FORUM / RUGBY /  OFFICIAL - Bok Squad announced

OFFICIAL - Bok Squad announced

Started by Shezza57 REPLIES814 VIEWS· 19 May 2014, 14:48
19 May 2014, 14:48
19 May 2014, 14:48#1

The return of World Cup-winners Victor Matfield and Schalk Burger headline the first Springbok training squad of the year.

However, there are a host of bolters - such as two former BlitzBok stars in Cornal Hendricks and Sibusiso Sithole - have been named in a 36-man squad to attend a national training camp in Durban from May 25 to 28 May.

Sharks back Sithole and Hendricks, the SA Sevens Player of the Year in 2013, are two of eight uncapped players in the squad.

The others are the duo of Lodewyk de Jager (lock) and Teboho Mohoje (loose forward); Marcel van der Merwe (prop) and Jacques du Plessis (flank/lock) of the Bulls; Marnitz Boshoff (flyhalf) of the Lions and the Stormers' Damian De Allende (centre/wing).

They will join Matfield, Burger and flanker Heinrich Brüssow - who are back in the national set up for the first time since the last Rugby World Cup in 2011 - in a training squad that is missing a number of players due to injury.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer said he was happy with the form of a number of the country's top players and the uncapped players who have grabbed their chance this season, as well as the re-appearance from retirement and long-term injury of Matfield and Burger.

"Victor and Schalk have been out of rugby for a long time," Meyer said.

"They've really been in great form recently and the fact that they have not been with the Boks for more than two years, has made them hungry for Test rugby yet again.

"It's great to welcome them back into the Springbok fold and I know both of them can still add a lot of value to the team with the World Cup in 2015 looming.

"I'm also looking forward to working with Heinrich for the first time. He's been playing very well for the since returning from injury and brings a lot of experience.

"However, the message to every player in this training squad is clear - everyone must accelerate in each area from the first moment we are together as a team and that inclusion in this squad is no guarantee of selection."

Meyer said that injuries had been a concern but they had allowed other players to press their claims.

A number of players in the squad are still nursing niggles or recently returned from long-term injuries.

"It looks like most of the guys are improving weekly and a few new players have put up their hands, which is good to see with the first match of the season, against the World XV in Cape Town, only a few weeks away," said Meyer.

"It's also very encouraging to see a bunch of new players emerging from Super Rugby. This camp will provide us with a great opportunity to work with these players before the squad for the mid-year is finalised. I am looking forward to work with these players for the first time.

"This is a very big year for us and the players know they will have to step up a gear, be sharp and focused from the moment we get going in Durban. We have 14 very challenging matches ahead in 2014 and it's imperative that we build on what was a good season last year.

"It's important that we start building continuity because there are just 18 matches left until the Rugby World Cup starts. But it's just as important to recognise continuous good form. We also have a number of players struggling with injury niggles or returning from injury which we have to assess."

Players based in France, England and Ireland were not considered for this camp as most of them are still playing for their respective clubs.

However, the experienced Fourie du Preez, who played for the Springboks in 2013, has been invited to the camp in Durban as he is available for the mid-year against Wales and Scotland as well as against the World XV.

The players invited to the training camp will assemble in Durban on Sunday morning and will return to their franchises on Wednesday morning.

"We have a good working relationship with our local franchises and we have to thank them, as well as Suntory in Japan, for allowing their players to attend this camp," said Meyer.

Players who were involved with the Springboks last year, but were not considered for selection because of medium to long-term injuries, are Siyabonga Ntubeni (foot), Chiliboy Ralepelle (knee), Frik Kirsten (neck), Pieter-Steph du Toit (knee), Franco van der Merwe (ankle), Arno Botha (knee), Pierre Spies (bicep), Louis Schreuder (hand), Pat Lambie (bicep), Gio Aplon (elbow) and Jaque Fourie, who could potentially miss the entire Test season because of an ankle injury.

Springbok training squad:

Forwards: Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Trevor Nyakane (Cheetahs), Marcel van der Merwe (Bulls), Jannie du Plessis (Sharks), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Coenie Oosthuizen (Cheetahs), Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks), Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs), Eben Etzebeth (Stormers), Lodewyk de Jager (Cheetahs), Victor Matfield (Bulls), Flip van der Merwe (Bulls), Heinrich Brüssow (Cheetahs), Marcell Coetzee (Sharks), Siya Kolisi (Stormers), Willem Alberts (Sharks), Jacques du Plessis (Bulls), Teboho Mohoje (Cheetahs), Duane Vermeulen (Stormers), Schalk Burger (Stormers).

Backs: Fourie du Preez (Suntory, Japan), Francois Hougaard (Bulls), Johan Goosen (Cheetahs), Marnitz Boshoff (Lions), Jean de Villiers (Stormers), Damian De Allende (Stormers), Jan Serfontein (Bulls), Juan de Jongh (Stormers), JJ Engelbrecht (Bulls), Sibusiso Sithole (Sharks), Frans Steyn (Sharks), Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), Bjorn Basson (Bulls), JP Pietersen (Sharks), Cornal Hendricks (Cheetahs), Willie le Roux (Cheetahs).

19 May 2014, 14:53
19 May 2014, 14:53#2
 A decent step in the right direction from Meyer, this squad will change to accommodate the players playing in the NH. I can see Louw replacing Mohoje and Habana replacing Hendricks. I do wonder if Meyer will experiment against the World IX, he might not just so he can beat Mallett.
19 May 2014, 15:00
19 May 2014, 15:00#3
 Matfuckenfield!!!! Really??
19 May 2014, 15:03
19 May 2014, 15:03#4
 Don't see how you can be surprised Bluebok, the whole basis of Matfields return from retirement was so he can play for the Bok's. 
Just realised we could field a team with Bismark, Coenie, Brussow and Vermeulen starting. The breakdown would be taken care of.
19 May 2014, 15:08
19 May 2014, 15:08#5
Shez, I know that is WHY Matfield came back, but that does not mean he deserves it! He is as lazy as shit and does zero grunt work. He takes the odd lineout and out kick-off, but outside that he just camps in the backline screwing up backline moves in his quest to be a glory boy. KAK plan!!!!
Bizzie, Coenie, Brussouw and Vermeulen would be an awesome "Loose trio"! With Alberts there too add grunt. Nice prospect!  
19 May 2014, 15:13
19 May 2014, 15:13#6
 I think we could get away with Matfield's lack of physicality with the rest of the pack we could field doing the dirty work. You are correct in saying that he doesn't deserve it. The scrum would be a problematic area with Matfields inclusion, I think the number 5 lock is behind the tighthead and Coenie hasn't scrummed well of late. Could change Matfield and Alberts position in the scrum, so the latter is at where the 5 lock should be?
19 May 2014, 15:24
19 May 2014, 15:24#7
 Shezza
Not too many surprises.   I am not surprised about the omission of Morne Steyn - it must have broken Meyer's heart to leave him out of the squad.   I think that Meyer is married to the idea to play Du Preez at scrummie and he is very thin on the ground insofar as scrummies are concerned.
He only have two flyhalfs in the squad - Goosen and Boshoff  - so I think the choice would be Goosen.   
The center position is messy - there are really no standout players based on Super 15 - bar De Allende.   The rest was in fact very average and some really poor.  For instance both De Jongh and Francois Steyn came seriously short in defense and Engelbrecht in attack.  I think Meyer realizes that Jacque Fourie is not an option.  I think the three players it will ultmately come down to is De Allende, Serfontein and De Villiers - not necessarily in that order.
The only full back in the squad is Le Roux - so another obvious selection.
Bearing in mind the backline players - I think the ultimate selection will be as follows:-
15  Le Roux,  14  Pietersen,  13  De Allende,  12  De Villiers,  11  Habana,  10  Goosen, 9  Du Preez - 21 Hougaard.  22  Serfontein, 23 Boshoff
Amongst the forwards the pickings are also easy:-
8  Vermeulen.  7  Du Plesis,  6  Coetzee,  5  Van der Merwe,  4  Etzebeth,  3  Malherbe, 2  Bismarck,  1 Beast  =  16  Strauss,  17  Nyakane,  18  Van der Merwe,  19  De Jager, 20 Burger.
There are various players with injuries in at training squad - Etzebeth, Burger (seems to play 2 games and then out for two games (not reliable).   Meyer may want to play Matfield - but he is not physical enough for the present game.  I think Coenie is also having scrumming problems in his last two games - maybe he is still bothered by his neck injury.  Meyer may be tempted to put him on the bench though.   
Kolisi was embarrassingly poor this season and could not even make the Stormers starting line up and Mohoje is a BEE selection - the latter only start is Labuschagne is not available.
Basson is a bad joke too.  I suppose Meyer's loyalty to the Bulls in some cases takes precedent over actual performances. 

sharkbokCaptain23,295 posts
19 May 2014, 15:24
19 May 2014, 15:24#8
I thought Frans Steyn was unavailable due to going to Japan, although that might just be for the 4 nations. He is apparently available for the year end tour. 
19 May 2014, 15:33
19 May 2014, 15:33#9
 I looked at the above comments with interest,   The last time we selected a mobile lock and immobile loosie was in the Ellis Park test - where both became an embarrassment.  I think that we do not need players that loaf around most of the game on the pretext that they are valuable in tight situations or good in line out play.
That is the case with both Alberts and Matfield.  Both stand around behind mauls and never enter same.   They are never around to protect tackle balls at breakdowns and incapable of doing that - so we are playing minus a unit if both or either play.     
19 May 2014, 15:37
19 May 2014, 15:37#10
 Good to see Morne Steyn has been dropped. 
19 May 2014, 15:47
19 May 2014, 15:47#11
 Sharkbok
The Japanese season starts in August/September and goes through to March and Steyn is available for the period up to the start of the Japanese season.   So his availability for the EOYT is not guaranteed.   
19 May 2014, 16:06
19 May 2014, 16:06#12

The 36-man Springbok training squad is:

Forwards (20): Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Trevor Nyakane (Cheetahs), Marcel van der Merwe (Bulls), Jannie du Plessis (Sharks), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Coenie Oosthuizen (Cheetahs), Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks), Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs), Eben Etzebeth (Stormers), Lood de Jager ( Cheetahs), Victor Matfield (Bulls), Flip van der Merwe (Bulls), Heinrich Brüssow (Cheetahs), Marcell Coetzee (Sharks), Siya Kolisi (Stormers), Willem Alberts (Sharks), Jacques du Plessis (Bulls), Teboho Mohoje (Cheetahs), Duane Vermeulen (Stormers), Schalk Burger (Stormers).

Backs (16): Fourie du Preez (Japan), Francois Hougaard (Bulls), Johan Goosen (Cheetahs), Marnitz Boshoff (Lions), Jean de Villiers (Stormers), Damian De Allende ( Stormers), Jan Serfontein (Bulls), Juan de Jongh (Stormers), JJ Engelbrecht (Bulls), S'bura Sithole (Sharks), Frans Steyn (Sharks), Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), Bjorn Basson (Bulls), JP Pietersen (Sharks), Cornal Hendricks (Cheetahs), Willie le Roux (Cheetahs).

Good squad bar the 3 crossed out who are not worthy. Willemse ahead of Matfield anyday, Sadie ahead of de Jongh and Rhule ahead of Basson.

Notable omissions are Taute, SP Marais, Kobus v/Wyk, Rhule, Jordaan, Mapoe, Sadie, Pollard, Jantjies, de Klerk, Reinach, Kitshoff, Willemse, Lewies, Carr, Labascagne, Mtembu and v/d Walt 

19 May 2014, 16:09
19 May 2014, 16:09#13

Sharkbok

May 19, 2014, 13:37:18  Good to see Morne Steyn has been dropped. 

He hasn't. Catch a wake up. Aren't you supposed to be up to speed with the European competitions? SF is playing the second leg of the HC qualifier next weekend.

This was the qualifier that ou Maaikie got so wrong when he talked about some Welsh club that was playing for a spot in the RaboDirect PRO12. It was actually SF playing London Wasps playing each other for a spot in the HC. It is where the rules of the new competition comes in. The 7th placed French team play the 7th placed English team, over home and away, to get the 20th place in the draw for the European Cup competition (Heineken Cup). Remember that the top 6 from  the Top 14, the top 6 from the Aviva and the top 7 from the RaboDirect goes through automatically. That leaves you with 19 teams going through automatically. The 20th team is the one who wins the play-offs. The loser of the two plays in the second tier European Challenge Cup (Amlin Cup).

It is not only MS who has been "dropped". There are others who are in the same boat. Habana, Kirchner, et al, have also been "dropped".

19 May 2014, 16:12
19 May 2014, 16:12#14
 Two most pathetic picks are wee matfiled and Kolisi.  Hopefully matfiled is not ever going to play for the Boks again. 
JJ is very lucky to be there. 
Glad to see Lood made it. Personally I prefer Kitshof to Nyankane. Deon Fourie had his chances blown away by being made to play hooker.Sarel and Reinach are unfortunate not to have made it. De Jongh is another dubious pick. Pity Jordaan didnt make it and Whitely.
19 May 2014, 16:21
19 May 2014, 16:21#15
Good selections by Meyer.

If I have any minor complaint then the squad is a bit thin on number 8s. All the loose forwards bar Vermeulen are flankers . . . unless he's planning on using Alberts as the backup which is okay but if it was me I'd have recognized Warren Whiteley's form this year and dropped one of the flankers.

As I understand it, Frans Steyn is not going to be around for the Rugby Championships which make me wonder why Meyer is bothering with him for the June tests.

Oh and anyone who thinks Juan de Jong does not deserve his place in the squad can not have watched a lot of Super rugby in the last 3 weeks. I'll have no complaints if de Jong is the starting #13 for the Bokke on his current form.

Good squad. Go Bokke!

19 May 2014, 16:24
19 May 2014, 16:24#16

Must say I'm a little surprised to see Reinach and Faff excluded.

Two best scrummies in the country currently.

Fat Fransie and HouGat ... ????

Truly amazing.

De Jager in ?? No Willemse??

Kolisi ... a quota if ever there was one.

Nyakane given another shot I see. He better make the most of it this time.

Glad to see the useless Jantjies didn't make the squad.

19 May 2014, 16:33
19 May 2014, 16:33#17
 Yes, Ceradyne is correct.
Wasps and SF are indeed playing a two leg Play to see who gets the last place in the re-vamped Euro Comp.
Wasps go into the away leg with a single point advantage...probably not enough, but who can tell ? 
Steyn wasn't particularly good yesterday.....but will be involved in that match and that is why he has been omitted, along with other players involved in European Competition. Our Season is not yet done.
19 May 2014, 16:40
19 May 2014, 16:40#18
 Boks are diverting from the tried & true (smash em bash em) strategy supported by the selection of a solid (brick-like) 10 & backs that can't catch, kick or pass. Why change now? This putting in these fast backs with skills can only end in confusion in the team.

Nope, one strategy & a clear player selection policy to implement it, that's the way to go. I am glad the wee matty has been selected though
19 May 2014, 17:00
19 May 2014, 17:00#19
 Mike, I wouldn't expect much divergence in the starting 15 from the EOYT. Max amount of change is probably 3 players. 
I differ from you in the respect that Meyer will pick Coenie over Malherbe just as he did against France. Jean De Villiers will start as he's captain and I think De Allende may start at 13, but I wouldn't be surprised to find him not in the match day 23 as Meyer usually opts for experie nce. I like Du Preez, I think he played well for the Bok's in 2013 and is a mile ahead from any competition at scrumhalf. 
Ceradyne, when are you going to post about your rugby opinion rather than following Mike around this forum. You're being pathetic and the forum would be far better if you didn't post.
Rooinek, I think Sadie deserves a place over De Jong and I think he's only there for the quota. I also think De Jong has been the main benefactor of De Allende's great form, as I think all of De Jong's tries have came as a result of De Allende.
19 May 2014, 17:17
19 May 2014, 17:17#20
 @Shezza, if you want to be ou Maaikie's little lapdog, then be my guest. He is constantly on my back, started calling me a doos,etc but that does not seem to bother you at all. Not that it bothers me in the least. He has never been able  to challenge what post because I made sure of my facts. I do not dream up some shit like he does and then post it on here as the gospel truth. He made a major fuck-up with the Morne Steyn/Paris Siant Germain threat, and I noticed that you, like a true little lapdog jumped to his defence.

Just to show you what a fucking clown ou Maaikie really is.... With the PSG story, the other day he was so sure that PSG was a rugby club but he forgot what he posted last year. Watch this:

January 25, 2013, 11:18:27

Ek

I was having coffee one day with Dr Louis Luyt in Ballito - when a gentleman walked in and then left for Zimbali.   Dr Luyt told me that there was really a wealthy man.  he bought a house in Zimbali and still lives there - I believe.

He was the owner of Stade Francais Rugby Club abd the Paris St Germaine Soccer Club.  Nice guy - wonder whether he is still the owner? 

You are backing a losing horse, mate but that is your choice. I do not give a crap.

I have made many posts on this board and if you have missed them, then  tough shit. I do this for my own enjoyment and not to irritate or please you or anybody else. So piss off.
19 May 2014, 17:21
19 May 2014, 17:21#21
 Shezza
Malherbe was injured and not available for the French test.  I know that Malherbe is favoured by Meyer and he is likely to be the starting choice and Cooenie the back up. 
Meyer would be nuts  not to test some enw players in the first game - not against a real international team with a conglomerate of club players not really up to international standard anymore. 
Rooinek 
De Jongh was made to look good because of De Allende - his defense is terribly poor and he goes AWOL in tests.  He is one of the BEE selections and I think he will not be in the final squad.
Meyer would be daft if he picks a club bench player for the Springbok team and that is a fact.  Morne is and has never been an international level flyhalf.   The sooner we are rid of him - the better.

kingcornPro3,695 posts
19 May 2014, 17:24
19 May 2014, 17:24#22
This is not the final team, NH players have been omitted due to club commitments. 
I'll wait for the final match day 22 before I cast judgment. Good to see some fresh faces in their, but to be honest its pretty much the best from a bad bunch. 
We have four teams languishing at or near the foot of the table. Glad to see S'thole and De Allende as well as Mvovo. Oupa Mahouja had a blinder against the brumbies and pretty much took all of the cheetahs lineouts, not bad for a seven. Good to see JP Du Plessis in the mix. 
No idea what Basson is doing even near the team. Where is reinach and de klerk. Really thin on scrummies.

19 May 2014, 17:26
19 May 2014, 17:26#23
That's funny, because I stayed away from the PSG agument because I knew Mike was wrong as I follow football and recognised PSG straight away. I'm 'jumping to his defence' now because you're being a cunt, you don't comment on rugby. You're like a teenage girl trying to shit stir. Until I see a rugby related comment from you I'll continue telling you to fuck off. 
All 2000 posts have been you pesturing Mike about technicalities of rugby like who played who, who started this match, when does the NH season start/end blah blah blah. I don't actually know which team you support as all your comments are arguments. 
19 May 2014, 17:48
19 May 2014, 17:48#24
All I have seen in the last 3 games is de Jongh missing one on one tackles and flopping over for two easy tries  
19 May 2014, 17:50
19 May 2014, 17:50#25
Shezza, I suspect ou Maaik is the one and only reason Ceradunce posts here and I think I can count on one hand the posts of Ceradunce that weren't rants against ou Maaik.

Ou Maaik, I'm not buying into this "De Allende makes De Jon g look good" theory. I have been very impressed with De Allende this season but to suggest he's the reason De Jong is beating players and scoring tries when De Allende has been standing outside him in most situations is a bit silly. Juan de Jong has taken a lot of flak on this board from a lot of posters for a long time and I've never understood why. He's great on attack and he's no worse than the likes of JJ on defense. Johan Sadie can perhaps count himself a bit unlucky but he hasn't shown the same thrust and penetration that De Jong has shown since his return from injury.
19 May 2014, 17:57
19 May 2014, 17:57#26
"All I have seen in the last 3 games is de Jongh missing one on one tackles and flopping over for two easy tries."

Saffex, maybe because you're choosing to see only the negative.

You might think the tries were easy but the one against the bulls was excellent and it needed pace, balance and vision. Either way, that's still two tries more than your pick JJ.

I've stayed clear of these centre arguments over the last few months because everybody involved in these arguments has pretty much made up their mind and pays no attention to form, facts, replays or statistics . . . but Juan de Jong is my pick based on recent form.

19 May 2014, 17:57
19 May 2014, 17:57#27

Its simple Rooi, de Jongh is not physical enough for a top flight 13.....he cannot impose himself physically in defence and on attack.

He is a good player in space.......but there is little space in test rugby. In contact he gets owned and his defence this year has been pretty average.......unlike JJ's whose defence is the best of all the centres in this years S15.  

19 May 2014, 18:00
19 May 2014, 18:00#28
Players that are available for only parts of the season should be omitted from all squads, unless they are by far the best in their position. 
The likes of Morne Steyn, Bob Kirchner etc should be dropped. It is good to see these one dimensional players out of the squad, hopefully they dont get a call up in the 4 nations. 
Jaque Fourie being injured is not great news. It would be good to see what his speed levels are in South Hemisphere conditions on attack, as his defence was excellant onthe EOYT.

19 May 2014, 18:00
19 May 2014, 18:00#29
duplicate
19 May 2014, 18:22
19 May 2014, 18:22#30

Comparing a player like De Jongh to mediocrity shouldn't justify his selection.

JJ is useless, both on attack and especially defensively ... De Jongh may have the step that penetrates the opposition's line but is that all we're looking for (attack) ... let's face it he too sucks on defense.

Personally I reckon neither should be in the Bok mix.

Both Jordaan and Mapoe are better options if you ask me.

19 May 2014, 18:22
19 May 2014, 18:22#31

Shezza

May 19, 2014, 15:26:53 That's funny, because I stayed away from the PSG agument because I knew Mike was wrong as I follow football and recognised PSG straight away. I apologise. It wasn't you. Not on  that one in  any case.  I'm 'jumping to his defence' now because you're being a cunt, you don't comment on rugby. Fuck  you. I will comment on what I want when I want. You're like a teenage girl trying to shit stir. Until I see a rugby related comment from you I'll continue telling you to fuck off. You should just open you eyes then. Where were you when we had lengthy discussions about the Bismarck/Carter incident, or when we discussed the European competitions, etc. And I am  not talking about the posts of today and yesterday. So go call your auntie a cunt, you clown.

All 2000 posts have been you pesturing Mike about technicalities of rugby like who played who, who started this match, when does the NH season start/end blah blah blah. I don't actually know which team you support as all your comments are arguments. I do  not have to answer to you and if you don't get all the posts,I do not give a shit.

You are actually missing out on all  the post where ou Maaikie is actually the instigator. Why? Because you are stuck into his arse up to your navel.
19 May 2014, 18:27
19 May 2014, 18:27#32
 My starting team and bench for the 1st test based on Meyers squad would be-
1. Beast/ Trever Nkayna2. Bismaark/ Strauss3. Coenie4. Eztebeth/ Flip Van Der Merwe5. Matfield6. Brussouw/ Marcel Coetzee7. Schalk Burger/ Jaques Duplessis8. Duane Vermuelen9. Fourie Dupreez/ Hougaard10.Goosen/ Boshoff11.Mvovo/Sithole12. Jean/Fat Steyn13. Damien Delande14. Cornall Hendriks/ JP15. Willie Leroux

19 May 2014, 18:51
19 May 2014, 18:51#33

Neither de Jongh nor JJ are going to run over a lot of guys. But we have seen de Jongh carry tacklers into in goal on several occasions this year. He is strong and compact and damn dangerous 5 metres out. In space I'd say he is one of our 5 most elusive backs.

JJ likewise is not a powerhouse, but seems to lose all the physical battles. He is fast no doubt, but never seems to get into the right place. So while Basson and Visser are running rampant....he is never to be seen. Truly the invisible man.

Jordaan was in good form prior to the injury....less so since. He is another player who can't really bring down the big boys. On Saturday he got run over twice.....there is a difference between missing a tackle and not being able to make a tackle.

De Jongh has an excellent test tackling record, up in 90% plus range. Lately I have seen him miss a number of what I would call "forcing" tackles.....tackles on the chase behind the advantage line. Those don't bother me. Its the tackles he missed on Fekitoa that were more concerning. But I would still put him well above JJ and Jordaan as a defender.

To say his tries were created by de Allende when mostly he has played outside Jean is a joke.

19 May 2014, 18:59
19 May 2014, 18:59#34
 Moz, De Jong's try against the Western Force and Bulls have been in direct result of De Allende. His only other try against the Brumbies wasn't difficult either, just a crash through from 5m out.
19 May 2014, 19:27
19 May 2014, 19:27#35
 CC I had forgotten about Faf. He has been the best perfomance of any scrummie in South Africa in the Super 15.  Sadie definitely before De Jongh or JJ. JJ could certainly have been considered as a wing.Yes before his injury Jordaaan was looking very good indeed. His pace is excellent and he might yet spark.
Mapoe is dead slow. Much better than Mapoe is Ryno benjamin who has had a very good Super 15.
Potgieter at flyhalf is also perhaps unlucky.
Who is our third Hooker Liebenberg normally but he has been out and is getting on.Callie or the Sharks guy?Coenie's scrumming on the tighthead is concerning.
As for ou windpomp well he is a comic of sorts. At his best when not trying. Bwhahahahaha he take on the Bissie red card is a classic!  
His take on the Bryce Lawrence debacle defies belief.
19 May 2014, 19:32
19 May 2014, 19:32#36
 Mozart does not watch games - or better still he falsifies what happens on the field of play.    De Jongh does not carry players over the line.  He had a shit tackling record last year - the highest miss tackle ratio of centers - and he has the same this year.   His famous tackle ratio in tests are BS.  The last time he played in tests - on the EOYT in 2012 - he went AWOL 70% of the time and was never in place to make tackles. Mozart just love this guy and make things up to justify the poor tackling record.  Players ran over De Jongh and past him and that is what he mostly missed.
De Allende constantly look for work and even when playing outside of him he was inside him when he gave De Jongh space to score two of his tries.   Mozart would never see that - his knowledge of rugby is not good enough to recognize that type of thing in any event . 
19 May 2014, 19:38
19 May 2014, 19:38#37
 You guys are getting all excited about Morne not being in the squad, mark my words, we have not seen the last of him in the green and gold. Anyway, who do you want to replace him with? Steyn won't be selected because he is the best, he'll be selected out of a lack of options. Goosen is finally starting to look like an actual 10 again, so he is an option, but he has only had one good game this year. N obody else has done anything special this season. 
19 May 2014, 20:23
19 May 2014, 20:23#38
 Bluebok
The difference between Morne Steyn and Goosen is that Goosen had one good game this season - Morne never did anything - but mostly warm the bench for Stade Francais and when he came on he was bloody useless as well.   The last I saw of him was when he came on he made an aimless kick and the opposing team scored a try.
There is a difference in flyhalf play - you get the robots like the Steyns - who cannot read games and must be told exactly what to do before the game and then buggered up badly when the ball gets to them.   It may not what the public sees superficially that counts - it is what happens in the rest of the backline because of the way Goosen plays that makes a huge difference - hence the fact that the Cheetahs backline has scored more tries than the whole Sharks team did.   .      
Arthur JohnPro1,748 posts
19 May 2014, 22:55
19 May 2014, 22:55#39
 Well a few surprises I must say.
Now all Meyer has to do is to make sure he pleases President Zuma by selecting 60% of you know who irrespective of class.
Meyer has got a major hurdle to overcome....Me thinks!
20 May 2014, 02:40
20 May 2014, 02:40#40
JJ proved last year he is exactly what we need at 13......he has the pace of a wing but the attacking skills of a centre........last year there were question marks against his defence........for reasons beyond me as his defensive stats were better than Jean's in the RC......this is a fact. But this aside, he has the best defensive stats of all the centres playing S15 rugby this year. Only Jordaan had a better %, but he has only played a handful of games.

So the notion that JJ has a defensive issue is disproved by the very fact that he is the best defensive centre in the whole competition this year. Sadly he and Serfontein have suffered on attack in a conservative Bulls game plan, much like many SA centres have other than Sadie, Watermeyer and Fredericks who have benefited from the more attacking plans of the Cheetahs and Lions.

JJ's attacking attributes have never been in question, his defensive ones were.........but that has all changed this year. JJ is now the finished product......his conversion to 13 is complete. He needs to play in an attacking environment.......will Meyer encourage that......I somehow doubt it.

Kobus v/Wyk of the Stormers who has played most of his rugby at 12, looks like a JJ clone.......he should also be converted to 13.
I like the idea of de Allende at 13 as well, he would provide a different option to JJ......he is slower but far more direct, with enough clout to beat defenders with skill. Great to see him rewarded with a Bok squad spot.....he is a real handful