FORUM / RUGBY /  Meyer - Is he going through a mid-life crisis ... ?

Meyer - Is he going through a mid-life crisis ... ?

Started by CleanCut30 REPLIES344 VIEWS· 05 Jun 2014, 11:36
05 Jun 2014, 11:36
05 Jun 2014, 11:36#1

Let’s face it … all the signs are there.

He’s so desperate to relive the past it smacks of a man realizing he’s in his forties and that life is passing him by. That he’s not lived his dream.

A dream of coaching a Bok team filled with his favourite Bulls.  

A bulls team that HE built up from nothing.

To add to that … he feels he was robbed of his rightful spot as Bok coach by Jake White and De Villiers … and that these fools had no right to take what he had worked so hard on. 

He after all brought the Bulls from nothing to dominate Super Rugby and should surely be rewarded for this with the obvious ... becoming the next Bok coach.

Like mist before the Sun, his dream was shattered.

Another was decided upon.

These were his boys … he developed them … and only he should have the right to them.

Rugby greats like Matfield, Habana and Du Preez were there to bring him glory. Strong players like Gurthro, Spies, Bakkies and Morne would cement his spot in history as an awesome coach. Perhaps the best in our history 

How dare Jake and Snorre cash in on his work.

Meyer shrewd?

I don't think so. More like delusional. A man with issues!!

A man now determined to return to the glory days of yesteryear and take back what was rightfully his.

It doesn't matter that these geriatrics are past their best and that there's a host of better, younger, stronger talent out there. Come hell or high water ... he will have his dream realized.

Sadly his delusional bubble is about to burst and he’ll go down in history as just another washout who coulda ... but never did.

05 Jun 2014, 11:57
05 Jun 2014, 11:57#2
 ou cc attempt at science fiction writing!!To add to that … he feels he was robbed of his rightful spot as Bok coach by Jake White and De Villiers … and that these fools had no right to take what he had worked so hard on. Hahhahahahaha prove it!

Agreed Jake should never have been fired by those raced obsessed idiots running SARFU. To be overlooked and a clown like ou pdv appointed (Made us the laughing stock of world rugby) was enough to make snapster feel agrieved he wasnt appointed Bok coach never mind Meyer!!! 
CC you have no idea as to whether Meyer will keep his oldies if they do not perform. He is testing them out. Bakkies had in my view a good tour. He could still make it. Schalk who some nutters complain about is still young enough. IF Meyer persists with his oldies who dont perfom then fine go for him. Also do bear in mind injuries and quotas MAKING THIS FAR FROM THE IDEAL SQUAD
The other more subtle point is there is a growing hunger IN the young guns to make it. Some are in the squad but know they have to strain every nerve to make it. Is Meyer working on their passion levels.aLL thIS is too subtle for cc and the doomsayE rs. Its too early to draw definte conclusions oaks. I am disappointed by some selctions but the story is just unflolding.
Beno advices all the kids here to keep toys in cott! 
05 Jun 2014, 11:57
05 Jun 2014, 11:57#3
 ou cc attempt at science fiction writing!!To add to that … he feels he was robbed of his rightful spot as Bok coach by Jake White and De Villiers … and that these fools had no right to take what he had worked so hard on. Hahhahahahaha prove it!

Agreed Jake should never have been fired by those raced obsessed idiots running SARFU. To be overlooked and a clown like ou pdv appointed (Made us the laughing stock of world rugby) was enough to make snapster feel agrieved he wasn't appointed Bok coach never mind Meyer!!! 
CC you have no idea as to whether Meyer will keep his oldies if they do not perform. He is testing them out. Bakkies had in my view a good tour. He could still make it. Schalk who some nutters complain about is still young enough. If Meyer persists with his oldies who don't perfom then fine go for him. Also do bear in mind injuries and quotas MAKING THIS FAR FROM THE IDEAL SQUAD
The other more subtle point is there is a growing hunger in the young guns to make it. Some are in the squad but know they have to strain every nerve to make it. Is Meyer working on their passion levels.All this is too subtle for cc and the doomsayers. It's too early to draw definite conclusions oaks. I am disappointed by some selections but the story is just unflolding.
Beeno advices all the kids here to keep toys in c ott! 
05 Jun 2014, 12:01
05 Jun 2014, 12:01#4
 CC the record must be noted. As you rightly point out Meyer built the bulle up from bottom dwellers. His Bok record is very good. Alllow him this experiment. The man is no fool and is a builder. We shoudl know where we stand by the end of the year and know whether Meyer is on the right track by the time he chooses his end of year touring party. If there is anyone left to tour!!!

05 Jun 2014, 12:26
05 Jun 2014, 12:26#5
 Beeno
In afterthought I think Cleancut has a point - Meyer is harkening back t his Blue Bulls rugby coaching era - with his preference for  Blue Bulls and ex-Blue Bulls players.  However, one can only hope that he makes an honest assessment of the performances of the players concerned.   For instance after the Scots test last year Meyer was lavish in his praise of Botha whilst the player showed nothing above average in the game and statistically was in fact poor.
Meyer is under constant public pressure about some of his selections and he has to justify same by over-estimating and emphasizing the performances  of some of the older players.  I believe he would rather do that than climb down and select younger players. That in itself is dangerous and against needed team changes.
He is already making a huge song and dance about Pietersen at 13 - where he failed for the Sharks in the past.   All is about size and weight.  The reason why Pietersen failed at 13 was the same as the reason for the JJ failure.   He has no idea about center play and is a poor ball distributor.   Pietersen is a wing - who will not make the grade as a center.
The selection that is really horrifying is that center combination playing on Saturday. Steyn is slow and did not show anything at center this year.   He is strong with ball in hand but his speed deficiency made him an easy target both in opposition defense and attack. 
Mallett is a shrewd bugger - he would I am sure use Giteau and O'Connor at center and that will show up the Springbok 2 as bad individually and very poor as a unit.               
05 Jun 2014, 12:46
05 Jun 2014, 12:46#6
 "To add to that … he feels he was robbed of his rightful spot as Bok coach by Jake White and De Villiers"

Really? Jake White actually got the job thanks to Heyneke Meyer who withdrew to stay with and build the Bulls . Before HM withdrew, Jake was nowhere near the favourite to get the job. It was between HM and Markgraaff. Markgraaff withdrew after his brother passed away.

Markgraaff confirms withdrawal

05 Jun 2014, 13:22
05 Jun 2014, 13:22#7
 The anti Jake White campaign in 2007 was led by the Bulls - with the support of the Cheetahs - with the sole objective to remove White and replace him with Meyer.  They were joined and had as allies the smaller Unions which was on the quiet led by Cheeky Watson and the Eastern Province. 
Once the objective has been achieved - the unholy alliance split up because they had different ideas as to who should be the coach.   The WP and Sharks unions did not like what they saw as a Blue Bulls take-over and after White was gone, in fact joined up and supported De Villiers.
A t the time they knew that the Springbok team would be just a promotion for Blue Bulls players.  However - after four years of Pieter De Villiers, whom nobody could stomach anymore  - the said Unions obviously decided that Meyer may have been cured of his Bulls mania and supported his selection.  They obviously were totally wrong in that assumption as was evidenced by the fact that 14 of the 15 Bulls players were in the Springbok match day teams at one stage or another in 2012.   It is further illustrated by the very few players from foreign clubs in the present squad without ties with the Meyer coached Bulls.   Deserving players like Cockott has no chance in getting in.   The other foreign club players like Louw. Pienaar and Fourie were originally chosen because of their previous Springbok selection and the  leading roles they played in their clubs.  
Meyer at one stage himself said he prefers players he knows and that obviously meant the Blue Bulls players.               
05 Jun 2014, 13:40
05 Jun 2014, 13:40#8

Interesting post, Mike!!

All starting to make a little more sense.

Sounds like a conniving hypocrite.
05 Jun 2014, 14:34
05 Jun 2014, 14:34#9
 Jaaaa ou Maaikie. Twisting around the facts again.

Meyer said that for his first tests in 2012, he was going to stick with what he knew and he gave the reasons for that. He had very limited time available. Remember that, unlike national coaches elsewhere, he was appointed around 4  months before hie first test.Then he had to get his assistant coaches. The very first people who he approached were Rassie, Allister Coetzee, and Nienaber. Coetzee and Nienaber declined and when he appointed Lounscher, et al, the entire Western Province kakked  themselves because he did not appoint any of their coaches. He then said that he  would  stick  with what was known to him and that the changes would come later. At one stage there were two or three Bulls in the team and still everybody kakked themselves about "all the Bulls in the side".

Deserving players like Kockott........ Kockott pissed off in the middle of 2011. Long before HM was even considered. The one who ignored Kockott and didn't consider him at the time was PDV, not Meyer.

Maybe you should try writing fiction. You are quite good at that. Specially the type of fiction that is loosely based real events. You know, like when MS posted a picture of a few of his club mates, himself and a couple of football  players.

I could actually picture your thinking process at the time. "Hmmmm. Check out this picture of MS and a few football players. Imagine if Steyn did get in contact with another club. Wait. Better still. Imagine if Stade Francais decided that they want to flog Steyn off to another club. Fuck, that would make a good story for Ruckers Forum. Yes. That's what I am going to do. I will start a thread about Steyn moving to  Paris Saint Germain and I will say that I even read an article about his imminent move to PSG . What are the chances of anybody knowing that PSG is actually a football club and what are the chances of anybody remembering that I posted something about me meeting the owner of PSG Football Club with Louis Luyt?"
05 Jun 2014, 14:44
05 Jun 2014, 14:44#10

So Vlag, what do you call his current selection then.......still sticking with what he knows.......ie bringing back even more of the old farts.

Let me guess, you think the side is a good one?  

05 Jun 2014, 14:57
05 Jun 2014, 14:57#11
 Ag ou Safesex. One day you will grow up and understand that no matter what you say and how many times you or I shit ourselves, it is not going to change anything. Unless you know exactly what HM has decided to achieve with this game, because a test match it isn't, does not matter. He is the one in charge and he knows what he wants and why he want it. That is why you are trying to coach a bunch of school kids and he is the national coach. He has planned his way towards the RWC and he has also planned what and how he is going to do between now and the world cup and why he is going to do it. Unless I know exactly what, why and how he is doing things, I cannot comment.

Because I support him and the squad, like all of us should do, does not mean that I have to agree with everything he says and does. I also question some of the selections but in principle I trust him to know what he is doing. I was also highly critical of PDV and I also mocked him a lot. At the end of the day we have to remember that despite his shortcomings he also came within one stupid little mistake by one player to make it at least into the RWC semi-finals and who knows what could have happened. Look at how many balls-ups he has made and what he has achieved. Calm down and remember to take your Prozac. Peace.
05 Jun 2014, 15:05
05 Jun 2014, 15:05#12

Typical load of shit from you Vlagtwat - but thanks you did not let your side down.

You have that same stupid conservative outlook as our coach......I'd say its a Dutch thing, but that would not explain Moz's take on rugby which is on the same level as our coach.

One certainty is that if Meyer continues on this path, we wont get beyond the semi's in the WC......not that the bloody WC should be the goal  

05 Jun 2014, 15:41
05 Jun 2014, 15:41#13
Dim as always -you stupid fucker.  
Meyer had ample time after his appointment to find out about other players - yet he stuck with his Bulls.   He nearly cried when Morne's form collapsed  and he had to change him.
Thew role of the Bulls in the undermining of White was factual and the fact is that Meyer is stuck on Bulls players - nobody else really matter.  He is also stuck on players irrespective of continued poor performance and on so-called reputation.   A coach for a stagnant team that will not show any improvement.     
05 Jun 2014, 15:51
05 Jun 2014, 15:51#14

Best of all Meyer could not bring himself to select Willie, had him on the bench on the EOYT, but through injury was forced to start him - conservatism of the highest order.

I'm surprised Kirchner is not starting, that will be next week no doubt  

05 Jun 2014, 16:00
05 Jun 2014, 16:00#15
 Ou Maaikie. Stop fabricating bullshit you stupid fucking idiot. You are a fucking nobody attention seeker. That is why you litter this site with lies and  bullshit. I suspect that you might have an inferiority complex as  well. That is why you are always negative about everything. I don't buy this bullshit story that you are just critical about everything. You are someone who inherently always look for something to piss and moan about. Even  if  things go well  you would find some bullshit to raise your voice over. You surely must be leading a very miserable live. You do not even realise that 99% of the times that I criticise you, it is actually more a laugh than anything else. You are a fucking comic man, and you even provide the material yourself. You remind me of Julius Malema.
05 Jun 2014, 16:13
05 Jun 2014, 16:13#16

Meyer it seems is still going with what he knows. I doubt he'll stray very far from "what he knows" ... conservatism, provincialism ... in short, a cowardly, narrow minded approach.  

Bringing Bakkies back from the grave as well as Fat Steenkamp is a clear indication that all he knows is the conservative Bulls way of doing things. There's no room for a little change.

Of course you would support him, "Vlag" ... you're a Bulls supporter. Probably as conservative and as narrow minded as he is.

Clearly that does it for you. I'm glad for you.

It doesn't however do it for me. I favour boldness and courage. Intellect!!

I find his cowardly way an irritation. His lack of courage very disappointing. 

Just as Divvy was selected as Bok coach and found wanting, so to is Meyer being exposed as one who connived his way into the position, through the help of his mates, only to be weighed and found light.

The man's a fool ... he doesn't belong at the helm ... looking objectively at his current squad screams that out loudly and makes us all the laughing stock of world rugby.

Do you honestly think he has the right boys in his squad to take next year's world cup?? Well then I guess your happy with the Kirchners, Bassons, HouGats, Steenkamps, Bakkies and Morne's, huh?

Personally I would much prefer a selection of players that actually had enough talent to contribute to the Bok cause. But hey that's just me. Each to his own I guess.

All these useless Bulls fall way short as test quality players and do not warrant Bok selection. They're all passengers taking up the rightful space of the real talent left behind.

You want me to cheer this on and support mediocrity?

Forget it "Vlag" ... I somehow find it very difficult to support incompetence and mediocrity.

05 Jun 2014, 16:15
05 Jun 2014, 16:15#17
 Dof Doos at his best.  
Suddenly this game is not an official test and an opportunity for Meyer to test the geriatrics to see whether they measure up.  That is typically what can be expected from the backward looking Meyer.  If it is an opportunity - why not play some of the younger players to see whether they measure up.
In any event - whatever it is supposed to be - one thing is for bloody certain, it is complete hash made by Meyer.    
Why fiddle around with the geriatrics at all?   Is it because the idiot see them s the future of SA Rugby?   

05 Jun 2014, 16:29
05 Jun 2014, 16:29#18
Keep your powder dry oaks is my advice - it' s too early to shout the odds.

05 Jun 2014, 16:34
05 Jun 2014, 16:34#19

Oh hush up Beandip.

Go munch a brusselsprout ... or some tasteless leafy thing.

05 Jun 2014, 16:35
05 Jun 2014, 16:35#20
 CC, I don't give a shit what you think and whether you support Meyer or if whoever you seem to support. You have opened this thread  with a rant about Meyer. Ihave given my opinion and for some reason, because I am not in agreement with you, you feel the need analyse my personality. You and  I both are entitled to  our opinions as long as it is an opinion. Then again, if you choose to  deal with facts, just make  sure of the facts. If you are not sure of the facts,  then say so. Do not fabricate your own like certain other people so often choose to do.

@ou stupid fokken Maaikie. Could you give us any indication as to where and when it was said that the game against the World XV is an official test match? I can give you evidence of it being a "friendly international".
05 Jun 2014, 16:40
05 Jun 2014, 16:40#21
Stick to the gutter level insults Baldy, at least that has a whiff of honesty.  
05 Jun 2014, 16:58
05 Jun 2014, 16:58#22

What fabrication?

The man's an incompetent fool, appointed as Bok coach, with the aid of his conniving friends. 

He's not there on merit. He's there due to a conspiracy.   

His latest squad says it all. The moron's clueless. 

Clearly you support the wanker and his feeble attempts at playing coach.

Like I said ... if that makes you happy so be it.

Don't get all emotional cause your conservative. Not all of us support mediocrity. Not all of us like incompetence. Some of us would actually like the Bokke to dominate the world of rugby.

You clearly don't care. As long as one of your Bulls boys rules then all's good. You see that's the same stupid mentality your coach has.

It doesn't work for me.

05 Jun 2014, 17:05
05 Jun 2014, 17:05#23
"You're   conservative" ...Baldy. Your software is adding the apostrophe on words like don't. But it won't on "your" because it's the wrong word you abysmally thick brick.
05 Jun 2014, 17:13
05 Jun 2014, 17:13#24

Oh hush up, Faggot!!

Go replace your soiled rag with a fresh one.

05 Jun 2014, 17:17
05 Jun 2014, 17:17#25
There you go...back in the gutter just like I ordered. Hahaha....hook, line and sinker.  
05 Jun 2014, 17:43
05 Jun 2014, 17:43#26
 The fabrication that it was HM became the Bok coach due to his "conniving friends" and conspiracy. You seem to forget that he initially declined the position and that it was between him and  Gert Small in the end. Meyer eventually got the job when Gert Small pulled out because of family commitments. As I said, when you state facts,  make sure that they are indeed facts and not fabrications. 

Meyer ‘a cert’ for Bok coach

After Gert Smal said no to the Springbok coaching job at the weekend due to family commitments, Heyneke Meyer will now be unveiled as the new Bok boss on Friday, a top-level source within the South African Rugby Union has told the Cape Times.

Saru chief executive Jurie Roux met with Meyer in Pretoria on Saturday, where the Bulls director of rugby agreed to take over from Peter de Villiers. He is expected to sign a two-year contract later this week.

Current Ireland forwards coach Smal was Saru’s “first choice”, according to the source, and his decision to turn down the Bok job has left the national body “very disappointed”.

The main obstacle for the organisation in trying to secure his signature was the fact that his two children, a son and daughter, are settled in school in Dublin, Ireland. The Cape Times understands that Smal didn’t want to disrupt their schooling by uprooting them and bringing them back to South Africa.

Another problem was that Smal signed an 18-month extension to his Irish contract last year, which will only expire in June 2013.

BokBFClub Pro421 posts
05 Jun 2014, 17:43
05 Jun 2014, 17:43#27

Ceradyne Good post 2 or 3 back. You seem to be one of the few reasoned posters on here. I remember the doom and gloom last year form the usual suspects about how we were going to loose to Oz twice Wales, Scotland and France. 

We don’t know things will play out this year but it seems they have a taste for humble pie. HM is the best man for the job at the moment. Win or loose lets pretend we are not typical South African supporters and get behind him and our team.

05 Jun 2014, 23:28
05 Jun 2014, 23:28#28
Tank Lanning is on the same page as me saying Meyer has been too conservative;Ex Supersport
So Frans Steyn is missing cartilage in his knee - a condition that will need to see his workload managed carefully for the rest of his career ... yet on Saturday the national coach is going to make him play 80 minutes at inside centre against a World XV side in a match that does not come with Test caps.

This while Juan de Jongh, S'bura Sithole, JJ Engelbrecht and Jan Serfontein watch on from outside the 23, and the likes of Johann Sadie, Paul Jordaan and even Rayno Benjamin (Glad Ryno gets amention he has performed very well) watch on from outside the greater 36-man squad ...

Yet given this fairly extensive list of available centres, Bok coach Heyneke Meyer still sees the need to move JP Pietersen, outstanding at wing for the Boks for so long, to outside centre in order to give the only debutant, Cornal Hendricks, a run on the wing? (Lets see how this one goes. JP wants to play center and he could make a good 13)

Of all the exciting young talent in South Africa, and players who have stuck up their hands in this year’s Super Rugby, Hendricks from the bottom of the log Cheetahs is the only player to have caught the coach’s eye?

Jannie du Plessis has started every single Super Rugby game this year, yet here he is again, starting for the Boks in this exhibition game, together with the misfiring project that sees Coenie Oosthuizen as his backup at tighthead.(I made exactly these points) Why not give the man a break and let Marcel van der Merwe, who was brilliant for the Bulls in a rare start against the Lions, have a run? (Hoor Hoor!!!)

The same could be said for Beast Mtawarira (As I said), who is also massively overplayed. And with so much loosehead talent in the country, why are we calling up Gurthro Steenkamp from France as Beast’s backup? (Agree)

Why not give Trevor Nyakane or Morne Mellett a run with Beast on the bench? (Right)

Schalk Burger is being held together by Elastoplast, could not play for the Stormers last weekend because of injury, has chosen to spend his off season earning Yen rather than resting, yet there he is, benching for the Boks in the first game of the season Wrong Schalk if fit is worthy of a Strting place - his alst injury was because Coenie at 127 kg went into his kneck). If Oupa Mohoje is next in line, why not give him a run? Or what about Warren Whiteley, Boom Prinsloo or Nizaam Carr, who will all be biting into tjoppie number 3 round the braai come kick off on Saturday given that they could not even make the 36 man squad?

Why are we so conservative? 

I think it’s because of that damn “playbook” that Meyer holds so dear, selecting players who know the book and the calls, rather than the best players available. Perhaps we are selecting the players who can play a certain way, rather than the best players in the country?
(This is defintely not the best squad. )

For me it is about trusting the conveyer belt of talent coming through ... Instead of seeing the loss of a first choice player to injury or foreign currency as a mortal body blow, see it as an opportunity to give the next in line a chance to shine.

Be it Gert Smal, their position on the log, or the fact that they have no other choice, but the Stormers’ mid-season revival seems to have coincided with doing exactly this. (As I noted)

Next in line players like Ruan Botha, Alistair Vermaak, Stephan Coetzee, Sti Sithole, Martin Dreyer, Jean Kleyn and Dylon Frylinck have been given a chance, and not only survived, but in some cases, shone! 

A reason they have lost so much talent in the past is because instead of doing exactly this, they have tended to look elsewhere and pay big money for journeyman stop-gap players, or massive money for Toulon type players. That money could have been better spent on keeping home grown players on the conveyer belt, but only if both coaches and players trust in the process. 

Any Bok side selected would have too much in the tank for the end of season fun loving World XV to handle, but would it really have mattered if the Boks had lost, while at the same time building their squad depth? (Exactly)
But one could argue Mey er is sifting his older players first. 
05 Jun 2014, 23:51
05 Jun 2014, 23:51#29
Who are the Small character you re referring to?  
In any event - the issue I raised had nothing to do with the 2012 appointment of Meyer - it was about what happened in 2007.    The decision of the appointment of a coach is decided by the Unions (2 votes each) and three members of the SARU executive.   That means there is 35 voting reps.  In 2007  De Villiers got 18 votes and Meyer 17.
The  SARU CEO will discuss the nominations with the nominees to assure acceptance of nomination and clarify the conditions of potential appointment and for the rest out is out of his hands and depend on the subsequent voting.       The nomination of Smal was declined in 2012 on family considerations.   Subsequently Meyer got the necessary 18 or more votes to be appointed.   
05 Jun 2014, 23:54
05 Jun 2014, 23:54#30
Meyer isn't interested in proving Serfontein isn't ready to play internationals....it's obvious to all but the groupies on this Board. He is interested in figuring out whether JP, who is international class can function at centre. This pathetic wailing is embarrassing.  
06 Jun 2014, 00:03
06 Jun 2014, 00:03#31
 Ag Piss off you stupid turd. Meyer lost out to PDV because of a veto by Hoskins. He publicly confirm that. There was a stalemate of votes and he Hoskins stepped in. Remember his "not purely for rugby reasons" (or something to that effect) remark? In any case, you are now back peddling like hell. You are the one  who insinuated that HM  got the job as the national coach, or could have got it through conniving and then CC jumped on the bandwagon. CC was the one who then declared that: "The man's an incompetent fool, appointed as Bok coach, with the aid of his conniving friends. 

He's not there on merit. He's there due to a conspiracy. "

I reminded him how exactly HM got  the job. If you do not know who "Small character" is it just demonstrates how fucking stupid you really are. Go find  out yourself.