FORUM / RUGBY /  Sharks side named

Sharks side named

Started by Saffolk 57 REPLIES611 VIEWS· 13 Feb 2014, 13:07
13 Feb 2014, 13:07
13 Feb 2014, 13:07#1

The Cell C Sharks

15. SP Marais (Marshall Security Crusaders)
14. Odwa Ndungane (Varsity College RFC)
13. Paul Jordaan (Varsity College RFC)
12. Frans Steyn (SA Home Loans Durban Collegians)
11. Lwazi Mvovo (Ricoh PMB Collegians)
10. Patrick Lambie (Jonsson College Rovers)
9. Cobus Reinach (SA Home Loans Durban Collegians)
8. Ryan Kankowski (Amanzimtoti Rugby Club)
7. Willem Alberts (SA Home Loans Durban Collegians)
6. Marcell Coetzee (SA Home Loans Durban Collegians)
5. Pieter-Steph du Toit (Jonsson College Rovers)
4. Anton Bresler (Jonsson College Rovers)
3. Jannie du Plessis (Marshall Security Crusaders)
2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain) (Marshall Security Crusaders)
1. Tendai Mtawarira (Jonsson College Rovers)

Replacements
16. Kyle Cooper (Jonsson College Rovers)
17. Dale Chadwick (Ricoh PMB Collegians)
18. Lourens Adriaanse (Amanzimtoti Rugby Club)
19. Stephan Lewies (Amanzimtoti Rugby Club)
20. Jean Deysel (Marshall Security Crusaders)
21. Charl McLeod (Varsity College RFC)
22. Heimar Williams (SA Home Loans Durban Collegians)
23. S’bura Sithole (UKZN Impi)

13 Feb 2014, 13:16
13 Feb 2014, 13:16#2
Disappointed not to see Esterhuizen and Swiel on the bench......two lads with the x factor
Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
13 Feb 2014, 13:21
13 Feb 2014, 13:21#3
Yes it would be interesting to see what Swiel can do. With Frans inside him I think the two could be devastating. I wonder how long Lambie will last.
13 Feb 2014, 13:37
13 Feb 2014, 13:37#4
 Wonder what ou Maaikie is making of the omission of Swiel and the inclusion of Sloth Alberts and fat Frans Steyn?
Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
13 Feb 2014, 13:42
13 Feb 2014, 13:42#5
There goes another thread! lol
13 Feb 2014, 13:44
13 Feb 2014, 13:44#6

Dof dose

I never said Fat Frans would not be in the team - I said he better produce the goods - otherwise he will be gone sooner rather than later.

Lambie will last longer than Morne Steyn will last as starter for Stade Francais.   He has a rugby brain - Morne is a robot.

Sloth will be subbed early - he will as per normal last to about half time and is likely to be on thin ice - since he will produce as per normal if last year is taken into account - the bare minimum.

Reputation and media hype will not help Steyn and Alberts - they better start showing that they belong through good performance.   We will soon enough see what happens on Saturday .  

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
13 Feb 2014, 13:46
13 Feb 2014, 13:46#7
Without Alberts and Frans I just don't see how it's possible for this team to achieve anything this year. Lambie will be relying quite heavily on Frans for stability, that I can assure you.
sharkbokCaptain23,297 posts
13 Feb 2014, 13:55
13 Feb 2014, 13:55#8
 who is covering flyhalf if Zelinga and Swiel are not in the bench?

13 Feb 2014, 13:58
13 Feb 2014, 13:58#9
Jake did say he would introduce the youngsters later in the comp. Frans will cover 10, with Williams moving into 12 if need be
13 Feb 2014, 15:24
13 Feb 2014, 15:24#10

I accept what you said about Francois Steyn covering the flyhalf position - but when he was tried at 10 years ago - he failed badly due to slow decision making.  Hope Lambie  lasts full games - because the usage of Steyn at 10 - would be seriously problematic. 

13 Feb 2014, 15:38
13 Feb 2014, 15:38#11
 Frans Steyn made his first marks as a flyhalf. He first caught the eye in an evening game in the rain against WP, when he ripped through the WP defence like a hot knife through butter, as a 19 year old flyhalf.
13 Feb 2014, 15:47
13 Feb 2014, 15:47#12

Dofdoos

He made his entry into provincial rugby at FULL BACK - he was later on tried at flyhalf - but failed in that position and was moved back to full back.   He was initially in the Springbok squad for 2007  at FULL BACK - but was moved to center as a result of the injury to Jean de Villiers.

KAKPRAAT is your stock in trade - not so.  Problem is I saw the earlier matches of Steyn at Kings Park and knows what happened.  That made me into an early admirer of Steyn - but that has worn  off since he is not producing the goods since his return from France.       

13 Feb 2014, 16:13
13 Feb 2014, 16:13#13
Mike stop speaking shit, Frans has never had an issue with his decision making.....this is just you pathetic prejudice raring its ugly head again.

Frans would be fine at covering 10 if need be......its that simple and Jake knows it
13 Feb 2014, 16:40
13 Feb 2014, 16:40#14

Then please explain - why did the Sharks tried him at flyhalf a few times and promptly moved him back to full back?  Because of slow reaction to situations - that is the fact of the issue.  At full back he has more time to work things out - at center he is since his return from France not an example of instinctive play - slow and hence the very high percentage of crasballing as a result of running straight at opposition defenders - not an example of thinking rugby at all.   Maybe White can get his ways changed - at least I hope so.      

13 Feb 2014, 16:44
13 Feb 2014, 16:44#15
Because he was never going to be a flyhalf and was being played there because of injuries to others.......Frans has never had an issue with decision making, thats some rubbish you have in your head

Did you see my suggestion that you join Sharksworld??????????
13 Feb 2014, 16:51
13 Feb 2014, 16:51#16
i dont think much of this sharks outfit, lambie, reinach and steyn are the only real dangers.
the others have potential, but havent lived up to it. some have had more chances than others though.

im disappointed to not see timo sweil and that andre esterhuizen fella ive heard so much about.

IMO a fully fit stormers back line shits all over their sharks counterparts, but useless storm coaching staff will see all that WP  xfactor amount to nothing like the last 3 years.
sharks have a pretty decent pack though.

can anyone confirm if reoinach can play flyhalf at spXv level??? i think i rememebr reading something about him being able too back when he first popped onto my radar.
Arthur JohnPro1,748 posts
13 Feb 2014, 16:52
13 Feb 2014, 16:52#17

The only issue I have with Steyn (Frans) is clevermike.

And to think that he (clevermike) is a fellow Durbanite is shocking to say the least.

Get a life man and follow your #1 game.

13 Feb 2014, 17:00
13 Feb 2014, 17:00#18
Yeah Sas it seems Jake is going to ease the youngsters into the comp......not convinced with Jordaan at 13 and Ndungane on the wing is just boringly solid.

SP Marais at 15 is damn good, I'd add him to your list
13 Feb 2014, 17:36
13 Feb 2014, 17:36#19

As stated repeatedly - when Steyn initially came onto the scene  I was one of his great3st admirers,   When he played for the Springboks in the WC he was solid - with some vague defence problems - I went to France to see the WC - and remained a fan.  That lasted through till his departure for France and I thought his return was fantastic news for the Sharks and the Springboks.

However, after watching him in the June tests in 2012 - I was disappointed  and lost faith in him - he really did nothing in those tests and made some serious foul ups as well.  That was followed by the RC tests - where he was really disappointing and again brought nothing to the game.

In 2013 I went to PMB to watch a pre-season game against the Leopards and especially to see whether Steyn was getting back to his earlier form.  He looked good and I wrote positively about the game on this site.  His first subsequent game against the Cheetahs was solid - without anything really showing class - but afterwards his performances got progressively worse until the Brumbies fiasco - where his performance was rotten.

Let me explain something - I think if Steyn can get his mojo back and start performing like he did in the period 2006 - 2009, there will be no bigger fan of Steyn than me.  However I have been saying all along I hope he gets back into form and start performing like he used to.   Thus far since his return from France things did not look good - but I hope White can get him back to top form.   If he does - the Sharks are onto something really good - if he does not, he is not indispensable.

Lets hope he can produce the goods this year and live up to his reputation,             

13 Feb 2014, 17:42
13 Feb 2014, 17:42#20

February 13, 2014, 13:47:51

Dofdoos

He made his entry into provincial rugby at FULL BACK - he was later on tried at flyhalf - but failed in that position and was moved back to full back.   He was initially in the Springbok squad for 2007  at FULL BACK - but was moved to center as a result of the injury to Jean de Villiers.

KAKPRAAT is your stock in trade - not so.  Problem is I saw the earlier matches of Steyn at Kings Park and knows what happened.  That made me into an early admirer of Steyn - but that has worn off since he is not producing the goods since his return from France.       

Gaan praat jou kak op 'n ander plek. He played at flyhalf and after that game, he was the talk of the town. Read this and read it slowly, and then piss off.

"After playing only ten matches for the Natal Sharks in the 2006 Currie Cup Premier Division (at fly-half), Steyn was, at 19 years old, selected to represent South Africa in the Northern Hemisphere touring squad by national coach Jake White."  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fran%C3%A7ois_Steyn

Then, after that sentence, this followed:

He debuted at wing against Ireland, he scored a try on his debut. In his next international match he was moved to fullback against England, scoring a long range drop-goal, from his own half. Steyn has shown to possess superb goal kicking qualities as well.

In his debut season of Super 14 rugby, Frans Steyn was selected on the right wing, however, was moved to fullback when Percy Montgomery was injured. He played as the last line of defence until Percy Montgomery returned for the game against the Blues in Round 11, and was moved to fly-half for this game.

13 Feb 2014, 17:57
13 Feb 2014, 17:57#21

The writer must have been smoking some stuff - I saw every early game of Steyn he played at Kings Park - had a season ticket. His initial games were all at full back - where in his first game he came off the bench to play at full back.  He played a number of games at full back - that is where he came to the notice of the public - and then played at flyhalf - without much success.  How could he have the flyhalf of the Sharks - Butch James was the Sharks flyhalf when Steyn entered the scene?        

Even in the team announcement for the 2007 he was listed as a full back - NOT as flyhalf.  After his return from the WC  he rarely played at flyhalf and concentrated at playing at center.         

13 Feb 2014, 19:58
13 Feb 2014, 19:58#22
 Bit annoyed that Tera Mtembu isn't in the squad, I think highly of him. I do not rate SP Marias and I completely disagree with Mike's statement that he plays like Le Roux, he is no where near smart enough and doesn't have the awareness that Willie has.
13 Feb 2014, 20:01
13 Feb 2014, 20:01#23
 Ag Maaik gaan kak. You have no proof of the bullshit you are talking. I don't give a s hit how  many season tickets you had, whether you owned the entire stadium or whether Jacob Zuma is your oupa. You are talking kak. I saw that game and I remembered it. I then  started to  see if I could find anything of Frans Steyn's early days and I found it. Now find something substantial, apart from your own lies, or piss off.
13 Feb 2014, 20:03
13 Feb 2014, 20:03#24

Shezza

I think White had no option other than to pick Marais - he did well enough last year for the Kings.  However, I think that if he is not showing good form  he will be in competition with Tyler Fisher and Timo Swiel for selection. 

Hard days ahead for that kid 

13 Feb 2014, 23:00
13 Feb 2014, 23:00#25
 Hey Maaikie, someone who never misses a Sharks game just posted this to me:

"Tell your maaikie I was at that game, in the pouring rain when a 19 year old Frans Steyn, playing at flyhalf, got the ball on or around his own 22 and went through that WP team like they werent even there."

I can provide a link if you want.
14 Feb 2014, 00:36
14 Feb 2014, 00:36#26
Shezza you are 100% wrong about SP Marais.......I think he is a class act and certainly the best 15 behind Willie and Taute......he is Bok squad material......not sure what rugby you have been watching?
14 Feb 2014, 02:23
14 Feb 2014, 02:23#27

Dof doos

I accept your verdict - also that Butch James never existed and never played for the Sharks at flyhalf.    What an arsehole you are.  

14 Feb 2014, 07:52
14 Feb 2014, 07:52#28
 Mike, its gona be a long year for you if you are going to keep up this anti Frans and Willem campaign. They are going to leave you looking stupid every game. These two guys are key players for the Sharks and will be musts at the 2015 WC.
Not happy with that Sharks team. I think we are taking away our advantage by playing guys like Ndungane. Yes, they are safe and yes, they are experienced but we need to do something different to take the next step up in this competition. I do rate Jake highly as a coach and believe we will win this game as the players will out think the Bulls due to Jake but I also think we are doing niks for development of future all stars. I would have liked to see guys like Swiel, Esterhuizen and even that Van Tonder bloke somewhere around the squad.
Not sure why McCleod is not starting? Perhaps Jake wants him coming on to attack the fringes when bulls forwards are less "sharp" and tiring. Its clear that Jake is expecting a forward battle and hoping we can win that battle with what looks like superior names in the pack. Perhaps he is using the experienced guys first up for this extremely tough derby game because they have been there before and can hopefully get the Sharks campaign off to a good start and slowly introduce youngsters into a positive and performing culture.
Either way, I just hope the Sharks get the job done.
14 Feb 2014, 10:51
14 Feb 2014, 10:51#29

boklogic

Steyn and Alberts will make me look bad if they up their game by 200% compared to their performances last year.

Elsewhere I used the ESPN stats to compared Alberts work rate with that of Labuschagne to irritate Mozart - who holds out that Labuschagne is a weakling.  The stats of Alberts look poor and as I said there - White will have a huge task to get Alberts to be even a remotely reasonable loosie this year.

For the sake of the Sharks I hope White succeeds - but we will soon enough see the results of White's labours in the relevant regard.  Alberts showed squat in the Saracens game and we will have to see whether Super 15 will be any better.

I think White is going with reputation here - and some of the players may not live up to reputation - so we will see what tomorrow produces.       

14 Feb 2014, 11:25
14 Feb 2014, 11:25#30

February 14, 2014, 00:23:12

Dof doos

I accept your verdict - also that Butch James never existed and never played for the Sharks at flyhalf.    What an arsehole you are.  

No surprise there ou super poepol. Typical CleverDoos MO. Tyr and  avoid the issue by bringing in Butch James. He has nothing to do with the fact that you were wrong once again, when you said that Frans Steyn started out as a fullback and was the moved to flyhalf, etc. Fact is that when I said that he initially started out as a flyhalf you followed your normal modus operandi which is to try and prove what a stupid doos I am instead of checking the facts first. You would have saved a lot of face if you checked that first and then came back and said something like: "My bad. Frans Steyn started his career at the Sharks at no 10". Nobody would have blinked an eye and it would have been forgotten.

14 Feb 2014, 11:52
14 Feb 2014, 11:52#31

Dof doos

The first time Francois Steyn entered a Sharks game was when he was on the bench and came in to replace the full back,  It was an eye-opener.

Butch James played for the Sharks at flyhalf from 2001 to 2007 - dof doos.   Steyn started playing for the Sharks in 2006 - and he did not replace Butch at flyhalf - dof doos.   Steyn only played flyhalf when James was not available - dof doos.

Even in Wikipedia Steyn's playing career was listed in the following order:-

Full Back - Center - wing - flyhalf

How fucking dim can a member of this site be?   There are a few really dim ones here - but you take the cake.   

14 Feb 2014, 12:53
14 Feb 2014, 12:53#32
 Ag word wakker jou stupid kont. I have never said that Frans Steyn replaced Butch James. Let me  try and make it more clear for you.

I have never said that Frans Steyn replaced Butch James. I have never said that Frans Steyn replaced Butch James. I have never said that Frans Steyn replaced Butch James. I have never said that Frans Steyn replaced Butch James. I have never said that Frans Steyn replaced Butch James. I have never said that Frans Steyn replaced Butch James. I have never said that Frans Steyn replaced Butch James. I have never said that Frans Steyn replaced Butch James. I have never said that Frans Steyn replaced Butch James.

I know that his position is given as Full Back - Center - wing - flyhalf. I know that his position is given as Full Back - Center - wing - flyhalf.I know that his position is given as Full Back - Center - wing - flyhalf.I know that his position is given as Full Back - Center - wing - flyhalf.I know that his position is given as Full Back - Center - wing - flyhalf.I know that his position is given as Full Back - Center - wing - flyhalf.I know that his position is given as Full Back - Center - wing - flyhalf.I know that his position is given as Full Back - Center - wing - flyhalf.

The very same article webpage that you are quoting states that he played 10 matches at flyhalf (go read the fucking article) before Jake White selected him for the Southern Hemisphere side. Jake played him at wing for the first game against Ireland and he played at fullback in the following game against England.

He was then selected at right wing at the Sharks but was moved to fullback when Montgomery was injured, where he played until Montgomery returned when he was moved BACK to flyhalf again for the first time again after his initial 10 games at flyhalf.

Now catch a wake-up or disappear.
14 Feb 2014, 13:00
14 Feb 2014, 13:00#33
 His first ten game he played was started off when he came from the vench at full vack - dof doos.  That says it all - dof doos. Now go and learn something about rugby - dof doos,
14 Feb 2014, 13:02
14 Feb 2014, 13:02#34
 That is a blatant fucking lie. Prove it.
14 Feb 2014, 13:11
14 Feb 2014, 13:11#35
I saw him at full back and would not lie.  Lies are normal with you -  you use them liberally.   So get lost - dof doos.   
14 Feb 2014, 13:28
14 Feb 2014, 13:28#36
You would not lie? What a fucking joke. Like you did not lie about Bakkies losing his place. Like you did not lie about THAT Stade Francais game. Like  you did not lie about the Dunedin game. Like you did not lie about your Zuma  ties that you had to change your story a number of times. There are so many examples that it is going to take a long time  to list them  all. You are a compulsive bullshitter and it has been proven on this board by quite a number of people. I do and cannot believe you in this instance either. I do not trust anything you say and I double check almost everything that you post. Just like I have done in this case as well. I was not surprised when I discovered that, once again,  you have been bullshitting.
14 Feb 2014, 13:47
14 Feb 2014, 13:47#37
 Ou maaikie youare entering typical windpomp territory. I never said. It happens to him all the time. Ou windpomp is so full of hot air he looses himself and his readers!!

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
14 Feb 2014, 13:59
14 Feb 2014, 13:59#38
 Michael the dishonest on another whimsical venture. I dub then Don Mike-xote. Frans was initially a new on the block kid in late 2006 and in the Super XV of 2007; nobody knew what his best position was, but he was talented enough that he was included in any position - it was enough that he was on the field. He made a splendid Debut v. Ireland in 2006 and was retained at fullback for the last two tests against England. In 2007, he played mostly fullback before the World Cup, and was successful at fullback - he won the home test against Australia. But it was the World Cup that was the most significant, he ssparked our campaign and the rest is history. In 2008 however, Plum wanted Frans at 10, he did notch up some very impressive stats but even he admitted that 10 was not his best position and he preferred 12. He fell out of favour with the failure Peter De Villiers, but made appearance at fullback in Peter's damage limitation game-plan of 2009 and 2010. In the end he played 12 successfully at the World Cup. As per the Sharks, Frans was promised 12 as Pienaar was Plum's new vision at 10. But Pienaar suffered a long term injury and Frans was shifted to 10. He played 12 in France with few appearances at 15. Here's what All Black legend Mehrtens had to say:

All Black legend Andrew Mehrtens, who plays flyhalf for Racing, has fallen under Steyn's spell.

"It's a real privilege for me to play alongside Francois. He's like another Dan Carter. He has a real presence on the pitch and speaks a lot. It's very important for a flyhalf to have an inside centre who gives you a lot of information.

"His territorial kicking means the team is always gaining ground. He's brought consistency to the side."

14 Feb 2014, 14:48
14 Feb 2014, 14:48#39

Sun Tzu

I said it repeatedly - I always was a great admirer of Francois Steyn  from the first match I saw him playing coming from the bench for the Sharks at dull back.   He was mafic in his early years and I was delighted by his return from France and his selection to the Springbok team in 2012.

Something serious went amiss after his return.  He had to  play next to the shit poor Morne Steyn in the 2012 tests - but for some reason due partly to himself - je did not pass balls and ran straight at defenders.   He definitely was over-weight and not in good physical form and his performances can at best be described as average - in some respects he made mistakes - which could have justified a rating of below par.   Be it as it may - Steyn was injured and he was out of the Springbok squad for the rest of the year.

He made his comeback to Super 15 in terribly poor physical form.   Had an average performance in his first game against the Cheetahs, but thereafter became progressively worse in each subsequent game - ending in a season he would likely want to forget.   His unfortunate injury stopped him from making any form of a comeback later in the season. 

I have no problem with Steyn in the Sharks team - but will certainly have a problem with him if he does not up his performances drastically.   If he repeats his performances of 2013 - the sooner he is out of the team - the better.     

Lets hope Whit knocks some sense and form into Steyn and that we see much better performances in future.               

14 Feb 2014, 15:12
14 Feb 2014, 15:12#40

Beeno1

February 14, 2014, 11:47:58  Ou maaikie youare entering typical windpomp territory. I never said. It happens to him all the time. Ou windpomp is so full of hot air he looses himself and his readers!!

And then we have the little lapdog arriving and trying to piss with the big dogs. Now, Mr Wiseguy, please go ahead and show me anywhere on this thread where I have said that  Frans Steyn replaced Butch James or vice versa. In fact, I did not even mention James until this thick pile of  nothing called Maaikie, brought him into the discussion in an effort to divert the attention away from his constant bullshitting.