FORUM / RUGBY /  Some solace for the hard pressed ou Maaaaikie

Some solace for the hard pressed ou Maaaaikie

Started by Beeno173 REPLIES638 VIEWS· 09 Jan 2014, 09:54
09 Jan 2014, 09:54
09 Jan 2014, 09:54#1

Ex Sport 24

Paris - The South African rugby season has yet to commence, but Springbok flyhalf Morné Steyn's form for French Top 14 side Stade Français could be creating pre-season worries for coach Heyneke Meyer as he plots his 2014 campaign.

According to the Planet Rugby website, Stade Français manager Gonzalo Quesada recently admitted that Steyn was struggling to come to grips with the French league, saying that the player 'needed time to adapt', had 'timing problems' and 'did not play his best' and that he 'made mistakes' rarely seen by the flyhalf when he was playing in South Africa.

Although the manager remained optimistic that Steyn would improve given time within the Stade Français setup, it might be a cause of concern to some that South Africa's recent first-choice flyhalf is currently a second-stringer at his French club. (But let's be honest oaks the frogs themselves dont know which way they will next jump so no wonder Morne is having problems)

The 29-year old flyhalf has played only a handful of games for the Parisian club since leaving the Bulls in 2013, and he has only started three matches in the top 14 after missing matches late last year due to international commitments on the Springboks' end of year tour. (Please note windpomp)

Steyn has been upstaged at the French club by 22-year-old rookie flyhalf Jules Plisson, whose form has kept Steyn warming the bench and recently earned the Frenchman a call-up to the France team for the 2014 Six Nations competition.

Meyer will be hoping Steyn can recover his form, regain his place in the Stade Français starting line-up, and get some badly needed game-time under his belt.

An out-of-form Steyn could bode badly for the Springboks as it did when he suffered a dip in form in 2012 which culminated in him being booed by Springbok supporters in the team's 14-all draw against England at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

Steyn started at flyhalf in all but one of the Springboks' Tests in 2013, the exception being the game Patrick Lambie started for the Springboks against Scotland at Murrayfield.

Meyer will be closely monitoring Lambie's form for the Sharks and Johan Goosen's return from injury for the Cheetahs during the upcoming Super Rugby competition should Steyn struggle to emerge from his current slump.

The Springboks' 2014 season kicks off with a two-Test match series against Wales in Durban (14 June) and Nelspruit (21 June), followed by a game against Scotland in Port Elizabeth (28 June)

The funny thing is that Morne could become a better flyhalf by playing in France. He will cer tainly learn a few things to add to his bow. At 29 he can still make it to the next WC

09 Jan 2014, 10:26
09 Jan 2014, 10:26#2

Hey Henpecked ... hows those rocks of yours??

Any chance of getting them off soon?

My hopes for you this year bro is that you get laid ... at least once. Even if it means your to visit a house of ill repute.

09 Jan 2014, 10:49
09 Jan 2014, 10:49#3

Beeno

When Morne was playing in SA he played a very restrictive type of game - more known for kicking than as a pivot that could launch backline attacking moves.   In France they will expect from Morne to do things he has not don e playing for the Bulls and the Springboks like -

*   attacking the gain line himself;

*   being a pivot that could be involved in backline attacking moves; and

*   becoming a good strategic kicker.

The problem with the last element of play was his line kicks (especially stemming from penalties) became a lottery this year - he frequently fail to find touch with those.  His strategic kicks normally are too deep - making follow-up impossible. 

Morne's only real asset was his kicking at goal and that is a fact.

The question is - can he at 30 years of age adjust his playing methodology to meet club requirements and the answer is likely to be in the negative.   The main problem is that Morne is not a ball sense player who can instinctively determine what decisions would maximise team advantage - he is robotic.

09 Jan 2014, 11:06
09 Jan 2014, 11:06#4

It's a hell of a thing when your best is only average within the international arena.

Only thing we can do is hope another steps forward this year.

sharkbokCaptain23,297 posts
09 Jan 2014, 11:16
09 Jan 2014, 11:16#5
What a joke it would be for Morne Steyn to be selected if other SA flyhalfs have good seasons in the SuperXV. 
Imagine Goosen having a good season and Morne sitting on the bench f or an average club team being Meyers first choice. 
I am no fan of Morne, but in 2013 Meyer did not have many options available at 10. 

hakwaPro4,146 posts
09 Jan 2014, 11:22
09 Jan 2014, 11:22#6
 agree Sharkbok
09 Jan 2014, 11:52
09 Jan 2014, 11:52#7
I think 2014 will provide a lot of answers for SA for the no. 10 position. 
As many have said there are plenty coming through the ranks. Morne is a known quantity but if the Meyer want to play 15 man rugby it will be difficult for Morne to provide what is needed. It's not only about 1 player though.
09 Jan 2014, 12:23
09 Jan 2014, 12:23#8
 The French see Morne for what he is - a bog ordinary plodder
Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
09 Jan 2014, 12:34
09 Jan 2014, 12:34#9
 Morne an ordinary plodder? Hmmm, it may be an opportunity for others to get some game time for the Boks at 10, but as seen in 2012 and 2013, that is very unlikely to amount to anything. Perhaps the culture is not for him, or the mentality, there are many factors. Perhaps the chemistry just isn't there in the team. It happens. His class has been proven for some time, questioning that is stupidity at best, sour bitterness at worst. It will be interesting to see what happens, he may yet adjust. The French do not play with a lot of structure and discipline off the field is an issue due in part to their temperamental nature. I'd be surprised if he doesn't make it okay, recall how Jean struggled in Munster yet is playing his best rugby for the Boks.
09 Jan 2014, 12:39
09 Jan 2014, 12:39#10
Morne is an average rugby player with a good boot. He should never have played a single test for the Boks......he is not a test standard rugby player and his record with the Boks confirms that - he is shit and a major reason we never progress beyond the number 2 spot.
The French see him just the way I do - he offers nothing with ball in hand and is a liability in defence.
All the young 10's in SA are better than Morne
GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
09 Jan 2014, 13:14
09 Jan 2014, 13:14#11

French rugby sees Morne Steyn for what he really is...their judgement is spot on.

Only a fool or the ignorant would undermine or devalue French Style/Type rugby who with the NZ'ers play the most attractive style of rugby in the world...the only difference being is that NZ is more balanced and emotionally focused most of times than the French.

I'm sorry to say, but only being honest, we Saffers like the Poms play a boring game (this was not always so)...we are so fearful of losing that we clam up and play cautious and conservative rugby...so damn boring.

The NZ'ers are cavaliers in their approach but are at the same time well rehearsed, skilled, balanced and polished in their performances most , if not all times.

The French show this too but sadly this tends to be a flash in the pan...I have a feeling that France can easily win RWC 2015...long overdue...they have been in so many, quarter, semi and final finals.

09 Jan 2014, 13:23
09 Jan 2014, 13:23#12

The Six Nations starts Feb 1.

France has been in disarray the last two seasons. They pushed the All Black in the WC final and haven't seen any sort of form since.

Reckon their intentions will be made clear in this years 6N.

GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
09 Jan 2014, 14:17
09 Jan 2014, 14:17#13

Apart from being loyal to the Springboks...I am a great fan of the Les Bleus and this is not because I have French blood on grans side but simply because they play extremely entertaining rugby with attractive style but on the otherhand are the worse side for expectations...they can lose to Argentina, Tonga and Italy and then beat the AB's when nobody else has a hope in hell of doing so...where they come in the 6N will have no bearing on what they really have up their sleeve.

Ironically they should have had 2011 WC in the bag (sorry NZ I'm being honest) and as much as NZ deserved the status of WC Champions because of track record they certainly did not deserve that game. For some absolutely unexplainable mystery they came back after losing to a minnow Tonga side and being lucky against a determined Wales side.

I don't like Marc Lievremont as a personality and mentoring skills but one thing he understands is the game itself...the switch and interplay between his halves...Morgan Parra, Dimitri Yachvili and Francois Trihn Duc...very smart and clever...sadly Trihn Duc missed a chance at posts that 9 out of 10 times he would have been successful but there is no room for harping or excuses in WC finals...the winner takes it all...the loser has to fall as the Abba song went.

In 1995...a lot of us who put honesty before national pride and patriotism believe France got that try at the water polo game in Durb's (the semi)...a horrible thing at the back of one's little voice.

09 Jan 2014, 15:17
09 Jan 2014, 15:17#14

Sun Tzu

I do believe two things and that is that -

*   Morne Steyn is a serious handicap in backline play; and

*   the French has found that out too late.

Stade Francais I believe is second on the log for the French Top 14 competition - so they are one of the top teams in French rugby.   There is nothing wrong with the chemistry in the team - there is something seriously wrong in Morne Steyn and what he can produce.  If there was a team problem why is it not serious at all when Morne is not playing - why is it noticeable when Morne is around?

The second issue is that Seb is correct insofar as the style of rugby is concerned and so is hakwa,   You cannot play 15 man rugby with Morne as pivot.

You carry on about Morne in 2012 and 2013.   Morne was so bad that the crowd could not take him anymore the only thing that improved this year was his kicking at goal.   All other aspects of his game deteriorated.   His defence was worse, his line-kicking as well, he was as predictable as ever.

Saffex is right.  Morne is a plodder and slow as hell to boot.   He has zero ball sense and that is a fact.   If we ever want to have a convincing victorious team that can beat all opponents - he is the first person to go.  There is a few others - but Morne is the first one.   Bad news

09 Jan 2014, 15:53
09 Jan 2014, 15:53#15

Hmm....last time we played the French Morne beat them by himself 12 points to 10....in Paris. I don't think HM will be worrying too much about what the French think....with our current pack and power loosies, we dominated them.

As for Morne's form, he apparently is up against an aspirant French 10. The Frog will always be preferred. Jean and Victor also had supposed failures up north  and came back to do great test duty. It maak niks!  

09 Jan 2014, 16:16
09 Jan 2014, 16:16#16

mozart

Posts: 5449 RE: Some solace for the hard pressed ou Maaaaikie
January 09, 2014, 13:53:09

As for Morne's form, he apparently is up against an aspirant French 10. The Frog will always be preferred. Jean and Victor also had supposed failures up north  and came back to do great test duty. It maak niks! 

Nahhh. The Oom reckons Plisson is average at best.....

"The starting flyhalf was average at best - but a hell of a lot better than Morne - who showed zilch."  http://www.sarugby.com/forum.cfm?threadid=6101

09 Jan 2014, 16:39
09 Jan 2014, 16:39#17
Wow because Morne kicked a few kicks, he beat the French himself.......wow he must be special, what have I missed all these years?
GR
Groenbloed1Newbie5 posts
09 Jan 2014, 17:08
09 Jan 2014, 17:08#18

I come back and what do I find - same old, same old...........

I agree, Morne is a boring player , a bad tackler, a bad attacker although he is a very nice person (and family on wife's side). But he can kick if nothing else........and that is what wins us games with our solid pack and defensively minded backline. Naas was much of the same, although a better tactical kicker. He wasn't known for tackles or line breaks or fancy Cooperisms..........just a solid kicker.

We don't play fancy flyhalves - we've never had anyone like Carter or Cooper. No flyhalf will be consistently picked if he does not kick 80% plus - and only Morne does this. Lambie misses in front of posts, Goosen is too fragile and although I think Pollard to be the future, if he does not put in the extra 4 hours kicking practice per day, he can return home now. When Morne went to the Bulls he played centre, and could not hit Beeno's fat arse with a gumboot. He taught himself to kick by practicing - and slotting them is 90% of why he will stay HM number one till WC time.

So dream on............or live with Morne for a while longer.

09 Jan 2014, 17:21
09 Jan 2014, 17:21#19
Dave, here's what you missed. The difference between slotting  two extra kicks is more than the points spread between the top teams. But it's more than that. When you get into the last 20 minutes of an important close test, a Morne changes the whole dynamic. Knowing any penalty within 45 metres, will be converted and could win the game.....the opposition dials back aggression in the rucks, watches the offsides and is petrified of any scrum collapse. It effects their play.
09 Jan 2014, 17:22
09 Jan 2014, 17:22#20
Dave, here's what you missed. The difference between slotting  two extra kicks is more than the points spread between the top teams. But it's more than that. When you get into the last 20 minutes of an important close test, a Morne changes the whole dynamic. Knowing any penalty within 45 metres, will be converted and could win the game.....the opposition dials back aggression in the rucks, watches the offsides and is petrified of any scrum collapse. It effects their play.
09 Jan 2014, 17:24
09 Jan 2014, 17:24#21
09 Jan 2014, 17:37
09 Jan 2014, 17:37#22

The following is the top of small mindedness:-

"As for Morne's form, he apparently is up against an aspirant French 10. The Frog will always be preferred. Jean and Victor also had supposed failures up north  and came back to do great test duty. It maak niks!"

First of all the writer failed to check his facts - but in his case it is fairly normal.   De Villiers did not have s bad a season at Munster as it is made out to be.   He scored 8 tries for them in 2 3 Appearances.  The games I watched showed  top class performances contributing to other tries on numerous occasions.

Secondly De Viliers always was a class player - Morne Steyn never was so how cn such a crazy comparison be made.

Thirdly the French will not as professionals play a French player ahead of anyone else if it does not benefit the club.   The sponsors wants winners - not losers - and that is a fact of life.

Then the silliest statement made on this Board for a  long time - Meyer must despite his failure keep on selecting Morne Steyn - because failures in club rugby does not apparently count n the writer's book.   No wonder we keep on struggling in rugby with that kind of dolt attitude. 

09 Jan 2014, 17:41
09 Jan 2014, 17:41#23
The  "writer" ......waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahaha.......a wounded warrior
09 Jan 2014, 17:43
09 Jan 2014, 17:43#24
"We don't play fancy flyhalves - we've never had anyone like Carter or Cooper."
No, but then the All Blacks and Wallabies have never had a flyhalf like Henry Honiball either. 
You okes can wax on about these kicking flyhalves but note that the Springboks have never been as dominant in living memory as we were when we had a strong running and hard-tackling freak of a flyhalf like Lem in the #10 jersey . . . and he hardly ever kicked the ball away.
Given the choice of any international flyhalf in his prime, I'd pick Henry Honiball ahead of Carter, Cooper, Naas, Wilko and anyone else you care to mention. Admittedly I'd also have to pick a fullback or a scrumhalf who can place kick, but Lem would be the man that I built the team around.
PS Howzit Groenbloed, welcome back!  

09 Jan 2014, 17:55
09 Jan 2014, 17:55#25
 "He scored 8 tries for them in 243 Appearances."

Hahahahahaha. Two hundred and forty three games in one year?

He actually scored 3 tries in 24 games.

"He scored his first try for Munster in a Heineken Cup tie with Treviso at Thomond Park in October. Munster won the match 41–10 with De Villiers scoring Munster's seventh and final try of the game.He scored his 2nd try against Ulster in the Magners league and 3rd against Perpignan in the Heineken cup.

He left Munster and returned to South Africa at the end of their season in 2010."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_de_Villiers

09 Jan 2014, 17:55
09 Jan 2014, 17:55#26
D ouble post

09 Jan 2014, 17:59
09 Jan 2014, 17:59#27
Moz we can expect the same of any international kicker.......be it Carter, Halfpenny, Sexton or Farrell to name but some.

Kicking for goal should never be the measure of a player and a player should never be selected just because he is a great goal kicker.

Morne can kick, there is no questioning that.......take his kicking out of the equation......is he a good enough rugby player to be an international pivot.......the simple answer is NO.........and therein lies my issue with Morne and that will never change. He is a very ordinary rugby player and you dont become the worlds best side with an ordinary pivot.
09 Jan 2014, 18:00
09 Jan 2014, 18:00#28
Moz we can expect the same of any international kicker.......be it Carter, Halfpenny, Sexton or Farrell to name but some.

Kicking for goal should never be the measure of a player and a player should never be selected just because he is a great goal kicker.

Morne can kick, there is no questioning that.......take his kicking out of the equation......is he a good enough rugby player to be an international pivot.......the simple answer is NO.........and therein lies my issue with Morne and that will never change. He is a very ordinary rugby player and you dont become the worlds best side with an ordinary pivot.
GR
Groenbloed1Newbie5 posts
09 Jan 2014, 18:00
09 Jan 2014, 18:00#29
 Ai ou Rooies - still running into solid brick walls I see....(and not even a friendly Howzit Groen my old tjomma)..........are you gonna get Lem out of retirement? Think ( I know it's hard) present tense.........you want your alternative now, or in 2015? Fact is, Morne' gonna stay as long as nobody else hits 80%. Pollard must start practicing his kicks from tonight, and we might have found your answer.
GR
Groenbloed1Newbie5 posts
09 Jan 2014, 18:01
09 Jan 2014, 18:01#30

09 Jan 2014, 18:44
09 Jan 2014, 18:44#31
 Groenbloed..........that is a name from the past........how far back does that go?
09 Jan 2014, 18:45
09 Jan 2014, 18:45#32
 Groenbloed..........that is a name from the past........how far back does that go?
GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
09 Jan 2014, 18:58
09 Jan 2014, 18:58#33

Well what Groenbloed is sadly true and that sums up between the NZ and French rugby versus the Springbok and Pommy rugby...one is attractive and entertaining, the other is dour, conservative, cautious and downright boring....ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
09 Jan 2014, 18:58
09 Jan 2014, 18:58#34

Well what Groenbloed is sadly true and that sums up between the NZ and French rugby versus the Springbok and Pommy rugby...one is attractive and entertaining, the other is dour, conservative, cautious and downright boring....ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
09 Jan 2014, 19:00
09 Jan 2014, 19:00#35

Well what Groenbloed says is sadly true and that sums up between the NZ and French rugby versus the Springbok and Pommy rugby...one is attractive and entertaining, the other is dour, conservative, cautious and downright boring....ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
09 Jan 2014, 19:08
09 Jan 2014, 19:08#36

Damn some peculiar interference here...wouldn't initially post then suddenly all 3 appear...the last one was corrected and edited...definitely some oddball interference floating around with irritating complexes.

I suspect newcomers...never happens with the run of the mill posters.

09 Jan 2014, 19:52
09 Jan 2014, 19:52#37
Sexton Dave? If Sexton was Morne he would have made that crucial kick and Ireland would have beaten the ABs for the first time in  a 100 years. You haven't got my point....it's not just  a high percentage that counts.....it's the ability to make the really tough kicks under pressure. Carter doesn't have that, nor does Sexton....Halfpenny and Morne are the only guys with ice in their veins today.
Take Jannie de Beer. I accept Rooinek's point that Henry provided a lot in general play...I recently watched his play in our miracle win over the Abs in 98, he was very effective. But that kick Jannie had to take us into the RWC semi extra time...howling wind into him, driving rain 40 metres. Guys who can do that are rare.
I have never said Morne has to be selected.....but when the alternative is Lambie....it's a no brainer.
09 Jan 2014, 20:05
09 Jan 2014, 20:05#38

This one is a joke. Morne would have made the crucial kick that Sexton missed.   Morne is a good goal kicker - but crucial kicks is 50-50.   In the Brumbies Super 15 semi-final Morne missed 50% of all his kicks at goal.   In the Ellis Park test it was 33,3% missed kicks.  

Decisive kicks are not Morne's forte - and that has been proven over and over again.  Reminds me of the old IF saying - "IF my auntie had balls - she would have been my uncle."   

09 Jan 2014, 20:12
09 Jan 2014, 20:12#39
". . . are you going to get Lem out of retirement?"

Ai, Groenbloed ou tjomma, I see you're still not the shiniest coin in the fountain. Read the bit where I said "Given the choice of any international flyhalf in his prime" and have a little think about what that means.
The point I was trying to make was not supposed to be all about about Henry Honiball (although I readily admit I sometimes get a bit carried away when I talk about my all-time favourite player) but rather the fact that the Springboks can play attractive and winning rugby with a running flyhalf. I was never Butch James' biggest fan but he can hardly be classed as a kicking flyhalf and his excellent running game in 2007 was a big reason why we won the RWC . . . along with the bizarre draw, of course!
If you'd like another example other than Honiball and James, take a look at the 3N test match between the Springboks and the Wallabies on 17 August 2002 when Andre Pretorius was injured just before kick-off and Brent Russell was drafted in as flyhalf and had his best game ever in one of the greatest and most exciting games of rugby ever played. 
I'm gatvol of all these Naas Botha clones. Naas was a genius in his own right but he did more harm than good for South African rugby because our coaches are still to this day trying to win matches in the style that he used to win matches . . . except they're trying to do it with limited plodders like Louis Koen, Braam van Straaten and Morne Steyn. Give me a running flyhalf any day!
09 Jan 2014, 20:24
09 Jan 2014, 20:24#40
Mike ....sorry if you are going to just make up numbers, there is no point in responding to you. Try to be just a little bit honest you old coot.