CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
CLclevermikeCoach57,555 posts
11 Jun 2014, 15:03#2
After seeing his team for the test against the Welsh - I have no option - but to support your point of view here. i thought Meyer would learn from previous mistakes - but he is getting worse.
Next week you will have wider support for a sacking - bar Mozart most will join your call after the disaster to strike on Saturday.
11 Jun 2014, 15:15#3
Mike, you are calling another loss are you?? Not the team I would have selected..Not even close but they will not lose to Wales. That team will be 15-20 points clear of the Welsh after the 80!
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
11 Jun 2014, 15:27#4
Hope I can share your optimism - but this team is so out of zinc that I cannot see them beating the English B team and virtually no other NH or SH team, The worst Tight 5 imaginable and a backline that has serious question marks. If they ever see the ball - it will be kicked away aimlessly by Morne Steyn.
I know Meyer is being hampered by injuries - but the team he came up with is a real joke in bad taste.
11 Jun 2014, 16:08#5
Hahahaha. The lead-footed geriatrics have now run of zinc as well. No wonder they are out of sync..........
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
MOMozartCaptain49,914 posts
11 Jun 2014, 16:10#6
Learn from his previous mistakes....hahahaha. What like thrashing the Worlds you and Sapp claimed we were going to lose to?
11 Jun 2014, 16:33#7
It doesn't matter in the end whether the Bokke win by 10 or by 20 pts.
The point is that with proper selections they would win by 50 ... 60 pts.
That's what this is all about.
You chumps favour mediocrity. We're looking for the best of the best. Scraping the pass mark isn't good enough for us.
Errrrrr Faggot ... ??? Please explain that last sentence of yours. I like errrr do not understand errrr like what your saying ... like ...
Thanks!!
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
11 Jun 2014, 16:38#8
I can't be held responsible if you are stupid Genecut. But you never told us what you did in life....car salesman?
AJArthur John
Pro1,748 posts
AJArthur JohnPro1,748 posts
11 Jun 2014, 16:48#9
Just another Meyer shock for SA Rugby.
Reminds me of the politicians during the Nats running (into the ground) of the country.
Stayed tuned for more shocks.
TTThe_Truth
Club Pro471 posts
TTThe_TruthClub Pro471 posts
11 Jun 2014, 22:55#10
Ceradyne: "Hahahaha. The lead-footed geriatrics have now run of zinc as well. No wonder they are out of sync.........."
From WebMD... "Some athletes use zinc for improving athletic performance and strength."
I think we are have something here... Just send them some supplements and they will be fine. ;-)
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
12 Jun 2014, 01:47#11
At the end of 2012 Meyer hiimself said he has learnt from his selection mistakes. He then went on and made some slight improvements to the 3013 squad - but retained most of his mistakes as well - Guthro Steenkamp being one. At least he brought in Le Roux - adding some value to the backline.
We lost against the All Blacks - laregly because of shit poor defense by players like Morne Steyn, JJ Engelbrecht and Willem Alberts and poor decisionmaking by Morne Steyn and he panicked. He suddenly called up Bakkies Botha - played him against the Scots - where he was seriously deficient and despite that sang his praises like it is unbelievable. He did not start with Botha in the French test - but had him on the bench. To his credit Botha did play slightly better and was satisfactory in his performance in Paris.
This year the squad announcement called up 36 local players as against the 28 last year and that did not include the foreign-based players. After promising Matfield automatic selection for the Springbok team - the latter started playing again and Matfield was obviously included in the squad. None of the foreign Club players were at the training camp.
When the team for last week was announced it was a shocker and if that team was to play against a well-drilled foreign team - they would never have made the grade. The scrumming was shockingly bad, the backline was hampered by the Stade Francais bench player and his other constant favourite played a shocker. Botha and Matfield lasted 15 minutes and went into drastic decline. Not to be seen again in the game - Botha was replaced just after half time and Matfield continued to call line outs to everyone bar himself. The scrum stayed piss-poor throughout the game.
So suddenly the Beast - the better prop last week is "rotated" and the scrum further weakened by the inclusion of Steenkamp as a starter. Steenkampo cannot make the Toulouse bench - yet he is good enough to be the Springbok starting prop. Is that sane?
Meyer has apparently learnt nothing. His squad selection constantly paints him into a corner wher ehe ended up having to make rubbish selections. Matfield is made his interim captain and the slapgat did not produce the goods last week - so he cannot make him redundent for not performing satisfactorily.
Meyer is foolish - the sooner he realize that his former mates/pals from the Super 1 glory years in Super 15 in Super 15 are in the main past it and not up to standard anymore and start looking at the future - the better it will be for SA rugby. There is no signs of that in evidence and as rugby supporters we still have to live with his rubbish selections.
Has he learnt from his 2012 mistakes he himself claimed to have made? There is really no sign of that - the Springbok side as in fact regressed since then - with his constant selection of has beens he favoured all the time. Building to 2015 WC - he went back to the selfsame players that was part of a failing team in 2010 and 2011. What the hell makes him thing that they would be better in 2014 than they were in 2010 and 2011?
There relaly is nothing same in a hell of a lot of Meyer's selections and the longer it foes on - the worst it became. This team is going to struggle badly and lose more tests this year than the two they lost in 2013 - that is for bloody sure.
The real joke was that Kruger and Hargreaves performed better than Botha and Matfield in the lock positions and that was recognized by experts and Gavin Rich even wrote an article clearly identifying that problem. Yet Meyer persisted with those two and that is no good.
Will Meyer ever learn from his selection mistakes? There is no sign of that one - and the learning process is getting worse and worse.
12 Jun 2014, 02:20#12
Look guys, the beauty about humans is that we have opinions. If I put 10 of you in a room that love rugby and ask you all to jot down your Bok side, I guarantee we will have 10 different results.Only 23 guys can play in a country where we have 100's of 1000's of guys who would give their left nut to be in that 23. Last year Meyer was ridiculed for some selections and we had a pretty good year. Some things didnt go our way like the farce at Eden park and the Argies conceding a 4th try against the AB's in the dying seconds of their penultimate game that would have meant the Boks needed just the win and not go against Bok rugby and have to chase tries.I have no doubt the Boks would have beaten the AB's if we stuck to our normal gameplan but we would not have got 4 tries of course. It was just a series of bad luck that led to that.
I dont like Meyer's selections now. I would be one of you 10 in a room with a totally different team but Meyer is winning and is that not all we as fans care about at the end of the day? The Boks winning!! If we lose to Wales, if Meyer starts losing, then all these concerns are justified but the man is winning...
What is it that we really want here? You all want your young, untried combinations to throw the ball around against the settled AB's?? Guys, we just saw a star studded backline with names like O' Connor, Ranger, Matt Giteau, Drew Mitchell and Hosea Gear get thrashed..Thats right, thrashed by the same men you say are too old, too bad and too ugly to be Boks..
When will us Boks fans ever be happy because I can assure you, if Meyer bows to your requests and plays a "Saffex, Mike and Cleancut" inspired 23, you guys will find something else to complain about..We are winning..Lets find the positives and have faith that our coach has a plan...If "winning" changes, then lets be critical and talk again but right now, we are winning and winning is all that matters!
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
12 Jun 2014, 10:49#13
boklogic
For Meyer's sake I hope the Springboks win the test series against Wales - if they lose both tests - which is likely bearing in mind Meyer's squad selection - all hell is going to break lose, especially in view of his preference for elderly Bulls and ex-Bulls players and his usage of foreign players ahead of SA based players.
A win against the Scots may relieve the pressure - but Meyer will be under serious pressure to get his selections right for the RC. A poor campaign in the RC and he would indeed be tickets.
The situation would be worse if they lose both the away matches against the Aussies and the AB's and public pressure would leave the stands empty for the home games against those two teams. SARU will not like it - but will inevitably bent to public opinion in the end.
Lets be patient and see what happens over the next three months. If the Springboks manage to keep winning - Meyer will be fine. If they lose key matches - he will be a goner.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
SASaffolk Captain30,741 posts
12 Jun 2014, 10:54#14
No Mike, we need to see the back of Meyer, so if it takes two losses against Wales to do it then bring it on Wales I say.......I love Bok rugby more than life itself, but this current Bok side is simply not a Bok side, its a fucking disgrace
12 Jun 2014, 14:09#15
Saffex, 2 losses against Wales will not be the end of Heynecke Meyer..He is here until 2015 WC for sure.
I cant believe you are wishing losses on our Boks Saffex..Its the Boks bru..Its what we love! It is not the team you would have selected but it is not a bad team.. Youngsters will get there chance and by 2015, which is the goal, the youngsters that prove themselves and take their chances will still be around.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
12 Jun 2014, 15:51#17
What the hell is wrong with Hendricks?
12 Jun 2014, 16:59#20
Mike and Saff, are you guys predicting a win or a loss for the Boks this weekend? No fancy answers, just a prediction.
I am completely pissed off about this team, especially Matfield and Pienaar, but I still think the Boks will win. Are you two bold enough to make a prediction?
BEBeeno1
Captain40,032 posts
BEBeeno1Captain40,032 posts
12 Jun 2014, 18:22#21
I am very glad that Wales are talking themselves up and have come to win.The great thing is that weak links are going to be exposed in these two tests. The Welsh threat will surely be through their big backs and scrum.
Personally, I feel Meyer in selecting some players has lost an opportunity to build. Wasted time.As to winning it is possible because some problems can be solved via the bench.
On the other hand Wales have a great opportunity due to Bok tiredness, selections and injuries.I saw on another website Meyer selected Guthro because its his 50th match and he did not see to much difference between Guthro and Beast. I do not watch much NH rugby but understand from Mike that Guthro is a bench player for his club. He was a top loosehead when he left SA and now? Didn't see much of him on the YE tour.
Jannie is about stuffed. They say he played in every game for the Sharks this season? It's absolutley shocking player management that is if true. Sharks did however take him off early so I suppose that is something. Wales do us a favour and come out firing. Let's see who is who in the zoo.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
12 Jun 2014, 18:47#22
Build? Who isn't in there who we should be using to build....Lood is in, Serf is in, Mvovo is in, Coenie is in, Goosen is in....Sithole had a shot last week. Who do you want Hasbeen with your endless bleating?
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
12 Jun 2014, 19:22#24
So passionately, when they won the cup the first thing you said was we back into it....BS Dave you called against the team all the way. Just as you did last week....just as you are doing today.
23 Jul 2014, 17:24#26
Before the Wales tests:
"it is not a true Bok side and the only way things will change is if they get thumped week after week, which I predict will happen."

Captain23,294 posts

sharkbokCaptain23,294 posts
23 Jul 2014, 19:05#28
Saffex does not judge Meyer by his results, instead by his own warped viewpoint of what players should be selected in the team. A joke really. This guy genuinely thinks he is a better coach and selector than Meyer, as well as anyone else in South Africa.
Saffex would rather lose by choosing a whole lot of young players that will be replaced by the next batch when the next flavour of the month arrives, than select a good mix of established Springbok legends and younger players which prove they have the potential to be Springbok legends through consistent man of the match performances in the SuperXV- and are consistently able to out perform SA, NZ and OZ players in their respective positions.
This would mean dropping the likes of Habana for someone like Sithole- who is a decent player, but will never be a Springbok great. It would be worse than a Roedolf Straulie selected team that had the likes of Jorrie Muller at outside centre in a world cup team.

Captain23,294 posts

sharkbokCaptain23,294 posts
24 Jul 2014, 01:27#32
Based on SuperXV form, if the Boks lose- it is not going to prove much. It certainly will not prove some fat waist of space's opinion sitting in his shack in England.
Most of the SA Super XV teams are at the bottom half of the table and were the quickest to be out of playoff contention. The back-line performances have been diabolical this year, and the rolling mauls were not nearly as effective as last year.
(Oh I forgot all of these coaches are useless compared to your knowledge of rugby).
If you are such an expert, get of your fat arse and start proving it.
Just like you said the Welsh and World XV would win, it did not happen.
If the Boks win, it will positive but not really proof of anything. The Boks won all but 2 games last year, but they need to win the 4 nations and also complete a grandslam to talk about achievements.
The Boks could have beat the All Blacks last year in SA, were it not for some shocking tackles where players with their arms around the ball carrier just fell off. This along with some very poor decisions like running from the 22 when their was not space resulted in some really soft turn over tries to the All Blacks.
Anyway, good luck supporting the All Blacks and Australia, and if they win at least some fat bigot can feel he has some basic knowledge of the game.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
24 Jul 2014, 14:15#33
Well Vlagshit what will your ignorant arse be saying after Meyer and your pathetic side take a smack this RC......let me guess, you reckon Meyer's geriatrics are going to beat Oz and NZ?
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
24 Jul 2014, 15:23#37
Troof, are you saying that none of those players came on to play you fucking idiot?
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
24 Jul 2014, 15:42#39
Denny why don't you e-mail him and ask Sharktwat to be your mate you twat