FORUM / RUGBY /  So the geriatrics did the business

So the geriatrics did the business

Started by Saffolk 14 REPLIES273 VIEWS· 09 Jun 2014, 14:47
09 Jun 2014, 14:47
09 Jun 2014, 14:47#1

Given it was not a full test match, its the first time I have ever wanted the opposition to teach our stupid coach a lesson........sadly the World 15 failed to come to the party and clueless Meyer will be under the impression all is well moving forward.

Thanks to the impressive le Roux, the Boks kicked arse, but of concern was the poor scrummaging by the Boks - probably thanks to the lack of grunt Matfield provided - did he play?

But the worst on the park was Morne Steyn, man oh man this guy is pathetic......I received a text from a mate during that game asking how on earth this guy ever played a single test match for the Boks - its the same question I have always asked. Pienaar at 9 was marginally better than useless Morne - good calls here Meyer.

Geez Bakkies looks like an old man these days, what a joke. As for Steenkamp, what a liability he was in the scrums - what the fuck is Meyer thinking about selecting this washed up has been?

Willie was great, Habana good, JP looked lost at 13, Hendricks was ok, Frans was great at 12, Morne and Pienaar were useless. The frontrow were solid at best, Matfield was awol, Bakkies was solid, Louw was good, Alberts made little impression and Vermeulen was good.

Off the bench Steenkamp was a disgrace, Brits tried to ignite, Coenie was solid as was Flip, Schalk looked useful and once again the best of the geriatrics. du Preez did nothing of note, Goosen was a 100 times better than Morne and Mvovo showed real pace.

Lets just see how this geriatric side fares against a real test side this Sat, the jury is out. Its 1-0 to clueless Meyer and his geriatrics.

09 Jun 2014, 15:04
09 Jun 2014, 15:04#2
 We got spannered badly when the Sharks front row was on. Sharks forwards are tired but even so!!! Coenie and Steenkamp had to scrum against Ferrerai and Cilliers - two journeyman props - and came off second best as well. Coenie must have abig question mark over him right now sad to say.Welsh scrum should be a good test.Victor was pap and again where was the much vaunted lineout abilty. Bakkies played one heck of a game whilst on and got man f the match. Alberts had his usual poor work rate and Burger must come in.I agree that Pienaar and Morne are too staid.Didnt think Frans was more than barely acceptable.I like JP at center.Hendricks was fineHabana still has it and Willie was good

09 Jun 2014, 15:24
09 Jun 2014, 15:24#3
I disagree with you on some points.  Other than a few crashballs.  Francois Steyn did squat while he was on the field of play.  He was not involved in the successful backlne plays leading to tries - neither was Morne.  
Bakkies Botha on occasion looks good, but I am seriously concerned about his contribution in scrumming.  I think that all of Botha, Matfield and Jannie du Plessis contributed to that failure.
Of the players who actually contributed to the win I would say it was Willie, Habana, Vermeulen. Louw and Bismarck.  The rest was barely average and some was totally unaccptable .   Goosen was very good when he came on - like a breath of fresh air.     

09 Jun 2014, 16:11
09 Jun 2014, 16:11#4
So Dave you want to spot Matfield....he was the guy who caught Burden from behind.....you know the guy you picked as your Bok test centre..... after he had gassed Bismarck. Bakkies and Victor were a big part of the reason we won by so much. And by the way, the worst scrummager by far was Coenie.
09 Jun 2014, 16:16
09 Jun 2014, 16:16#5

Wong Moz the only way Matfield caught Burden was when Burden stepped inside and I'm not interested in a lock who is able to chase down a hooker, I want to see a lock doing the hard graft and putting in the grunt work.

As for Coenie being the worst scrummager what a load of utter rubbish. Coenie stood firm with not a single issue taken against him......can you say the same about Steenkamp. But hey feel free to point out how you conclude that Coenie was the worst scrummager - let me guess, because he happened to be the youngest.......Moz you must think we are really stupid or don't have access to these games??

Moz stop speaking utter shit. Matfield was awol and apart for Bakkies wanting to fight and scoring a try, he was a non entity. 

09 Jun 2014, 16:29
09 Jun 2014, 16:29#6

Steenkamp, another former big pick of yours is also a weakness. By the way did you get a twinge when you saw Burden stepping.....it's not too late for you to put him in one of your sides as Bok centre. Hell you could put him right next to Olivier....37 tests /one try...another of your picks.

Dave surely it's time for you to get out of the selection business. Right now you are hand in glove with that stupid prick Mike....surely you must sense something is wrong.

09 Jun 2014, 16:51
09 Jun 2014, 16:51#7
 Moozart
If you could not understand what went wrong in the scrumming on Saturday yo re the thickest prick on this site.   The problem is that the props got zero support from Matfield and Botha - and that caused the demise of the scrumming efforts.  Matfield never was an acceptable scrum lock and Botha was equally bad on Saturday.
If that lock combination is unchanged - we will never see the balls from scrums and be on the retreat because of a sting of penalties.   We will also not protect and recover adequate breakdown balls - unless they start with Burger - Alberts was no show in the relevant regard.  
Sad too say -  but Meyer made a huge fool of himself by making Matfield interi m captain - he is the first player that should be dropped for the team on Saturday and in Flippie's absence I would play slow and lazy Alberts at lock and put Botha on the bench.  Maybe that would work out better than to have two duds at lock insofar as the scrumming is concerned.        
09 Jun 2014, 17:42
09 Jun 2014, 17:42#8
 You know why Ruan Pienaar was so slow to pass the ball? It was because of Matfield and Bakkies.

You know why Morne missed that one conversion? Victor and Bakkies were the culprits.

You know who were responsible for  those 15 tackles we missed? Victor and Bakkies.

You know  who conceded the 15 penalties? Victor and Bakkies.

You know why Heyeneke Meyer's assistant, Alan Solomon, was seen in the box with Nick Mallet? Yep. You guessed it. Victor and Bakkies put him there.
09 Jun 2014, 17:59
09 Jun 2014, 17:59#9
 Dof doos
Go to Valkenberg -  go directly to Valkenberg. do not pass go - do not collect R200.
I know you suffer from severe mental capacity limitations - but your latest post is completely dilly so a stint in the loony bin - say 20 years - would provide some  relief to everybody on this site who have to suffer  because of your boundless stupidity.   

09 Jun 2014, 18:17
09 Jun 2014, 18:17#10

Would that be the Burden the commentators were raving about, raving about how quick he was?

My selections are spot on, if they were implemented we would be number one in the rankings.......unlike this pathetic effort by Meyer which is nothing short of an insult.

Damn right I rated Steenkamp, Bakkies, Matfield, Fourie and co, they were tops in their day......but for any clown to conclude that they are still the best in their respected positions is nothing short of laughable. They are not even 5th choice and there is a good reason these old farts are plying their trades up North......for they have long past their best days and earning a retirement fund.

You have to be a complete and utter fool to think that this lot represent the best of SA - its insulting

OI
oimateyPro1,870 posts
09 Jun 2014, 19:50
09 Jun 2014, 19:50#11
Pure class on Saturday.
A younger, more inexperienced side may have wilted in the face of the first half pressure. Funny how the World XV are now being portrayed as journeyman, or that they stopped playing etc etc. Fact is the Boks were on the back foot and off the pace early but once they took hold of the game there was nothing a very professional star-studded opposition could do. Gorgonza the Romanian (the mountain of a man) had virtually no impact. The clinical nature of the tries was perhaps the most satisfying part of the day - especially how well taken the first half tries were against the run of the play. 
Scrum was disappointing but it will surely come right. Last years version was very good and not much has changed. Put it down to an overplayed tired Sharks front row that was probably caught off-guard by the intensity of a very good front row in Hayman, Burden and Taumalolo. Hindsight is always 20/20 but it may have been wise to give them a rest. Also - Boks appeared to have the wrong length studs and were slipping badly. You could see Britz on the bench switching his out after the first couple scrums and after half-time things were marginally better.
Great cameo for Goosen - he needs more of that. Morne was not his usual self and we need him to play better but I still don't think I start Goosen against Wales. duPreez, Mvovo, Burger all need to start. Jannie is at the stage in his career where he needs to be managed. IMO if he is given rest and appropriate playing levels he could still be our best tighthead - there is no lack of passion and desire there. Just watch him when he is taken out of the Sharks game. He is absolutely wrapped up with emotion.
If Wales pitch up and play like they can it should be an absolute humdinger of a test. I think they will have a dangerous chip on their shoulder after a disappointing 6N and they play a style of rugby very similar to the Boks. Glad we have Frans to match up with Roberts.

Pretty cool picture

09 Jun 2014, 20:59
09 Jun 2014, 20:59#12

June 09, 2014, 15:59:02  Dof doos
Go to Valkenberg -  go directly to Valkenberg. do not pass go - do not collect R200.
I know you suffer from severe mental capacity limitations - but your latest post is completely dilly so a stint in the loony bin - say 20 years - would provide some  relief to everybody on this site who have to suffer  because of your boundless stupidity.   

09 Jun 2014, 21:17
09 Jun 2014, 21:17#13

Nice posting Matey....that was my take as well. Lots of bleating about the scrum, but Hayman was once the strongest prop on the planet and he doesn't seem to have lost much. Bakkies (TOW of the week) and Victor were great and had a huge role in our win.

As for Go Gonza just dumb muscle. 

09 Jun 2014, 21:30
09 Jun 2014, 21:30#14
So the fact that the scrum was horrendously poor is covered by bleating and That only one opposition player was the reason for it is a sudden excuse.  I looked at the match again and they showed Pieter de Villiers looking grim as hell and both props talking seriously to the locks.  It is was the other way around I would understand it - but the fact that the props talked and the locks kept quiet told me a lot.
That is one thing where the contributions of both locks was seriously deficient and it will not be corrected if they stay on.  The question is who will then be he prop who did n ot lose his strength?      

09 Jun 2014, 23:34
09 Jun 2014, 23:34#15
Geez Oimatey and you are not a conservative Dutchman?

I saw a bit of Bakkies, did Matfield play?