FORUM / RUGBY /  Meyer's Team for Saturday

Meyer's Team for Saturday

Started by clevermike39 REPLIES946 VIEWS· 04 Sept 2013, 10:34
04 Sept 2013, 10:34
04 Sept 2013, 10:34#1
So the team has been confirned for Saturday as follows:- 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Flip van der Merwe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarire Replacements: 16 Adriian Strauss, 17 Guthro Steenkamp, 18 Coeni Oosthuizen, 19 Juandre Kruger, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Jano Vermaak, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein There has been severe criticism expressed on this site and elsewhere about the composition of Meyer's squad for Australasia - since this is the first substantial opposition the team is meeting this year. Even then the same players struggled to a substantial degree against the Scots in June and their display against Argentina in Mendoza was definitely not up to standard. However, the issue is - has the criticism of players being justified? For that reason I did an analysis of Player performances in the test series over the past year, as well as in Super 15 to see whether criticism is justified. In dealing with the issue I look at various criteria inherent in performances on the following basis:- DEFENCE 1 Poor/non-existewnt 2 Questionable 3 Open field non-existent 4 In Channel Questionable BALL SKILLS 5 Poor/questionable ball handling skills 6 Aimless Kicking BREAKDOWN BALL RECOVERY 7 None-existent LINE OUTS 8 None-existent 9 Questionable CONCEEDING PENALTIES 10 Unacceptable If you look at the following players performances in tests and in Super 15 this year the results are clear:- 15 Kirchner - 1, 3, 5, 6 14 Le Roux 13 Engelbrecht - 2 12 De Villiers 11 Habana 10 Steyn - 2, 5, 6 9 Pienaar - 2, 5, 6 8 Vermeulen - 2, 4, 5, 7, 8 7 Alberts - 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10 6 Louw - 2, 4, 5, 7, 8 5 Van der Merwe - 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10 4 Etzebeth 3 Du Plessis - 4, 5, 10 2 Du Plessis 1 Beast - 4, 5, 10 Any objective person can go on and analyze the situation of the bench players on the same basis and would not find a vast difference in the situation. When looking at the negatives of the players mentioned - one has to wonder why they are in fact in Meyer's team. There are only 5 players who are clear from the negatives on a wider basis - Le Roux, De Villiers, Habana, Etzebth and Bismarck. There is one player with 1 questionable negative (Engelbrecht) There are 4 players with 3 negatives, the rest have 4 or moe negatives. So maybe the critics are right - Meyer's team is a mix bag of incompetence and the question remains - why are they in the team at all.
RU
RugganutClub Pro183 posts
04 Sept 2013, 10:45
04 Sept 2013, 10:45#2

Mike thanks for the great post. The only thing i can find fault with is Beast's kicking (plural as in your points summary). While i remeber him hadling the ball once in 10 tests, i do not remeber him kicking or having a kick. Should i be wrong, please let me know where i can find it on tape. I just have to see it.

04 Sept 2013, 11:06
04 Sept 2013, 11:06#3

It could have been worse ... we could have had Jantjies running out ... accompanied by HouGat.

The Ozzie side is a much better side than that which faced the All Blacks.

I think we're in trouble.

kingcornPro3,695 posts
04 Sept 2013, 12:28
04 Sept 2013, 12:28#4

Looks like Meyere are already throwing in the towl, why on earth would you select Flip Flop, I know kruger came short in the physical department against the Argies but Australie like to spread the ball. The will man up but will look to tire out the big boys. 

We really need to invest in a decent fullback, why is Ludik not on tour, he has been great when fit and playing for the sharks.

Kircher and Basson, out of the fire and straight into the frying pan. I know Lambie wants to play 10, but I think this is exceptional circamstances. He is more creative at fullbac than old mule step Kricher. This guy has no pace, can only kick the ball down field and has an suspect defence. 

Bloody hell, Meyer needs to be brave and start un earthing new stars to fill the void in certain positions

04 Sept 2013, 13:00
04 Sept 2013, 13:00#5
The above does not include the issue of predicatability and deficient ball sense. If those two aspects were included - players like Steyn and Pienbaar would also have those two as negatives -- but those are issues that does affect performances of teams as a whole and not necessarily the individual players. What is apparent is that Meyer either are blind to the negatives of his selected players or prefer to ignore them as they would not have been so prominent in the game plans of a decade ago - the period that moulded his rugby thinking and which he still lives in at present. What can we expect from that lot this coming week - nothing of consequence and a defeat is on the cards. Lets just hope it is not to big a margin of loss - but that is likely to be also a forlorn hope. Will Meyer ever learn that you cannot play with non-performing players and expect victories against top teams? I do not think it would happen ever - and we are going to suffer as a result. I think our IRB rating is likely to drop to 5 or 6 by the end of this year. It would be interesting to keep this item alive and see which of the player deficiencies mentioned occur in the game on Saturday and see what the real situation is at present.
TT
The_TruthClub Pro471 posts
04 Sept 2013, 15:34
04 Sept 2013, 15:34#6

What a load of crud on this thread again...

A lot of subjective "criteria", that you think is objective, because you call it objective...

How do you measure "Questionable"?

How do you measure "Unacceptable"?

Or "poor/non-existent"? Or "aimless"?

Then you think you are so smart about game-plans of now vs a decade ago. Then why are the All Blacks still the team that kicks the most? And how is is that the team that kicks the most is consistently ranked at no. 1?

And after you removed all these "atrocious" players, with all their "unacceptable" " deficiencies", who make themselves guilty of "aimless" "strategic" (sic) kicks, who are you going to replace them with?

Oh, and just as a pointer on economy of words... Just use the above two lines in all your posts, because that is the only things you post in any case, except that you type pages and pages of pure drivel, to allow yourself the opportunity to use "big word" (in your mind anyway), like "deficiencies", "atrocious" and "strategic".

And just by the way, it is tactical kicking, which is part of the actions used to implement a specific strategy. (I.e. the tactics you use to implement a strategy)

Eh, and in another thread, you made comment about the word "cameo". I also suggest reading up about the meaning of the word, before making a comment. Your unsuccessful, enervating and abstruce attempts at posts of substance are tedious..............................

Use plain language and you won't sound so stupid!

04 Sept 2013, 15:59
04 Sept 2013, 15:59#7
Kirchner is an improvement on the useless Basson, but still a poor selection. Moving Willie to wing is a big mistake, we need his attacking clout at the back. Bismark brings in more power, but Strauss is a class act. Flip is far better than the useless Kruger, but hardly the correct choice. The side sells us short with Kirchner, Jean, Morne, Pienaar, Jannie, Flip, Louw, Alberts, Vermaak, Steenkamp and Kruger in the match 23.
04 Sept 2013, 16:24
04 Sept 2013, 16:24#8
Essentially we have four changes: - 1) Willie moves to the wing in place of Basson......a big plus. Willie's model is Campese, I would have had him at wing all along. - 2) Kirchner replaces Willie at fullback.....a mixed bag. There will be no tackling from our 15....but he takes away the high ball weapon. - 3) Bismarck replaces Strauss.....power replaces smarts and effort. The fetching aspect gets a lift. But as Etzebeth showed Bismarck isn't a super hero. My guess is a slight loss. - 4) Flip Flop replaces Kruger. The penalty count goes up and our mobility and lineouts are weaker. So we have to cash in the chips in the mauls and the scrums. Especially the scrums. I can't bring myself to believe any selection of Flip Flop is a good thing. - So to me the backs are a bit better and the pack is a little worse. But the pack is massive. This will be Aussie pace vs Bok power, we have a fighting chance.
04 Sept 2013, 16:25
04 Sept 2013, 16:25#9

Nonsense snapster! jean is our first choice center, Morne  - ditto. Given Bekker is out of the frame and Du Toit injured Flup is acceptable.Vermaak has been the form scrumhalf and could easily have started. Louw is the best 6 we have although he could do just as well at 7 and allow the very talented, pacy, gutsy, skilfull and hard worjking Fourie to claim the  spot.

Meyer has left both Juandre and Strauss on the bench. He is banking on the forwards pounding oz. When our big guys get tired he will bring on the faster forwards. Lets see how it goes.

04 Sept 2013, 17:00
04 Sept 2013, 17:00#10

Do me a favour Beanie … rather shut your yap and go back to the forest.

You’re lowering the average intellect ratio on every thread you touch …

We already have one moron on here in Stupid … so please … if you don’t mind …

Thanks a lot.

SP
SpooonyClub Pro718 posts
04 Sept 2013, 17:47
04 Sept 2013, 17:47#11

Kirschener playing who is going to guard the tour bus?

04 Sept 2013, 18:57
04 Sept 2013, 18:57#12
Mozart The pack is massive - but by all accounts slow. clumsy and poor I most aspects of the game. What are they going top ground down? The Wallabies will win their line-outs and scrums and move the ball wide - at breakdowns they will recover their balls before any of the massive pack - with the possible exception of Bismarck turns up and move the ball away from the bumbling and slow Springboks. The Springboks will take theirs and Morne or Pienaar will kick aimlessly - handing position over to the Wallabies - counter-attack to follow. If there is a breakdown - they will retain the ball quickly and the attack will continue - with virtually none of the Springbok forwards anywhere near. You may think it can work - but it won't and there is no fighting chance of anything - lose we will - we only have to hope the Wallabies make some errors which will reduce the margin of their victory.
04 Sept 2013, 19:04
04 Sept 2013, 19:04#13
The Truth is Where? I'll keep it decent - if you do not understand English don't post on this site.
KA
KalaedFreddieClub Pro495 posts
04 Sept 2013, 21:09
04 Sept 2013, 21:09#14

Seems there are quite a few "fans" who will be making a fortune betting against the Springboks. If you are so sure and verbalising your prediction here then you should be placing massive bets against the Bokke!

Why are you not in the "game" Mike? Seems you value your own opinion way higher than that of the incumbents. It is clearly a loss to the rugby world if you are not plying your trade and incredible insight. I would love to follow your career path as you achieve the one accolade after the other and who knows you may even be the next Bok trainer.

Jy en Pappie is altwee fokken dom!

04 Sept 2013, 22:06
04 Sept 2013, 22:06#15

Mike you're an arsehole...

For the past 2 weeks I haven't commented and instead I've just read the odd thread. You've become cocky and rude with your biasness in full swing and your licking of Saffex's arse cringey and unbearable. Your long winded comments show us all your controlling nature in the reason that you think your opinion is fact. You crave for attention, you've even said in the past you would poke into people's favoured player to provoke a reaction when said player isn't relevant. 

Your disliking of Meyer is something that grinds my gears, fine he isn't your cup of tea but your as spineless as to rename the Boks to 'Meyers team'! Go support a different country you twat. 

04 Sept 2013, 23:20
04 Sept 2013, 23:20#16
Shezza Sorry if you do not agree. I went through the stats and even looked at some games again over the past week to determine tendencies displayed by players in the past year - both on test level and on Super 15 level. With due regard to those tendencies I have allocated the negative tendencies to players who made the same mistakes a number of times in a number of different matches. The basis for allocation was not only one-off occurrences in single matches - but what has become some significant factors in virtually all games played. You may not agree with me - but the problem is that players through performances over a year display certain tendencies that normally occur on a regular basis in their matches. I am not saying it is going to repeat itself in the match on Saturday - but I am definitely going to study to what extent expected deficiencies recur. If the majority of players perform without the deficiencies they have shown throughout the past year - we may win - but bearing in mind their history over the past year that is highly unlikely.
05 Sept 2013, 00:05
05 Sept 2013, 00:05#17

ClownCunt, let me guess you count yourself as some rugby authority.........as bad as Meyer's side is, its a damn site better than that pathetic effort of yours.........I mean, Volmink, Howard, Boshoff, Kockott, Mellett, Marcel v/d Merwe, Minnie and Jacques Engelbrecht to start.........I kid you not lads............it does not end there, he included the injured Steph du Toit and Arno Botha in his side.

And this clown thinks he is well placed to voice an opinion on Meyers side.......what an ignorant idiot

05 Sept 2013, 00:38
05 Sept 2013, 00:38#18

Beenkop, you are as wrong as ever. Jean should not be our first choice centre for the simple reason that Serfontein is better.

Morne has never been our best 10 ever.......not then not now. Lambie is far better.

Flip is better than Kruger, but there are a number of better options than Flip, starting with de Jager.

Louw has been a huge disappointment, mirroring the average season he had for Bath this year. He is no fetchers backside........Kolisi, Brussouw and Fourie are all better

05 Sept 2013, 01:02
05 Sept 2013, 01:02#19
Dave wasn't there a time when you fancied the following for Bok colours: Kirchner, Ludick, Wynand, Wailing Murray, Burden as a centre, Pienaar as a flyhalf, Pretorius, Whitehead, Hougaard as a scrumhalf, Greyling, Werner Kruger, Deon Carstens, CJ, Steenkamp, Chilli, Sykes ,Flip Flop, Luke Watson, Deysel, Coetzee, SusPies....etc etc? I'm curious, were you wrong then....and if so, what makes you sure you are right now?
sharkbokCaptain23,297 posts
05 Sept 2013, 01:21
05 Sept 2013, 01:21#20

Mozart when they were the new kids on the block they were favourites of Saffex, as identified by Saffex and could do no wrong, but later fell out of favour and became past it hasbeens or neverbeens when the next batch of new kids hit the scene. 

Saffex just recently found us Eztebeth and Jan Serfontein -Jean Devilliers has become the latest casualty because he is taking the space of young Serfontein.

JJ fell of a player even though he had his arms around his opposite number, and this allowed the tackled player to get over the try line and score and poor Jannie took the blame. 

05 Sept 2013, 01:27
05 Sept 2013, 01:27#21

man , you guys are in need of a rugby game. it is the only thing that has any hope of changing the endless cycle of "debate". well the police always say dont interfer in family disputes  so I am keeping out of it, lol . some of us are  going to work on selecting our fantasy rugby teams & leave the bickering to the rest

of you. Enjoy!

05 Sept 2013, 01:28
05 Sept 2013, 01:28#22
Well I'm urging Dave to think about his past picks....if Waylon Murray was the answer then and flopped, who is to say any of these young centres are the answer....until they have proved it in tests. In the meantime Jean just keeps playing champagne rugby.
05 Sept 2013, 01:51
05 Sept 2013, 01:51#23

No Moz, Kirchner, Ludik, Olivier, Murray, Burden, Whitehead, Greylng, Kruger, Carstens, Sykes, Flip and Deysel have NEVER made my starting sides.........you are confusing the difference between players I rated and players I selected as starters.

I rated Ludik and Kirchner as fullbacks, but never ahead of Frans and Lambie who were always my first choices. Have always been a fan of Olivier, but always as a back-up to Jean and you know that. Same can be said of Murray at the time......he was always a better option to Adi Jacobs who was useless. But my Bok 13 was always Fourie, which you know.

Burden never smelt my Bok side as a centre and you know it. I opinioned that he was the best 13 I saw at U20 level and that Muir got it wrong converting him to hooker......I stand by that.

Pienaar at 10 ahead of Morne anyday and the same can be said of Pretorius - Morne has NEVER made my Bok side and never will. A fit Hougaard is always my Bok 9, easy call given how poor Pienaar has been these days.

Whitehead had one great season but never rediscovered that form after his injury........on a par with Olivier, but never ahead of Jean in his day.

I liked the look of Greyling but never ever ahead of Beast and Steenkamp, but you know that. I rated Kruger as a youngster, but was free with concluding he has failed to deliver on the early promise......I have never selected him ahead of CJ, Mujati or Jannie.

Have never rated Carstens, you have me confused with someone else here.

CJ was my choice of tighthead a good few years ago, certainly better than BJ. Steenkamp and Beast were my choices a few years back. Both Steenkamp and CJ were good in their day, both are past it.

I rate Chili, certainly test standard, but NEVER ahead of Bismark and Strauss.....but you know that.

Have never rated Sykes that highly, again you have me confused. Solid lock, better than Jandre Kruger or Johan Muller for instance. I like Flip, but he was always a back-up to Bakkies, but you know that.

Luke Watson as a player had test player written all over him, sadly he was a twit though. Have never been a huge Deysel fan again you have me confused with someone else. I like him though and he is good enough to be in the extended Bok mix. Coetzee, yes, I rate him.......he is test material.

I was a Spies fan, but this has not been the case for the past 2 years

So Moz, I am not sure what point you are trying to make, for the contents of your post is not 100% accurate..... Of your list only Hougaard would make my current Bok side, with Coetzee possibly on the bench.

A good few seasons back, I had CJ as my tighthead, Spies as my 8, I always said Pienaar was a better 10 than Morne and stand by that even today........it was always a tough call between Steenkamp and Beast for loosehead and I have always maintained that Schalk was never an openside and that Watson was a better openside. However, I conceded that Schalk as a makeshift 6 worked as we had to have him and Juan Smith in the side.

The rest of the names on that list NEVER made my starting side.

If I was Bok coach and injuries were not a factor, my current Bok side would be:

15. Taute 14. JP 13. JJ 12. Serfontein 11. Willie 10. Goosen 9. Hougaard 1. Beast 2. Bismark 3. Coenie 4. Etzebeth 5. Steph du Toit 6. Brussouw 7. Arno Botha 8. CJ Stander

16. Strauss 17. Nkanyane/Kitshoff 18. Marcel v/d Merwe/Malherbe 19. de Jager 20. Kolisi/Elstadt/Coetzee/Labascagne 21. v/Zyl 22. Lambie 23. Frans Steyn

This is for the record moving forward

05 Sept 2013, 02:11
05 Sept 2013, 02:11#24
Dave my point is there are 19 guys there that are still playing S15 or top European rugby. If they had succeeded they could still be playing for the Boks....but they aren't in the positions indicated. It's very hard to say ahead of time which players will succeed. There are exceptions like Etzebeth and Schalk who are destined. But with most of these guys we don't know until they are actually put to the test.
05 Sept 2013, 02:35
05 Sept 2013, 02:35#25

Moz agreed, but of that list, not many made my starting side......I remain positive about many players and many are test standard but dont happen to be the best in their respective position.

I was merely pointing out that just because I rated Olivier, does not mean he was my choice at 12. He has never been my 12 as Jean has always been better. Olivier would have been my choice only when Jean was injured.

But Jean is no longer the best 12, Serfontein is better...........and the same can be said of Kirchner, Basson, Morne, Pienaar, Vermaak, Jannie, Flip, Kruger, Steenkamp, Louw and Alberts in the current Bok side.

We have better players than these guys and that is my issue with Meyer, he has it completely wrong.

We are not going to beat Oz and NZ with these players so I'd rather see de Jager in ahead of Kruger who has been exposed at test level, whats the point of retaining him. de Jager has shown good form, has stood tall in the S15 against the best, so lets test him at test level.......same can be said of Nkanyane or Kitshoff ahead of Steenkamp, Elstadt ahead of Alberts, Brussouw or Kolisi ahead of Louw.

Worst of all, our best young loosie in CJ Stander has been ignorantly ignored by Meyer.......this lad is the closest thing we have to Joe and Bok Skinstad.......but Meyer is not in tune enough to act on this.

Until Meyer and his wrong players start beating the likes of the AB's, I will continue to question these selections.

There is just no way I could select Kruger as my lock or Morne as my 10.......we wont beat the best with this lot, for they are not our best and our record confirms this

05 Sept 2013, 03:02
05 Sept 2013, 03:02#26
So your theory is, if you don't like the incumbents....throw in the new guys. But as we see in every RWC year these "b" teams implode when the Boks are rested. Lood de Jager was nowhere against the Stormers. Serfontein was nowhere against the Brumbies. Elstadt has never been the dominating player Alberts and Vermeulen are. CJ Stander looked good, but he wipped and went to play up north before getting test credentials. - Sorry Dave there are no obvious players that have been left out of our team for Oz. Granted there are a few that are in the team like Kirchner, JJ, Pienaar, Flip Flop, Jannie and Kruger who are hanging on by the skin of their teeth. But there are no clearly better players.....not Lambie at flyhalf, van Zyl at scrummie, Lood or Labuschagne. None of these guys are clearly better, which leaves us with the incumbents.
05 Sept 2013, 07:39
05 Sept 2013, 07:39#27
Mozart I want to quote a statement made by you in your latest posting:- "But there are no clearly better players.....not Lambie at flyhalf, van Zyl at scrummie, Lood or Labuschagne. None of these guys are clearly better, which leaves us with the incumbents>" Just a question? On what basis do you make the bold statement that the mentioned players are not better than the incumbents. It cannot be on the basis of proven performance in Super 15 or in all statistical aspects of the game - so what is your real basis to make a statement like that? Prejudice????? To make a bland statement like that based on falsehoods are also not acceptable. You stated elsewhere that Labuschagne is a weakling and lightwieight, yet you find a player (Arno Botha) weighing 3 kgs less than Labuschagne as acceptable. So now lets have the proof for the statement and try and use statistics to proof your point - or for that matter anything else of value. You always make statements like bone-crushing tackles, massive ball carrying and mighty rucking - please provide examples where it in fact happened - but also limit your examples to what happened over the past year. I really am keen to know exactly on what you base statements like the above - so please respond logically.
05 Sept 2013, 07:51
05 Sept 2013, 07:51#28

Oh look,it's the liar from the Morne string.

05 Sept 2013, 07:57
05 Sept 2013, 07:57#29

@mikey,

i dont want to butt my nose in (but obviously im going too), but u ask what makes the mentioned players not better then the incumbents???
in one case and one cae only which is lambie, its form.

i dont think that morne is the answer to any of the saffas prayers, but he is the best from a very average crop at the moment.
lambies form in 2013 has been pure kak, im shocked at how much his value to any team be it the sharks or Boks could have plumetted so much.

the way i see mrone and lambie is its better to have a flyhalf who knows nothing about attacking rugby, but 9 times out of 10 has a kicking game both tactical and goal kicking that is amongst the best in the world, then it is to have someone who is at best average in all those areas.

guess which ones referred to morne and lambie, :oP

05 Sept 2013, 08:27
05 Sept 2013, 08:27#30
Mozart You really are the worst when it comes to unfounded comments. Ceradyne gave a match description of the Stade Francais game and was misrepresenting facts completely. I pointed out some aspects of misrepresentation by him - and now suddenly I am the liar. Why don't you check facts before you make false accusations. But then prejudice is the norm - Ceradyne gave a false praise singing performance on Morne Steyn - I gave the truth - but prejudice must always be the norm. Morne can do no wrong and therefore I am the liar. Fact is - if there is a liar it is Ceradyne - not me. I promised a while ago that I would treat you with respect - a promise I have kept thus far - but your statements are becoming very near to hysterical garbage and lies yourself - so I will refrain from making any comment. However, as per normal - when you make unsubstantiated statements on players - you have to find ways and means to escape from the tight corner situation in which you find yourself when queried on those statements - so I really thought the kind of answer you gave in this case was to be expected. Just one thing - Ceradyne gave a totally false report - I had the opportunity to watch the game a second time and told him where he went completely out of line - but you accept his version without question. That shows the level you are prepared to sink to - I did not believe that you should behave like that. I shall continue not to insult you personally - but it is becoming very hard to deal with that - since you show no respect on your side and no commitment not to get personal.
RE
redsmanPro1,710 posts
05 Sept 2013, 09:36
05 Sept 2013, 09:36#31
A couple of things I've noted: 1. Saw interview of Meyer and Pienaar on foxsports last night and it seemed to me these guys were very meek & mild - they actually seemed like very decent guys.... To the point where they were talking the Aussies up..... to what end? put us off our game?? I don't get this tactic at all - and one thing for sure talking your opponent up in the hope they choke doesn't really work that often........... You've gotta go in with a bit of self-belief and a degree of mongrel arrogance (something the kiwis are full of - as much as it annoys me). I would have preferred to see Meyer not say much and come to the media conference with his biggest meanest forward (or at least bismarck). To be frank they looked like a couple of smiling dutch tourists... not the elite bokke rugby representation we come to expect................ anyway will see what they are up to in 2 days!!! 2. I am loving the QC / Folau combo and really really hoping the wallabies put it all together because I don't think we've even seen HALF of what Israel is capable of and this might be his breakthrough game... he loves suncorp and QC is the right man to give him ball in the right place.... 3. Morne and Side Show Bob tend to be tactical kickers - so they'll kick even though the saffa forward pack are monsters I think they'll be puffing pretty hard as I think wobs will run it every chance they get. Did I mention can wait..........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
05 Sept 2013, 10:44
05 Sept 2013, 10:44#32

That’s very interesting, Mozart.

So in other words he has a history of stupidity … it’s not just a recent viral attack that’s rendered him stupid … but rather something deeply ingrained ... possible at dna level!! I guess the aid of a physician would then be pointless.    

I didn’t realize how deep the rot went. Thanks for clearing that up.

I read somewhere that you met this … errh … poor troubled soul in the UK, right? Did you perhaps notice a nervous tick … or … perhaps a stutter? Did he play with himself incessantly? 

Aaaaah ... I thought so. Classic signs of dumbanitis!!! Fraid there's no cure.

I suppose he had difficulty looking you in the eye, huh? 

Shame ... not much one can do ... poor dear is confused and clearly doesn’t know his arse from his elbow.

He will probably deny all he said a little later. He can’t help himself, you see. It’s all part of an aggressive case of dumbanitis.

Shame ... if only he had said something a little earlier ... !!!

Guess I'd better show him a little patience.

05 Sept 2013, 15:24
05 Sept 2013, 15:24#33
Wrong again Moz, the majority of the incumbents are not good enough and there are better players out there. Your take on de Jager is not accurate, he was better than Steenkamp against the Stormers and has been damn good all year. Better option than Kruger and Flip.......why stick with these guys when they are just not good enough - what's the point, we will never challenge the Kiwi's while they are in the side. Same with Serfontein who has been good all year and clearly destined for a long test career........Jean has been solid all year, but this kid has far more clout about him......therefore play him ahead of the old boy who at best delivers the solid. Elstadt is no less physical than Alberts but at least makes an impact. When last did Alberts produce the goods. As for the theory that the B side fell short when the incumbents were rested - well those Bok B sides selected were pathetic and hardly a reflection of our best young talent. Given the coaches cant select the correct side initially, what are the chances of them getting the next best right - a big fat zero. As for CJ Stander, if Meyer had any savy he would have snapped CJ up ages ago as he indicated he would happily play for the Boks in an interview with a SA rugby magazine. As for Lambie over Morne, well Morne has proved a failure for years, so what's the point. Play the more dynamic Lambie......its an easy call. Same applies to v/Zyl over Pienaar, de Jager over Kruger etc There is no doubt that Meyer has got more than 50% of the selections wrong. The Bok side playing against Oz, does not reflect the best of our talent and the results over the next few weeks will sadly confirm this
05 Sept 2013, 15:33
05 Sept 2013, 15:33#34
TheTuthisoutThere You asked a number of interesting questions and initially I did not want to responde - but I will deal with the issues raised objectively and in osome detail by quoting examples:- QUESTIONABLE DEFENCE This is where a player normally makes his tackles -but sometimes relapse into defensive deficiency. For example Engelbrecht normally makes his tackles - but in both Super 15 and in the recent Medoza tests he missed crucial tackles - which resulted in tries for the opposition. That raised a question mark as to defnesie reliability - which has been discussed on a number of occasions on this forum - raised by a number of members as well. UNACCEPTABLE DEFENCE This is where there are more regular lapses in defence than is the case with questionable defence. Here defensive deficiencies are more pronounced. Again one has to look at test performances and in cases other than Pienaar also at the tests. Based on actual statistics provided for instance in the Mendoza test Morne Steyn made 7 tackles - missing 2 and Pienaar 6 tackles missing 2. That same tendency can be found in all matches - be it tests or Super 15. A missed tackle ratio above 20% is unacptable by all counts. POOR/NON-EXISTEN BALL HANDLING SKILLS Here the answer is the ability to catch balls passed to players on an acceptable basis and pass the balls effectively as well. Take for instance the Kirchner scenario. In the Dunedin test Kirchner got involved and passed the ball behind Habana's back when a try was begging. In the Twickenham test - whenever he got into the backline he never passed the ball - and crashballed. Similar things happene in Super 15 as well - and indicates a poor reading of plays and poor ball handling ability. A similar thing happened when Alberts knocked on the first ball passed to him. Normally he and other loosies get tackled early when carrying the ball - and the outcome is dubious and poor. If they ever pass the ball to other players - it is purely by accident - not intentional at all. Poor reading of the game is the main reason for players like that and effectively there is no way where the players concerned can form an effective attacking link with other team players. AIMLESS KICKING There are two forms of kicking that is acceptable, namely - * Making relieving kicks - whilst ensuring that quick throw-ins and consequential counter-attacks are not possible; and * Strategic kicks - putting the opposition under pressure and making a major contribution to attacking rugby being possible. However, when a kick is too far and it allows the opposition ample time to organise their counter-measures effectively - it is aimless kicking - because it merely representis handing over possession to the opposition. The other problem is launching of kicks in the opposition half of the field of play when ball possession should be a premium consideration. Take for example again the Dunedin test last year. Steyn launched two kicks in the All Blacks half of the field - which even he commentators described as "rubbish". Problem is that of all the so-called strategic kicks in both Super 15 and tests - 70% of those launched by Steyn and Pienaar are totally counter-productive - with no tangible benefit for the teams they play for. This is confirmed by statistics and actual performances on he field of play during most matches these two players play in. If you watch games carefully - you will be able to clearly differentiate between "tactical/strategic kicking and aimless kicking. basically the latter merely represents a means of handing over ball possession and the initiative to opposing teams. This is a particular problem with the present half back pair - they kick balls aimlessly far too often and they end up in a worse situation because of that. If you watch future games objectively - you will clearly be able to identify where the kicking game of Steyn and Pienaar is failing the team. Unfortunately often enough the two kick for no real purpose at all OTHER THAN KICKING FOR THE SAKE OF KICKING and the results are negative virtually all the time. THE WHOLE BREAKDOWN IS BASED ON TRAITS DISPLAYED BY PLAYERS DURING THE PAST YEAR AND IS FACTUALLY BASED - NOT BASED ON PREJUDICE AT ALL..
05 Sept 2013, 15:45
05 Sept 2013, 15:45#35
ClownCount, I notice its all about me.......why not man up and post a rugby related post so that we can all piss ourselves laughing. Come on be a sport
05 Sept 2013, 16:29
05 Sept 2013, 16:29#36

Bwhahahahaha. Ou kakpraat Maaik at work again.

UNACCEPTABLE DEFENCE

This is where there are more regular lapses in defence than is the case with questionable defence. Here defensive deficiencies are more pronounced. Again one has to look at test performances and in cases other than Pienaar also at the tests. Based on actual statistics provided for instance in the Mendoza test Morne Steyn made 7 tackles - missing 2 and Pienaar 6 tackles missing 2. That same tendency can be found in all matches - be it tests or Super 15. A missed tackle ratio above 20% is unacptable by all counts.

Ruan Pienaar did not play in the S15. The best that I could do is to get the stats that are available from the RaboDirect PRO12, (not all the stats of all the games are available) and the Heineken Cup. In the PRO 12 (from 3 games that the stats are available of) Pienaar made 20 tackles and missed 4. That is indeed a missed tackle ration fo 20% in those three games in particular. He played in seven Heineken Cup games and he made 22 tackles and missed only 2. That gives hom a ratio of 8.333% tackles missed. Overall he made 38 tackles and missed 6 with a missed tackle ratio of 13.64. Not above 20% from what I can see.

Now lets move on to ou Maaik's favourite topic, Morne Steyn. In the S15 of 2013 he made 129 tackles and missed 13. That is a missed tackle ratio of 9.15%.

Ou Maaikie never learns. If you want to make a point and use facts, do not exaggerate. You are going to get caught out. Maybe you should have used two other players to use as an example of poor defence.

05 Sept 2013, 16:43
05 Sept 2013, 16:43#37

We both know that any rugby related issues get you all confused.

You say one thing today and then tomorrow you deny ever having said it.

I mean look … even your spelling is suffering because of your condition.  

Your favourite players today are all yesterday’s news tomorrow

By rights they shouldn’t have been news to begin with … but that’s a topic for another day.

Who can keep up with your confused state of mind?

I know you can't ... so why even bother. 

05 Sept 2013, 19:20
05 Sept 2013, 19:20#38

Just a reminder for ou Maaikie, to check up on those tackle stats. Seems he has forgotten about this thread, or missed it.

05 Sept 2013, 20:27
05 Sept 2013, 20:27#39
ClownCunt just man up you pussy and give us a rugby related post you girl We need a good laugh How is old Boshoff working out as the Bok flyhalf......I note he is still stuck at 15 for the Lions........its going well for you then........wonder who is at 10, could it silky Jantjies?
06 Sept 2013, 07:10
06 Sept 2013, 07:10#40
Back to the top with this item. I want to test my assessment of proven performance deficiencies in the game tomorrow and see whether the deficiencies as outlined are in evidence.