams get on the field. England certainly didnt in November last year. Refs have helped you to those rankings so lets just laugh those off too.

What kills you the most is the WC's and the reality that had it not been in NZL where these shananigans are rife, Bryce Lawrence and Craig Joubert, you guys would be facing 28 years with no cup. You speak about "on the day" so can I ask, was NZL better than French "on the day?" Now if you have answered that honestly, please go on to explain how NZL won the cup then??

No need to thank Mr. Joubert...No wonder he is so good looking to you ;-)

25 Sept 2013, 13:34
25 Sept 2013, 13:34#12

Cloudy, you trying to sound like you know what you are talking about but you dont. French were hot on attack. They dominated possession against a team that plays the way the AB's do with (the man you reckon could have won the WC himself) Richie McCaw in the team. Read too. Both very dodgy players at breakdown and you telling me Craig could not find one or two penalties in that?

French concede 10 penalties and NZL a mere 7 even though France enjoyed a whole 2 mins more in NZL's 22. Territory and possession was 55 to 45 percent both ways to France. Please man, with Shady players at breakdown like McCaw and Read (amongst others) and 1/3 more time spent applying pressure in NZL's "red zone" and the break down laws left to the interpretation of the ref, you telling me Craig never found something he could penalize? Hell, he should ask Bryce Lawrence for some help. He managed to find a penalty everytime SA got close!

It all comes down to favourable reffing towards NZL. Had the French had those stats against the Aussies or English, they would have been world champs!

25 Sept 2013, 13:36
25 Sept 2013, 13:36#13

And dont involve Rooinek in this. He is actually pretty fair to NZL rugby. He gives them credit when its due.

Your blog name suits your rugby knowledge to the tee..Very Cloudy!!

hakwaPro4,146 posts
25 Sept 2013, 13:40
25 Sept 2013, 13:40#14

25 Sept 2013, 13:47
25 Sept 2013, 13:47#15

25 Sept 2013, 13:49
25 Sept 2013, 13:49#16

"Just relax Richie. I will make sure you are number 1!!!"

hakwaPro4,146 posts
25 Sept 2013, 13:49
25 Sept 2013, 13:49#17

25 Sept 2013, 13:55
25 Sept 2013, 13:55#18

"Sorry Springboks. I have strict orders that NZL need to retain the cup. My hands are tied!!"

25 Sept 2013, 14:01
25 Sept 2013, 14:01#20

Something interesting. Cloudy mentioned the 87 years of rugby prior to the first RWC, and the Kiwis like to point out their "dominance" since the beginning of rugby history. The truth is that the "dominance" only really started since the isolation of SA after the 1981 tour, which was crooked in any case because of a dodgy decision in the last test.

I can almost hear the gasps. "WTF, does he get that?"

The truth is that since the very first test up and until the last test in 1981, between SA and NZ, SA were on top. This is the record for SA v NZ from 1921-1981.
Played: 37
Won: 20
Lost: 15
Drew: 2

Of course the next reply will be: "Yes, but you cheated.You had your own biased refs for the home tests in SA" (And then we are told that NZ don't blame the refs. LOL)

Another piece of trivia. The results of the very first test series between SA and NZ (in NZ even) in 1921:
1.South Africa 5-13 New Zealand
2.South Africa    9-5 New Zealand
3.South Africa    0-0 New Zealand

We will never know what the records would have looked like, had SA never been in isolation.

25 Sept 2013, 14:04
25 Sept 2013, 14:04#21

"Bismarck! You are making my job really tough. I have been told these Kiwi's will cry rivers if they lose. They must win at all costs. They are not going to win with you on this field. You have stolen too many balls already and now you are tackling too hard. Im sorry Bismarck. You need to leave this field!!"

hakwaPro4,146 posts
25 Sept 2013, 14:05
25 Sept 2013, 14:05#22

6 days ago    

25 Sept 2013, 14:06
25 Sept 2013, 14:06#23

Ceradyne, dont mind old Cloudy head. She clutches at straws!

hakwaPro4,146 posts
25 Sept 2013, 14:07
25 Sept 2013, 14:07#24

see any of your players on the podium Boklogic?

25 Sept 2013, 14:07
25 Sept 2013, 14:07#25

hakwaPro4,146 posts
25 Sept 2013, 14:10
25 Sept 2013, 14:10#26

PO
polyboyClub Pro601 posts
25 Sept 2013, 14:11
25 Sept 2013, 14:11#27
There's an America's cup sailing. Didn't get the notice from my Millionaires Bulletin.....bastards!
hakwaPro4,146 posts
25 Sept 2013, 14:12
25 Sept 2013, 14:12#28

25 Sept 2013, 16:38
25 Sept 2013, 16:38#29
Just a few hours to redemption or ignominy....may the best boat win!
GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
25 Sept 2013, 18:42
25 Sept 2013, 18:42#30

The real truth is that the NZ'ers are not chokers in the wider sense of the word...they choke but a lot less than any other side.

Sport apart from the obvious physical skills, abilities and attributes has one factor that is common to all sport and that is the complex domain of the mind...the psychological.

Pressures, mindsets, atmospheres (explains why home venues tend to favour certain sides) can interfere with a result. Some teams travel well, ie the Sharks, others don't...the Springboks don't in NZ...deep in their recessers of their mind a game at Auckland or Dunedin is a fearful thing with a very long memory.

NZ'ers are not as badly effected as we are and strangely neither are the French who have an almost Cavalier approach to the AB's...this has shown itself on a number of occassions, especially in WC's...the Pool games no problem but come quarters, semis and finals it is altogether a different ball game.

The Boks could beat the AB's more often if they were more balanced...the AB's are extremely well balanced side ..the forwards do their job and the back line finishes it off and their is a lot of communication and interplay.

Springboks are staid and conventional like the Poms and this style of rugby more often than not doesn't work...there may the odd time it works but most times it does not.

The French on the otherhand tend to throw the ball around, effectual clever little grubbers and cross kicks that are risky but often become match winners.

The NZ'ers attitude in sport we've seen in WC cricket as well...they have knocked us out as contenders even though our side is backed with better players.

On the contrary they choke less than anybody else...it is somewhat hypocritical to call them chokers...we must not start trying to take the gnat out of their eyes when there is a plank in our own.

26 Sept 2013, 00:02
26 Sept 2013, 00:02#31

Now now Cloudy, dont get ahead of yourself. We do not kick Joubert in the guts. He is usually a very good ref and the worlds best no doubt. We are just a little concerned about that game. Definately not his usual self.

You see Cloudy, we as Bok supporters have high expectations but we would rather lose fairly than win in a farce. Wish the same would apply to NZL. Yes, we are cocking eyebrows at Craig because we want fair. NZL would have knighted Bryce Lawrence if they had the chance. You see Cloudy..We dont condone cheating. Your boy Richie has to turn down knighthood and Bryce is given a "behind the scenes" promotion for his efforts. Two blatant cheats!

Australasian sport for you. Dont worry how. Just win it!

Also Cloudy, dont look too much into your wins. We were sending half baked teams over here many times. The first time you guys sent a team over and SBW started at 12, you were easily beaten. Actually, over the last few years, the only time we sent a full strength team over we beat you in Dunedin (08' I think) and Hamilton (09') so clear your cloudy little mind and start speaking barbies because you biting off more than you can chew here.

PO
polyboyClub Pro601 posts
26 Sept 2013, 01:59
26 Sept 2013, 01:59#32
The America's Cup only ever seems to matter to NZer's, here in States haven't heard shit about it where I live, asked work collegues about it and got blank stares. Its a rich mans sport.
26 Sept 2013, 04:12
26 Sept 2013, 04:12#33

Bryce Lawrence and Craig Joubert raised eyebrows across the rugby world. Wayne Barnes raised eyebrows across NZL. Dont even compare Wayne's 1 mistake (was actually touch judges call) with Bryce Lawrence's dirty, cheating bullshit.

If you understood rugby, you could go watch the game now and see just how Bryce conducted himself.

hakwaPro4,146 posts
26 Sept 2013, 14:30
26 Sept 2013, 14:30#34

all we saw Boklogic was you getting penalised for lifting Radike Samo's legs illegaly in a line-out and O'Connor kicking the winning penalty for the Wobblies! You were actually leading on the scoreboard up until the point! The penalty was picked up by the touch judge and not BL! He was actually keeping you in the game up until that very moment as you did not score any tries to the Wobblies only try scored by BL ..I mean the Wobblies captain!

AB
All Black NZClub Pro105 posts
26 Sept 2013, 14:42
26 Sept 2013, 14:42#35

26 Sept 2013, 14:58
26 Sept 2013, 14:58#36

Classic AB NZ...Use the Aussies when it suits you.. The pinnacle of cricket. Test match..Takes skill and class..Didnt SA just beat NZL and Aussies on their home soil?

We dont wana speak about NZl in SA..45 all out in a test...tsek....Waste of time!

PapamoaClub Pro683 posts
28 Sept 2013, 01:41
28 Sept 2013, 01:41#37
Indeed, bok logic. Yes Mozart it was extremely disappointing. And frustrating to let it slip threw the fingers. A lot of questions not many answers. The kiwis were shat on. Out classed. But at least we can mix it with the big guns always makes me proud. Oh well NEXT TIME.
28 Sept 2013, 02:39
28 Sept 2013, 02:39#38
Well Papa some of your pals are still trying to claim it was a NZ victory. I respect your honesty....it was a tale of two races. The only problem was the second race had one more event. But it was a great showing.
hakwaPro4,146 posts
28 Sept 2013, 03:45
28 Sept 2013, 03:45#39
 Mozzie  your attempt at feigning sympathy is laughable considering the title of your piece! Man up Mozzie, you were gloating when we lost! Hakwa keeping it real for Mozzie (as usual).
28 Sept 2013, 04:23
28 Sept 2013, 04:23#40
 Check your facts Hakwa, this string was started before the last race. I was actually pulling for you guys and shocked when the biggest choke in sporting history became a fact  Although I must admit, I did feel happy for the mental health professionals in NZ.