FORUM / RUGBY /  Moron James Dalton in hot water after latest assault, racism charge

Moron James Dalton in hot water after latest assault, racism charge

Started by Chippo17 REPLIES5,563 VIEWS· 31 Mar 2020, 14:20
CH
ChippoPro3,372 posts
31 Mar 2020, 14:20
31 Mar 2020, 14:20#1

A criminal case has been opened against former Springbok hooker James Dalton.

Dalton, 47, is accused of assaulting security guard Simphiwe Mntunani at the Harbour View building in Woodstock, Cape Town, last week.

Mntunani was reportedly assisted by EFF councillor Faranaaz Gaffoor, who said not only was this an assault case, but also one of racism after Dalton allegedly called Mntunani a 'f***ing black monkey'.

Mntunani has since opened a case at the Woodstock police station.

A video of the incident, in which Dalton also appears to head-butt Mntunani (see below), has been shared on multiple occasions on social media.

According to Monday's Cape Times, police spokesperson FC van Wyk said they were investigating a common assault case, but no arrests have yet been made.

It's not the first time Dalton has found himself in hot water.

In 2017 he was arrested in Sea Point and charged with assault, reckless or negligent driving, crimen injuria and resisting arrest, while in September of last year, footage emerged of him brawling with security outside a Sea Point restaurant.

Dalton played 43 Tests for the Springboks from 1994 to 2002.

Dalton was part of the initial Springbok 1995 Rugby World Cup-winning squad, although he only played in two pool matches before he was suspended for the remainder of the tournament following the infamous brawl at the Boet Erasmus Stadium against Canada.

CH
ChippoPro3,372 posts
31 Mar 2020, 14:22
31 Mar 2020, 14:22#2

Here he is again, but the oke fucked him up with that kick!

sharkbokCaptain23,235 posts
31 Mar 2020, 14:27
31 Mar 2020, 14:27#3

Just saw your thread a minute before posting mine on the same topic. The video below looks like how it initially started. Looks like he had been drinking

Dalton may get jail for this. 

AU
AugenöffnerPro6,974 posts
31 Mar 2020, 15:44
31 Mar 2020, 15:44#4

There are very few Boks that I have opinions about on a personal level. I definitely have strong feelings about James. I never liked him, and heard a lot of stories as far back as the 90s; they were all confirmed to be true. He is not a courageous man, but a scummy bully. The kind of bloke that needs a good boot in the face. Everything I despise in a failed man. A failed man is what he will always be, to his grave. Had the cheek to speak about the kind of man Jake is. Some gall to say the least. 

31 Mar 2020, 15:58
31 Mar 2020, 15:58#5

I don't like James much, but if the EFF is involved, the racism charges were probably added to escalate a weak case. His behavior sucks, but if you think what happened warrants jail time there is something seriously wrong with society. Bakkies did a much worse job on Jimmy.  Nothingburger ...this is only "news" because it was James. This isn't actually news, its sensationalism.

AJHPro3,183 posts
31 Mar 2020, 16:18
31 Mar 2020, 16:18#6

James always has had a short fuse plus he is overly aggressive in his attitude. A walking disaster looking for a fight.

His aggression was on full display whilst he played rugby and with a few beers gulped down he is trouble, trouble and more trouble off the field.

Someone day someone is going to sort him out permanently I'm afraid.

31 Mar 2020, 16:35
31 Mar 2020, 16:35#7
Fucked him up with that kick!!! What video you watching Chip chip? Bullet was always a hothead, you need one in your side
31 Mar 2020, 16:57
31 Mar 2020, 16:57#8
Agreed the kick missed Dalton. He took a step backwards. Dalton may have a bit of martial arts training as he also wrestled that guy getting on top very quicky, despite an awkward landing. 
Probably pissed, otherwise would have landed on top when they fell. He was clearly stronger but his wrestling technique looked pretty good. 
The fact the EFF is involved, they are looking to turn this into a racial thing. There is no evidence it was racial, but it may well have been.
Given Dalton has a track record with various incidents, in a fair court - he would probably get a suspended sentence. In SA, likely jail. 
CH
ChippoPro3,372 posts
31 Mar 2020, 17:13
31 Mar 2020, 17:13#9

He even talks like a scum bag.

Him and Mikey Schultz both brought up around the Jeppe area.

Proper scum!

31 Mar 2020, 18:02
31 Mar 2020, 18:02#10

Ya, not a choir boy for sure. Won't tell him he's scum to his face though...not scared, just not in the mood for all the trouble...

31 Mar 2020, 22:59
31 Mar 2020, 22:59#11
What was the name of the other Sharks Hooker who was constantly getting into fights, probably worse than Dalton? After a few drinks, he was one of the Avengers in fights with everyone. 
He was from my home town within Durban. He just disappeared, not sure if he went overseas or he was thrown out of rugby altogether.

01 Apr 2020, 08:19
01 Apr 2020, 08:19#12

Lukas van Biljon was a rattlesnake too...he played for the Sharks, but I always thought he was a Blikoor( in origin) .

01 Apr 2020, 09:56
01 Apr 2020, 09:56#13

Nothing new - the brain and thinking capacity of this idiot is about zero-minus - equal to the capacity of some site members.

Nothing about rugby to discuss so two threads on the same simpleton is opened,

By the way - what happened to the famous racism charge against Etzebeth just before the WC?       That is probably a much more interesting discussion topic than the one on Dalton/

01 Apr 2020, 10:47
01 Apr 2020, 10:47#14
It was Kyle Cooper that was constantly in fights. He made more tackles off the pitch. A bit of an animal.
01 Apr 2020, 12:51
01 Apr 2020, 12:51#15

Fucked him up with that kick!!!

What video you watching Chip chip?

Haha, yes, that kick barely connected if at all. Those stunts work better in the movies than in real life, so easy to counter.

But Chippo may have been sarcastic.

CH
ChippoPro3,372 posts
01 Apr 2020, 15:34
01 Apr 2020, 15:34#16

100% sarcastic Pakie.

Thanks for spotting it.

01 Apr 2020, 15:54
01 Apr 2020, 15:54#17

I have my moments, Chippo, few and far between as they may be.

01 Apr 2020, 16:29
01 Apr 2020, 16:29#18

"I have my moments, Chippo, few and far between as they may be."

HA ha, much more frequent than you lead on.