FORUM / RUGBY /  SAfrica demands 6 teams in Super Rugby from 2016

SAfrica demands 6 teams in Super Rugby from 2016

Started by Just_win33 REPLIES449 VIEWS· 30 Oct 2013, 10:32
30 Oct 2013, 10:32
30 Oct 2013, 10:32#1

12:03 AM Wednesday Oct 30, 2013

CAPE TOWN, South Africa (AP) South Africa must have six clubs in Super Rugby from 2016 or it will "look north," South African Rugby Union President Oregan Hoskins says, a clear threat the country will approach European competition if the southern hemisphere can't accommodate its terms.

"If we don't have six teams, we might as well shut doors," Hoskins was quoted as saying by the South African Press Association and the Pretoria News in probably the strongest comments yet that SARU is willing to break up the 17-year-old southern hemisphere agreement that has been in place since rugby became openly professional.

South Africa was forced to relegate one of its teams in favor of another in 2012 after SANZAR, which sanctions international rugby in South Africa, New Zealand and Australia, refused to expand the three-nation, 15-team Super Rugby competition. All three countries have five clubs in Super Rugby.

That opened up SARU to fierce criticism at home when it dropped the Johannesburg-based Lions at the last minute after promising the new Port Elizabeth-based Southern Kings a Super Rugby place for 2013 without any guarantee of an expansion from SANZAR. The Kings lost a promotion-relegation playoff with the Lions at the end of this season, with the teams changing places again for next year.

Hoskins said South Africa won't accept anything less than six teams when a new deal and a restructured format is expected after the 2015 season.

"As far as I am concerned, it is not even an issue for us, it is six or nothing when the new broadcast deal comes into effect," Hoskins told SAPA and the Pretoria newspaper on Monday. The comments were carried by the Pretoria News on Tuesday.

"People didn't believe us when we said how serious it was until we had to forsake one of our provinces out of the Super Rugby," the SARU president said. "We have to do everything it takes to ensure our teams play in whatever competition. If it is not SANZAR then we have to look north."

South Africa hinted at breaking away from New Zealand and Australia in 2009, when negotiations began on the current five-year TV rights deal starting in 2011. For the new 15th club, an arbitrator was needed to choose the Melbourne Rebels to satisfy Australian TV rights over a stronger bid from the Southern Kings.

Hoskins' threat could carry more impact this time with developments in the northern hemisphere, where English and French clubs are leading efforts to leave the European Heineken Cup competition and form another tournament. Welsh clubs last week backed the move.

Hoskins also said South Africa brought more money to Super Rugby than its southern hemisphere partners, therefore enforcing its worth.

"South Africa is the partner and the brand which is the biggest in the southern hemisphere in terms of commercial value, brand value, bums on seats, television viewership, the number of players we have, et cetera," Hoskins said. "So I am hoping that we are being accommodated within SANZAR. We are being told that we are being accommodated."

SANZAR hasn't indicated how it might incorporate a sixth team from South Africa with the tournament currently separated into three national conferences of five teams, but Hoskins said he favored going to 18 clubs, with six each from South Africa and New Zealand, five still from Australia and the inclusion of a team from Argentina, which joined SANZAR's Rugby Championship last year.

30 Oct 2013, 10:55
30 Oct 2013, 10:55#2
30 Oct 2013, 11:01
30 Oct 2013, 11:01#3
 For J-W
BR
BrycyPro4,671 posts
30 Oct 2013, 11:22
30 Oct 2013, 11:22#4

So let me get this straight ....South Africa are so desperate to have another team thaey are throwing their toys around and are threatening to go and play in the Northern Hemisphere competition in the middle of their own summer ...too funny

Thats a long season is'nt it but good luck to them . It was nice knowing you fullas...

Can't see why we should except another useless South African franchise though when they're already wooden spooners .... Why would we want another kak team in the comp??

30 Oct 2013, 11:27
30 Oct 2013, 11:27#5
 What I dont like about this is the political interference. Unless the queens get a spot we are willing to abandon the SH competition. Do the queens deserve a spot. No they dont.Why is it essential the queens play - race. They think it will lead to more black players arising. It is soley driven by race as are quotas etc. Joke was how few blacks the queens actually fielded.With the exodus of players - a flood of them - we do not have the resources for 6 teams. If we could retain our players here in Sa we could field 8 sides etc.
No this whole problem is not a rugby issue its an anc created issue.
I always wonder how we will fit in there re seasons. Money is great and would solve the exodus problem. We would also get a better deal ref wise. Travel would also be easier on the players. So there are pros and cons. 
If we could sort out the bent ref issue and the exodus problem I would favour staying as we are.
30 Oct 2013, 11:55
30 Oct 2013, 11:55#6

Clearly Hoskins feels he's "negotiating" from a position of strength. Put it this way, I sure hope he's thought that far ahead, cause if the Australasians tell us to take a hike ... what then? Are we guaranteed 6 teams in some NH competition?

South Africa have a lot of untapped talent we'd want exposed to this level of rugby. Be our teams bottom loggers or not, the experience itself will have a massif influence on certain individuals and we as a whole would benefit from it.

I would much prefer we continue playing Super Rugby against New Zealand and Australia. Can't see the NH standard matching this intensity.

I see Brycy bidding us a fond farewell however I'm sure he too would prefer we stay right where we are.

Let's hope this works out for us all.

kingcornPro3,695 posts
30 Oct 2013, 12:36
30 Oct 2013, 12:36#7
 Saru style of negotiating is first to say fuck you and the try to make a deal.
I want the super 12 back, it was shorter and gave the players more time to recover. It also meant that the 12th team could beat the team top of the log. 
My proposal is that Each union should get 4 teams. With a second tier for the other teams including argetina, Japan and the pacific island. followed by knock out tournament hosted at a neutral venue after the league stages. The top 4 teams from both leagues compete to win an overall trophy. Best of both worlds for all teams. 
Quarters, Semi, finals. 11 games with the possibility of 3 more games and a grand prize. 
Each countries lowest finishing teams would automatically get relegated and the top teams from league 2 promoted. 
30 Oct 2013, 14:33
30 Oct 2013, 14:33#8
 I beg to differ with the idea that this is an ANC created problem. As much as I despise the ANC and Cheeky Watson and his cronies, the real issue does not lie at the door of the ANC. The only thing that they are guilty of is the fact that they are going for  quick fix and window  dressing solutions, like quotas.

There are much more to this than just throwing stones and pointing fingers.

From the SA side of things, there are a vast numbers of things that needs to be addressed and should have been addressed in the past.

There are large parts of the country where the development of the sport is seriously lacking or even non-existent. The Southern Cape is one of them. It has always been an area that has produced  amazing talent but it just never managed to get the provincial side to the top. They were always a thread for anybody taking them on in their own back year but they were hardly a constant and continuous threat. The idea to make  them a force again, similar to what they were and bette,r is indeed one hell of a challenge but it has to be done, and to dump them into Super Rugby and telling them to swim is just not on.

One point that Cheeky had, that was very valid, was that it was unfair to let them play S15 for one year and then have the possibility of being kicked out again after just one year. The initial promise to guarantee them a spot was a huge mistake by SARU. Especially in view of the fact that they did nothing from their side to assist them to be up for it by the time that they do get the chance to play Super Rugby.

SARU, more or less, just wiped their hands and said that the guys who made the promises were out of order and were gone in any case but that they would look at letting them play at a later stage. That was all fair and well, but they should  immediately have started to assist those guys so that they could have the infrastructure and everything in place for them to take part in the S15. They did zip, and then dumped them into the S15 at the eleventh hour. Cheeky and Co also did fuck all. They did nothing to at least get some kind of cohesion between the unions in the region. Instead they created more friction amongst the unions in the region. It is going to take a long time and effort to get those guys up to standard. Even if they do manage to gain promotion to Super Rugby again after 2014, they are already back to square one.They have already lost all their players again as well as their coaches who have  also jumped ship. It cannot and will never work in this way. SARU should have taken note on how long it took the Cheetahs to really get into the swing of things.

It is and  remain a rugby problem and the solution should be a rugby one by rugby. As long as SARU and that region carry on the way that they do, you cannot blame the ANC for exploiting the situation and use it to promote their own political agendas. The ANC is, and has always been, the kind of organisation that thrive on using those kind of issues to hide their other failures and they will do it time and again.

As for SARU walking out of SANZAR, I do not think that NZ and Aus will really be prepared to just sit back and wave SA goodbye, as easily as some of  our NZ friends would like to believe. If SA do decide to side with the NH sides, it will have an adverse effect on the SH rugby. They will loose out financially. There is  no doubt about that. In addition, it is not that impossible to intergrate into the NH structures from an SA point  of view and the idea that SH rugby on club level is ages behind Super Rugby is, IMO, unfounded and has never been proven and will  only be proven if it ever come to a "cross-hemisphere" type of competition between the "best of the best". If SA do join the ranks of the NH it will have a  positive outcome on the NH rugby. There is no two ways about it. Equally, if you take SA out of SANZAR it will  have an adverse effect on SH rugby, especially if you replace them with Japan, for instance.

30 Oct 2013, 16:27
30 Oct 2013, 16:27#9

Lets face facts.  SARU is desperate to get two wooden spoon teams in the competition.   After all two is better than one in the fat pig feeding trough, which is SARU - matter of fact 90% of the Government set up in SA.

I know you are thick as a brick - but please don't show your ignorance that badly.   Port Elizabeth is in the EASTERN CAPE - not in the SOUTHERN CAPE.   From a rugby perspective the Southern Cape is an area of moderate towns - from Swellendam in the west to Knysna in the east and stretching inland to Beaufort West in the north, represented by the South Western Districts  Eagles.  The  area represents one of the cradles of SA rugby insofar as school rugby development is concerned - but in view of the relatively small economic base - they do not retain their most talented school boy crops after their school years.   The area basically have a closer relationship with Cape Town than Port Elizabeth - the emphasis being on the WESTERN - with he major population centres nearer to Cape Town, with a stronger economic base and consequently a bigger drawcard  in Cape Town.

The Eastern Cape has their own economic problems and comprise in the main of Port Elizabeth and East London, with Grahamstown thrown in.   The Government is pumping millions into the area - since it is per head of the population one of the poorest areas in SA.   They insist on sport development being happening - but not very successfully.   Virtually all cricket and rugby players of note - coming from the said  area did not attend the hopeless Government schools in the area - but came through the so-called sports schools.   

In view of the above and the limitations the local economic institutions have a limiting affect on sport sponsorships, the Eastern Province franchise find it very hard to draw more prominent players and retain them - they just do not have enough funds - and when they get funds from the Government - last year it was R40 000 000 - it vanished into thin air.     

In an effort to enhance their image and claim  - they are claiming that the SWD Eagles is part of their Super 15 franchise - much like Griquas  is part of the Cheetahs set up in their case.  It has not worked this year - so what else can make sure it will work in future.

Problem is economics and the ridiculous education system in the Eastern Cape is not producing top players and sportsmen.   The SWD area falls under the Western Cape Government - with a much more enhanced level of service delivery - also in education and school sport development - than any other province in SA.   

Education and economics remains the issue - and the area they want as a franchise suffers hardships in both those two fields - so really gerrymandering will not help.

And dear idiot - SA will now have to move its main holiday season for rugby to June July - so they can compete in the NH winter season with NH teams - what an utter load of BS - aside from the damage it will do to SA rugby to compete on a lower level than Super 15 in competitions and all other negatives such a move will entail.    

30 Oct 2013, 17:39
30 Oct 2013, 17:39#10

Thanks Blobbok!

Still not sure why you call yourself by this nick name but you must have your reasons, lol

30 Oct 2013, 17:49
30 Oct 2013, 17:49#11
i dont get it, there was plenty of articles ages ago about SA were guaranteed a 6th team, i wonder what could have happened for this cycle to do another round???

on merit SA dosent deserve another team in super rugby,,,
they have monoplised the bottom three spots in super rugby for 50% of the time
from 14 super rugby comps, SA have taken out the wooden spoon 14 times.

while SA have a lot of rugby players, the quality of those players are not at a level good enough to sustain 5 competitive super rugby teams, let alone 6.

but from a financial point of view, they should get another team considering their numbers which is the lions share.

all this talk about SARU threatning to leave for the NH makes me LMFAO, the logistics of any kind of torunament will be a nightmare.

when u consider the lack of success that SA have had in super rugby and the TriNats for that matter, it might not be a bad thing for the SA to go seek their fortunes elsewhere.
it would be a shame, as my favourite part of super rugby is when the NZ clubs play the SA and OZ clubs.

but it could also be the push NZRU really need to go to the land of the rising sun, where rugby is a potential goldmine just waiting for the right prospects.
30 Oct 2013, 18:20
30 Oct 2013, 18:20#12
 Ag shame, Ou Maaikei has spotted a mistake. You are correct, but it does not change the facts of what has happened in that area.At least I do not blatantly lie to make my point. Have you decided which game it was that Bakkies was carded for dirty play, yet?

"In view of the above and the limitations the local economic institutions have a limiting affect on sport sponsorships, the Eastern Province franchise find it very hard to draw more prominent players and retain them - they just do not have enough funds - and when they get funds from the Government - last year it was R40 000 000 - it vanished into thin air. " 

Who has the better economical potential? Port Elizabeth with General Motors, Ford, Volkswagen and Continental Tyres from the automotive industry, as well as other related  industries like wiring harnasses, catalytic converters, etc on the one hand. Add to that the most promising ore loading facilities in the Southern Hemisphere. On the other hand you have Bloemfontein with basically bugger all.

The R40M that has "vanished"  is a rugby problem that requires a rugby solution.

"In an effort to enhance their image and claim  - they are claiming that the SWD Eagles is part of their Super 15 franchise - much like Griquas  is part of the Cheetahs set up in their case.  It has not worked this year - so what else can make sure it will work in future."

SWD has always been supposed to have been included  under the Kings, just like the Border Bulldogs, but Cheeky decided to snub them and ignore them in the  Kings in  total. Rugby problem that requires a rugby solution again.

"And dear idiot - SA will now have to move its main holiday season for rugby to June July - so they can compete in the NH winter season with NH teams - what an utter load of BS - aside from the damage it will do to SA rugby to compete on a lower level than Super 15 in competitions and all other negatives such a move will entail."   

Listen you bullshitting liar, where and when have I say anything about fucking  holidays and  shit? The so-called lower level of competition is a bullshit story that some little worm in your brain has  been breeding out. You better kill  the little bugger before it starts on your munching on your brain  as well.
30 Oct 2013, 18:51
30 Oct 2013, 18:51#13

There is very little coming from the industries in the Eastern Cape as to sport sponsorships - as they are all struggling to make ends meet.  The major vehicle sellers in SA is not those produced in the EC - they are mostly Japanese and even Korean models produced elsewhere.  And the Free State is economically much more viable than the Eastern Cape - with the mining and agricultural industries much stronger than in the EC - and it shows in all spheres of life.

The Heineken Cup is mostly played starting in October and if SA is to be included the competition will perforce have to run through to February - with games in January as well.   It could mean a serious impact on the normal SA rest period in rugby of December through to middle February.   So when must they have a rest period then - somewhere between June and August?   Come now be logical - that would be the implication. 

sharkbokCaptain23,297 posts
30 Oct 2013, 19:17
30 Oct 2013, 19:17#14
 Money talks and shit walks. As the majority Shareholder South Africa should be calling the shots. Some stupid concessions were given in the past to allow "Australia" to grow the game in their country by giving a 33% split. 
We have over 70% of the audience and we should be dictating terms, not accepting them.
In the past SA had difficult tours compared to Australia and NewZealand. Since the enlargement of the SuperXV we have seen a trend where tours are now more equal and South Africas results have improved. 
-This year it was 4 out of the top 8 teams that were from South Africa.-Last year it was 3 out of the top 6 (finalists).-South Africa decimated the Australian conference with the likes of the Brumbies scraping to a victory against the Southern Kings.
Just like England and France are calling the shots about the tournament structure, so should South Africa.
More SA teams will finally balance the travel schedules of all 3 countries. No longer quick games and then back home, before another short trip across the ditch sometime later in the tournament. All teams should be getting 5 or 6 back to back games in foreign countries.Having the Kings will make this more possibale, and then the scheduling should not be manipulated to return home, instead it should be the Australia if it is a NewZealand team etc
Imagine some teams like the Melbourne Rebels having to play 3 or 4 South African forward packs in SA as many weekends. They will be stuffed, and then having to travel to NewZealand. 
We do have depth issues in certain backline positions like Flyhalf and the centres, but having more SA teams will make it a tour from hell for most foreign teams having to play SA forwards for 3-4 weeks in a row, then ideally still have to fly to another foreign country.
The Kings did finish last, but only because the Highlanders got an extra bonus point or two for 3 tries. 
The NewZealand conference is allways going to allow for more bonus point tries due to the looser defenses.The Hurricanes and often the Aukland Blues may score tries but they usually let more tries in than they score.
Crusaders and more recently the Chiefs do have a tigher defense, and not as charitable with bonus point tries as the others in their conference.

30 Oct 2013, 19:48
30 Oct 2013, 19:48#15
 Ou Maaikie, think for yourself. If  the NH want to accommodate SA, they will find a way. They have a different structure for their competitions, which is why their domestic competitions like the Premiership and the Top14 is not watered down nothing competition like our CC competition. Their domestic competitions are played with full strength teams and it is only during the 6N that players are withdrawn for short periods. There entire rugby season stretches from Aug to June. They could and would probably, if the need arises, move the "Heineken or whatever it would be called" to fall at any time during that 11 months.

Think about it. The competition is played using a pool structure as opposed to this conference BS that we have. That is why they play a few less games but still high intensity games. Then they have a very strong domestic competition of higher level than our CC. Isn't that what we have been crying for for a long time? To reinstate our CC to the high intensity high level competition that it once was while still having a highly competitive SuperRugby/Heineken Cup type of competition with an international  flavour?
BR
BrycyPro4,671 posts
30 Oct 2013, 23:04
30 Oct 2013, 23:04#16

Okay so hypothetically South Africa gets into the NH competition, no skin off my nose and we're calling your bluff anyway but like it's summer in the SH around then - so can someone tell me what's the temperature in South africa mid summer when the rugby will be being played??

...or is South Africa prepared to play all their games away in the NH....

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
31 Oct 2013, 02:58
31 Oct 2013, 02:58#17
 Brycy they will have to get used to working in a sweatshop structure then wont they ? And the SARU wont be calling any shots in the NH .But if they want saffa rugger to be weakened who are we to argue ?
31 Oct 2013, 12:14
31 Oct 2013, 12:14#18
 Clutching  at straws now, aren't you? The Dec/Jan games can easily be sorted if they really want to. They don't need to play the SA Home  games during Dec/Jan. They can easily be played in Oct or Feb. In addition, you have to remember that there is the daylight saving issue in Europe as well. A game that is played from around 6PM, when it is cooler in SA will be shown at 4PM, UK time, during the European winter.

I am  by no means saying that SA will and  should definitely go with the NH but NZ/Aus has a long way to go to think that SA is dependant on them for a rugby future. NZ/Aus stand to loose  much more than SA. It is easy to say that SA will be playing in a supposedly "inferior" competition, but what will NZ have? Aus, Japan and Argentina? If they decide to  allow the PI teams in as well, they won't be able to rape them of their resources any more either.
31 Oct 2013, 12:33
31 Oct 2013, 12:33#19

Yup, SA should explore all their options. We will wait patiently for you to come back to us and say "can we play with you boys again?"

31 Oct 2013, 13:02
31 Oct 2013, 13:02#20
 Or NZ could come back and say "Please don't leave, we need you . Let's talk......."
moolaaPro2,380 posts
31 Oct 2013, 13:13
31 Oct 2013, 13:13#21
 SA needs NZ and Oz to keep their standards anywhere near the bar being set by the ABs. A move to the NH would be disastrous in the long run for SA. You only have to look at the overall records of both hemispheres in the RWC to show you that!
31 Oct 2013, 13:29
31 Oct 2013, 13:29#22
SA needs Oz? Really?

RWC overall records:

1995 Final. The last amateur competition  and  the last time that two SH sides played in the final.

1999 Final. Aus (SH) bt France (NH).

2003 Final. Eng (NH) beat Aus (SH).

2007 Final. SA (SH) beat Eng (NH).

2011 Final. NZ (SH) beat France (NH)

Every final was between a NH and a SH side, and apart from the 1999 final, the scores were very close. The NH is not as far behind as everybody would like to believe.
31 Oct 2013, 13:56
31 Oct 2013, 13:56#23

In the seven WC tournaments held since 1987, the NH countries won it ONCE whiklst New Zealand, South Africa and Australia won it  twice each.  That should tell you about the standard of rugby in the world.   The real strength has over the last 30 years always been in the SH - not in the NH. 

In the NH the role of rugby as a sport is denuded by the import of too many players from the SH - thy keep promising younger players out of top competition and can only add to the lack of future development of NH rugby.   

GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
31 Oct 2013, 13:57
31 Oct 2013, 13:57#24

Southern rugby will not suffer...most WC finals prove that...there appears to be a dose of arrogance in both N and S hemispheres.

What I personally believe that rugby needs to open it's doors to other countries to expand and develope the game expansively and sacrifices should be made to share. Business and greed must bow at some stage to altruistic needs of other nations that want to play.

31 Oct 2013, 14:27
31 Oct 2013, 14:27#25
 Wooosh. There it goes. All over ou Clever Trevor's head again.
31 Oct 2013, 14:39
31 Oct 2013, 14:39#26

South  Africa is doing a lot for rugby development in Africa and South America - especially Argentina.   However, one cannot see even a trace of help emanating from any NH and other SH countries to enhance rugby as a world sport.   That remains a problem - as I stated earlier the NH countries even reduce internal player development by importing too many foreign players - mainly from  SH countries - stopping or diminishing internal development programmes.  

In the last Under 20 WC the finals was between Wales and England - the question remains - what will happen to these youngsters in future - will they get recognition by English clubs or just be superseded by  imports? 

GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
31 Oct 2013, 14:52
31 Oct 2013, 14:52#27

What union does not need is countries that overindulge each other becoming so isolated and insular that it becomes like Aussie rules in Oz and Grid iron in the USA. No real global competition...rather like human relations and development in the Appalachian Mountains...lolz. An inter-bred sport.

31 Oct 2013, 15:20
31 Oct 2013, 15:20#28
@Mike.

England.

There are 12 professional Premiership clubs in England alone. That is their top tier competition. Their second tier competition consists of another 12 professional clubs. That is a total of 24 professional sides in  England alone. Remember that rugby is playing second  fiddle to  football in England big time.

Ireland.
Ireland have four professional unions, i.e. Ulster, Munster, Leinster, and Connacht. Each of them have a lot of semi-professional clubs in their region.

Wales.
Wales have 12 sides  competing in the Welsh Premier Division.

Scotland.
Scotland have four sides competing in the Celtic  competition.

That gives you a total of 44 professional sides in the UK alone. Compare that to SA's 14 professional sides, of  which only the top 6 could possibly compare with the UK clubs. That is on infrastructure, finances and quality of player. Let me stress once again that bar Ireland and maybe Wales as well, rugby is by no means the "biggest" sport and it competes with a hell of  a lot of other disciplines, including league. There are ample playing opportunities in Europe for all of those who want to play. In addition, there are only a handful of clubs who heavily rely on international players.

Saracens, for instance have, 25 English players and 14 non-UK international players and one each from Wales, Scotland and Ireland.

If  we go to France we find the following:

Top14, with 14 professional clubs
ProD2 which is their second tier professional league with 16 clubs.

That gives  you 30 professional rugby clubs in France.

Italy have 12 clubs in  their National Championship of Excellence.

That gives you a total of 86 professional rugby clubs in Europe, and that in an area where rugby is not supposed to be really that big. There are lots of opportunities for lots of  rugby players to  play. They can accommodate all of the overseas and local players and  still attract full stadiums. If all the players in Europe were to return to SA, NZ and  OZ, none of them would be able to accommodate all those players in the professional clubs/union/franchises.

When it comes to rugby development, what is SA doing in/for Argentina? Where are the Argentinian professional players playing their rugby at the moment? What is SA doing for development in Africa? We are not even doing proper development in our own back yard.
31 Oct 2013, 16:01
31 Oct 2013, 16:01#29

That's an interesting read, Ceradyne.

A place for the 2nd ranked rugby nation could easily be found up north. In fact they would welcome us with open arms.

In turn the kiwis and ozzies, who by the looks of it, aren't really keen to continue competing against us, could then draw the "high rugby standard" of Japan into the mix while we play against the best of Europe.

I wonder who would benefit more from this?

It's incredible how arrogant they've become. Just like their posters on this site.

To think that we need them more than they need us is beyond belief.

Suddenly I hope it comes about.

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
31 Oct 2013, 16:08
31 Oct 2013, 16:08#30
 Mike. if you buy overseas its because you are trying to fill a gap that cannot be filled locally. Look at the England football league, they bought foreigners to have one of the best leagues in the world because without the foreigners their teams would be nowhere.  Plus ceradine said the rest, really good post my man.
31 Oct 2013, 16:18
31 Oct 2013, 16:18#31

You have posted the club info previously on this site.   That is not really the topic here.   The topic relates to the 12 top clubs in Engalnd and 14 in France  from which virtually all of their internationals are drawn and which is diluted by foreign players - reducing the ability of younger player to reach their objectives - that is one point.   The same happened in France and Ireland as well.

The other interesting point raised - is the question of enhancement of rugby as a world sport - where all the NH unions do squat about.  On that you are totally silent.   

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
31 Oct 2013, 16:29
31 Oct 2013, 16:29#32
 Who says the youngsters are better? Or are good enough? Why buy the foreigners in the first place? There must be an original issue. Its like the whole black issue in SA, they supposedly arent getting a chance but in reality they just arent good enough. So tothe youngsters there. plus having better foreigners in certain positions raises standards of play which has a knock-on effect and actually improves the overall environment which will make the locals around them better! Think of the French that get to see and experience Bakkies, Morne, Steenkamp etc... its not so black and white as you say. i could go on even more but i feel it will be wasted.
31 Oct 2013, 16:49
31 Oct 2013, 16:49#33

Posts: 7629 RE: SAfrica demands 6 teams in Super Rugby from 2016
October 31, 2013, 14:18:13

You have posted the club info previously on this site.   That is not really the topic here.   The topic relates to the 12 top clubs in Engalnd and 14 in France  from which virtually all of their internationals are drawn and which is diluted by foreign players - reducing the ability of younger player to reach their objectives - that is one point.   The same happened in France and Ireland as well.

The other interesting point raised - is the question of enhancement of rugby as a world sport - where all the NH unions do squat about.  On that you are totally silent.   

That is exactly the topic here. It has been about the NH v the SH all along. You have suddenly decided that it is about the top tier French and English clubs. Well, if you want to have it that way then we have to look at the five SA franchises only. That is still five franchises compared to 26 clubs. That is 21 more  clubs with vacancies to fill in a places where rugby is not nearly as  big as in NZ and SA.

As for the development. Please tell me what SA are doing? What are these so-called development efforts that they are putting in? I hope you are not talking about letting Argentine play in the Vodacom Cup? That is just giving them the opportunity to play in the competition. It do es not mean any active involvement in  rugby development at all. Do you really think that European rugby is in  no way involved in rugby development?
BR
BrycyPro4,671 posts
31 Oct 2013, 17:16
31 Oct 2013, 17:16#34

...another not so clever post from not so clever mike...

'South  Africa is doing a lot for rugby development in Africa and South America - especially Argentina.   However, one cannot see even a trace of help emanating from any NH and other SH countries to enhance rugby as a world sport....'

....not so clever mike....NZ coaches are coaching 6 out of 10 of the top rugby sporting nations not to mention many of the minnows..You mention Argentina where Graham Henry has been coaching and SA where there is also Kiwi coaches...

...other input from kiwis included helping out 10 of the teams in the most recent RWC by supplementing their teams with NZ players...

...youll find in our own backyard many a Pacific Islander wants to play like the next Jonah Lomu, SBW, Luatua, Piutau, Savea etc so no shortage in inspiration there.

...How many kiwis playing for Australia or in Australian clubs so we're propping the sport up there..NZ coaches are in hot demandand reliable not like yr flakey Jakes...

So not quite sure what yr on about not so clever mike ??? Please enlighten us as to what South Africa is doing for rugby development that NZ is not....