FORUM / RUGBY /  Meyer has four days to correct team problems

Meyer has four days to correct team problems

Started by clevermike41 REPLIES426 VIEWS· 07 Sept 2014, 05:19
07 Sept 2014, 05:19
07 Sept 2014, 05:19#1

Meyer has to announce the team against the AB's by Wednesday and he has only four days to deal with the blatant inadequacies so clearly shown yesterday against the  Aussies.

He has limited capacity availble in his present squad - but the following issues need urgent attention:-

The halfbacks

It is high time to realize that Morne Steyn and Ruan Pienaar is not the answer.   Both has been clearly inadequate in tests this year and Morne himself has been shockingly poor in the RC tests thus far.   Yesterday was the worst imaginable display by Morne and Steyn's service and general play indicates serious inadequacies.  

It is high time that both are being replced and when the squad is announced for the home legs of the RC both should get one-way tickets to go to Europe toplay for their clubs.  Morne in particular would not even make the starting line-up of his club.   Yeterdays display is a clear indiction why he is benched by his club most of the time.

The only real options available to Meyer is to select either of the following:-

Flyhalf  -   Pollard/Lambie

Scrummie - Reinach/Hougaard

Wings

Cornal Hendricks looks dangerous in attacking play - but his defense is seriously compromised - this was shown a gainst the Pumas and again yesterday.   Playing him against  Savea or Ben Smith would be suicidal.   I really have no answer to that one for  Saturday - but we seriously needs an answer to that problem in the home legs of the RC.  We need Pietersen back as a matter of urgency.

Lock combination

Etzeeth had a top game - but the problem is with  Matfield.  I have said it in the past - Matfield is physically inadequate.   It was clear as daylight yesterday.   His presence has had serious side-effects.   He definitely does not contribute to strenghthening the Tight  5.   One of our main strengths - the rolling maul - has vanished into thin air  because Matfield cannot play a role in that.    Part of yesterdays scrumming deficiencies can definitely be attributed to Matfield.   

Matfield missed nearly 25% of all attempted tackles and those he made was inadequate and of poor quality.   Too many players just pushed him out of the way.

The short term solution is to play De Jager on Saturday and bring in Willemnse into the squad for the home leg of the RC.   Both Bakkies Botha and Matfield should not be anywhere near future squads.

Jannie du Plessis

The scrumming display of Jannie yesterday agaimnst the weak AUssie scrum - that disintegrated against the AB's a week ago - showed that he is not of any value to the scrumming of the  Springboks anymoire.   He should be replaced in the squad as a matter of urgency.   I would suggest that he be benched for the game on Saturday and only be brought in if there are serious problems with the scrumming.   

The center pairing

There is no real penetration or effective ball carries in the case of Sefontein and De Villiers.  Defensively Serfontein was fine yesterday - but I have been noticing that De Villiers is not the player he was last year in Super 15 and tests.   

De Villiers does not create any space anymoore - and for next week I suggest that they play De Allende at 12 and try out De Villiers at 13.   The other option would be to play Serfontein at 12 and De Allende at 13.   

De Villiers's performances must be put under the microscope - he definitely is a top captain and gentleman - but if he does not improve,  his continuation in the team needs to be reonsidered. 

07 Sept 2014, 06:32
07 Sept 2014, 06:32#2
Achingly stupid logic. You predicted a 14 point loss against Oz. But after a game we could and should have won, you blamed Morne's  missed touch. Now you want to replace 7 players before we play the best team in the game. With which players....why Lambie and Reinach who lost the S15 semi and the useless  Lomp, out of his depth de Allende, unavailable JP a non existent tighthead and you want a new captain. Who one wonders.
There's stupid for you.
FO
ForeverArizonaClub Pro580 posts
07 Sept 2014, 06:47
07 Sept 2014, 06:47#3
 What utter drivel and garbage.What idiot would midway through a professional competition axe a captain.Do you know what shock waves you would send and the repercussions of such and act.The stupidity begs believe.Alass you want that Carthorse de Allende back.What did he do?Nothing extraordinary to be blunt.And like Mozart said Lambie,really that's your answer...please Mike stick to you wallpaper collections and stay away from the Bokke because you would ruin SA beyond repair. The only thing I would say is give Reinach a go in the laat 20min.Look we are going to loose against them.For now its damage control.
Arthur JohnPro1,748 posts
07 Sept 2014, 07:31
07 Sept 2014, 07:31#4
 After the three tests thus far I am a very concerned Bok supporter.
Jannie, Victor, Pienaar, DeVilliers, Bakkies, Morne are not a shadow of what they once were. Also Hougaart, Lambie do not deserve to be in the squad, poor S15/injury and have not shown any reason for their inclusion in the squad.
Meyer has gone from bad to a disaster as a manager and his selections have not been a true reflection of SA Rugby.
His TV shots (reactions)during a game are nothing short of concern for his mental status.Just watch his pose during the singing of the SA Anthem........!!!!!!!
I for one will not be going to WC2015 to watch or support the Boks.
Good luck never the less.
S15 and Currie Cup from now on.
07 Sept 2014, 07:52
07 Sept 2014, 07:52#5
 You can't make a silk purse from a sow's ear ......... sure a tweak here or there but what you see is what we've got & to suggest wholesale changes is bollocks .

07 Sept 2014, 07:58
07 Sept 2014, 07:58#6
 So AJ you give up on the Boks because we lose by a point to Oz in Oz, the year before the RWC. In 2006, the year before the RWC we won, we lost to Oz in Oz by 49 points to zero.
Have a bit more faith.
Blob, I agree. I'd like to make a tweak or two. But for the life of me I can't think of a single player who is better than our starters today.
07 Sept 2014, 08:19
07 Sept 2014, 08:19#7
Lets have  a look atthe following:-
"I'd like to make a tweak or two. But for the life of me I can't think of a single player who is better than our starters today."
You can't think -   lets rather change that .   You don't think ia a brtter descriptuion - or better still you don't want to think.   
If you cannot see h ow despeartely poor some players are and then comes up with the justification that there is nobody better - ishows a completely closed mind - without any thinking ability.   Can you not see that some of the players are really defetive in performance - or don't you want to see that they are?

07 Sept 2014, 09:03
07 Sept 2014, 09:03#8
 Well out with the  useless matfiled and in with Lood. Why mess up our tight five!!!!!!!! Fact is matfiled is a shockingly bad lock. The area where we could best the abs is being ruined by matfileds prescenceOut with Pienaar and in with Reinach. Fact is the half backs lack any attacking flair.The endless kicking away of possession with no plan in mind boggles the mind.The lack of finesse of the backline also boggles the mind. Sack Loubscher and get in a backline coach - away with anc quotas.
 FA you only display your ignorance when you say Allende is slow. They play this guy on the wing so his speed is fine. If Hendricks defence is inadequate one could play Allende on the wing. He also takes aheap of stopping near the line. 
Also Coetzee did ten times the work of an Alberts!! Wake up oak!
Dispite the selection blunders and Morne's bad mistake we lost this match because of the ref.Lets be very clear on that.

07 Sept 2014, 10:07
07 Sept 2014, 10:07#9
Wholesale personnel changes won't get us anywhere. We have the players. We need to respect our possession and be a little more bold. Every time the ball got as far as Habana yesterday Aus were scrambling. We have good runners, a potent back three, solid enough locks, superb loosies. But we need to stop this endless kicking away of possession and just have a little faith in the men out wide and give them some opportunities and show some intelligence in reading play instead of playing like robots. Or, at the very least, be committed to the chase if we insist on kicking everything.
07 Sept 2014, 10:38
07 Sept 2014, 10:38#10
Having said that, I think the Pienaar/Steyn axis has run its course and I'm fedup with it. Seeing Morne Steyn jogging behind two Aussies, waving his arms at the ref trying to milk a penalty while Australia was busy manufacturing a try a few metres from him was perhaps the last straw. He was impeded for maybe a fraction of a second before he had a clear run to get across and help the defense. Even as Folau flew over the line right under his nose he was still waving his arms in the air, still making no effort to get there. If the opposition is heading towards your tryline you don't wave your arms at the ref, you hustle your butt over there and try to help. So screw him, if he wants to play theatrics he can do it on a stage somewhere, not in a test match.

Pienaar puts the ball into the scrum, passes it and kicks hopelessly. That's the range of skills our Bok scrumhalf exhibits.

I'd have Hougaard and Pollard for the All Blacks. Anyone scoffing at that needs to explain to me how Pollard can be any worse than Steyn (for one thing it will strengthen the flyhalf defensive channel because Steyn can't tackle). Hougaard is no great shakes, but at least he'll bring energy and an element of unpredictability that the lethargic Pienaar can't.

I won't lose sleep over those changes, and it's probably the only big ones we need to make.
07 Sept 2014, 12:23
07 Sept 2014, 12:23#11
As we were discussing the other day, Pakie, when do you make the necessary changes to both personnel AND tactics ? You are being brave and asking for change now. It isn't working, is it ? 

VO
VoetsekRookie41 posts
07 Sept 2014, 12:33
07 Sept 2014, 12:33#12
 A tweak or two forget it 50% of that side should go. There are at least 3 better players per position that are better than some of the current players selected.
Jean, Morne, Pienaar, Jannie, Matfield and Louw must go along with squad members like Steenkamp, Bakkies and Alberts.
But more than anything get rid of Meyer for he is way out of his depth.
07 Sept 2014, 12:54
07 Sept 2014, 12:54#13
 Again, wholesale changes won't fix our problems until we fix the way we play.

Anyway, here are my lasting memories of Morne Steyn from this game. Sauntering along with his arms waving while he can easily rush across to help defend.

And then of course, even as Folau gets ready to crash over, he's still waving his arms, making no effort to get involved. Bok flyhalf my arse, get rid of this plonker.

07 Sept 2014, 12:55
07 Sept 2014, 12:55#14
As I said, players, tactics and mindset. All need to change..... 
VO
VoetsekRookie41 posts
07 Sept 2014, 12:58
07 Sept 2014, 12:58#15
 Yep Pakie I have been saying that for years.
He is not a test 10 ' s backside
07 Sept 2014, 13:06
07 Sept 2014, 13:06#16
I wish Mr S was still around. You two could have a good discussion and would get on well, I think, Voetsek. 
BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
07 Sept 2014, 13:07
07 Sept 2014, 13:07#17

I would bring in Hougaard on one of the wings. That would strengthen our defense out wide.

Would have liked to play other players, but they are in SA. Naka and SARU should never have allowed Robert Ebersohn to go.

Lambie at flyhalve is an option.

VO
VoetsekRookie41 posts
07 Sept 2014, 13:38
07 Sept 2014, 13:38#18
 No Hougaard to 9, Pollard or Lambie at 10, Serfontein at 12, de Allende at 13, v/d Merwe at 3, Bismark at 2 and Lood at 5. We don't have a replacement for Louw in the squad, but move him to 7 with Coetzee at 6.
07 Sept 2014, 18:56
07 Sept 2014, 18:56#19
 Mozart.....I know you love supporting a losing team that's the reason you continue to add zero constructive input to this forum.
Just a quick tip....sport is played so that a winner will be crowned first and foremost. Also it is played to illustrate team/individual skills that will allow for good play and a good result.
Got it???????????
If you cannot see the shortcomings of the current players and/or coach and/or game plan then please stick with your American Football.
If after three tests thus far this year you cannot conclude that the Boks are a disaster as a team you have to stop hoping that they will turn around and play the game as we expect from  all players who wear the GREEN and GOLD.

07 Sept 2014, 19:02
07 Sept 2014, 19:02#20
 Also on the comments about changing players and coaches.....
It is simple, if you don't deliver OUT YOU GO.
This is professional sport not a old age retirement game for has beens.
Supporters pay good hard earned money to go to games....to watch their teams win not to just be part of a circus.
Thanks.
07 Sept 2014, 19:15
07 Sept 2014, 19:15#21

And you make constructive inputs to this forum AJ? What? Where?  If you want to see why that try was scored look at Morne, perhaps, I buy Pakie's comment about him not making a full hearted effort to get involved. But look at Stepfontein about to be beaten to the inside and offloaded on....he was wa ndering laterally before this frame, allowing the Oz player to make crucial forward metres. There's your problem. Hendricks is already burned by those metres and has to turn. Oops did I make a contribution, how silly of me.

07 Sept 2014, 19:21
07 Sept 2014, 19:21#22
 Mozzie you are spot on with your last sentence.
07 Sept 2014, 19:22
07 Sept 2014, 19:22#23
Just one question about Morne - how do you describe his kick at minute 13-14?   
07 Sept 2014, 19:24
07 Sept 2014, 19:24#24
Yep, and you are reduced to one liners. You guys make me sick. The coach is a fool, we would win everything if we just picked flavour of the day youngsters, the ABs can run why can't we.....the divine right of winning. Pablum for morons.
FO
07 Sept 2014, 19:39
07 Sept 2014, 19:39#25
 Please spare us Carthorse De Allende....He couldn't step his way around trafic cone.We need attackers.Give you an example:The IDF(Israeli defense force) has a motto,that they live by.The best defense is attack.Isnt that what the All-Blacks are doing.Constantly attacking making defense campaigns rethink their strategy.LOL and we are dragging carthorses on to field.Stop this lunacy please please I beg it.Decimation is what lies ahead.Lambie is our answer REALLY!?!?!?!?We have nothing better!?!?!??Hiw come a team like the Lions ca take a bunch of no bodies and run riot against so Manny Supper rugby teams.Wow I wonder because they ATTACK!!!!!There is no attack in this Bok side and no self believe and passion.Watermeyer was miles better then JdV who is.And we select Serfontein....who played utterly badly with almost no attacking flair in the Bulls backline.How is it possible!?!?!?!Forget,you guys keep asking for guys that can tackle,go on,shout louder!!!!!!Nothing will change with that.We need a Kurtly Beale,a Malikai Fekitoa,Matt Temoa and Twelvetrees.
07 Sept 2014, 19:41
07 Sept 2014, 19:41#26
How about an answer to my simple question?     You are quick to justify all the iinder-performers and hide behind Meyer - but you never comes up with anything of value.  Nobody wants a team of youngsters - but I believe most people want to see how players measure up - and if they do not - they need to go.   
You cannot tell me that the complete absence of driving mauls yesterday was not due to the fact that we play with one lock and a sideshow - that Morne did not bugger up badly in his kicking game and in defense - that Ruan Pienaar had a satisficrtory service as a scrummie.   
Those are the key elements where things went wrong yesterday - but you refuse to even admit anything - that makes you a farce.
We need a playing lock and functional half backs - the other tweaks will help as well. What we cannot doo is to go into the enxt rest with the players who under-performed against the Welsh,  Argentina and against the Wallabies.   

FO
07 Sept 2014, 19:45
07 Sept 2014, 19:45#27
 Matfield is to old.Why are we discussing it?We know he is to old.He needs to go.
07 Sept 2014, 20:18
07 Sept 2014, 20:18#28
I'm not actually saying Morne could have prevented that try, although I'd like to think that if he got across just two metres further he might have been able to disrupt the final pass in some way. It's the playing to the ref instead of staying involved in the game that grinds my nuts, and he did make zero effort. Last time against the Argies it was Pienaar waving his arms at the ref while an Argie ran right past him at a ruck. This theatrical soccer nonsense has no place in rugby. Pet peeve, sure, but it's still nonsense.

We were battling a 3-2 overlap there, it was going to be very hard to stop under the best of circumstances. Even had Serf been more aggressive, it was a simple two pass for a score in the corner.
07 Sept 2014, 20:24
07 Sept 2014, 20:24#29
All the more reason for Serf not to hang back. We have seen Fury shoot out and make a smother tackle many times. A defensive, on your heels tackle was never going to work.  
sharkbokCaptain23,294 posts
07 Sept 2014, 20:57
07 Sept 2014, 20:57#30
I think Morne is complaining about obstructive runners. He is trying to highlight it to the ref to get a penalty and thereby stop the attacking movement
Australia and New Zealand are good at pushing the lines between obstructive running, although it is sometimes difficult to see from the TV what is obstructive and what is not.Like the try that Barrett scored against the Boks last year looked like obstructive running assisted in creating the space
07 Sept 2014, 21:17
07 Sept 2014, 21:17#31
Or it was simply him negating his duty as a last line of defence, Sharkbok ? 

07 Sept 2014, 21:20
07 Sept 2014, 21:20#32
 Sharkbok
Morne has the space to become part of the defense - but he prefers not to - look at all the missed tackles he had yesterday and another miss would give him a 50% missed tackle ratio.    
VO
VoetsekRookie41 posts
07 Sept 2014, 22:16
07 Sept 2014, 22:16#33
 Given Jan's fantastic defensive display there is no way in hell anyone could question his commitment and to lay the blame with him for that pathetic Morne effort smacks of Moz prejudice and nothing else.
It's exactly the same as the Barrett try against the boks last year where Morne ' s pathetic attempt of a tackle was the major reason for the try. Morne was the inside defender who goes high and misses Barrett. But shock shock JJ was blamed as Jan is being blamed here.
Moz you have the most warped sense of reality....everything gets interpreted to fit your likes and dislikes when it comes to players.
It's a good thing none of us are still 10 years of age where these angles might wash.
Wow so it was Jan's fault. I've read it all now
07 Sept 2014, 23:02
07 Sept 2014, 23:02#34
You can't defend near your goal line on your heels...JJ did that, so did Taute, de Allende last week and Steppie yesterday. There was only one way to defend both the overlap tries yesterday....outside/ in and pushing forward.
No wonder you haven't moved out of coaching school boy rugby.  
07 Sept 2014, 23:08
07 Sept 2014, 23:08#35
 snapster tone it down man you are blowing your eh "cover" Hahahhahahaha
JW snoozing on the job again! 

If the ab backs had to play rugby under our regime they would be worse than our Bok backs.

VO
VoetsekRookie41 posts
07 Sept 2014, 23:15
07 Sept 2014, 23:15#36
 Outside in and pushing forward bwhaaahaaaaa what the hell is that?
Whichever way you look at it Jan was huge in defence just read the tabloids....your prejudice is shinning bright but do talk us through the modern outside in with a push.....I must have missed that chapter in the 2014 level 3 coaching manual

07 Sept 2014, 23:18
07 Sept 2014, 23:18#37
That's the defence our centres have played since Jake introduced the push  you have missed it, not in the manual, in the past 10 years.

VO
VoetsekRookie41 posts
07 Sept 2014, 23:20
07 Sept 2014, 23:20#38
 Ah the simple rush 
07 Sept 2014, 23:21
07 Sept 2014, 23:21#39
 Beeno: Moz identified the multi in question some time back so don't blow the multies cover Sometimes subtlety is required Beeno.

Picture of Beeno in stealth mode - something he does too rarely

By the way, this bloke is back so you better behave

07 Sept 2014, 23:25
07 Sept 2014, 23:25#40
Sharkbok, I don't think it is ever a good idea for a player to take himself out of play to make a point to the ref. Morne was impeded briefly, yes, but he was never in a position to make a tackle anyway. See the image of where he is when the two Aussies crossed in front of him and where the receiver of the pass was. Not even close.

What he was in a position to do was to hustle over to where play was taking place as cover defense. That should have been his priority, and if that was his focus he had the opportunity to do so. Leave the officiating to the officials.