FORUM / RUGBY /  Rassie+ EP8 | Controversy, Coaching & Comebacks: Erasmus and Mallett Unfiltered

Rassie+ EP8 | Controversy, Coaching & Comebacks: Erasmus and Mallett Unfiltered

Started by bobbok...77 REPLIES3,899 VIEWS· 05 May 2025, 08:31
05 May 2025, 08:31
05 May 2025, 08:31#1

82,595 views Premiered May 3, 2025 Rassie+

Rassie Erasmus and Nick Mallett — two giants of South African rugby with a complicated history. From coach and player to critic and strategist, their relationship has played out in the public eye with no shortage of headlines. Now, for the first time, they come together — not to settle scores, but to share stories, perspectives, and a deeper understanding of the game they both love. It’s honest, it’s surprising, and it’s a moment South African rugby fans didn’t see coming.

05 May 2025, 08:54
05 May 2025, 08:54#2

asdfgh

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
05 May 2025, 11:40
05 May 2025, 11:40#3

Rassie for president? Geez but Mallett is laying it on thick….

I feel nauseous watching this podcast …Everyone is just going overboard with how magical Erasmus is…

The joke is after all these years, Rassie can still not beat Mallets 71.05% win percentage as Bok coach for 38 tests…

Erasmus is at 70.5% win percentage after 78 test….it feels like we celebrating mediocrity…..

05 May 2025, 16:16
05 May 2025, 16:16#4

Actually Lady Luck was as harsh on Mallett as it was generous to Geraasmus. Rasmus had the incredible luck of a 100% kick record, unexpected misses by our accomplished opponent kickers, a red card for the AB captain and 3 one point wins.

Mallett was in the 1999 semi against Oz and in an extra time saga. The Boks were kicking for the corner and the ball went out of touch by a foot, losing a huge chunk of territory. Minutes later Larkham belts over a 45 meter drop kick on the angle….having never made a test drop before. Game over.

If he had a dose of Geraasmus’ luck and we faced France in the final we would likely have won. Like England in 2019 they played their big game against NZ in the semis.

05 May 2025, 21:04
05 May 2025, 21:04#5

Yes, Ou Nick and the Bokke had some bad luck in that semi...or Rather, the Ausies were lucky...it happens...2011 waa even worse for us...but you make your own luck...

05 May 2025, 22:19
05 May 2025, 22:19#6

AJHPro3,183 posts
05 May 2025, 22:48
05 May 2025, 22:48#7

Just a reminder folks the National team is selected from the best players in the country not just the Stormers.

06 May 2025, 05:23
06 May 2025, 05:23#8

Which Stormers players...or ex Stormers players shouldn't be there AJ...IYO?

06 May 2025, 09:35
06 May 2025, 09:35#9

All of the Draad!!!

Go make your own country already.

haha

Just make all the Lions Bokke already!

06 May 2025, 14:38
06 May 2025, 14:38#10

We'll be able to field quite a formidable test team, but Cape Exit is a pipe dream...never gonna happen.

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
06 May 2025, 14:53
06 May 2025, 14:53#11

Ruben V Heerden

JD Schickerling

Adri Smith

Marcel Theunissen

SFM

Paul de Villiers

Hartzenberg

Dan Dup

All springbok Material in my books.

06 May 2025, 15:01
06 May 2025, 15:01#12

And what about the Cape-born and schooled players playing for other teams?...but the Bokke is something special...

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
06 May 2025, 15:48
06 May 2025, 15:48#13

Very valid question….Lions Plumpie,s favourite: Quan Horn, Ruan Venter and Franke Horn all from Paarl Boys High School …

Then Cameron Hanekom Paarl Boys, Thomas du Toit Paarl Boys, Johan Grobbelaar Paarl Gim, Wilco Louw Ceres ( Close to Worcester Boland!!!!)

And the list go on….SA Rugby would be dead, without the Western Cape :)

We are the best!!

06 May 2025, 15:54
06 May 2025, 15:54#14

"Very valid question….Lions Plumpie,s favourite: Quan Horn, Ruan Venter and Franke Horn all from Paarl Boys High School …"

Dammit.

I only want JHB-born players in my Bok team!!!

06 May 2025, 16:04
06 May 2025, 16:04#15

Listen to these utter fools - Lady Luck was against Mallett but all for Rassie

Cry me a fucking river

What a fucking joke

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
06 May 2025, 16:41
06 May 2025, 16:41#16

The only fucking joke is this pathetic podcast…..and Tassels never managed to beat Mallet’s record…

I bet you that Mallet is sitting there and laughing on the inside:) Rassie relies to much on luck and Stampkar.

Evident that we mostly have to grind out wins….

Rassie + is desperately trying to stay relevant, ag shame…..and the amount of kak his talking??!!

Fuck me it’s embarrassing…..

06 May 2025, 17:10
06 May 2025, 17:10#17

Mpuff you are both a joke and a fucking clueless idiot

Sticj to darts

06 May 2025, 17:11
06 May 2025, 17:11#18

Mallett inherited a team from Carel who put 60+ over the Wallabies, the match before he took the job...Rassie got a team who was 6th in the rankings and couldn't beat the Allblacks in years...and he beat the Allblacks in NZ first tour there if I'm not mistaken...different eras anyway...don't play that game.

06 May 2025, 17:12
06 May 2025, 17:12#19

Draad these fucking clowns are literally utterly clueless

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
06 May 2025, 17:17
06 May 2025, 17:17#20

Dave stop repeating yourself, talk about being a Dumbfuck:) you sound like a broken record…

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
06 May 2025, 17:19
06 May 2025, 17:19#21

Draad can’t answer you, as always his on the fence:) Draad sitter?? :)

06 May 2025, 19:47
06 May 2025, 19:47#22

Did I use the word dumbfuck you dumbfuck?

Christ how stupid are you - serious question?

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
06 May 2025, 20:03
06 May 2025, 20:03#23

Whatever Dave you loser, I am not doing this anymore, you are definitely not worth it!!

06 May 2025, 21:42
06 May 2025, 21:42#24

Fuck off loser

06 May 2025, 21:49
06 May 2025, 21:49#25

In 1997 Carel du Plesssis was appointed as Head Coach - his mission was to get the Springbok team was to get the Springbok team to play attacking rugby and he brought into the team players he believe could be taken firther, The first opponents were the BRI Lions and the new team came very close to meeting requirements - for instance the Springboks in the Durban test scored 3 tries but lost the match because the Lions converted 5 pemnalties and on dropd goal/ Honibal rarely missed kicks at goal - that day he missed three convesios fllowng scoring of the tries as well as 2 pemalties. However, the team beat the Lions 35-6-the biggest margin win ever o the Springboks playing the Lions. In the home game the Springboks beat the Aussies 62-18.

After that Mallett took over the Du Plessis squad and made very little changes - for instance he moved Montgomery from center to fullback. With that squad Mallett won 16 tests in a row. The problem was that in 1999 their was aa retirements from the team and Mallett buggered up royally when he replaced Teichmann as captain . Mattield himself that was the biggest mistake he ever made when it came to coaching . Howeve repacong players was where Mallett failed horribly. He was not able to get the renewed team going and in the end Mallett resigned before because he knew he would be fired.

Mallet was a good coach - but his deficiency was his identification and selection players leadimg to deficent teams. I definitely would not compare hiim to be on the same level as Erasmus, .

06 May 2025, 21:53
06 May 2025, 21:53#26

One of the main points made in the podcast is how much provincialism there was during Mallet's years and how that has improved under Rassie . . . but here we have our resident rugby noobs demanding that players from their province get picked.

It beggars belief.

giMp, if that podcast makes you feel sick then I suggest you either find some other team to support or some other sport to follow.

Excellent comments and insights as well as some funny anecdotes from the two greatest Springbok coaches of all time.

Who wouldn't enjoy that podcast? A stupid and prejudiced rugby noob, that's who.

06 May 2025, 21:58
06 May 2025, 21:58#27

Yes, if they weren't born in JHB they shouldn't be a Bok.

06 May 2025, 21:58
06 May 2025, 21:58#28

Spot on Rooi

06 May 2025, 22:01
06 May 2025, 22:01#29

Well it wasn’t totally bad luck in Mallett’s case. The player trying to put pressure on Larkham was Rassie Erasmus. But he was so slow and couldn’t even get off the deck as he attempted the charge down. And that and missing his receiver on the Wallabies 1 meter line was the only time he was visible in the whole game. Never understood what he supposedly contributed.

06 May 2025, 22:05
06 May 2025, 22:05#30

Ah so Rassie was a shit player and a shit coach

Bwaaahaaaahaaaa

06 May 2025, 22:16
06 May 2025, 22:16#31

A bit harsh. Definitely a mediocre international and a very, very lucky coach

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
06 May 2025, 22:17
06 May 2025, 22:17#32

All that this podcast proves is that Erasmus is in love with himself ….

provincialism is still very much alive and what difference does it make if it’s better under Erasmus or not??

The fact is you Rassie Zombies miss the point, that Whe are not any better than the Mallett era under this pompous narcissistic Erasmus….

And I have the right to my opinion and I will keep on voicing it….

so I suggest if you two cowards don’t like what I am saying, then firstly go fuck yourselves and secondly go find another forum to spew your Toxic waste on….

06 May 2025, 22:30
06 May 2025, 22:30#33

Don't burst into tears, giMp, we're not saying you can't have an opinion. We're just saying your opinion is not worth anything.

I repeat, if that podcast makes you feel sick then find another team to support or find another sport to follow.

No one is saying you don't have the right to voice your prejudiced and stupid opinions. Now get Mommy to change your nappy and wipe those tears away.

06 May 2025, 22:35
06 May 2025, 22:35#34

A lucky coach bwaahaaaaa

Yeah it’s definitely down to luck getting your side to number 1 and keeping them there for most of your gig - and of course it’s all down to luck winning back to back WC’s, a few RC’s and a Lions series. It’s been luck beating the AB’s four in a row

Soooooooo much luck hey

Clown

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
06 May 2025, 22:44
06 May 2025, 22:44#35

Ag shut the hell up Rooi tit…. Best you slurp on Dave,s tailpipe :)

You are very un original as you mostly repeat what Dave is saying :) But thank you for having the courage to at least try to be your own man:)

Tell me Rooi Doos what part of SA do you live?

06 May 2025, 22:47
06 May 2025, 22:47#36

And luck being 1 and 3 vs Ireland.

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
06 May 2025, 22:50
06 May 2025, 22:50#37

" It’s been luck beating the AB’s four in a row"

"The All Blacks have a record of 8 consecutive wins against the Springboks, a streak that lasted from 2001 to 2004."

Hey Chop looks like we got some catching up to do….:)

06 May 2025, 23:22
06 May 2025, 23:22#38

Is that your best counter - Ireland??

My guess is that by the time our genius coach has handed in his notice, the Irish imbalance will have been restored starting with the EOYT

Rassie’s Boks are better than Ireland right now

06 May 2025, 23:50
06 May 2025, 23:50#39

A draw with Ireland at home says otherwise.

06 May 2025, 23:51
06 May 2025, 23:51#40

MozartWhat is a lucky coach? That baffles me totally - the winning of matches depends on coaching and inspriing of players - that means the loyalty of the players to the team and even more importantly also the coach. Luck has not anything to do or there will be with anything depends on luck no team needs coaching,

As a professional manager you should know better than to come up with shit like that,