FORUM / RUGBY /  Meyer's comments on the CR tests

Meyer's comments on the CR tests

Started by clevermike10 REPLIES163 VIEWS· 05 Aug 2014, 02:51
05 Aug 2014, 02:51
05 Aug 2014, 02:51#1

Meyer's latest comments: -

Heyneke Meyer may be perceived to be a dour coach with a propensity for a one-dimensional kicking game. However, nothing could be further from the truth.

Speaking to the media in Johannesburg on Monday, where they started preparations for the forthcoming Rugby Championship, Meyer said his team as actively embracing a more expansive game.

In fact last year they scored the highest number of tries in the Test arena - a fact often overlooked by the naysayers.

"There's been a lot of criticism against our Super Rugby teams for not scoring enough tries," Meyer told a media scrum, adding that they have improved significant in that regard.

"I said we wanted to score tries in June and I feel we got that right,"he said of the 17 tries they scored in the three official tests against Wales and Scotland. There were another six tries in a non-cap international match against a World XV.

Meyer admitted the days of simply "out-muscling" the opposition are long gone.

"We have to outthink them," the coach said, adding: We have to be physical enough, but we have to out-think the opposition.

"We have made huge steps [in this regard] in the last year to year-and-half."

Looking towards the opening Rugby Championship match, against Argentina in Pretoria on August 16, Meyer highlighted the scrums and conditioning as areas of concern.

"One area I believe we have to improve on in the Rugby Championship is the scrums," he said of a facet of the game in which the Boks were rated as No.1 in the world in 2013.

"I wasn't happy at all with the scrums in the June Tests," he said, adding: "Worldwide there has been a big trend the scrums and I am very worried about this aspect.

"We only five attacking scrums that we could play from in the Rugby Championship [last year]. There is not a lot of play from scrums and that is one area I believe we need to look at."

While Meyer was full of praise for Bok conditioning coach Basil Carzis, he admitted it will receive plenty of attention in the weeks to come.

"Fitness-wise we are probably ahead [of last year], but we are still not where I want us to be.

"The first few weeks we will work hard on that, we have to take it to a new level. I still believe the one area we need to improve on if we want to be the best in the world is conditioning - that will always be my top priority.

"Once you become fatigued the skill levels drops, your defence goes, your scrums go and the penalties start to mount.

"If you look at the game now, the ball is in play longer than ever. Previously there was more of a kicking contest and an arm-wrestle - now it is a far more expansive game."

Another cause for concern, according to the Bok mentor, is tactical kicking.

"We just looked at Super Rugby, and I can't speak for South African teams, but the New Zealand and Australian teams moved to a No.9 and No.10 that can kick tactically very well.

"It [tactical kicking] was one of our downfalls last year in the Rugby Championship.

"We have to keep on improving and we will spend a lot of time this week working on that."

Conclusion

Meyer's major concerns are -

*    The scrumming deficiencies evidenced in the June tests; and 

*     The issue of  strategic kicking issue

THE SITE DUNCES - UNDER THE ACTIVE LEADERSHIP OF PRESIDENT MOZART  - THE BIGGEST DUNCE IN THE HISTORY OF THE GAME OF RUGBY - DULY SELECTED FOR BEING THE BIGGEST FOOL EVER - ABLY ASSISTED BY HIS VICE-PRESIDENT CERADUNCE  -

*   have been writing eulogies on this site about good Steenkamp was in scrumming and how the national treasure identified by chief Dunce Mozart - has excelled;  

*   have emphasized that that the role of the locks in scrumming is of minor importance  and Matfield and Botha was adequate even though it was not in evidence during the tests and that comments to the contrary is false;  and

*   Tht Mornetjie was perfect in the June tests and there is nothing wrong with his strategic kicking and that even though Du Preez is no available - there is no problem with the kicking game of Pienaar and Hougaard.   

ONE REALLY CANT BLAME OUR LOCAL SUPER-DUNCES - THEY ARE CLUELESS ABOUT RUGBY AND IN THEIR DELUSIONAL STATE CANNOT UNDERSTAND WHY OTHERS ARE CRITICAL OF THEIR STUPIDITY.   MORNETJIE'S OTE HR PROBLEM IS HE DOES NOT KNOW WHEN TO KICK AND WHEN NOT TO = SO THAT DOES NOT HELP EITHER.

05 Aug 2014, 12:10
05 Aug 2014, 12:10#2

The only reason they scored more tries than anyone else last year was because the Pumas came to South Africa underdone and were thumped comprehensively.

They (the Pumas) soon found their feet and played a lot better the rest of the championship.

If they had played like that against the kiwis or the ozzies a bigger hiding would have been dished out to them.

Meyer sees what he wants to.

Fool of a coach.

05 Aug 2014, 12:14
05 Aug 2014, 12:14#3
 Here is the question for our resident super rugby brain.

Who would you have had at no 10 since Jan 2013?
Always injured and scared of contact Goosentjie?
Lambietjie?
Jantjiesie?

The only other alternatives were Pollard, who only really came to light this year and only about midway through the S15, and Boshoff who is more or less in the same boat as Pollard. Both Pollard and Boshoff got opportunities.

Who would you have at the locks? Meyer did not foresee that he would be without both Eben Etzebeth and PSDT for the entire first half of 2014. What he did, however, know is that he had to be prepared for any eventuality. What would have happened in June, had Bakkies and Victor not been available? Bear in mind that there was also a leadership issue in the team. No captain JD, no Adriaan Strauss, no FDP. The only leader among the lot was hothead Bismarck. You can try an tell yourself and every body else that we would have done the trick with Lood and Willemse and you and a few might believe it but I am telling you this: "Dream on, sunshine".

You are living in a dream world about Morne Steyn's decision making. You keep on pissing about others "one -incident syndrome" but you are the worst of anybody. You only have one game that you base everything on...... Ellis Park 2013, and that is it. Your theory about Steyn's lack of so-called lack of vision stems from one remark by Heyneke Meyer. He said: "I told Morne to......". In typical CleverTrevor fashion, you cling to that one remark like shit to a woollen blanket. You completely ignore the rest of that article. What you missed in that entire story is that Meyer actually explained what there approach to the game was going to be. I am not even going to begin to explain that again. I have done it and you don't like it because it does not support your won dirty little agenda.

Meyer has addressed areas of concern. He did not talk about any player in particular. He did not say Steenkamp was kak and Beast was great, etc. He is not totally happy with our scrumming. Period. You are obviously the one who would attach your pet hates to each of these issues.

The jackpot question, though is this one: "If Meyer thought that the problems were Bakkies, Victor and Steenkamp, and you can add Morne to that as well, then WTF did he select them again?" Why did he drop Coenie if Steenkamp was the issue?

You live in your own little sour coccoon, where you see a dark cloud within every single silver lining. You are indeed a sorry ass sour puss. It must be hell having to live around you in the real world. You have read this article with the intention of finding a way to drag in all your little pet hates again and in the process you missed an important part of it:

"In fact last year they scored the highest number of tries in the Test arena - a fact often overlooked by the naysayers.

"There's been a lot of criticism against our Super Rugby teams for not scoring enough tries," Meyer told a media scrum, adding that they have improved significant in that regard."

Of course you wouldn't like to highlight that because it would spoil your chances of having a go at Morne.

"We have to outthink them," the coach said, adding: We have to be physical enough, but we have to out-think the opposition.

"We have made huge steps [in this regard] in the last year to year-and-half."

Obviously this also doesn't sit too well with your little theory either.

Maybe you should also have quoted this article. Then again, that might lead to the conclusion that the decision making and tactical kicking "issues" may indeed also fall on someone other than Morne Steyn's shoulders. This is the article that I am talking about:

Door open for Bok No 9 jersey

Cape Town - Fourie du Preez’ injury may well have opened up an opportunity for the next line of halfbacks to make an impression on coach Heyneke Meyer, but it also served as a warning they could play themselves out of contention if they do not take the step up.

Du Preez’ injury - an ankle that ruled him out of the rest of the year and currently leaves him bedridden at his home in Pretoria - was described as a "massive setback" by Meyer in his first chat with the media since the injury.

And the Bok coach wasn’t scared to lay down the gauntlet either, reports the supersport.com website.

It isn’t a secret that Du Preez has been a massive part of the resurgence of Bok rugby under Meyer and his snappy service, excellent vision and superb tactical boot have played a massive part in the Boks’ success in the last two years.

The ability for the halfback to find the right runner, make the right decision and clear the ball from the base at speed simply has no equal in South Africa.

But therein lies the rub.

The Boks don’t have Du Preez available for this year’s Rugby Championship nor the end of year tour, and given the opportunity to impress right now, Ruan Pienaar, Francois Hougaard and new selection Cobus Reinach all have a mountain of work to do if they plan to give similar service to the Bok team this year.

To be honest, there are few, if any, equals to Du Preez in world rugby, but the Boks must now find a halfback that can give similar crisp service and make the right decisions, all the while being able to use the boot tactically when necessary against the toughest sides in the world.

And for the three halfbacks in the squad, while it is an opportunity to impress, it is also a double-edged sword which could work against them.

All three have their strengths and weaknesses, but Meyer has made it clear the Boks are not going to sacrifice what they expect from the next halfback.

"Fourie is an unbelievable setback, by saying that I’m not saying that the other nines are not in the same class, but rather that Fourie brought a lot to our team, especially in attack.

"He was also another captain on the field and the one guy that could always pick up the right runners," the Bok coach explained.

"I don’t know if people realise that, but there was a huge evolution in our game, where we started attacking out of our own 22 metre area, and we really scored some great tries running from our own 22. (And that is with Mornetjie on the field, oh wise doos)

"Fourie was a mastermind in that, he knows when to kick, when to run, and when to pass, because of his experience."

Meyer has already had a meeting with the three halfbacks to inform them of what he expects, and while Ruan Pienaar is the favourite to take Du Preez’ starting role, the others certainly have a chance.

"I’ve said to the nines today we need to find the next nine, who will be going with us to the World Cup.

"We’ve tried all the candidates now, so after this I will stick with three nines going forward," Meyer said.

My guess is that it would be the same with the no 10s. He will decide on three and stick with them. I would think that the three would be Mornetjie, Pollard and Lambie. Sad, for you, but true. The two prime no 10s would be Morne and Pollard. Lambie will be the utility. Goosen will be uhhhmmm ...................... who is Goosen again?
05 Aug 2014, 12:41
05 Aug 2014, 12:41#4
 Ceradunce
You avoided to two problems raised specifically by NMeyer and that is a fact.
As to dear Mornetjie - he is clueless and I can quote another hundred examples - where his decision making was piss poor.   It is not even a question about his decision-making - Morne is a prime example of a player you should never have as a pivot.  
"My guess is that it would be the same with the no 10s. He will decide on three and stick with them. I would think that the three would be Mornetjie, Pollard and Lambie. Sad, for you, but true. The two prime no 10s would be Morne and Pollard. Lambie will be the utility. Goosen will be uhhhmmm...................... who is Goosen again?"
Your guess s typical of the VP of the Rugby Dunces Association of SA - absolutely clueless.  When will it ever get into that empty brain boc f yours that the Stade Francais Reject is the one on thin ice?
Dimwit - did Meyer say that the area of concern was the fact that the scrumming was a problem in the June test and that we were no 1 in the world last year - but there was a problem in teh June tests.
Who were the players who made us number 1 last year and who were the key player changes this year?   The key new players brought in was Bakkies and Matfield.   Steenkamp was always BS - but Meyer also have to have a given number of BEE players in his squad and that is a key one.     he major change between the tests last year and the tests in June is around the locks - and that is where the situation has gone awry.   Matfeld is physically -deficient and Bakkies has gone backwards with age. 
They will be on the scrumming machine and all players will be tested.   That will indicate finally who are the deficient players and my money is on Matfield and Bakkies being the main reason for the decline in scrummaging.
No stop trying to sideline the issue and look at the issue hitting you straight in the face.    
Whos should habe been be in the June tests at lock - obviously not Slapgat - maybe Bakkies - but the key selections should have been De Jager,  Flippie and Willemse.   

FO
ForeverArizonaClub Pro580 posts
05 Aug 2014, 14:15
05 Aug 2014, 14:15#5

#Poesmike

How glad am I that a dumb fucking cunt like you is just a stupid blogger with your meaningless opinions,shared here.Luckily for SAYRugby you will never get to share your illiterate opinions.You would count yourself lucky to even be in the same room as HM.

Ceredyne and Mozart keep eating you for breakfast.Its quite hillarious.

05 Aug 2014, 14:23
05 Aug 2014, 14:23#6
FA
 Listen - if you have nothing to post on rugby issues - bugger off motherfucker.
05 Aug 2014, 14:27
05 Aug 2014, 14:27#7
Old clueless Meyer is doing a good job of lying to himself  
05 Aug 2014, 14:35
05 Aug 2014, 14:35#8
 So, ou Maaikie, what happened to being civil? Did you lie about that as well?
05 Aug 2014, 14:49
05 Aug 2014, 14:49#9
 Cerdunce
Did you read what that bugger said elsewhere about me and also the curse he put on my mother.  If anyone was uncivil - it was him.  

05 Aug 2014, 15:57
05 Aug 2014, 15:57#10
 Woosh.

In any case
" Whos should habe been be in the June tests at lock - obviously not Slapgat - maybe Bakkies - but the key selections should have been De Jager,  Flippie and Willemse."

De Jager was there and he played. Flip got injured as well. So, if we had your selection, you would have ended with only Lood and Willemse, after Flip's injury. Nothing on the bench and two absolute green horns in the team that is already low on leadership with only hothead Bismarck to run the ship. Classic recipe for disaster.

Now what about my flyhalf question. Who would have been your flyhalves?
GT
Gonzo the GreatClub Pro560 posts
05 Aug 2014, 16:04
05 Aug 2014, 16:04#11
 Scotland usually better us in scrumming, even last year. something about them that beast and gurthro just cant outdo. i dont think that means anything for the rc.