FORUM / RUGBY /  Ring the changes . . .

Ring the changes . . .

Started by Rooinek35 REPLIES494 VIEWS· 17 Nov 2014, 09:00
17 Nov 2014, 09:00
17 Nov 2014, 09:00#1

I will be disappointed if Heyneke Meyer doesn't make several changes for the next match against Italy.

No disrespect intended but there's no question that Italy is the weakest of our opponents on this tour and if we don't have the confidence in our "B team" to beat the Italians then we don't have the depth we like to think we have. If the All Blacks can make 12 or 13 changes and still beat Scotland, we should be able to do something similar against Italy so let's see the changes. We also don't want to play anyone into the ground and this is an ideal opportunity to rest some of our key players.

I want to see the likes of Johan Goosen, Nizaam Carr, Lwazi Mvovo, Lood de Jager, Damian D'Allende, and Warren Whiteley all getting starts with the likes of Seabelo Senatla and Jaco Kriel at least getting some game time off the bench.

The interesting selection for me will be at flyhalf, not so much this weekend but against Wales. I reckon Meyer will give Morne Steyn the #10 jersey against Italy and whichever one of Handre Pollard and Pat Lambie Meyer picks for the Wales game will be the one who has the inside lane and who we can expect to be our RWC starting flyhalf.

17 Nov 2014, 09:32
17 Nov 2014, 09:32#2
 rooitwit of course Meyer will ring the changes for the italian game!!! Meyer is well aware of the brilliant observstiosn you have posted.I would like to see how Kriel goes long before Carr. Kriel is a faster, more talented player who can play as a fetcher as well. He would rate as possibly the quickest loosie in world rugby.
Our world cup flyhalf is Pollard. He is the deal. Lambie will make an understudy and reserve fullback.Pollard looks like to become one of the all time greats. Lambie will never be that good.I just hope the bulle dont ruin him. He should of course stayed with the M ighty WP!!

17 Nov 2014, 09:46
17 Nov 2014, 09:46#3

Lood should never have been there to begin with. Not a favourite of mine but rather him than Oupa Bakkies..

I would also like to see Redelinghuys getting his first cap. Much better starting 3 than useless Coenie.

Kriel is a must.

3ku1Pro2,580 posts
17 Nov 2014, 10:11
17 Nov 2014, 10:11#4
Pollard is overrated , and per usual SA bloggers are overstating and overhyping their flyhalves. Pollard has potential, but he had an average Bulls season. They had to make Poltigieter a starter. The kids talented, but SA fans needs to give him time to develop. Instead of acting like hes the second coming.
moolaaPro2,380 posts
17 Nov 2014, 10:11
17 Nov 2014, 10:11#5
 Typical tripe from Hasbeeno. Pollard has one good game and suddenly is likely to be "one of the all time greats"! I'm sure you said the same about Goosen and Itsabutt and how did that turn out for you??Bwahahahahaha!!
BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
17 Nov 2014, 16:53
17 Nov 2014, 16:53#6
 " rooitwit of course Meyer will ring the changes for the italian game!!! Meyer is well aware of the brilliant observstiosn you have posted.I would like to see how Kriel goes long before Carr. (Agreed) Kriel is a faster, more talented player who can play as a fetcher as well. He would rate as possibly the quickest loosie in world rugby. Our world cup flyhalf is Pollard. He is the deal. Lambie will make an understudy and reserve fullback.Pollard looks like to become one of the all time greats. Lambie will never be that good.I just hope the bulle dont ruin him. He should of course stayed with the Mighty WP!!"

-----------------------------------------------------------

The majority also said that in the absence of Fourie du Preez, our world cup scrummie is Hougat ... but after yesterday the overall impression I get is that Reinach probably has more to offer.
So why not apply the same logic to Lambie? I believe he offers the same as Pollard, except it appears he has a lot more BMT.Lambie had a raw deal under Plumtree when a hasbeen like Michalak was preferred for a long period.
DezertFoxPro2,288 posts
17 Nov 2014, 17:05
17 Nov 2014, 17:05#7
Michallak delivered, Lambie didn't. Lambie is the most backed 10 in Bok history but he just cannot deliver. You can want it to happen until you are blue in the face, but it won't be any more real. He just isn't talented. He doesn't have the skill set for this level of the game. He didn't even standout at any point at age groups level. 
BI
biltongbekClub Pro749 posts
17 Nov 2014, 17:06
17 Nov 2014, 17:06#8
Mozart, is that you?  
17 Nov 2014, 17:10
17 Nov 2014, 17:10#9
"Mozart, is that you?"
No, LeTwat is an even bigger idiot (if that is in fact possible) who has previously posted on this board as Gonzo the Gimp (aka Gonzo the Great), Dim Sim (aka Sun Tzu) and Alucard.

The sheer hatred that this loser has for Patrick Lambie is only exceeded by the unfathomed depths of his rugby ignorance. 
17 Nov 2014, 19:02
17 Nov 2014, 19:02#10
 "the unfathomed depths of his rugby ignorance". A phrase that describes ou rooitwit adequately! Alas though it extends beyond rugby for this darwinian dinosaur! 
Good to have Card back!

Sharky54Club Pro247 posts
17 Nov 2014, 19:10
17 Nov 2014, 19:10#11
This is why I left this forum to begin with. These circular, unsubstantiated arguments and ignorance are incredibly frustrating for me and the f#cken spaghetti monster knows I have enough of that in my life.

Lestat - honestly, you dont know what Lambie did to get him the recognition he enjoys ? Honestly ? Earl Rose ?

By the same token, what did Pollard do ?

And Beeno - I am disappointed in you. I thought you had changed.
17 Nov 2014, 19:58
17 Nov 2014, 19:58#12
Biltong, Biltong, Biltong ......I have Lambie ahead of Earl Rose. But don't ask about Catrikilis though. The Cat could easily have made that chip and that drop....the bonus would be he wouldn't have missed those other routine kicks. Lambie is one of the hyped. His running, defenders beaten, clean break stats for a long 2013 S15 campaign were quite inferior to Morne in the same campaign. Towards the end he was back to inside centre because he had run out of ideas.
We can go down this path again....but it's going nowhere.
17 Nov 2014, 20:32
17 Nov 2014, 20:32#13
That is such a stupid and meaningless comparison to make - and you know it Moz. Stop pandering to the idiots on here.

If meters gained was the only measure for player selection, Charl Van Rensburg (probably wont even remember him) would have gone to the 2003 world cup WAY, WAY, WAY ahead of Bob Stinkgat. If I recall in the Super rugby season that proceeded that world cup Van Rensburg had about double the meters gained on Skinstad.

Different teams, different games, different tactics used in different weather conditions, different opponents due to injury etc. etc. etc. I could make a list of about 50 things as to why your comparison is statistically flawed.

Come on.
17 Nov 2014, 20:41
17 Nov 2014, 20:41#14
 Lestat
Very clever of you tpo change your positing name to Lestat from Gonso the Great.   Becaiue of your absolute lack of rugby knowledge - it was easy for the posters to change it to Bonso the Apemoron.    So letat is not so easy to deal with.
Like any site we need somebody to support Mozart and the cerdunce in their absolute lack of r uyugby knowledge - especially for entetainment purposes - so wlelcome back.
 Don't expect any mercy from other members when you are moronic - th ey know you by now.  
17 Nov 2014, 20:50
17 Nov 2014, 20:50#15
Please confirm statistically what you have written about Steyn and Lambie iro Lambie's Super 15 record.  Remember that in the first 4 games he had your favourite Francois Steyn as inside center - who buggered everything up so badly no flyhalf could do anything much with him to bugger up the Sharks backline - so much so that Plummtree said Stey is no center.   
That limited Lambie's option and the problem continued virtually throughout 2013.
Then the following:-
"The Cat could easily have made that chip and that drop....the bonus would be he wouldn't have missed those other routine kicks."   What a fool to come up with thatkind of supposition.   There is really no proof that Catrakillis would have done what Mozart assumed he could have done.   The nornmal type oof garbage Mozart makes and expect from us to swwallow.   
17 Nov 2014, 20:50
17 Nov 2014, 20:50#16
Metres gained is not a perfect stat Sharkie. But when Pollard beats 6 defenders against NZ....and Lambie beats 0 against the inferior Poms, that seems to be significant.
17 Nov 2014, 21:05
17 Nov 2014, 21:05#17
Different fields, different weather conditions, different teams, different game plan. A game plan that Pollard could not execute the weekend before. Little bit of pressure and he not only disappeared, he assisted us into the hole.

He helped us to secure our first victory against the All Blacks since 2011, he also helped us to our first loss against Ireland since 2009, our greatest losing margin against Ireland since 2006.

That seem significant ?
17 Nov 2014, 22:06
17 Nov 2014, 22:06#18
Actually I thought he was good against Ireland with an imploding Hoggard inside him, and Irish dominance of the breakdown. His stats are fine
FHPollard0/055/16/81801005/10/000/0

And he handled the ball 29 times  and kicked 17 per cent vs Lambie who had ball in hand 10 times and kicked 40 per cent of those balls. If you want an inactive kicking flyhalf,Lambie is your man.
BI
biltongbekClub Pro749 posts
17 Nov 2014, 22:18
17 Nov 2014, 22:18#19

Again, Mozart, different conditions and therefor different gameplans.

Did you see the try Lambie scored against OZ?

Broke through 4 tackles.

You are nitpicking stars to suit your argument. It isn't working because you provide no context to your assumptions.

Your two Bk Flyhalves is Lambie and Pollard, let's move on to another position.  

17 Nov 2014, 22:24
17 Nov 2014, 22:24#20
I have no clue what those stats mean - a bunch of numbers in a row - nor am I even slightly concerned by them. It is clear that Pollard struggled horribly against Ireland. He probably kicked less balls because he spent all day playing the 'this side, that side' game at the back before getting sacked by the opposition defense.

Maaks niks....he helped us lose against Ireland. Kind of kills off the win against the All Blacks - opposite ends of the spectrum.
17 Nov 2014, 22:36
17 Nov 2014, 22:36#21
 Funny how all of a sudden it was Hougaard s fault. Hougaard who made 62 passes of which 59 were good passes......yeah I can see why Pollard struggled thanks to Hougaard. Get real
17 Nov 2014, 22:38
17 Nov 2014, 22:38#22
Perhaps the words will help. This from S15 2013

Lambie then missed a second kick at goal, but he did find his range with the last kick of the half.

The gap was 12 points at the break, but that was reduced to seven straight afterwards as a kind bounce by a Piri Weepu kick-ahead fell kindly for the Blues attack, with the ball then spread cross-field to a lurking Halai who ran in on the right.

Five minutes later the New Zealanders were level after replacement Ranger picked up and sliced his way over for a sixth try of the campaign.

Lambie could have put the Sharks back in front before the hour mark but he wasted a third penalty, again won by the powerful home scrum.

Bismarck du Plessis finally made his anticipated return in the black and white after over 10 months on the sidelines due to injury, but he could do little to prevent the visitors from taking a 61st minute lead when Baden Kerr popped over a penalty.

Lambie should have drawn the scores level with 12 minutes to play, but his woeful afternoon continued.

He was saved, however, by Viljoen who collected from James and dived over the tryline.

Final Score Sharks 22 (17) Blues 20 (5)

17 Nov 2014, 22:43
17 Nov 2014, 22:43#23
Listen, Pollard struggled because he is Pollard.

I know there was a Handre Pollard fairy tale in the pipeline even before he appeared for the Bulls but the Bulls extreme anxiety to rid themselves of his presence early in the Super 15 this year is indicative of the player Pollard is, whether the die-hard Pollard fans want to believe it or not.

I mean, they went and sucked the devil's share and beyond out of the barrel to find JL Potgieter. Mozart - are you getting that...JACQUES-LOUIS POTGIETER ?

They were so overwhelmingly pleased with his performances by comparison to Pollard, they splashed his image all over their website's landing page. I was waiting for a JL Potgieter serenade.

Somehow from then until the end of the Super 15 (I dont recall seeing any kind of miraculous recovery), Pollard became the first choice Springbok flyhalf. So forgive me - I still dont see it. And yes, although it will obviously appear provincialistic due to the fact that I am quite obviously a Sharks fan - Patrick Lambie is CURRENTLY the better flyhalf. Actually not even close.
17 Nov 2014, 22:43
17 Nov 2014, 22:43#24
This is a small, slow, not very steady player who has had several chances to hold the Bok 10 position. I actually predicted in 2013 that he was the one Bok who would establish himself as a new permanent fixture.....only to see him implode in S15 2013. Chances are, faced with a long S15 campaign against physical teams he will implode again.
Pollard is the man, it's silly to limit his growth playing Lambie  at this stage. 
17 Nov 2014, 22:46
17 Nov 2014, 22:46#25
Pollard still sucked @ss against Ireland. Doesn't matter if Lambie's granny dropped one that smelled 95.613% like a rotten egg .
17 Nov 2014, 22:48
17 Nov 2014, 22:48#26
Whatever your predictions Moz - Pollard still sucked @ss against Ireland. Nothing to do with Lambie.
17 Nov 2014, 22:54
17 Nov 2014, 22:54#27
Mozart is just a s low thinker - as slow as he says Lambie. and Serfontein is.   He searched and searched and searhed until he could find a game where he could blame Lambie for being poor and went back tothe BLue game of 2013 to find one - What a joke.   Nobody knows what the circumstances was under which the game was played - but he had to reproduce an article here - from what and where is not stated. 
Where did you find that match report?   Can you please indicate in which paper it was reported.      
17 Nov 2014, 22:54
17 Nov 2014, 22:54#28
Lambie has never had an extended run at 10 for the Boks. In all his years playing for the Boks he has only started at 10 seven times or something to that effect. Biltong provided the stats somewhere on here. 
17 Nov 2014, 23:02
17 Nov 2014, 23:02#29
Meyer will go with Pollard as first choice 10 to the world cup. He already in a tipiese hardekop way told the press that if Pierre Spies was available, he would be selected before anyone else in the team.

He has his favorites - they are engrained in his heavily boned skull and he couldn't give a flying f#ck what anyone else thinks or even the events that transpire in front of him in reality.

As sure as I am typing this message, Pollard will play 1st choice flyhalf in the world cup. Lambie will have to be there to play the last 20 minutes under pressure and then get all the criticism for it.

Good luck to Heyneke Meyer and good luck to Gaffie....I mean Handre Pollard .
17 Nov 2014, 23:06
17 Nov 2014, 23:06#30
"Gaffie"? FFS what does Goosen have to do with this?
17 Nov 2014, 23:09
17 Nov 2014, 23:09#31
Rudolph Strau....I mean Heyneke Meyer is making is very own Gaffie Du Toit.
17 Nov 2014, 23:13
17 Nov 2014, 23:13#32
Yes I got your drift, but  Pollard is lion hearted ....Lambie and Goosen are kinda like Gaffie. And by the way Gaffie wasn't made by Destroyli, he was made by Malletite.
17 Nov 2014, 23:23
17 Nov 2014, 23:23#33
I just hope he doesn't fly with his broken little wings and end up landing in Durban like Gaffie did. Goodness only knows, I am sure the Sharks still celebrate the day Gaffie and Luke Watson left the Sharks respectively.
17 Nov 2014, 23:30
17 Nov 2014, 23:30#34
Luke, now there's a player who was massively hyped, at least we can agree on that....and we haven't come to fatal blows yet. 
17 Nov 2014, 23:32
17 Nov 2014, 23:32#35
Lets hope Rudolph...I mean Heyneke chooses second choice Pollard to play against Italy and lets hope for a lekker wet field. Another brick in the creation of Gaffie Du Toit Version 2.0
sharkbokCaptain23,293 posts
18 Nov 2014, 01:00
18 Nov 2014, 01:00#36
I am most keen to sees how Redelinghuys goes firstly. The Boks have had Jannie at tighthead for so long, it will be refreshing to see what someone else can do.If his scrumming is as good as what is has been in the Curry Cup, he could turn the bok scrum into a power house.I would like to see what he brings to the loose. Italy usually havd a good scrum so it will be a nice test.
Also Senatla and Jaco Kriel. Senatala might be too green but with the world cup just around the corner he is a player who might make the step up. It is a pity that did not make it.