Thanks to our fucking useless national coach investing in 34 year Bakkies and 37 year old Matfield at national level - what a prick
Paul Willemse off to France
Pity, he is a very decent prospect.
Yes very sad, but obviously sees no future here with Meyer's investment in the old men.
Plans to return in 2 years to challenge for a Bok spot......he should be in the current extended squad if Meyer had any brains
He is already in the squad and part of Meyers plans - Willemse is not and should be. Willemse obviously feels he is way down the pecking order and has nothing to lose by going and earning the buck.
Goosen has security, he can leave and will still play for the Boks.......Willemse sees no hope of achieving this in the near future.
Willemse also sees a bunch of old farts ahead of him, which must frustrate him.......Goosen has to compete with 29 year old Morne and young Lambie
The difference is clear if you read what Willemse said. He said it is obvious that Meter does not think he is good enough to be in the Springbok squad and he is going voverseas and will come back in two years time to compete for Springbok selection.
The other issue is also clear. Meyer went all out for two of his geriatric pals in the lock position while there was a number of locks better than them to choose from. Willemse would have been a much better selection than Botha for one.
Flip is too inconsistent and also a liability. The Boks looked like they were starting to find their stride around the time stupid Flip was sent off, but then got put under massive pressure in the scrums with only one lock on the pitch. It would have been better to have substituted flank for the Lood during those 10 minutes
Willemse also sees a bunch of old farts ahead of him, which must frustrate him."
He told you that?
South Africa can expect another crap season in the SuperXV next year, as we lose by far the most players.
The Bulls have been in a rebuilding stage since 2012, and with young players leaving they are allways going to be rebuilding.
June 23, 2014, 16:08:39 No Vlagshit, it was Bob Marley who told me that you stupid prick
You must have been smoking the same shit that he used to smoke to be able to communicate with him. That were you draw the inspiration for most of the shit you write on here from as well?
if overrated players like steemkamp, pienaar and f louw can still get selected for the Boks, then theres no reason why wilmese couldnt get selected, especially if he makes a huge impact overseas which IMO he will.
u can blame the rand all u want, but the real problem is SARU and meyer selecting overseas based players.
with all the talent in SA alone, its mind boggling why they would want to continue with their current selection policies.
but drastic measures are always taken when ur backs to the wall i guess.
NZRU are too smart to ever select players overseas, and NZ and SA have the best player production factory in the world, but NZ is more efficient with how that facotry produces its goods and the steps taken to ensure that product is the best possible by getting the best possible.
sabaticals for the key players to go overseas and earn some cash, but they return to the NZ spXV teams where they can be rested by the NZRU oif need be.
luckily all NZ teams are on the same page and NZRU rarely has to interfere.
a very through understanding of player welfare amongst the NZ teams, a stark contrast to SA whiose clubs put thier own interests above the greater good.
in short, all NZ rugby roads lead to the All Blacks.
No shit, Sherlock? Do you know how few people between 23 and 35, in SA, earn more than R250k per month? Do you know how few of those will ever in their life earn that kind of money. And R250k per month is "only" about €17,500 per month. Add to that the "transformation" BS. You obviously haven't heard the latest statement from Hoskins, have you?
Politics and the exchange rate is driving the players away. Even if HM stops selecting overseas players, you will still have the Willemses of the world who will piss off. With an overseas contract in his back pocket, he is guaranteed loads of moola. If he stays behind their is a chance that he might get a Bok contract, provided there is no affirmative action player standing in his way, and even then he would still not earn what he would have earned abroad.
You sound like you know what rugby players are paid in SA - and the previous time you were found out and really exposed as not knowing anything about that topic. They are paid well enough for Etzebeth to buy a R6 000 000 home - something that could have cost him 20 000 000 pounds in England.
Not all the players are chasing money overseas. They have enough fringe benefits here that you do not even know about - not surprising, since you are clueless vout their local income in any event.
Wilemse would have stuck it out locally if he saw any chance of making the Springbok squad - same as Willie le Roux did. But Meyer preferred the old farts - as Saffex puts it - so they may as well forget about the Springboks while we have Meyer as a coach.
Stephan Lewies is the 2nd best lineout forward in the SuperXV in 2014.
June 23, 2014, 18:00:51 Mozart
You sound like you know what rugby players are paid in SA - and the previous time you were found out and really exposed as not knowing anything about that topic. They are paid well enough for Etzebeth to buy a R6 000 000 home - something that could have cost him 20 000 000 pounds in England.
Whahahahaha. Jirre maar jy is deur die kak. Have you even seen what a 20 million quid house, in England, look like you doos? You can buy a fucking big hotel for that price.
Here is a "cheapy" of only £15m for you in Surrey:
http://www.hamptons.co.uk/buy/property/FromRPSEmail/PropertyID-REF-2386981
http://www.rightmove. co.uk/property-for-sale/property-44265058.html
Willemse is a fantastic young lock. I wonder if he will end up playing for France and Quin Roux for Ireland etc.Sometimes I wonder if we are stuffed rugby wise? Is that too pessimistic?
Think of it. Too many provinces. No central contracting, the merit principle not observed (Will the IRB intervene?), floods of talented players leaving. It could be an avalanche after 2015! Rand is expected to weaken further. A talented young player is mad to stay here - that is the honest truth.One thing I will not tolerate is SA Rugby becoming second class. It's bad enough as it is with having to accept the crazy way things are here and no solutions in sight. But sink much further and I am off into tennis and golf both of which I like. Tennis I love. Losing interest in cricket as well and expecting a slump coming with quotas abounding.Let's be very clear, if you pick on race and not merit you are not picking your best team. Other countires are striving as hard as they can to be the best they can. Not here!!!
I wonder if Eben will be the next to go!!!! Who will be left here. And we want a 6th Super rugby team to showcase black talent. Bwahahhahahahahaha what utter nonsense.
The queens be whipped soundly if they pick guys not up,to the task. As it stands we are getting to a point where we are being so stripped of talent we might only be able to fi eld 3 Super 15 sides. If anyone thinks this exodus is going to stop please give me your reasons as I need cheering up!!!
Its very, very sad to see our rugby and cricket etc being systematically destroyed by bigots and halfwits. Take just one thing. Central contracting and making the Boks the priority. They cant even do that!!!! It's totally pathetic and no end in sight.
Anyhow sorry about the rant but its a ghastly situation. I am off to bed. Goodnight.
Matfield has been worthwhile as a specialist number5, but their are so many number 4 locks around it would have been better to used local players than recall Bakkies.
Bakkies is injured anyway.
I think it is going to be Mafield and Lood starting, with Lewies on the bench. When Ezebeth returns, Matfield is going to have to fight for the number 5 position, because .Ezebeth is going to take the number 4 lock position.
Lewies has had an excellent season in the lineouts for the Sharks as a number 5 lock, and Lood can also cover number5 lock. But I think Lewies is the one that is going to put pressure on Matfield.
A million backs - have you forgotten that we abolished the pound already in 1961? If you discuss things relating to money in SA - then please remember to use the Rand - not the currency in place prior to 1961. I know you remember things of the past - but cannot remember things as at present - and sympathize with you in the relevant regard. None of the player sin SA earns R16 000 000 per year and no European based players earn more than R8 000 000 per year. So please get real. The plank is unfortunately situated in your thinking abilities.
However, you still do not know what the SA players earn - neither do I - so stop throwing around figures as if you know.
Maybe that is why ou Maaikie hasn't responded to my house price story. Was it because I talked about a "20 million quid" house? Sorry ou Maaikie. A "quid" is a pound, just like a "buck" is a dollar. Now can we get back to Etzebeth's 20 million pound house?
Do the Bulle have a replacement lined up.
Willemse is a hell of a loss.
I much prefer him to Loodt and thought he would have been a definite selection for this mid year test series.
Willemse is good but Lood is better and Willemse leaving has plenty to do with Meyer contrary to what Moz believes.
That kid would have sat down and looked at his current Bok prospects. Before him he would have seen that our idiotic coach was investing in players in their mid to late 30's instead of himself, the future of Bok rugby.
If useless Bakkies and Matfield had not been in the squad, chances are Willemse might have seen a brighter Bok future for himself.
With Etzebeth and PSDT out, Willemse and Lood should have walked the Bok squad along with du Plessis and Lewies
I don't regard Du Plessis as a lock of any sort.
I've admired Willemse's physicality this season. He's matured this year into a fine lock and seems to have worked on his discipline, no longer giving penalties away as much as did.
Loodt this season has been average at best. He had a good spell against the Welsh last week. Probably his best this year. Consistency may be an issue.
You like Loodt. I on the other hand rate Willemse as the better of the two locks.
A house of R6 million in SA is top range luxury and will sell in England for at least 15 to 20 million quid. That is why the English and other Europeans by so many luxury homes in SA. Luxury homes here is extremely cheap compared to in England. I know - my nephew bought a unit in a complex in Essex for 150 000 quid = a 2 bedroom flat with a small kitchen and living area on the ground floor. Unbelievable - I have a 5 bedroom and two lounges home with a double garage, swimming pool, own wind and sun electricity supply - 300 meters from the tidal pool - which will sell for less than 120 000 quid.
If you meant dollar and not pound - you are still talking BS
CC you need to pay closer attention to Lood, he has been in great form for 2 seasons now and is consistently good in every game. But saying that Willemse is up there with him, both class youngsters
As for du Plessis, well look no further than the fact that at 2.10m and 120kg he is too big for a flanker and should be playing lock where he played at school and at U19 and U21
Mike ....puleeze.....let me refer you to Joel Grey in Cabaret:
If I have a buck or a pound
a buck or a pound
money makes the world go around
it makes the world go round.
A pound is the currency of the United Kingdom....a buck is slang for a US dollar.
Now in terms of your property assessments. They are hopelessly out of wack.....best you stick with getting rugby wrong.
June 24, 2014, 14:46:16 Ceradyne
A house of R6 million in SA is top range luxury and will sell in England for at least 15 to 20 million quid. That is why the English and other Europeans by so many luxury homes in SA. Luxury homes here is extremely cheap compared to in England. I know - my nephew bought a unit in a complex in Essex for 150 000 quid = a 2 bedroom flat with a small kitchen and living area on the ground floor. Unbelievable - I have a 5 bedroom and two lounges home with a double garage, swimming pool, own wind and sun electricity supply - 300 meters from the tidal pool - which will sell for less than 120 000 quid.
Better stop digging. I know houses are expensive in the UK, but I can tell you this. A R6m house in SA would not cost £15m. I have just given you an example of what a £15m house look like. BTW, wasn't the R6m house supposed to cost £20m in the UK? What made you drop it down to £15m?
To put things more in perspective and to underline what I said about buying a hotel for the £20m that you were talking about. You can buy this hotel in Croydon for £13m and have lots of change for a massive house:
http://search.knightfrank.co.uk/htl100034
Or you can buy this country hotel near Bath for just under £9m and have enough change left to buy another small hotel and a massive house in the area:
http://search.knightfrank.co.uk/htl140008
What you are saying about your house and the value of it, you are correct. I had the same experience when I sold my property in SA. House prices are very high over here. There is no argument about it. Specially in London and the South East, where we are.
PS. Fact is that us South Africans are spoiled with properties and it was after I have been in teh UK for a while that I discovered how silly we really are. I also had a big house with a pool and a lapa and another lapa with indoor entertainment facilities on teh other side of the house, five bedrooms, a TV room, sun room, formal lounge, etc and it was only myself and my wife. The boys, before they came over were in JHB and we never really used the house. We regularly used the TV room, kitchen and our bedroom, the "indoor lapa" during winter and the one by the pool in summer time. We have a much smaller house now and it is perfect for us.