FORUM / RUGBY /  My squad of 60 at the start of 2014

My squad of 60 at the start of 2014

Started by Saffolk 15 REPLIES405 VIEWS· 03 Jan 2014, 00:38
03 Jan 2014, 00:38
03 Jan 2014, 00:38#1

Its only right that I start the year with a squad........316 to go Moz! Happy New Year to all.

Lets see how much it changes by end of 2014?

Fullbacks: Taute, SP Marais, Visser, Andries Coetzee

Wings: JP, Willie, Habana, Rhule, v/d Heever, Jordaan, Mjekevu

Centres: JJ, Serfontein, Frans Steyn, de Allende, Howard Mnisi, Pat Howard, Frans Venter, Stokkies Hanekom

Flyhalves: Goosen, Lambie, Jantjies, Swiel

Scrumhalves: Hougaard, v/Zyl, Reinach, Schrauder, Groom

Props: Beast, Coenie, Malherbe, Kitshoff, Marcel v/d Merwe, Nkanyane, Mellett, Frik Kirsten

Hookers: Bismark, Strauss, Chiliboy, Cooper, Callie Visagie

Locks: Etzebeth, Steph du Toit, de Jager, Willemse, Jacques du Plessis, Quinn Roux, Peet Marais, Jandre Marais, Ruan Botha

Loosies: Vermeulen, CJ Stander, Brussouw, Kolisi, Coetzee, Arno Botha, v/d Walt, Labascagne, Elstadt, Fourie

03 Jan 2014, 01:50
03 Jan 2014, 01:50#2
No Louw, no Alberts....and a bunch of school boys. What happened to that new years resolution to eat more fish?  
03 Jan 2014, 02:12
03 Jan 2014, 02:12#3
Not a big fan of Louw, he is not a 6 and Alberts is ok but I prefer the young guns.
It was not fish, it was more pies!!
03 Jan 2014, 04:19
03 Jan 2014, 04:19#4

There are a number of  players I would leave out - but to some extent I agree with most.    However, I think that Super 15 this year will give indications as to the way to go and there may be some surprises in stall for us.   

At this stage there is no indication that De Villiers will be superseded by anybody and I will follow the performances of Francois Steyn and Taute in Super 15 with interest.      

03 Jan 2014, 08:40
03 Jan 2014, 08:40#5
 Fullbacks: Willie, Taute, SP Marais, Visser, Andries Coetzee

Wings: JP, Willie, Habana, Rhule, v/d Heever, Jordaan, Mjekevu maybe that black Lions wing

Centres: Jaque, JEAN, JJ, Serfontein, Frans Steyn, de Allende, 

For the future - Howard Mnisi, Pat Howard, Frans Venter, Stokkies Hanekom (JJ could end up on the wing

Flyhalves: Goosen, Lambie, Jantjies, Swiel, Catrikilis

Scrumhalves: Du PREEZ, Hougaard, v/Zyl, Reinach, Schrauder, Groom

Props: Beast, Coenie, Malherbe, Kitshoff, Marcel v/d Merwe, Nkanyane, Mellett, Frik Kirsten

Hookers: Bismark, Strauss, Liebenberg, Chiliboy, Cooper, Callie Visagie

Locks: FLIP, Etzebeth, Steph du Toit, de Jager, Willemse, Quinn Roux, Bakkies.

These guys are questions for the future - Jacques du Plessis, Peet Marais, Jandre Marais, Ruan Botha 

Loosies: BURGER, Vermeulen, CJ Stander, Brussouw, Kolisi, Coetzee, Arno Botha, v/d Walt, Labascagne, Elstadt, Fourie, RHODES

Some serios mistakes here snapster!!! Too many quota players and leaving out Flip, Jaque and Jean out etc!

That aside it is clear the Boks have considerable depth building up.

KA
KalaedFreddieClub Pro495 posts
03 Jan 2014, 10:17
03 Jan 2014, 10:17#6
 Nee man, Daddy you are supposed to make me proud and now you go and do this?  60 fucking players and you still cannot find a spot in there for Flou and Alberts?  Jantjies?  Daai fokken cullid is kak verby.  Taute?  No man you had too muc to drink and some braincells have suffered as a result.
My mother says howzit!
03 Jan 2014, 13:36
03 Jan 2014, 13:36#7
Beenkop........Rhule stays as does the impressive Mjekevu lost to France......both are better than Volmink, who is not bad.
Only a complete idiot would move our best 13 by some distance to the wing. JJ will confirm what an idiot Meyer is this year in the S15.
Jean is too old, time to move on.......same with the likes of Fourie
Jantjies stays, he is far better than Cat, who is not bad.......just a solid little player, we dont need solid.
Time to move on from du Preez, all he added was a good service and a boot, we need attacking clout at 9.
Chiliboy is twice the hooker Liebenberg is, I would not even select Liebenberg for the Stormers, he is crap.
Bakkies, you have to be joking............he is long past it, same applies to Schalk.

Kolisi is one of our best loosies, close to being our best......he walks the starting Bok 23, let alone squad of 60......wake up
Rhodes nearly made my squad

03 Jan 2014, 14:22
03 Jan 2014, 14:22#8

In essence I have no problem to list players on this site - but the idea should be to list s number of players you must look out for in Super 15.    Reputation or personal preferences means nothing - performances should at all times be the key too selection.

That is why we cannot at this stag say who will be can be regarded as candidates for selection - I think that should wait till may.

03 Jan 2014, 14:46
03 Jan 2014, 14:46#9
Nope Mike, I know a good player when I see one - form is temporary, class permanent.......my list is the 60 best in my opinion and its a case of who will emerge as better during the year and who will then replace a player in the top 60

There are a number of candidates like Jessie Kriel, Beyers, Kolbe, Sithole, Sergel Petersen, Volmink, Mapoe, Helberg, Mastriet, Mvovo, Whitehead, Heimar Williams, Sadie, de Jongh, Dries Swanepoel, Janse v/Rensburg, Esterhuizen, Fisher, Lindeque, Catrakilis, Pollard, Fouche, Boshoff, Paige, Rossouw de Klerk, Chadwick, Herbst, Adriaanse, Ntumbeni, Mbonambi, Bulbring, Lewies, Ettienne Oosthuizen, Bresler, Carl Wegner, Reinier Bernado, Ruan Venter, Carr, Rhodes, Ross, Cook, Hattingh, Kriel, Ntembu, Minnie, Whitely and any other hidden gem that seem to emerge each year, like for instance your call of v/d Merwe on the wing - the Outeniqua school kid

There is obviously place for the older guys like Jean, du Preez, Jannie, Flip, Louw and Alberts.......but in essence we need to move on
03 Jan 2014, 14:59
03 Jan 2014, 14:59#10

That's not quite true, is it, Stupid?

You like Jantjies and he's not a good player.

"Form is temporary, class is permanent" - you do know that that's a lot of horse shit ... right?? Probably not. Trust me ... it is.

Let me guess, you were drunk when this stupid statement was made and that was enough to have you regard it as "cool" ... you've been using it ever since to impress the ignorant, the young and the foolish.    

Does that fat son of yours also like to use this stupid utterance?  Like father like son I guess.
kingcornPro3,695 posts
03 Jan 2014, 15:23
03 Jan 2014, 15:23#11
 Saffex, Mike
Both you guys have made good points. What I would like from this year Super 15 will be to see new talent coming through and some existing players to regain their form. Hopefully this will force Meyer to stop selecting journeymen into the national team. 
What I'm hoping for is the following.
New talent and where we are really short on at the moment
I'm expecting a lot of young talent coming through at the Sharks under Jake
15 - Willie has done great but we need a backup, will be looking at SP to see how he does under Jake. Hope Taute can stay injury free this season.
14/11 - Now that Habana is abroad I really don't see any real talent in SA putting their hands up. Rhule, Volmink tends to go missing in games, JP can get a bit lazy too. Don't rate Kolby. Curry cup player at the best. Mvovo has promise but lacks defense and work ethic. 
13 - I'm hoping to see JJ to start playing with more direction rather than figuring out what he should be doing. Hope he can get really stuck in at 13. Don't rate De Jongh, Would like to see how Sadie fairs without Ebersohm. Expect the sharks to unearth some talent here. Not holding my breath seeing Pat Howard this season. Midget Coetzee will continue to select De Jongh
12 - De Villiers probably will still play at the same level as last year, like De Allende but prefer Serfontein. Good stock at 12. Hope De Allende improves his playmaking skill and not rely on direct running, same applies to Serfontein, hope the bulls allows him to use his creative genius.
10 - Would like to see how Lambie play under Jake and see whether he can have a better season than last year. Can't wait to see Timo making his debut at 10. Just hope Goosen can stay injury free. Hoping that Jantjies can regain his form. 
9 - Hoping to see Hougaard work on his service and not get caught at the base of the ruck. Van Zyl may push him at the bulls, but please keep Hougaard at 9 and not move him to the wing. Hope that this is the year for Reinach. Really showed a lot of promise last year.
8 - Other than Vermeulen I think that we are bit short here. Terror Mtembu did a good job when plummers drop show pony Kankowski but not sure where we are going to find a genuine 8. Never rated Spies who has hands of stone and tackles like limp fish.
7 - I hope Laubescachgne continues his form from last year. Hoping Alberts to shed some wait and become a 80 min player and not a 40 min player + stay injury free. 
6 - Brussouw will still play for the cheatahs but not be available for the boks. Kolisi should get more game time and then don't forget BURGER, looked great against Fiji for the barbarians and should be back to his best. I rate burger above Read.
5 - This is the year for Pieter Steph Du Touit but we need some youngster year to come through. Lood can play 5 but we need a genuine 5. Please oh please, do not let Matfield play again, if rumors are to be true.
4 - Estebeth will be out at the beginning of the season but Flip should carry on get better, maybe a shift to 5. Then their is Willemse to make a big impact this year. That is if he can remain discipline.
3 - Tight head is a bit of problem, we need to find a world class replacement, Coenie should stay at 1. You always keep your mobile prop at 1 as the tighthead is the last player to break from a scrum.
2 - Strauss and Bismark to carry on. Like to see if Scarry can shake the quota tag.
1 - Coenie is my first choice here, followed by Kitshoff. Beast will probably still hold his bok spot. 
There it is, so I think we need new stars to come through on the wings, 13, scrumhalf, 8 and tighthead.
Then don't forget Frans Steyn, where will Jake play him and will he get back to his 19 year old form? My guess is 12
03 Jan 2014, 15:27
03 Jan 2014, 15:27#12

Cleancut

I always have had a serious problem with the term "Form is temporary - class is permanent".   The reason is two-fold -

*   some players are classified by all and sundry  as "Class Players" whilst in fact they are not classy players; and

*   the term is often enough abused to justify selection of non-performing players to teams when such players are under-performing over a lengthy period way past their sell-by date.

Ultimately I stick with my principle - performance remains in the final analysis the key to selection.   I furthermore prefer clever players with ball sense ahead of players built like Tarzan - but with rock instead of brains in their top storey.      

Some of the players listed above are definitely not classy players - but I am not going to get into an argument with Saffex and Beeno on that score.     

03 Jan 2014, 19:30
03 Jan 2014, 19:30#13
Mike I doubt you know what a class player is.........so your take on what constitutes class is going to make little impression on us.

Cancer, I see the new year has brought you no wisdom, given how stupid you are and how poor your rugby takes are, I am not going to bother with a response to your predictable garbage.......keep paddling.

I mean, can anyone take a man seriously that has Boshoff at 10, Volmink on the wing, Pat Howard at 13, Kockott at 9, Mellett at 1, Marcel v/d Merwe at 3, Jacques Engelbrecht at 8 and Minnie at 6 for the Boks...........I kid you not. The day you published that side, was the day you lost all credibility as a poster, not that you ever had any.
You have to be the worst rugby poster ever and I am being kind here
03 Jan 2014, 21:24
03 Jan 2014, 21:24#14
Thanks snapster for being kind to poor little cc. 
I will say however some of your selections are wishful thinking. There are a number of these but in the spirit of the festive season I will overlook them knowing that reality will dawn.Thankfully Meyer's top sixty will be better. 

Arthur JohnPro1,748 posts
03 Jan 2014, 22:53
03 Jan 2014, 22:53#15

Just a reminder to all Stormers bloggers....Saffex is selected players to represent SA not the Stormers.

Get it!!!!!  

04 Jan 2014, 01:27
04 Jan 2014, 01:27#16

Kingcorn

Saw Alberts in the fun cricket game today.   The video shows that he is even fatter than he was last year.   How he can still "run"  with that amount of lard is a miracle.