FORUM / RUGBY /  Proven top performers in Super 15 in 2013 and will top the boards again

Proven top performers in Super 15 in 2013 and will top the boards again

Started by clevermike18 REPLIES317 VIEWS· 06 Jan 2014, 12:40
06 Jan 2014, 12:40
06 Jan 2014, 12:40#1

Looking at the top SA performers in Super 15 last year a few names stood out and they will no doubt be top performers in 2014 as well:-

Willie le Roux

Made his name in Super 15 last year and he is going to show the same this year.

Lappies Labuschagne

Was the top performing loosie in all franchises last year and is bound to be the same again this year.

Eben Etzebeth

After his return from injury soon made a real difference to the performances of the Stormers in 2013.   By some distance the best lock in Super 15 - will have competition this year from Du Toit though.

Bismarck du Plessis and Adriaan Strauss  

By some distance the best two hookers in the world.

hakwaPro4,146 posts
06 Jan 2014, 15:25
06 Jan 2014, 15:25#2
 Chiefs  Crusaders  Auckland Blues  
06 Jan 2014, 16:12
06 Jan 2014, 16:12#3

Hakwa and Cloudy 

This is not about teams - it is about individual performances

So why don't you give us the top player performances in Super 15 last year with an indication of what to expect this year?

I will start it off by mentioning -

*    Luatua,

*    Piutau

*    Ben Smith

Cannot think of many others - since most player performances were like yoyos.

The NZ  franchises will not have more than 2 teams in the top 6 franchises - one obligatory and one because of point scoring.    The rest will not show much.     

06 Jan 2014, 16:12
06 Jan 2014, 16:12#4

Sorry - dupl ication

07 Jan 2014, 06:47
07 Jan 2014, 06:47#5

Cloudy

I don't want to dazzle you with colours - so I picked a different pic of the player concerned - Pieter-Steph du Toit.   Like it more?

I was concentrating on Super 15 - not the tests.   I liked Luatua as well - he was superb. 

Cooper was a let down in Super 15 and Folau did some good things at times, but was also a bit inconsistent against stronger opposition.        

07 Jan 2014, 06:54
07 Jan 2014, 06:54#6
Pom go back to your toilet seat avatar.....it always had the ring of truth.  
07 Jan 2014, 07:14
07 Jan 2014, 07:14#7

Please stick t o reality  - what has my avatar to de with the topic under discussion - namely he performance of players in Super 15 last year?

KA
KalaedFreddieClub Pro495 posts
07 Jan 2014, 07:55
07 Jan 2014, 07:55#8
 Let's just hope Morne and Inzane stay the hell away from the SH games..
07 Jan 2014, 08:50
07 Jan 2014, 08:50#9

Freddie

I am not so sure about Morne - Stade Francais may try and release him from his contract with them and he may return to the Bulls early.   Hope not though - let him stay in France if at all possible.  

07 Jan 2014, 15:28
07 Jan 2014, 15:28#10

Cloudy

Posts: 1446 RE: Proven top performers in Super 15 in 2013 and will top the boards again
January 07, 2014, 08:49:29 After all the rubbish Morne copped last year from his detractors, he will probably play a blinder in S15 this year.

Nope

07 Jan 2014, 16:36
07 Jan 2014, 16:36#11

The AB supporters on this site simply love Morne Steyn.   They are well aware of the fact that with him in the team the Springboks face a double whammy.   They have to beat the opponents and they have to try and neutralise Morne's active contribution to opposition efforts.   The latter is probably more difficult a handicap than the former.    

07 Jan 2014, 17:14
07 Jan 2014, 17:14#12
 Fokkit but you are dof ou Maaikie. Let me help you out. Cloudy said that Morne will play a blinder in the S15 this year. She said fokol about the Springboks.

@Cloudy. Have you not noticed that ou Maaikie is on cloud 9 because Morne will not be playing in the S15 this year. He is contracted to Stade Francais. Of course ou Maaikie will have you believe that Morne is soon to be relieved of his contract because he "does not make" the Stade Francais starting line-up. He has obviously only read the head line of the article about Steyn, ignored the rest of it, and then made the rest up as usual. He also like to believe that Bakkies Botha does not make the Toulon starting line-up any-more.
07 Jan 2014, 20:04
07 Jan 2014, 20:04#13

Dof doos  - I quoted the article on this site and knew exactly what was in the article.   I know the poor deficient flyhalf cannot play in Super 15 - so I refer to the Springbok team scenario where hopefully he would never again represent the Springboks.  He is a guaranteed match loser for the Springboks. 

However, read the heading of this thread.   This has to do with top performers in Super 15 last year and what is expected from them in 2014.

Morne was not a top performer in Super 15 last year and we all know the Bulls is lucky he is not available to them this year - one handicap less to contend with.  

07 Jan 2014, 20:30
07 Jan 2014, 20:30#14
The only dof doos around here is you, arse hole. You quoted it, but you did not read it properly and you ignored some of the parts in the article. I am not even interested in arguing it with you because I know what was said and the fact that he was in the starting xv against Biaritz proved exactly what Gonzalo Quesada meant in that article. In fact,you completely ignored the opening paragraph of the article. Go find it and read it again..... the entire article this time.

07 Jan 2014, 20:45
07 Jan 2014, 20:45#15

What has Morne Steyn - the poorest flyhjalf imaginable - got to do with this thread.   It is about Super 15 rugby confused doos - not about mediocre NH rugby.

07 Jan 2014, 20:59
07 Jan 2014, 20:59#16
Players who will enhance their already burgeoning reputations in 2014 . . .
Charles PiutauWillie le RouxPieter-Steph du ToitIsrael FolauJulian and Ardie Savea
08 Jan 2014, 06:51
08 Jan 2014, 06:51#17

Rooinek

I was severely punished last year in fantasy selections when I picked  Julian Savea - he had a minority of good games - the rest was average.   As to Ardia - he played in two games - one brilliant and the second one nondescript and never played for the Hurricanes again.   He is a good prospect though - was very good in the Under 20 WC.  

I would add Labuschagne and Luatua to your list of top performers in Super 15 this year.      

08 Jan 2014, 11:47
08 Jan 2014, 11:47#18

Posts: 8472 RE: Proven top performers in Super 15 in 2013 and will top the boards again
January 07, 2014, 18:45:07

What has Morne Steyn - the poorest flyhjalf imaginable - got to do with this thread.   It is about Super 15 rugby confused doos - not about mediocre NH rugby.

How long is it going to take you to get behind the story here, you stupid plank? You and Freddie were the first ones to jump on the Morne bandwagon. Fok, maar jy is onnosel.

08 Jan 2014, 12:09
08 Jan 2014, 12:09#19
@mikey,

"The NZ  franchises will not have more than 2 teams in the top 6 franchises - one obligatory and one because of point scoring. The rest will not show much."
rest wont show much cos NZ is the hardest conference in the comp an opinion shared by many top saffa commentators.

NZ have always had two teams in the top 6, but if check the spXV championship points carefully, u will notice that none of them have been obligatory, all have been on merit.

in fact, when u check the last two years carefully, NZ have had two teams in the top 3, with the pro SARU law about the leaders from every conference being granted automatic top 3 spots, being the only thing to stop the crusaders from finishing in thier rightful place as the 3rd place team.

the consequences of this for the crusaders and NZ was huge, cos in both 2012 and 2013 it meant after the qualifying finals were over and done with, the crusaders had to square of against eventual spXV winners the chiefs, something that would never have happened had the ladder been all about merit and the only thing IMO to stop an all NZ final.

NZ werent the only ones hard done by with this SARU enforced law, cos the sharks insane traveling schedule in the 2012 spXV finals was heavily influenced by this as i have mentioned in the past.

still never forget, NZ is the only country to play in every spXV final, and 50% of all teams in spXV have been kiwis, our SANZAR brothers can cout their lucky stars they dont tangle in the NZ conference, but given that its done sweet F all to stop the NZ rising tide of success, one can only wonder whats next on the horizon as SA and OZ adminstrators behind the scenes look for more ways to stop the NZ dominance, :o)